Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Heritage Duffle

We found this classic canvas and leather duffle bag in the extensive archives at Gokey's Tipton, Missouri headquarters. Each time-tested design is crafted in the USA from heavyweight 18-oz. pure cotton canvas, paired with full-grain American-tanned leather. Abrasion-resistant nylon edge binding. Removable shoulder strap and luggage tag included. Solid-brass hardware. Canvas and leather duffle bag in olive. Duffle: 12"H x 25"W x 12½"D; 3,750 cu. in. Pure cotton canvas, genuine leather, and nylon. Tipton, Missouri, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.879 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Review 1 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my 25 yr. old son,
December 1, 2014
By: GreatGiftsMom
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
"My son loved his Orvis Bag!! A gift that can be added to, over the years!"
Review 2 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing value/ outstanding quality,
August 31, 2014
By: Duke31
from Portland, ME
"I had been searching and reviewing travel bags for several months and then found the Gokey bag. When I received the bag I was impressed with the quality and craftsmanship. I just returned from a short trip and the bag was a real winner. Would definitely purchase other products from the Gokey luggage collection."
Review 3 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice gifts for my future son in law,
August 14, 2014
By: 143gold5
"Heavy, substantial. Beautiful leather. A "statement" piece"
Review 4 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is the original,
August 11, 2014
By: seavib
from Redmond, WA
"I have three that are 32 years old. They are the best luggage I have ever owned. Gokeys does leather/canvas better than Ghurka and Louis Vuitton. Tools, instruments, diapers, it doesn't matter."
Review 5 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get this bag!!,
July 23, 2014
By: dfs357
"This first thing that hit me when I opened the box was the leather smell. Amazing! Very soft, yet durable. The canvas and leather straps are well constructed. Can't wait to break this baby in over the next 20 years."
Review 6 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift,
June 2, 2014
By: Shalley
from Salinas, CA
"I was looking everywhere for a canvas duffle bag. Everyone had synthetic material bags, but my husband has always had canvas . He was surprised and thrilled with his gift. It is perfect!"
Review 7 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased for a transcontinental trip,
April 18, 2014
By: DanfrmAtlanta
from Atlanta Ga
"I searched multiple speciality shops for a versatile travel bag. I did not want nylon and desired something with a classic look that was well made. This bag was by far the best at a reasonable price point. Only available on-line through the Orvis site but worth the wait. This is a better quality bag than the one available in the orvis retail brick and mortar. Better quality materials and construction ."
Review 8 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite piece of luggage,
April 10, 2014
By: CountryGent
from Chicago
"I just got back from a week in the Bahamas in this new bag. I love it! This Gokey bag is slightly larger in cubic inches than the the comparable Orvis bag and is less expensive. The leather is very supple and the the 3 outer buckles close easier than I had anticipated. I can cram a lot of stuff into this bag and it's certainly not a carry on in my opinion due to size but I like it with the larger capacity. The canvas is a lighter shade than the Orvis battenkill luggage but I like the lighter shade. Very 70s retro. Clearly a high quality item worth the price tag!"
Review 9 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Bag,
February 28, 2014
By: MJAAHA
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This bag has an old school vibe to it with a classic feel. It is well made with nice leather accents all over. The bag has plenty of room and will fit in most carry-on compartments. It's a perfect weekender type of bag."
Review 10 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good overnight bag,
January 18, 2014
By: Shojow
from Portland, OR
"Gift for my husband, he is quite impressed with the quality but hasn't had chance to use yet."
Review 11 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
duffle,
January 16, 2014
By: Angel111
"Great weekend duffle with leather straps. My son-in-law loved it for a weekend get-away."
Review 12 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic bag,
December 26, 2013
By: drdadu
"This bag is the perfect weekender size. It is durable. Looks really sharp!"
Review 13 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 26, 2013
By: CTJones
from Brooklyn CT
"Extremely pleased with the quality of my Gokey duffle bag!"
Review 14 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the men in the family have one!,
December 17, 2013
By: Keegan
from Bethesda, MD
"A very sturdy, handsome and light weight duffle. Every man should have one under the Christmas tree this year!"
Review 15 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly a classic..,
December 15, 2013
By: dino213aa
from Richmond, VA
"Ordered one of these bags because it reminds me of my father. I remember him buying one of these bags from an outfitter 30 years ago and his made it through several African safaris and hunting trips to Argentina and Scotland. His bags are still intact and serviceable, which is all the testament I need to the quality of craftsmanship found here.
Although much has already been said about this product, the leather used in this bag is some of the softest, most supple top grain leather I've felt anywhere."
Review 16 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
September 5, 2013
By: TylerH
from Philadelphia, PA
"This was a great purchase. I have already used it on a few adventures and look forward to using it again."
Review 17 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good.,
June 28, 2013
By: Dudesir
from Westmount, QC
"This is a full sized duffle bag. The handles are elegant in leather and could be locked together. There is a good shoulder strap included also. The bag is openned from the top with a heavy duty zipper that is not shown in the picture, under the decorative top cover. The bag has side pockets and a leather bucket bottom, not just a leather bottom but the bottom sides of the bag are also leather. This bag is an awesome classic. The colors are bright, it is solid and made in USA. I highly recommend it for people who need/use a duffle bag."
Review 18 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Heritage Duffel,
May 28, 2013
By: scot128
from Sparks, NV
"The bag is larger than I had imagined. An individual should be able to get an entire weekends worth of clothing into the bag. The bag radiates quality and superb craftsmanship throughout. High grade canvas and leather used to create this bag which should last a lifetime under normal wear and tear."
Review 19 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag for the price,
May 20, 2013
By: benttothecork
from Seoul, Korea
"This Gokey bag is well worth the money - it is very ruggedly made and will last forever (with the exception of the leather loops where the shoulder strap attaches to the bag - this seems potentially weak). It is a perfect size, carrying plenty of gear without becoming too heavy to lift. I also like that the zipper can be locked - this was a critical feature for me, as this means the bag can be checked in safely when flying. And of course the main attraction - it looks very cool!"
Review 20 for Gokey® Heritage Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
March 12, 2013
By: Armstrong56
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Purchased this bag to take on a photo safari in South Africa. The bag was delivered in a very timely fashion. Is well constructed and a good value. This bag along with all others in the upper tier Orvis line lack a function zipper arrangement. I prefer a u shaped zipper instead of a straight zipper as this bag has. It makes it difficult to pack, unpack and use."