Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat

Our fedora offers much more than just classic looks—it's crafted in the USA from fine rabbit-fur felt that ensures years' worth of faithful service and protection from the elements. Oiled-Nubuck-leather hatband with antiqued-brass buckle. Full-grain-leather sweatband. Genuine silk lining with vintage crossed-rods Orvis logo. Fur felt fedora in olive. 2¾" brim tapers to 2½" on the sides. 4" crown. Rabbit-fur felt, silk, and leather. Brush clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Review 1 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
February 13, 2014
By: HFAFISHER
from Essex, CT
"This is a nice looking, well constructed hat. It has classic styling; the brim is not too large and not too small. I think it looks good, and is functional, on the stream, in the field and in town.
Size runs a little small; I usually wear a large, medium is just right in this case.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Fine Comfortable Hat!,
February 11, 2014
By: BeeCaveCanyon
from Florence, Alabama
"Excellent quality! This rabbit fur felt hat is good looking, is made with first class materials, and is .comfortable to wear,
The brim is well shaped - being slightly turned down fore and aft. This is just right - to keep the sun out of your vision and off the back of your neck,
This hat is a keeper!"
Review 3 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It, Love Him,
February 4, 2014
By: DSP4her
from Vienna, VA
"This fabric is so beautiful with great body, has all the key elements, measurements.
My man walks with destintion, it’s the finishing touch to everything he puts on. He
looks so handsome, shines above the crowd, plus its warm and comfortable.
When he speaks people listen. Yes!!
"
Review 4 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
hard fit,
January 23, 2014
By: rowephoto
from ft. lauderdale, FL
"I was hoping this would fit comfortably but (possibly my head) it did not and as nice as it certainly is, I sent it back. I will try for a softer
more flexible fit. I'm sure it fits SOMEONE but it was hard on me.
Love the look of it though, I wanted a fit but nope!
"
Review 5 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Muir Woods Hat,
January 15, 2014
By: RG12
from MN
"Was disappointed in the hat. Very hard/stiff leather inside band. Not a great fit. Would not recommend ordering by mail. You should try on at a Orvis store before purchasing."
Review 6 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout hat,
January 14, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Exactly what I wanted for cool/rainy days on the stream. But I do wear it around town as well. Nicely crafted hat"
Review 7 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Custom fit from catalog.,
December 31, 2013
By: Stevetdi
from Hurst,TX
"I am always concerned with fit of a hat. Just put it on your head and wear it about one hour. It's the first hat of many purchased that really fit including a few custom ordered from Texas hat makers. Like any of'm keeps most of the heat in and off your neck and ear's."
Review 8 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
muir woods fur - felt hat,
December 29, 2013
By: rosiea
from southwest Louisiana
"The hat was just as it was listed. It was a great looking hat. We ordered a medium and he needed a small. I was disappointed it isn't available in a small."
Review 9 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not to size,
December 28, 2013
By: MuskyMike
"A beautiful hat, with great shape and lovely fur felt. But even though I took scrupulous measurements and consulted with sales reps on size, it was way too large, and no smaller size was available. The dimensions of the brim also exceed those stated in the catalog. So close to being a great hat, it ended up being a (twice) returned hat. If you have a really big head, buy one!"
Review 10 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool looking Hat,
December 10, 2013
By: Geneva
from Monroe Ga
"If you are looking to purchase your guy a great hat then this is it...no matter his age, this hat will not only cover his head, but make a statement! Edgy and practical....how good can it get?"
Review 11 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!,
November 27, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Yes, it does have a classic look. The X-Large fit my rather large head perfectly. Just the right stiffness to maintain it's shape and provide excellent comfort. The full grain leather sweatband provides additional comfort. The understated hat band adds a classy touch. A great product that will provide years of use."
Review 12 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service- Great product,
October 28, 2013
By: joyfulldee
from Concord, CA
"I ordered the Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat for my husband for his birthday. He loved it! Hat fit perfectly, we are super impressed with the quality of this product. The live chat option was so great, My rep helped me with my order, answered my questions and my order arrived in perfect time."
Review 13 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great look,
May 2, 2013
By: MortS
from Rockville, MD
"Well made, great looking hat. A touch on the stiff side, but that will retain shape and look. Will definitely recommend."
Review 14 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Crafted,
April 29, 2013
By: BHGolf
"My Grand Father owned a Hat Shop all Good or Great Quality Hats, Fur And Beaver Felt were top items. Leather Sweat Band and Silk Lined All !
The tear drop or C Crown adds a bit of work to the Finish and Cost. So I've seen and tried on a lot of hats, and this is a keeper. Good color, good finish. This is a shaped hat not a roll-up, it is soft and flexes just enough to suit the
style. Sizing is consistent with the
general size spreads.
"
Review 15 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big Hat,
April 15, 2013
By: Nothing5
"Looks and is made well, but runs big.
I even measured my head before ordering. I usually wear L-XL size, but this one in Large was too big.
Plus you will loose shipping charge if you send it back. I'm out $24 just to find out it didn't fit. Plus I think it was returned before. They were out of the Large size, then one became available, and was gone again after I ordered it. Had a previous Orvis hat and I liked it. Will probably buy another one of those.
"
Review 16 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muir woods museum piece,
March 5, 2013
By: Railguide
from Santa Fe, NM
"The Orvis Muir Woods hat is one of the most well-made and attractive items sold by the company. It is a masterpiece of the lost art of hat production. The fur felt quality is superb and the graceful curve of the brim, slightly down in front and back lends a 1940's aire to it. Basically
a Western dress fedora, the rustic leather band and weathered brass buckle informalizes it for comfortable use anywhere in all seasons.
This city has several hat shops, one of which immediately attracted both propietor's and clients' interest and admiration when I walked in with this item.
"
Review 17 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I expected,
February 28, 2013
By: bdpf
"very nice hat. well constructed. Size seems to be about right. I usually wear a 7 1/8 and the M fits well. The picture on the Orvis website gives a good impression of the hat."
Review 18 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fitting hat ever,
February 26, 2013
By: TrueGrits101
from Hudson, Ohio
"This was a birthday present to a person (me) who never wears a hat or gloves in the winter. Now I do! It is very comfortable, fit is perfect. And I have gotten a lot of very positive comments of how it makes me look."
Review 19 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
February 26, 2013
By: BGCooper
from Michigan
"I had been looking for a small brim fur felt hat and Muir Woods fit the bill. Excellent quality beautiful olive color nice silk lining. This hat will be on all of my expeditions."
Review 20 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice looking - really stiff,
February 20, 2013
By: Fred2
from Chicago
"I ordered this hat as it looks like the nicest hat offered at Orvis. It probably is....
I found the hat to be very stiff - shaped slightly differently than my head with little to no give - so a poor fit for me. I don't really want to spend additional monies to have the hat reshaped. So it is going back.
I ordered a large based upon recommendations found here on sizing - the large was equivalent to a 7-3/8 to 7-1/2.
Hope this helps someone."