Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
128
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
7
159 of 176(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
August 28, 2014
By: ScottsdaleChuck
from Scottsdale, AZ
"The convertible top waders are great. I got the medium short and they fit great including the boot sock. Nice to have boot sock at the right size and not bunch up with wading boots on. The convertible top will be great for warm day fishing on the Colorado River, Lees Ferry."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An improvement,
August 12, 2014
By: Spotthedog
from U.K.
"I purchased these new at the start of this season. The sizing is good except for the very large neoprene boot which is excessively large and tends to roll up at the heal inside my wading boots. They seem durable except that the stitching is coming apart at the elastic stone guard."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I changed my mind.,
August 5, 2014
By: Bushie
from Manchester, NH 03103
"Last year I had decided that it was time for a new pair of waders. I decided my new pair should be hip waders and not chest waders do to my age, 75, I am not as steady on my feet as I was 60 years ago. Who is? So I ordered a pair of hip waders from Orvis, I received them late last season. I never opened the box, just put them away and waited for this season to open. In early June we went upstate New Hampshire to trout fish for 3 days. The first day I took them out of the box and tried to put them on. I am 6' tall and weigh 220 lbs. They were Mediums and not the Ex. Large I had ordered. So when I got back home I called Orvis and explained my problem. They understood , but explained to me that they did not have any stock in my size in hip waders and didn't know when they would.
I had just received a new Orvis catalog and in there I found the new Silver Sonic Convertible Top Waders. I liked the idea so I ordered a pair and received them 4 days later. So far I have used them twice and I am very satisfied with them. When it's hot, unhook the top and slide them down and they become hip waders. They are great.
So after almost a year later, from my first ordering a pair of hip waders, I now have the new Convertible-Top Waders and they are just fine. Luv'm.
"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leaks, leaks, and more leaks,
July 31, 2014
By: Kolledog
from New Hartford, CT
"I bought Silver Sonic waders three weeks before a trip to MT. I wanted to wear them before heading west, and the first time I wore them, both legs leaked. I called Orvis and was told that it would take 6-8 weeks to repair them. I asked for a refund and was refused. I continued to wear them and have now worn them 40-50 times. They always leak. Always. I worn them yesterday and my left leg filled with water. My right pant leg got wet, but at least my whole foot wasn't soaked. Any way to use a zero-star rating?"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
if they didnt leak they would be great,
July 29, 2014
By: hendrixcc
from horton,ny
"I bought a pair in May both stcockings began leaking within 30days. No problem I returned them and they sent me a new pair withn 2 weeks. Now the right stocking is leaking on new pair. Must be a defect. I love Orvis and their customer service, but now I have to do this all over again. Next time Ill order the guide pants."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Waders,
July 26, 2014
By: avimar
from Galveston, TX
"Excellent stocking foot waders. Pack easily and compactly in the included carry bag. Comfortable and dry quickly. Sizing is accurate and fits real world dimensions. Convertible feature is wonderful but releasing the back strap is a bit awkward. Best waders I've ever owned."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great...but problems,
July 18, 2014
By: Shipley
from Rolla, Mo
"This is my second pair. The first lasted almost 5 years and then began to delaminate...about what can be expected from breathable waders with regular use. I replaced them and in my second season have found a serious "chafing" issue where the inner stocking foot meets the outer breathable materia, causing me to have a wet foot. Only in one spot but possibly a killer for these waders. I take good care of my waders and love these but if I can't repair the leak I won't purchase another pair. That being said, the design is wonderful and all I could ask for in fit, comfort, and function. I really hope I can repair them!"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WY Cowboy,
July 17, 2014
By: WyCowboy1954
from God's Country Wy.
"fit of waders was ok as far as length goes, had they extra long xl. Booties were way to big and bulky. All they did was bunch up inside the boot which was way too much to be comfortable. The convertable part was a little difficult especially the back strap, also miss the front hand warmer pockets, Already sent them back, but going to an Orvis store to try other styles"
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mia Culpa,
July 10, 2014
By: JackLN
from on line
"I've used these waders on three occasions so far, and I really like them. The inside and outside pouches provide plenty of room for gear that needs to stay dry, and there is enough room to hang glasses an a camera around my neck that will stuff into the bib of the wader.
The only problem I have is that the booties are too big; but, the way I see, it's not Orvis' fault that I'm 5' 8" tall and weigh 200 lbs. If I lost 20 lbs I could buy a wader with a smaller bootie. These waders will be great in cold weather with a couple pair of socks. In the mean time, perhaps this will serve as incentive to loose some weight.
"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lemons to lemonade,
July 3, 2014
By: Commander
from Vernon, Texas
"Last month I went to open our cabin after having winterized it months earlier only to find that it had been broken into and my fishing gear stolen, most of which were Orvis products accumulated over many years. As a replacement I purchased Silversonic Convertible waders and Korkers wading boots from Orvis. After repairing the cabin I have put these products to the test and both have been terrific, maybe the best I've ever had."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Intelligent design, superb quality!,
July 3, 2014
By: LordRixofEngland
from England
"Having just returned from a trip to the Findhorn with friends, I can safely say that my Silver Sonic's are now fully tested and passed with flying colours too!
This rocky Scottish spate river eats waders, the abrasion of constant rock-hopping and the potential for snags has killed at least a pair each season and sometimes two.
A friend and lifelong fisherman recommended I invest in Orvis, this I did and i can say this was the best money I have spent on keeping dry.
Previous purchases have been both more and less expensive and none have featured such logical design features and most importantly, the will to survive!
This fabric is super lightweight and I fully expected it to fail after a day or two, or one good snag through a gorse bush. It is as tough as a team of sherpas and after fishing for 12 hours one is glad of the comfort the low weight and easy cut affords.
Tiny details impressed me; the dual straps option is clever and the front pocket design with seperate waterproof pouch is brilliant.
Highland Scotland is where the weather changes from chill to hot in just a few minutes. I never overheated and found the breathable properties of this fabric seemed to work particularly well.
I recommend these to any slightly portly yet enthusiastic fisher, they are superbly made and thoughtfully designed."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Silver Sonic,
June 26, 2014
By: sobranch
from NJ
"Received these waders as a gift. I was very impressed with the overall quality of the material and the convertible system. I am 6' 2" and 200 pounds and the large tall fits well. However, the booties are too big. I wear a size 12 shoe (placing me on the high end of the suggested range) and had at least a size and a half to spare. When placed into a boot, the booties scrunched up and become uncomfortable at the end of the day. This was my first pair of premium or even name brand waders and they left me with much to desire."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
6 foot 7 and looking to Wade,
June 26, 2014
By: CaptD
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
"So as the title says I am Tall. This was problematic when looking for waders. After reading closely the fit guide, I chose the convertible waders in the Tall XL.
So when they arrived, I paired them with some boots. Fit was great' so read that guide.
I was able to move easily and took them out that day. Walking was easy and while I was worried about the bootie bunching on the boots ( causing undo friction) this was not the case. Very nice. They have a hook to assist in securing the rock guard to the boot. Some boots may not have the hook. Mine did and it worked easily. The elastic at the end of the guard should assist if your boots do not have this feature. It was snug.
The material kept me dry and was not hot. It had lots of adjustments so you can fine tune your fit.
Overall very nice and very pleased.
"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
supper waders,
June 24, 2014
By: gonfishn
from Western Pa.
"We had a slow start to our trout fishing this year because of all the rain we got. But once the conditions got good enough to fish I gave them a work out. So far have been a excellent wader. Great fit and really enjoy the option of making them convertible with out removing the suspenders . At our school this year I got a lot of questions on how I liked them. The students were really impressed on their versatility. Good job on this one."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic,
June 19, 2014
By: iflysw
from Rhode Island
"I was looking for a light weight stocking foot wader why look any further then Orvis. I used the wader matched with there ultra lite wading boot . The no seams make it very comfortable for a days fly fishing."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic Waders,
June 19, 2014
By: surfcrazee
from Solana Beach, CA
"The Waders were comfortable and the I liked the ability to move the suspenders off of the shoulders. It would be helpful to have a recommendation of proper wading boots/shoes to accompany the waders."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Breath Well - Durable,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"These waders are reasonably durable and breath very well. I use them mostly in fresh water during the winter. Not a single problem. The plastic phone pouch is nice. I ended up with the XXL so I could get more clothing under them for winter. They are a bit long, but never tight! I am 6' and 240."