Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack

A larger style based on our popular Sling Pack. Perfect for saltwater anglers with bigger boxes or freshwater anglers that just can't leave a box home. Just like the original, the fishing sling pack style allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Pliers sheath provides a secure attachment point for safety lanyard. Forceps sheath features magnetic anchor. Zinger attachment point allows quick and easy access. Magnetic fly pocket and adjustable fly pocket. Adjustable shoulder strap, girth strap. Will accommodate a fly box up to 11" x 7" x 4". Made of a rugged and durable poly/nylon fabric coated with Nuseal for water resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
53 of 54(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sling Pack,
July 29, 2014
By: GRSLVR
from State College, PA
"This was my first sling pack. Being left handed it took me a while to decide how to wear the pack. Once I settled into the pack it is comfortable to wear. The only issue I see is the cross strap needs to be snapped in to be completely comfortable. To access the pack the cross strap needs to be removed. Kind of a pain when accessing the pack frequently. This could be avoided in the future with zingers attached to strap for items used a lot. Overall first impression was positive."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag!,
July 28, 2014
By: BassBustin
"Excellent size, I can fit a larger fly box in there along with a bottle of water. Very comfortable."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Warm Weather,
July 26, 2014
By: ClowntownFlyfisher
from Peru, IN
"Handy pack that carries all the essentials for a day on the river. The pockets,attachment points, magnetic closures, etc. handles all the gear like a vest but the sling design with its open front allows for much cooler fishing on hot days. Strap this on and you won't even know it's there. My only complaint is it hangs a little low for the short stature person. I'm 5'7" and in deeper water the bottom of pack drags in the water despite having it adjusted as high as possible. Be forewarned, the pack is water resistant but not water proof. Beyond this, it is a great buy."
Review 4 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so long vest,
July 21, 2014
By: Lewis
"This is the scond sling pack I have bought. I like the set up and concept."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd one,
July 21, 2014
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Have the original sling pack and carry it always, even in my kayak. The magnum sling pack allows me to carry more fly boxes and gear. If you spend alot of time in your waders the sling pack is a must have piece of equipment."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Pack,
July 21, 2014
By: Steelhead1124
from New Hampshire
"This was my first foray into the leaner, less-is-more world. My vest was getting out of control with what I was carrying.
The Magnum Sling Pack is the perfect solution. I am now more selective in what I carry, which is a good thing. Plenty of room for storage. The big pocket is roomy and no issues for a couple of larger fly boxes and water bottle. The other features are great.
The waist strap is good. It holds the pack in place when swung to the back. The 'D' ring on the back of the shoulder strap is perfectly placed to attach the net.
I am very pleased with the product.
"
Review 7 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Room for everything I need,
July 21, 2014
By: DocD55
from Houma , LA
"I use this pack for bass fishing as well as red fishing from my kayak. Carries everything I need for a full day. Comfortable and easy to access."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
July 18, 2014
By: RSIII
"I bought this pack on sale. It is a good value and useful size. Not too large and not too small."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
July 17, 2014
By: Folemonst
from Charlotte, NC
"Picked this up on sale from the outlet. Used it right away in the mountains of NC. Worked great and held a ton of gear including a rain jacket. my Did not get in the way at all. The extra chest strap held it snug in place.
Thanks orvis!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea meets Orvis quality,
July 17, 2014
By: Roburt
from Richmond, va
"Recently purchased the Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack and as expected the quality is what you have come to expect from Orvis. The design just makes sense. The size for this particular unit works perfect. I am not going back to the truck, if I don't have it on me then I don't use it ! This pack is big enough for what I need, but goes away quick so I can fish!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
first pass is solid,
July 16, 2014
By: YoClyde
from Geneva IL
"I'm happy with the product so far, but haven't put it to an actual use test yet. It will be used for extra items. I'm new to FF and wanted something other than a vest to wear for the other day trip gear."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 16, 2014
By: ProfessorFly
from New Jersey
"The sling pack works really well! It seems to hold quite a few fly boxes and my water bottle in the one section and spools of tippet and other stuff in other section. Even fully loaded, it is really lightweight."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
July 15, 2014
By: Tabookanaka
from Southern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Fit all my fly gear in the sling pack with room to spare! Very comfortable to wear while fishing and walking."
Review 14 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sling pack,
July 15, 2014
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"Excellent product. Have used in kinds of situations and love it"
Review 15 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
July 15, 2014
By: Oldflyguy
from Florida
"I purchased this to use in the surf, I now use it all the time. Fits extremely well and I don't know it there during casting."
Review 16 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sling pack,
July 15, 2014
By: Massfisher
"Really nice sling pack. Able to attach all my tools and tippet spool to the loops, forceps holder is ideal in the strap. Holds my three fly boxes, spare reel, leader wallet with room to spare. Only con is that I would prefer to have the pack ride hider on my back than it naturally does. Typically settles to the mid to lower back. Great for shallow water but gets wet wading deep in ponds."
Review 17 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
July 15, 2014
By: FishnDave
from Iowa
"I mainly warmwater flyfish from shore, sometimes wading. I'm not a fan of vests. I've been getting along well with lumbar packs for years. Recently I encountered situations where I couldn't carry all the fly boxes I needed to suit all the species and situations I would be encountering throughout the day. I bought this sling pack, and it has fit the bill perfectly. Carries plenty of fly boxes, and all my other gear, with room to spare. It fits well, is comfortable to wear, and is easy to access/use. I recommend this product."
Review 18 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best buys,
July 15, 2014
By: copperjon
from Stevensville, Mt.
"If you don,t wear a vest, you a place for all those extra items when your on the river. This pack is set to make easy access to those items . And is easy to carry and stays out of the way when fishing."
Review 19 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
July 4, 2014
By: Fishxbones
from San Antonio, TX
"Already put many hours in with this pack. Have t found anything to complain about. I can stuff so much gear in there it still amazes me. Very accessible,and so many ways you can customize your accessories on the exterior. 2 thumbs up orvis!"
Review 20 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 30, 2014
By: Flyguy7
from Holladay, UT
"This is a quality well-built product that has plenty of room for that long day on the river; it is obvious this sling pack was designed to last a long time. Very satisfied with this purchase."