Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Schott® Coach's Jacket

Based on a classic Eisenhower-era coach's jacket—cut a bit longer than the varsity jackets issued to football players, resulting in a warmer jacket on the field—this coat's 24-oz. heavyweight wool fabric repels the cold so you can stay outdoors longer. Knit cuffs and a shawl collar increase the warmth. Fully lined in plaid cotton with a nylon lower kick guard for an easy fit when you're active. Two leather-trimmed outside pockets. Snap-front closure. Classic football jacket in black. Pure wool body. Dry clean. New York City, New York.Sizes: XL(46-48). About 30¼" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Review 1 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Jacket,
November 16, 2012
By: klh00
from British Columbia
"Great jacket, weight and length. Buy one size up from what you would normally wear. It is a bit longer than it appears in pictures (just below hips) and is cut narrow. The leather trim on the packets is a nice touch. I also like the knit collar."
Review 2 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wicked jacket,
November 9, 2012
By: SJGC
from Norfolk UK
"Smart but comfortably casual, warm and wind proof."
Review 3 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Schott® Coach's Jacket,
November 7, 2012
By: Sumanth
from Dallas
"I am very disappointed with the fit of this jacket. The shoulders and arms are tight and don't allow for much movement. I bought this jacket for my dad who is a regular Size 42 and he could not lift his arms or drive with this jacket. Even in the XL size the jacket is very tight and uncomfortable underneath the arms. I dont understand why a company like Schott cant get its basic sizing and fitting right."
Review 4 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Quality; Odd Design,
March 19, 2012
By: KodaB
from NJ
"Beautiful fabric, very warm, appears to be very well constructed. However, I will have to return it as the design is a little odd. With a Coaches Jacket description, I expected something more casual and relaxed. Instead, it is structured in a very formal way, and the fit is for someone other than me."
Review 5 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NICE JACKET,
February 13, 2012
By: Wolfpack
from Garden Grove, CA
"I first saw this jacket in the web(Not ORVIS, But other blog) they said it si beautiful. so I search and ordered. It is nice jacket. I am asian (5'6 160lb)
It is fit to me. I oredered medium
"
Review 6 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beware of sizing,
December 30, 2011
By: JimmySG
from Ontario, Canada
"A wonderful quality made garment! Was everything I was looking for except the sizing is also based in the 50's! Bought the XXL and it fit like a small XL. Beware of the sizing!!"
Review 7 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It almost was.....,
December 23, 2011
By: BigRog
from Hinckley, IL
"When I first viewed this coat, i was very excited! It had everything that I wanted and looked extremely handsome too. However, when it arrived and after trying-it-on, it did NOT fit properly! Then I went online and found 7-8 reviews of other Orvis customers who experienced the same problem, it does NOT fit through the shoulders. Otherwise, it looks great but why hasn't Orvis fixed this problem? It would save a lot of trouble by warning people?"
Review 8 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
looks not everything,
December 20, 2011
By: P39A
". . . and the coat looks great. The sizes are right out of the fifties so L is really XL. I'm a fit 44R and this is a close to the form coat. It's made of a high quality wool, with little insulation, one inside deep breast pocket and two leather trimmed outside shallow hand warmer pockets. No thinsulate, no extra pocket for the cell. The knit shawl collar is great and gives the feel and warmth of a scarf around the neck and the knit cuffs keep in the heat just as well.
Quality and appearence shouldn't come with diminished utility.
"
Review 9 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yes and no,
December 8, 2011
By: Sipinky
"Jacket was very cool and high quality. However, the arm holes were far too tight at my normal size. Everything else fit. I went to the Austin and Dallas stores to try on a larger size to see if it could still fit with possibly more room in the arms, but neither store carries it. Only on-line, I guess. Disappointing since the jacket is perfect otherwise. So hard to say whether I could recommend this one."
Review 10 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For years I was look for Jacket like that,
November 3, 2011
By: pade
from Yuba City California
"Always you give good information, the price are high but the product is good"
Review 11 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
XXL Poor Fit,
October 25, 2011
By: JLMSF
from San Francisco, CA
"Great looking jacket and seemed to be very good quality. But like the other "Poor Fit" review, mine was also very tight in the shoulders. I'm 6'5" / 230 lbs and a swimmer's build. Really thought (and hoped) the XXL would fit. Tried it with just a dress shirt on and certainly no room to wear a sweater underneath. Hated to have to return it."
Review 12 for Schott® Coach's Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
XL Poor fit,
October 13, 2011
By: rcr1996
from Georgia
"I have been looking for a quality coach's jacket for a long time and was excited to see this one come out from Orvis. I am 6'1" /200 lbs/trim build so I ordered an XL size. The jacket I received was great looking and top quality but was very tight in shoulders and arms. Sent it back for credit because of the tight fit. Other XL jackets from Orvis have been a good size for me. If the fit had been good, I would have rated it a five star."