Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (200 reviews)
5 stars
142
4 stars
36
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
7
182 of 200(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great waders for active fly fishers,
December 19, 2014
By: LooknFishy
from AR
"Pick these up for wearing while I'm fly fishing from my kayak. The convertible top is great for staying cool while paddling. Easy to drop when I'm paddling and raise when I need to wade. A 5 star product if the rear buckle were easier to reach. As it is no problem releasing it but really hard to re-attach when you need chest high. Awesome fit."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstnding service,
December 16, 2014
By: Johnfrompenna
"Orvis has continued to provide outstanding service to me over the years. I returned a pair of Silver Label waders with a nominal fee for repair. Rather than repairing the waders, Orvis sent me a pair of the new Silver Sonic waders instead. These waders look great and are a comfortable fit. I am sure they will prove durable and a pleasure to fish in. Thank you Orvis for your unbeatable service.."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid waders,
December 8, 2014
By: wiegel
from Pulaski, NY
"Well I got these a fews years ago now right when they came out and finally ready to write a review. Im about 6 foot tall and went with the regular large size. I wish I had got the extra long legs so have more movement. at times hiking or chasing steelhead down river they feel tight around my knees. Ive had my front zipper come off and fall in the river but just made my own thats easier to use. and i like the idea of the drianing gravel gaurds but they are just to bulky and drag a lot in current. However, i wear these waders well over 100 times a year and bushwack, slide down hills and fall my fair share of times and these waders have never leaked or shown any obvoius wear besides the stiching on the back belt loop. But they go on and off super easy. These are my first pair of stockingfoot waders and I am very pleased"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
December 5, 2014
By: hairsear
from Central New York
"These are the best fitting waders I have owned. They allow for freedom of movement and less drag in deep water than I'm used to. They just feel like a quality piece of equipment from top to bottom."
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super sonic Christmas present!,
December 4, 2014
By: mpearson
from N.C
"I have been wanting these waders since they came out and since I have worn my others out, I finally decided to give myself an early Christmas present and purchased the Silver Sonics just in time for winter fishing, and have been extremely impressed with the fit, and the superb performance of these waders. I have always liked Orvis gear and will continue buying Orvis for years to come. Thank you for these great waders!"
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Comfortable,
December 3, 2014
By: backtomorrow
from Western, MA
"Bought these waders as a backup pair late last winter. After fishing in them in a couple of times they became my favorites all season. Wonderfully roomy and comfortable, light weight and EZ on and off. I found the convertible feature especially nice during the heat of July & August and the extra room allows for layering in cooler weather."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Wader for the Money!,
November 30, 2014
By: WNCFlyGuy
from Asheville, NC
"Have worn Simms for years, bought these as a replacement for an old leaky pair based on the price & convenience to pick up locally. I've been very pleasantly surprised! Super comfortable, great suspenders and have been flawless on a dozen trips or so. Fairly rugged but not quite on par w/ Simms. Will get a pair of guides at some point & use these as back-up/warmer weather waders. Have made a convert of me."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good waders,
November 28, 2014
By: Liam000
from Australia
"I have worn these waders a few times now and love them. Comfy, keep me dry etc. I also love the storage on them. The only downside is the grip on the booties. It does make it hard to get my wading boots on. Other than that, im loving them."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Now an Orvis Man,
November 27, 2014
By: HookedOnOrvis
from Ottawa, Canada
"I debated hard about Simms or Orvis for my waders. First waders were Redingtons I bought used as I was new to fly fishing. Well, now that I'm "hooked" on fly fishing I'm making more investments. I'm 5'11" and 200lbs. Reading other reviews I was getting nervous legs would be long and baggy. As soon as I put them on the fit was great. I'm a size 10 foot and bootie was a little large, but this was not an issue in my boots at all...I ran straight down to Pulaski on the Salmon River to test things out and I can now really appreciate quality waders versus my entry-level Redingtons. Wow. Great, comfortable fit and I can tell they're gonna wear well. I had a slip on the Salmon River on a rough rock and leg material didn't show any sign. (More on that spill in my other review of the Gale Force Waist Pack) Love the function of the convertibles...could put the bib down to access some items in pocket much easier. Overall totally pleased and would recommend these waders as the best buy on the market."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOP WADERS,
November 17, 2014
By: Luke127
"Looking forward to using new my new Sonic Silver Waders in mountain streams of North and South Carolina."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really happy with staff/purchase/product,
November 4, 2014
By: Albs
from Worthington Ohio
"went to store in Worthington Ohio needed waders for fishing trip scheduled two days later satff in worythington offcie got corporate on the line and virginia made sure i rec'd waders via fed exp next day even though past 4:30 deadline. Waders kept me warm/dry/comfortable in 45 degree water for 4 hrs. have pics to document.
went fishing and had best catch ever. Thanks Orvis in Worthington, OH and Virginia"
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silver Sonic Convertible Waders,
November 3, 2014
By: CWR013
from Archdale NC
"Ordered size small online Thursday and received them following Tuesday. Size small was too small therefore I took them to local Orvis store they quickly exchanged them no questions asked. Although I have yet to try them on the water, I have initial impressions. The quality of the build is excellent. I am of small stature being 5'7 130lbs. For my size, there seems to be a lot of extra unneeded material particularly in the chest area. Not sure I am going to be a fan of the convertible aspect of the waders. Seems a little much to me and in fact, I removed the straps that are used to make them convertible replacing them w the included extra straps. These (using traditional straps and not the convertible straps) seem a lot less "fiddly" in my opinion. I like the idea of the included dry pouch. However, this pouch is not as easy to close as one would expect. It works like a sandwich zipper bag but again, does not zip easily. On the other hand, it is a robust bag and I am confident it would keep valuables dry even if dunked in the water. At the end of the day however, one only wants to be dry and warm when wading and I have no doubt these waders will perform as such. I am assigning 4 stars based solely on the fact the fit is not as trim as I would like. I give them 5 stars for quality."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
like these waders,
October 13, 2014
By: bruinsluvtofish
"Just purchased a pair of convertibles. The convertible feature is great. Wore them down until it got cold or when I needed to wade deeper. Also, it made it much easier to relieve myself!
I had a pair of orvis waders previously which did not wear very well (leaked at the seams). Hopefully these will wear better. Will see how they do over the next year."
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
October 9, 2014
By: jackl1978
from New Jersey
"What a pair of waders. Why did I wait so long to buy a pair of waders from Orvis. These are a must for any serious angler looking for new comfortable waders."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real good product,
October 9, 2014
By: TheSoftHackleGuide
from Pittsburg, NH
"I am on the river 5 or 6 days a week guiding or doing "market research". A pair of waders usually last me about a year, more or less. I'm finishing my
second year on my Super Sonic Convertible waders and plan to wear them until they wear out. That could be a while.....
"
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good! VERY nice waders!,
October 7, 2014
By: flyguy139
"Update to my review last week on the Sonic Convertibles. I know it's only been a short time since my first review but I get on the water or in the creeks a lot and so far I've had them out at least 7 or 8 times for an average of 4-5 hours each time. So far these waders are great! Ive had to hike with them, walk through knee deep creeks littered with downed limbs, rocks etc. and these have performed very well. I can't stress enough the "comfortability" of these waders. The suspender system is so convenient, it takes me seconds to get everything on compared to a couple minutes with my old pair and when your "combat fishing" every second counts to help get your spot in the madness of Steelhead fishing. My feet usually get very cold even in 50 degree water but these are paired with Simms liner and wading sock and Simms boots and my feet were warm and dry all day!"
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fitting waders,
October 3, 2014
By: flyguy139
"Here's my .02 cents. I like to give as detailed reviews as possible because I hate reviews like "fits great" or "works well" and that's all that's said....really!? So here goes. My local fly shop sells Orvis, Simms and Redington for waders and I was drawn to these first off because of the looks... I know but it is what it is lol. As far as size goes Im 5'11" 210lbs 30-31" inseam and a size 10 for shoes. If I went by Orvis's size chart I would be a size XL. I tried an XL but they were too big and the yes the booties were too big as well so I then tried a size Large and the fit was perfect! There is plenty of room for layering but not too big. With me having a size 10 in regular shoes the booties were fine, they have some extra room (maybe like 1/2-3/4") but when I put my boots on I didn't notice any bunching like others have, in fact everything was very comfortable. For the price point and features you get you can't beat them! Convertible system, 1 large exterior water tight pocket, 2 interior pockets one being water proof and detachable, the suspender system makes it a lot easier to get everything up and on without searching and reaching for straps like typical waders, the fabric they use is heavy duty yet these are very light and comfortable! The shop I bought them at had me kneel, step up and down and in every way I moved they were very comfortable, no binding or pulling in any way. I can easily see myself walking some distances, walking through brush, over obstacles etc. with these and have no worries they are that comfortable. What else can I say these are very, very nice waders!"