Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack

A larger style based on our popular Sling Pack. Perfect for saltwater anglers with bigger boxes or freshwater anglers that just can't leave a box home. Just like the original, the fishing sling pack style allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Pliers sheath provides a secure attachment point for safety lanyard. Forceps sheath features magnetic anchor. Zinger attachment point allows quick and easy access. Magnetic fly pocket and adjustable fly pocket. Adjustable shoulder strap, girth strap. Will accommodate a fly box up to 11" x 7" x 4". Made of a rugged and durable poly/nylon fabric coated with Nuseal for water resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loose the vest get the Magnum Sling Pack,
December 8, 2013
By: brownbrook
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been using a fly vest for years and have never really enjoyed using them. I received the Magnum Sling Pack as a gift and was so thrilled to get it out on the water. My first trip using it was down to Boone NC. fishing the Watuaga river. out side temperature was 20 degrees I was very well layered and found that the sling pack was able to accommodate the increase in clothing. the pack is easy to use and using the under arm strap keeps it in place and out of the way. I was able to put one large fly box and 2 smaller ones along with and extra pair of clothes, warm hat and a thermos full of coffee and could still not tell I was wearing the pack. The orange bungees on the front of the pack are perfect for a tippet spool when you flip the pack around towards your belly you can stuff the rod behind the pack to keep it in place while you tie on your favorite fly."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good sling pack,
June 18, 2013
By: photoshopper
from Milwaukee, WI
"A sling pack is my preference whenever it's remotely warm. I prefer my Orvis vest when the weather is cool enough.
Well-constructed, good fit (I'm average size/build). Pouches & zipper pulls well done. Did not find the strap pouch useful-- it's not a comfortable place to carry forceps. The magnet, etc. digs into your shoulder. Probably should just have a zinger for nippers (and a smaller/stronger magnet) on the strap. Could use more padding on the strap. Wish they had carried over the tippet pockets w/ velcro (Orvis vest) on the outside-- a great feature. The orange loops are useless. Anything you attach to them is going to hang and get caught up in the brush. Can do away with the sternum strap, it makes the pack immovable. Waist strap is all that's needed. Would be concerned about wearing it in all-day rain. Maybe it would keep stuff dry inside, maybe not? How about taking a tip from certain photo backpacks and stashing a nylon(waterproof) cover on the back-- pull it out & over and it's totally rain-resistant. Orvis also needs to include a waterproof pocket in their vests and packs. I have to make one with a ziplock bag, safety pin and gaffer's tape.
Despite the negs, would still recommend, it carries more than the original sling pack, which I have used.
"
Review 3 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Instructions would help,
February 11, 2013
By: MollysHelper
from Birmingham, Alabama
"As is the case with a lot of manufacturers of vests and packs and luggage, Orvis did not include any instructions with this Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack about what the various fittings, etc., are intended to be used for."
Review 4 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice addition to gear,
January 24, 2013
By: heroguyfly
"Very much product. It will be an essential part of my fly fishing outings."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right,
December 31, 2012
By: JustCARF
from Chicago, IL
"This pack is just perfect! It has all the space I need. I can take all of my boxes with me, or I can leave some, and use the space for some food and drink. Once you figure out how to use the straps the pack becomes even better. I only use the strap that goes under your right arm to help keep the pack in one place when you don't need to swing it around."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Magnum Sling Bag,
December 30, 2012
By: Seaquest
from Colorado
"Sturdy, good quality construction. Nice for a day trip on the river. Nice design of the compartments for everything you need to bring."
Review 7 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice saltwater wading pack,
December 29, 2012
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"The magnum pack holds my saltwater boxes and holds them high out of the water. I like to wade fish for stripers and it was hard to find a pack that held everything, was comfortable and could be positioned to stay high and dry. This pack fits the bill perfectly."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
December 29, 2012
By: Mamadee
from Central Valley Calif.
"Great gift idea for fly fisherperson in fly fishing club in college. She loved it!! I compared several sites before choosing this as the best deal ."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No longer a vest guy,
September 27, 2012
By: Giants
from New York
"I love my fly fishing vest. Have fished with it for years. Knew where everything was and it looked right. Just got back from Colorado. Fished with this pack for the week. Pack is awesome. Weighs much less than the vest with same equipment and is just easier to lug around all day. Pack just works right and holds more than anyone should take on the water.
Only negative is you kind of have to jury rig a net attachment. I was able to do it so that the handle of the net falls into my left hand when I reach back for it. After much experimentation it was actually more convenient than the old net hanging off the back vest set-up.
Conclusion: Love this pack. No longer a sweaty vest guy."
Review 10 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pack bought so far!,
September 21, 2012
By: bennabors2007
from Atlanta, GA
"This pack exceeded my expectations! I had bought three chest packs before this purchase. The ones I bought with enough room were always in my way. The one not in my way lacked the room I needed. This Magnum sling pack from Orvis solved all my problems. This is a great product and I highly recommend it to anyone."
Review 11 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection!,
August 27, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"This pack is just perfect! It has all the space I need. I can take all of my boxes with me, or I can leave some, and use the space for some food and drink. Once you figure out how to use the straps the pack becomes even better. I only use the strap that goes under your right arm to help keep the pack in one place when you don't need to swing it around."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps Getting Better,
July 30, 2012
By: drojas11
from Washington, D.C.
"Orvis did a great job with this pack. I've up-sized from the original sling pack. This one fits everything you need for a day's outing, including larger fly boxes for streamers etc.. Great for wet wading as you can sinch it up almost to your neck."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very close to 5 stars,
May 19, 2012
By: jrbenedetti
from Durham, CT
"I own the regular sized sling pack and I really like it. I needed a little bit more room, so I decided to try the Magnum pack.
Pros: It definitely feels like I have a lot more space than with the smaller sling pack. I would say it feels significantly larger, though it doesn't feel cumbersome. I have space to spare for sure, which is a good thing.
Cons: I don't like to use the waist strap, but I'd like to use it from the little clip on the main strap to circle my opposite shoulder. Unfortunately, that is impossible as the strap is twice as long as I need it to be to do what I want. Even at its smallest setting, it's still way too long. I'll probably end up cutting it in half and having someone sew the clip back on, as really would like the ability to use this feature. It's a comfortable enough pack, but it would be nice to distribute the weight a little more evenly to avoid a mildly sore back at the end of the day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag!,
May 15, 2012
By: pdxfly
from Portland, OR
"I got this bag in addition to the smaller sling pack to be able to take a water bottle & snack and a ultra light rain jacket.
It fits the bill perfectly.
I also want to use it for spey fishing where my fly boxes tend to be a bit bigger than my trout boxes.
Overall great product.
"
Review 15 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
April 16, 2012
By: Flatlandhuss
from Kansas
"I really like this pack! It's big enough to hold several larger boxes with bass bugs and streamers, a water bottle, and a jacket. After having several vests they just were not adequate for larger freshwater fishing. Glad they made this size always hedged on the original thinking it was too small. Quality seems great, but mine did arrive with a broken belt clip, which was promptly taken care of by Orvis. Only drawback is the front pouch does not fold out as flat as I would like for a working area. Buy it and I think you'll be really pleased."
Review 16 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You nailed it with this pack!!!!,
March 12, 2012
By: wisconsintroutman
from Elmhurst, IL
"I have had all sorts of packs and vest over the years looking for that perfect size, fit, and comfort. Well Orvis you did it and you did it well. This is the perfect pack to put your fly boxes in and have enough room for a lite rain jacket. Great Job Orvis!!!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2