Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat

Our fedora offers much more than just classic looks—it's crafted in the USA from fine rabbit-fur felt that ensures years' worth of faithful service and protection from the elements. Oiled-Nubuck-leather hatband with antiqued-brass buckle. Full-grain-leather sweatband. Genuine silk lining with vintage crossed-rods Orvis logo. Fur felt fedora in olive. 2¾" brim tapers to 2½" on the sides. 4" crown. Rabbit-fur felt, silk, and leather. Brush clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
43 of 47(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Review 1 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but Not Great,
March 5, 2015
By: Shadowspawn
from Connecticut
"Very nice hat but likely not worth the very high price. It has a beautiful shape, but the fit isn't perfect. The head hole is too round where it should be more of an oval, like your head. The craftsmanship is good (fur felt is truly great!). Silk lining is somewhat coming apart. The color is cool and the leather strap is fake and stapled to the hat. For this kind of money they should have used real leather. The shape of the hat and brim are totally awesome and likely its best feature. The leather headband is too sweat inducing but not unbearable so. Over all a very nice hat, but probably worth half the price."
Review 2 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
really wanted to love this hat,
February 23, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Beautiful fur felt; great texture; great color depth; very solid, stiff material; really love the understated leather band; am a big fan of the old crossed-rods Orvis logo on silk in the crown; consistently wear an Orvis Medium in hats, but this was much too big; just couldn't get it to fit (though did not resort to the surgical procedures suggested by the earlier reviewer). Beautiful piece, but, sadly, had to return it."
Review 3 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat,
February 18, 2015
By: KYMoon
from Lexington KY
"I enjoy a good hat and this one is a favorite. The others indicate the sizes are on the big side and it is true. I would have dropped a size but with a little insert it fits good!"
Review 4 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat - with a little effort!,
January 23, 2015
By: GroundControl
from New York City
"For some time I have been looking for a hat just like this but not really found what I wanted until I saw this. I like the colour and the shape. However, reading the reviews I was a little discouraged as I really do use a size 7. Decided to order the hat anyway and see how it would fit and get an overall impression of the hat. It is not true to measurements listed in the descriptive text and yes the Medium is on the large side. I really liked the hat though so decided to keep it and shrink the sweatband to a fit – worked out nicely. I have not yet made my mind up about the brim which is 3” and as such a little wider than I prefer so might end up cutting it a little back – time and use will tell."
Review 5 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat,
January 2, 2015
By: Rickzzzz
from Chandler, Arizona
"The hat has a great style right out of the box. I wear a 7 7/8 hat so I ordered the largest size. It fits fine. Only one thing keeps me from giving 5 stars. The hat band buckle is fake. For a quality hat such as this, at a price like this, a real hatband should clouded with a functional buckle. I'll cut the original off and obtain a quality replacement."
Review 6 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made American Hat,
December 12, 2014
By: Hatcollector
"This is a comfortable well made classic fedora and other than the fact that the sizing is large, a great addition to my many hat wardrobe. I fixed the problem of the size by adding a few small pieces of felt insulation under the headband and now it fits. Buy it you will love it."
Review 7 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Hat, sad it doesn't fit...,
November 13, 2014
By: 3leggedwolf
from Washington
"Very nice hat, almost too fancy for me to fishing in when the wind is blowing sideways with sleet and snow, but I would try. Bad news it is just a little too big, it would fall off with the wind or when tucked my head down to tie on another fly. They don't make a smaller version. Sad.
CS was outstanding, they quickly helped me exchange the item at the store and I walked away with a very nice 5wt Access rod. Well done."
Review 8 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great hat, unfortunate sizing,
October 14, 2014
By: JackTynan
from New York, NY
"Just received the hat in the mail after a long wait (Medium was backordered). The hat looks great (although the leather band seems cheaper than in the photo and the hat's a bit stiff). However, my main gripe is that the sizing does not seem true to what was indicated. I wear a 7-7 1/8", so I ordered a Medium (for 7-7 1/4"). Unfortunately, the hat is truly at least a 7 1/4", if not larger. It does not fit and since it's not made in a smaller size, I will have to return."
Review 9 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
July 4, 2014
By: TAT3
"I just wore this hat for several days fishing the Blackfoot River in MT. It was perfect. I wear a 7.5 so I ordered a Large based on other reviews that said it ran a little large to size.
My brother liked my new hat so much he tried to "steal" mine. So I just gave him one as a gift.
"
Review 10 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet hat, runs a little large,
June 26, 2014
By: MTPockets
from Fairview, TX
"Very pleased after exchanging for smaller size. My measurement (22.5") was right in between a large and medium. Large was way-large for me. Medium fits good, and probably a fit for anyone up to 22 5/8ths. Too big for a 22.25", IMO.
As for the quality of the hat itself, I've spent a good bit of time admiring the quality of construction and felt. If you've always wanted a premium fur felt hat, this one won't disappoint.
"
Review 11 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice hat, but...,
June 11, 2014
By: hiker11
"This is a nice hat, but it has a 3" brim, not the 2 1/2" - 2 3/4" brim as advertised. As a result, it looked a little large on me - more like a cowboy hat than a fedora - so I returned it. Orvis was excellent to deal with."
Review 12 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muir Woods,
June 5, 2014
By: HankNine
from SF
"High-quality rabbit felt hat and it looks great also."
Review 13 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
muir woods hat,
June 2, 2014
By: bill53
"This hat is everything Orvis described. No more. No less"
Review 14 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Handling,
May 2, 2014
By: ram3
from Colorado
"I received the first hat within a week of ordering it. Great looking hat - fits well. However, there was a slit in the liner. It looked as if it had been cut with a razor knife.
Orvis was quick to send me a replacement - I just got it. The hat fits and looks great. But this particular hat has seen better days. It looks as if it was handled quite a bit - from someone with greasy fingers.
I really like the hat, so I'm torn. Do I send it back again? Do I deal with it? But then again - it is a lot of money to spend on a greasy hat. I think I'll return it with the hopes that the third time is a charm."
Review 15 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
February 13, 2014
By: HFAFISHER
from Essex, CT
"This is a nice looking, well constructed hat. It has classic styling; the brim is not too large and not too small. I think it looks good, and is functional, on the stream, in the field and in town.
Size runs a little small; I usually wear a large, medium is just right in this case.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Fine Comfortable Hat!,
February 11, 2014
By: BeeCaveCanyon
from Florence, Alabama
"Excellent quality! This rabbit fur felt hat is good looking, is made with first class materials, and is .comfortable to wear,
The brim is well shaped - being slightly turned down fore and aft. This is just right - to keep the sun out of your vision and off the back of your neck,
This hat is a keeper!"
Review 17 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It, Love Him,
February 4, 2014
By: DSP4her
from Vienna, VA
"This fabric is so beautiful with great body, has all the key elements, measurements.
My man walks with destintion, it’s the finishing touch to everything he puts on. He
looks so handsome, shines above the crowd, plus its warm and comfortable.
When he speaks people listen. Yes!!
"
Review 18 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
hard fit,
January 23, 2014
By: rowephoto
from ft. lauderdale, FL
"I was hoping this would fit comfortably but (possibly my head) it did not and as nice as it certainly is, I sent it back. I will try for a softer
more flexible fit. I'm sure it fits SOMEONE but it was hard on me.
Love the look of it though, I wanted a fit but nope!
"
Review 19 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Muir Woods Hat,
January 15, 2014
By: RG12
from MN
"Was disappointed in the hat. Very hard/stiff leather inside band. Not a great fit. Would not recommend ordering by mail. You should try on at a Orvis store before purchasing."
Review 20 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout hat,
January 14, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Exactly what I wanted for cool/rainy days on the stream. But I do wear it around town as well. Nicely crafted hat"