Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack

A larger style based on our popular Sling Pack. Perfect for saltwater anglers with bigger boxes or freshwater anglers that just can't leave a box home. Just like the original, the fishing sling pack style allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Pliers sheath provides a secure attachment point for safety lanyard. Forceps sheath features magnetic anchor. Zinger attachment point allows quick and easy access. Magnetic fly pocket and adjustable fly pocket. Adjustable shoulder strap, girth strap. Will accommodate a fly box up to 11" x 7" x 4". Made of a rugged and durable poly/nylon fabric coated with Nuseal for water resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
65 of 66(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than a vest!,
August 25, 2014
By: RichofBoise
from San Francisco
"Excellent quality, holds plenty of fly boxes and water bottles in main compartment; unlimited leaders,tippets ddo-dads in front, plus a built-in included fly pad for the days fish. Comfortable, too."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be more pleased,
August 25, 2014
By: lilybean1
from Wells beach Maine
"I have been thinking of replacing my fly fishing pack for a while. I thought I'd try one from Orvis. I know if they sell it it's going to be a quality pack. This pack is so comfortable to wear. It has a nice wide soft neck strap. Fishing will be even more enjoyable with this new pack. I actually bought another of this pack after I saw the first."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big for all your stuff,
August 25, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"As I tie flys I tend to take a lot...plenty of room, nicely made. Use in Alaska as combination backpack and fishing vest."
Review 4 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Possibly the best sling yet,
August 25, 2014
By: Richardisnumber1
"I decided a long time ago that a sling pack is the best way to carry gear for a day on the river or the flats. But many of the sling packs I've used aren't quite right: some are too small to carry what you need, some have no internal organisation meaning you can never find what you need, some are uncomfortable.
Of course, some of this is a function of the limitations of a sling pack - but this pack makes the most of what a sling pack can be: it has two separate pockets, so organisation is good. The detachable foam fly patch is a stroke of genius. External attachment points for tools are sufficient. It is also more comfortable than other packs, but that is a subjective assessment, of course."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack!!,
August 25, 2014
By: Rob4
from Lakeland ,Fl
"The Orvis Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pact is a great pack. The larger size is comfortable, there's plenty of room for everything and I would recommend it."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sling pack,
August 22, 2014
By: Fred818
"I am a beginner fly fisherman and this sling pack is excellent. Comfortable, easy to wear while casting and has enough space to hold enough gear"
Review 7 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good quality,
August 14, 2014
By: 2monk
from Dallas Wi.
"Many years I have used a multi pocket vest for fly fishing. I ordered the sling pack as a replacement. For me it is much easier to use than the vest. The sling has many pockets, holders, and greater capacity. The quality of workmanship is very good. The Orvis service is great as usual. Thanks ."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Owner of many packs...this is the one,
August 13, 2014
By: Ghillie67
from Vestal, NY
"I think I finally found one. Being a woman guide, I have bought and returned many packs and kept some. The issue with previous packs were three-fold: 1) cutting me off across the chest (and I am no Mae West) 2) staying high on the shoulders as they should but never do (WATERPROOF would be nice), and 3) easy access when guiding/fishing. So far this pack has it all - Better instructions for strap use would be nice and a pocket for H2O."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good pack,
August 7, 2014
By: revdon
from Gresham, Or.
"I bought this for my son, but he didn't want it, so I lept it for myself. I would have given it five stars for all the pockets and room, however Orvis did not put a side pocket on for the water bottle that everyone should carry with them these days. It's the only drawback I can see so far. I will be using it on a long trip in a few weeks and may add to this review after that."
Review 10 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
August 7, 2014
By: AndyE
from Allendale, NJ
"Received the Magnum Sling Pack about a week ago and transferred my vest to it. Spent Saturday on the West Branch of the Ausable and loved the pack! Well made, very functional. I was concerned about how my net would hang. It stayed out of the way and was easily accessible from the pack. On Sunday I was on my favorite Adirondack pond. I threw the pack in the bottom of the canoe and had all that I needed at my fingertips all day! Great replacement for a vest!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!,
August 4, 2014
By: fanopoe2
from Charlotte, NC
"This bag is big enough to store all my boxes and associated gear. I tried a chest pack then a vest and found that the bulging pack or pockets limited my range of motion. With this pack, everything is behind you when you're casting but within easy reach when you need it. Construction seems exceptional."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sling Pack,
July 29, 2014
By: GRSLVR
from State College, PA
"This was my first sling pack. Being left handed it took me a while to decide how to wear the pack. Once I settled into the pack it is comfortable to wear. The only issue I see is the cross strap needs to be snapped in to be completely comfortable. To access the pack the cross strap needs to be removed. Kind of a pain when accessing the pack frequently. This could be avoided in the future with zingers attached to strap for items used a lot. Overall first impression was positive."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag!,
July 28, 2014
By: BassBustin
"Excellent size, I can fit a larger fly box in there along with a bottle of water. Very comfortable."
Review 14 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Warm Weather,
July 26, 2014
By: ClowntownFlyfisher
from Peru, IN
"Handy pack that carries all the essentials for a day on the river. The pockets,attachment points, magnetic closures, etc. handles all the gear like a vest but the sling design with its open front allows for much cooler fishing on hot days. Strap this on and you won't even know it's there. My only complaint is it hangs a little low for the short stature person. I'm 5'7" and in deeper water the bottom of pack drags in the water despite having it adjusted as high as possible. Be forewarned, the pack is water resistant but not water proof. Beyond this, it is a great buy."
Review 15 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so long vest,
July 21, 2014
By: Lewis
"This is the scond sling pack I have bought. I like the set up and concept."
Review 16 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd one,
July 21, 2014
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Have the original sling pack and carry it always, even in my kayak. The magnum sling pack allows me to carry more fly boxes and gear. If you spend alot of time in your waders the sling pack is a must have piece of equipment."
Review 17 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Pack,
July 21, 2014
By: Steelhead1124
from New Hampshire
"This was my first foray into the leaner, less-is-more world. My vest was getting out of control with what I was carrying.
The Magnum Sling Pack is the perfect solution. I am now more selective in what I carry, which is a good thing. Plenty of room for storage. The big pocket is roomy and no issues for a couple of larger fly boxes and water bottle. The other features are great.
The waist strap is good. It holds the pack in place when swung to the back. The 'D' ring on the back of the shoulder strap is perfectly placed to attach the net.
I am very pleased with the product.
"
Review 18 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Room for everything I need,
July 21, 2014
By: DocD55
from Houma , LA
"I use this pack for bass fishing as well as red fishing from my kayak. Carries everything I need for a full day. Comfortable and easy to access."
Review 19 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
July 18, 2014
By: RSIII
"I bought this pack on sale. It is a good value and useful size. Not too large and not too small."
Review 20 for Safe Passage Magnum Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
July 17, 2014
By: Folemonst
from Charlotte, NC
"Picked this up on sale from the outlet. Used it right away in the mountains of NC. Worked great and held a ton of gear including a rain jacket. my Did not get in the way at all. The extra chest strap held it snug in place.
Thanks orvis!"