Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack

A larger style based on our popular Sling Pack. Perfect for saltwater anglers with bigger boxes or freshwater anglers that just can't leave a box home. Just like the original, the fishing sling pack style allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Pliers sheath provides a secure attachment point for safety lanyard. Forceps sheath features magnetic anchor. Zinger attachment point allows quick and easy access. Magnetic fly pocket and adjustable fly pocket. Adjustable shoulder strap, girth strap. Will accommodate a fly box up to 11" x 7" x 4". Made of a rugged and durable poly/nylon fabric coated with Nuseal for water resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
46 of 47(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
July 18, 2014
By: RSIII
"I bought this pack on sale. It is a good value and useful size. Not too large and not too small."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
July 17, 2014
By: Folemonst
from Charlotte, NC
"Picked this up on sale from the outlet. Used it right away in the mountains of NC. Worked great and held a ton of gear including a rain jacket. my Did not get in the way at all. The extra chest strap held it snug in place.
Thanks orvis!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea meets Orvis quality,
July 17, 2014
By: Roburt
from Richmond, va
"Recently purchased the Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack and as expected the quality is what you have come to expect from Orvis. The design just makes sense. The size for this particular unit works perfect. I am not going back to the truck, if I don't have it on me then I don't use it ! This pack is big enough for what I need, but goes away quick so I can fish!"
Review 4 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
first pass is solid,
July 16, 2014
By: YoClyde
from Geneva IL
"I'm happy with the product so far, but haven't put it to an actual use test yet. It will be used for extra items. I'm new to FF and wanted something other than a vest to wear for the other day trip gear."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 16, 2014
By: ProfessorFly
from New Jersey
"The sling pack works really well! It seems to hold quite a few fly boxes and my water bottle in the one section and spools of tippet and other stuff in other section. Even fully loaded, it is really lightweight."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
July 15, 2014
By: Tabookanaka
from Southern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Fit all my fly gear in the sling pack with room to spare! Very comfortable to wear while fishing and walking."
Review 7 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sling pack,
July 15, 2014
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"Excellent product. Have used in kinds of situations and love it"
Review 8 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
July 15, 2014
By: Oldflyguy
from Florida
"I purchased this to use in the surf, I now use it all the time. Fits extremely well and I don't know it there during casting."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sling pack,
July 15, 2014
By: Massfisher
"Really nice sling pack. Able to attach all my tools and tippet spool to the loops, forceps holder is ideal in the strap. Holds my three fly boxes, spare reel, leader wallet with room to spare. Only con is that I would prefer to have the pack ride hider on my back than it naturally does. Typically settles to the mid to lower back. Great for shallow water but gets wet wading deep in ponds."
Review 10 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
July 15, 2014
By: FishnDave
from Iowa
"I mainly warmwater flyfish from shore, sometimes wading. I'm not a fan of vests. I've been getting along well with lumbar packs for years. Recently I encountered situations where I couldn't carry all the fly boxes I needed to suit all the species and situations I would be encountering throughout the day. I bought this sling pack, and it has fit the bill perfectly. Carries plenty of fly boxes, and all my other gear, with room to spare. It fits well, is comfortable to wear, and is easy to access/use. I recommend this product."
Review 11 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best buys,
July 15, 2014
By: copperjon
from Stevensville, Mt.
"If you don,t wear a vest, you a place for all those extra items when your on the river. This pack is set to make easy access to those items . And is easy to carry and stays out of the way when fishing."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
July 4, 2014
By: Fishxbones
from San Antonio, TX
"Already put many hours in with this pack. Have t found anything to complain about. I can stuff so much gear in there it still amazes me. Very accessible,and so many ways you can customize your accessories on the exterior. 2 thumbs up orvis!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 30, 2014
By: Flyguy7
from Holladay, UT
"This is a quality well-built product that has plenty of room for that long day on the river; it is obvious this sling pack was designed to last a long time. Very satisfied with this purchase."
Review 14 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roomy!,
June 28, 2014
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"I was having trouble getting everything i needed (or thought i needed) into the numerous size packs on hand. So when this was offered i read the comments and couldn't resist the price.
Now i can take as much or as little as I need and can even stuff a light jacket and water in it. As a left handed these never seem to work out but this one does. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 15 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally found the right pack!,
June 27, 2014
By: onesunca
from Portland, Oregon
"I literally have 8 other packs on a shelf in my garage. Day packs, waist packs and sling bags. These are made by the biggest names in the sport and not one solved all of my needs until I ran across the Magnum Sling Pack. Finally I have the appropriate bag to manage all of my gear storage needs for a day on the river as well as providing room enough for snacks, water, even extra clothes/socks if necessary. This pack provides ample room without being too bulky or getting in the way. It also rides in a very comfortable position and at no point gives off the impression that it's too heavy to carry all day. And best of all, ease and simplicity, just slide it in front for access then instantly out of the way and back to fishing. It also has a number of very simple attachment points that are surrounded by magnets so that your tools that would usually swing around on a lanyard remain attached to the bag and protected from falling. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase and to think I got it at such a rock bottom clearance price only helps me to feel better about my new pack. Best of all, it says Orvis and everything about it exudes quality!"
Review 16 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy,
June 25, 2014
By: MyDogRose
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
"Sling Pack is easy to use, holds a lot and is comfortable."
Review 17 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I needed,
June 21, 2014
By: loopydoopz
from Perth, Australia
"This pack is everything I have been looking for. I am planning a trip to New Zealand later this year for some fly fishing. Great quality, great size, comfort and function. I just feel like it needs a small diagram that shows us how to maximise each of the various bits and bobs. I got mine fully loaded too, perfect for a new budding fly angler like me. Great tracking, prompt customer service."
Review 18 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father's Day,
June 20, 2014
By: Jamaica09
"My father was very pleased to receive his gift just before he took off to Colorado fly fishing for 2 weeks. Also, Orvis refunded the money because it wasn't delivered next day on the weekend. Very happy with the service!!"
Review 19 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
June 15, 2014
By: Rick211
from Hendersonville, NC
"Received my SP Magnum Sling pack this week, and am delighted. Right size, and the fully loaded items are all of almost immediate use."
Review 20 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pack,
June 11, 2014
By: DRPE5
from Cookeville, TN
"I would have given it 5 stars, but nothing is perfect! I am a novice fly fisherman and have found this pack extremely useful and easy to use."