Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat

Our fedora offers much more than just classic looks—it's crafted in the USA from fine rabbit-fur felt that ensures years' worth of faithful service and protection from the elements. Oiled-Nubuck-leather hatband with antiqued-brass buckle. Full-grain-leather sweatband. Genuine silk lining with vintage crossed-rods Orvis logo. Fur felt fedora in olive. 2¾" brim tapers to 2½" on the sides. 4" crown. Rabbit-fur felt, silk, and leather. Brush clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
35 of 39(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Review 1 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Hat, sad it doesn't fit...,
November 13, 2014
By: 3leggedwolf
from Washington
"Very nice hat, almost too fancy for me to fishing in when the wind is blowing sideways with sleet and snow, but I would try. Bad news it is just a little too big, it would fall off with the wind or when tucked my head down to tie on another fly. They don't make a smaller version. Sad.
CS was outstanding, they quickly helped me exchange the item at the store and I walked away with a very nice 5wt Access rod. Well done."
Review 2 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great hat, unfortunate sizing,
October 14, 2014
By: JackTynan
from New York, NY
"Just received the hat in the mail after a long wait (Medium was backordered). The hat looks great (although the leather band seems cheaper than in the photo and the hat's a bit stiff). However, my main gripe is that the sizing does not seem true to what was indicated. I wear a 7-7 1/8", so I ordered a Medium (for 7-7 1/4"). Unfortunately, the hat is truly at least a 7 1/4", if not larger. It does not fit and since it's not made in a smaller size, I will have to return."
Review 3 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
July 4, 2014
By: TAT3
"I just wore this hat for several days fishing the Blackfoot River in MT. It was perfect. I wear a 7.5 so I ordered a Large based on other reviews that said it ran a little large to size.
My brother liked my new hat so much he tried to "steal" mine. So I just gave him one as a gift.
"
Review 4 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet hat, runs a little large,
June 26, 2014
By: MTPockets
from Fairview, TX
"Very pleased after exchanging for smaller size. My measurement (22.5") was right in between a large and medium. Large was way-large for me. Medium fits good, and probably a fit for anyone up to 22 5/8ths. Too big for a 22.25", IMO.
As for the quality of the hat itself, I've spent a good bit of time admiring the quality of construction and felt. If you've always wanted a premium fur felt hat, this one won't disappoint.
"
Review 5 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice hat, but...,
June 11, 2014
By: hiker11
"This is a nice hat, but it has a 3" brim, not the 2 1/2" - 2 3/4" brim as advertised. As a result, it looked a little large on me - more like a cowboy hat than a fedora - so I returned it. Orvis was excellent to deal with."
Review 6 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muir Woods,
June 5, 2014
By: HankNine
from SF
"High-quality rabbit felt hat and it looks great also."
Review 7 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
muir woods hat,
June 2, 2014
By: bill53
"This hat is everything Orvis described. No more. No less"
Review 8 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Handling,
May 2, 2014
By: ram3
from Colorado
"I received the first hat within a week of ordering it. Great looking hat - fits well. However, there was a slit in the liner. It looked as if it had been cut with a razor knife.
Orvis was quick to send me a replacement - I just got it. The hat fits and looks great. But this particular hat has seen better days. It looks as if it was handled quite a bit - from someone with greasy fingers.
I really like the hat, so I'm torn. Do I send it back again? Do I deal with it? But then again - it is a lot of money to spend on a greasy hat. I think I'll return it with the hopes that the third time is a charm."
Review 9 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
February 13, 2014
By: HFAFISHER
from Essex, CT
"This is a nice looking, well constructed hat. It has classic styling; the brim is not too large and not too small. I think it looks good, and is functional, on the stream, in the field and in town.
Size runs a little small; I usually wear a large, medium is just right in this case.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Fine Comfortable Hat!,
February 11, 2014
By: BeeCaveCanyon
from Florence, Alabama
"Excellent quality! This rabbit fur felt hat is good looking, is made with first class materials, and is .comfortable to wear,
The brim is well shaped - being slightly turned down fore and aft. This is just right - to keep the sun out of your vision and off the back of your neck,
This hat is a keeper!"
Review 11 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It, Love Him,
February 4, 2014
By: DSP4her
from Vienna, VA
"This fabric is so beautiful with great body, has all the key elements, measurements.
My man walks with destintion, it’s the finishing touch to everything he puts on. He
looks so handsome, shines above the crowd, plus its warm and comfortable.
When he speaks people listen. Yes!!
"
Review 12 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
hard fit,
January 23, 2014
By: rowephoto
from ft. lauderdale, FL
"I was hoping this would fit comfortably but (possibly my head) it did not and as nice as it certainly is, I sent it back. I will try for a softer
more flexible fit. I'm sure it fits SOMEONE but it was hard on me.
Love the look of it though, I wanted a fit but nope!
"
Review 13 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Muir Woods Hat,
January 15, 2014
By: RG12
from MN
"Was disappointed in the hat. Very hard/stiff leather inside band. Not a great fit. Would not recommend ordering by mail. You should try on at a Orvis store before purchasing."
Review 14 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout hat,
January 14, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Exactly what I wanted for cool/rainy days on the stream. But I do wear it around town as well. Nicely crafted hat"
Review 15 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Custom fit from catalog.,
December 31, 2013
By: Stevetdi
from Hurst,TX
"I am always concerned with fit of a hat. Just put it on your head and wear it about one hour. It's the first hat of many purchased that really fit including a few custom ordered from Texas hat makers. Like any of'm keeps most of the heat in and off your neck and ear's."
Review 16 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
muir woods fur - felt hat,
December 29, 2013
By: rosiea
from southwest Louisiana
"The hat was just as it was listed. It was a great looking hat. We ordered a medium and he needed a small. I was disappointed it isn't available in a small."
Review 17 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not to size,
December 28, 2013
By: MuskyMike
"A beautiful hat, with great shape and lovely fur felt. But even though I took scrupulous measurements and consulted with sales reps on size, it was way too large, and no smaller size was available. The dimensions of the brim also exceed those stated in the catalog. So close to being a great hat, it ended up being a (twice) returned hat. If you have a really big head, buy one!"
Review 18 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool looking Hat,
December 10, 2013
By: Geneva
from Monroe Ga
"If you are looking to purchase your guy a great hat then this is it...no matter his age, this hat will not only cover his head, but make a statement! Edgy and practical....how good can it get?"
Review 19 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!,
November 27, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Yes, it does have a classic look. The X-Large fit my rather large head perfectly. Just the right stiffness to maintain it's shape and provide excellent comfort. The full grain leather sweatband provides additional comfort. The understated hat band adds a classy touch. A great product that will provide years of use."
Review 20 for Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service- Great product,
October 28, 2013
By: joyfulldee
from Concord, CA
"I ordered the Muir Woods Fur-Felt Hat for my husband for his birthday. He loved it! Hat fit perfectly, we are super impressed with the quality of this product. The live chat option was so great, My rep helped me with my order, answered my questions and my order arrived in perfect time."