Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
136 of 146(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love My Silver Sonic Waders,
April 12, 2014
By: MickeyLawrence
from Western North Carolina
"So comfortable, I forgot I was wearing them several times each day on my three day trip."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed,
April 12, 2014
By: Ping1
from steamboat springs co
"This is reasonably expensive wader and leaked after less than one season of use.
The horizontal seams at the inside of the articulated knees wear due to friction when walking, and eventually leaks occur. An essentially identical review appears in the current review list.
I did not receive any satisfactory response from either the dealer or the central customer service phone other than a suggestion to patch them.
"
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great buy for great waders!,
April 3, 2014
By: CoryL
from Orange County,CA
"Read a lot of reviews before making my decision on the convertible silver sonics they are great buy I definetly feel you get your money's worth with these waders, had good experience with the guy at the Pasadena store in CA with helping me choose the right size they didn't have my size of convertibles I wanted in stock but they got them ordered and shipped to me within a week, if your thinking of the silver sonics they are definetly worth it! Thanks Orvis you guys have awesome customer service!"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A shame that they leak,
April 1, 2014
By: Garioch
from Aberdeenshire, Scotland
"Really quite upset at this one. I bought my Silver Sonics on the promise of leak free waders. I have used them for a total of about 6 days spread over the winter months. At first I loved them. The waterproof iPhone holder is inspirational and the ability to roll the tops down is great. the bely and fit are superb. They are also pretty stylish.
However, the booties are HUGE. I went for Medium Longs and I have size 9 feet. The boots are a joke, at least a size 13! there is a good 1.5" of spare material even after wearing Orvis wader socks to pad them out.
Additionally, I climbed out the water on friday to find wet patches on my trousers, one from the front boot seam on my right foot, one from the rear boot seam on my left foot.
Now, the reason for the Medium Long was so that there was no strain put on the seams when getting in and out of the river and kneeling down. There is no pulling of the seams at all and when putting on the waders, I pull on the neoprene, not the breathable fabric, so i know I have not stretched the seams.
This is the first pair of "premium" waders I have owned and they have lasted the shortest time.
I have to return my waders to the store where I know the manager will look after me, but that's not the point. The adverts state hard wearing, these have hardly been worn and are well looked after, dried after each trip and stored laid out in a dark, cool room.
A real shame."
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
March 31, 2014
By: MHull140
from Battenkill River
"I bought these waders for the value. They are a great price compaired to the competators and very high quality. They are very functional and add to my fishing arsenal. The ability for the waders to easily convert to pants is an absolut delight, even on the cold days. After a long day of wading and the need for a long hike back to the truck this is a great feature to help you cool without shedding layers. At first i was skeptical about the fit of the neoprene booties, however after a day of wading in the cold Battenkill river all doubt was gone. They were more than confortable.
Summary: if you are looking for the best value in the industry I would highly recomend silver sonic waders for all weekend warriors and guides."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 25, 2014
By: Allan1234
from Covina, CA
"After researching every manufacture my son-in-law purchased the Silver Sonic Waders. I figured if they were good enough for him then I needed to buy my own. I have been fly fishing for the last thirty-five years and have used several other brands. I like the way Silver Sonic's fit, and can't wait to get out on the water."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
March 25, 2014
By: tgwsci
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Just bought my first pair of silver sonic waders and I am really impressed. Fit and finish are excellent, utility is outstanding."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a X-Tall Wader,
March 24, 2014
By: Obiwan8900
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I was happy to see that Orvis came out with an X-Tall wader. I am 6'7" tall and have had trouble finding tall waders. I do wish that they offered a XXL-X-Tall size though, The largest they have is the XL-X-Tall, which fits, but is a little snug. I have been happy with their performance after spending two full days in them steelhead fishing."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected!,
March 20, 2014
By: ScottSr
from Watauga river Tn.
"Fished eight hours today in a Driftboat getting in and out was a breeze, these are the most comfortable waders I have ever owned"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big disappointment,
March 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"I really like Orvis products in general, but these waders have been a bust. I bought them at a local fly shop on a recent trip and was initially impressed. They worked fine on my first trip but since then, they seem to spring a small leak every time I use them. I've found every pen hole I can and sealed them but they appear to be leaking from the seam across the knee. At first it was just the right leg but now it is the left as well. I've had them for less than a year."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a year of hard use, going strong,
March 20, 2014
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I have used these waders for a full year. I use my waders hard - sliding down rocks on my butt, forcing my way through briars and bushes, doing anything to get to where I want to fish. I've used them in drift boats, on rivers and in small creeks. They have held up well with not a single leak, unlike other high end waders I have worn. They breath well, fit well, and the convertible feature (takes a little getting used to) is great when nature calls!."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!!!,
March 7, 2014
By: CapCrusader
from Mansfield, TX
"Great performing waders. Light, and amazingly durable. If you like going after brookies, these are absolutely perfect for the trek down the stream.
I highly recommend!!
"
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely comfortable, very reliable,
March 4, 2014
By: adadds25
from Louisville, KY
"The waders are really comfortable in all water temperatures. The convertible top also provides some flexibility in wearing preferences."
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
February 21, 2014
By: RRJacobo
from Pinson, Alabama
"I have tried them on. haven't had the chance to put them to the test yet. Over all workmanship is excellent quality very good. Now the test next week.
RJ"
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fitting wader ever,
February 15, 2014
By: Kentko
from Cedar Rapids, Ia
"I just received my silver sonic convertible top waders. These things fit me incredibly well. I am 6'2 and weigh 200 lbs. after talking with the Orvis rep on line, I ordered the large/long along with the Clearwater II wading boot in size 11. I can't wait to gives these babies a go when steelhead fishing this spring. Thanks to the Orvis staff for making this a great wader experience!"
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Waders - love the Convertible option,
February 10, 2014
By: TAFly
from Atlanta, GA
"I have used these waders 6 times from 2 hours to all day for fly fishing. The waders are very comfortable and have performed well including small hikes getting to/from favorite fishing spots. The booties are excellent and very comfortable in the Orvis Clearwater II boots I use. They dry quickly and can be folded up tightly for easy storage."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Sturdy,
January 30, 2014
By: Bizell3rd
from Eastvale, CA
"The Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders appeared to be very well made right out of the box. I have had other waders and initially have been skeptical about their durability. Would they actually keep me dry? However, these waders instilled a very secure feeling. After the first try-on, I new I made the right choice in the Orvis brand waders"