Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.496 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (228 reviews)
5 stars
161
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
8
207 of 228(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Waders,
May 22, 2015
By: ElMundo
from Northern California
"Bought online, sizing was good and the size chart definitely helped. The built in neoprene foot socks are a large but were not uncomfortable in my felt boots. Waders were very comfortable, used for a 3 day fishing weekend and got all weather, cool, overcast, rain and sunny and warm. Best part was that the waders did not heat up into a sweat box during a sunny afternoon. If the neoprene booties fit better they would rate five stars."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy breezy!,
May 17, 2015
By: BoxerMD731
from Baltimore, MD
"I've had a chance to wear these waders out five times since I purchased these. I can say that these waders are truly amazing! They are really lightweight and breathable but at the same time rugged. The best part about these waders are that they are convertible. The last time I was out on the river, it was 82 degrees out. I just slipped down the suspenders and felt the breeze on the river which made an enjoyable afternoon, not to mention landing a nice 13 inch rainbow! Thanks, Orvis for quality equipment... Mike"
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Siler Sonic Leaks,
May 15, 2015
By: William1inMichigan
from Michigan
"Have used Orvis waders for years and have been pleased with the quality and when the Silver Labels were finally worn out I replaced with a pair of Silver Sonic. Had them just a couple of years with light use maybe 15 times and disappointed to note the right foot now leaks. Expected more from Orvis for a pair of premium waders."
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Company and Waders,
May 14, 2015
By: DamonM
from Hamilton, New Zealand
"Company service is brilliant and waders are awesome!!"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waders should be easy to put on,
May 11, 2015
By: Kahoona
from Blakeslee, PA
"Waders should be easy to put on, comfortable and do not leak. For years I have always ordered they boot foot waders as they were easy to put on and I did not have to worry about an extra shoe to carry along with me. Well this all changed when my four year old Orvis River Guard Silver Label Bogs Boot foot Waders with Eco-Trax Soles sprung a leak. I was heartbroken and was very leery about the stocking foot wader. I ordered and received my Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders with the River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles. Because I never had stocking foot waders before, it was a little awkward but rather easy to put them on. Once all set, the comfort level was amazing. The shoes were so comfortable and easy to walk in that they felt as though I had sneakers on. The waders themselves were spacious as well as designed well. I opted for the convertibles as I wade small streams. Once I figured out how to convert them (There was no directions for this) it was very nice. Overall, I give these boots a 4 star, so far."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fit for a big guy,
May 7, 2015
By: EricLunar
"Im a big guy and it is tough to get around the gut with a good fit. These are very comfortable. Love having built in gravel gaurds. Keeping me nice and dry."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silversonic waders are great,
May 6, 2015
By: FishingDoc
from Manchester, VT
"These waders fit me perfectly. Very comfortable and breathable. High quality, sturdy construction, still flexible and light. Very excited about this fishing season."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 4, 2015
By: FirstTimer15
from Ohio
"I recently purchased the Silver Sonic Convertible-Top waders in preparation for my first time out. Not wanting to buy something cheap that might leak the first time (didn't want leaks to ruin my trip) Ii erred on the side of paying extra. These were comfortable, breathable and all-around a great purchase. I kept dry, especially being in the water for a few hours at a time. I really liked the fact that I could lower the upper part down to my waist when I was out of the water or I was not in high water and wanted to stay cooler.
The inner zip lock pocket is an awesome idea. I was able to keep my fishing license, phone, car keys, etc. safe. The fold over velcro closure is a nice added protection.
The only complaints I have is that the areas around the knee caps were a little tight if I needed to sit or squat. The second is that for a skinny guy like me, I had a hard time sinching up the belt really tight. This is not fault of Orvis, just my build.
Otherwise, these are a great buy. I definitely will recommend these waders to friends. I can't wait to get back out again."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Waders, Good Price,
May 3, 2015
By: Tombombadill
from Philadelphia, PA
"These waders are very nice, I like the cellphone pocket the flip pocket and the big front pocket.
The convertable function is great for hot days on the water.
The welded seams are strong and don't leak.
As with all things Orvis the Price can't be beat when you compare them with other comprable products.
I expect many season's of fishing without a problem.
Thank you.
"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great waders need one modification,
April 26, 2015
By: ErikLowlander
from Europe
"These waders are great, comfortable and light. Love them. One point of improvement though. The gravelguards need a strip of mesh all along the back instead of the little piece on the bottom. Right now the guards act like balloons when submersed, increasing resistance in the flow while wading. It also makes them ride up, which annoys me. A strip of mesh along the back would enable the trapped air to escape, fixing the problem and make these good waders perfect.. Just do it!"
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
April 15, 2015
By: 48legacy
from Madison, Wi
"Only one problem that I can see.
They are hard to get on because the suspenders don't unsnap in the in the front and you have to wiggle into them.
"
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Purchase,
April 8, 2015
By: mr1081
from Boise, Idaho
"I ordered the convertible Silver Sonic waders and they were not only delivered on time but they are a fantastic product and at a great price. People can pay a higher price for a competitor's product but the quality is not any better! Heading to the Owyhee River, Oregon to catch some 20"-30" browns on the fly!"
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
April 7, 2015
By: exnhlo
from Gillette Wyoming
"Bought these waders as a gift to myself. Wore them a few days after they arrived and caught the biggest rainbow of my life, so they must work! Seriously, great product."
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightest Waders Ever,
April 7, 2015
By: Chico45
from Southeastern Ma.
"I have been using the old style heavy waders with attached boots all my life. After years of looking at these waders I finally purchased them. The first thing I noticed was the feeling that I didn't have on any waders at all. The second thing is I always sweat in waders no matter what the temperature is outside. I guess these waders are really breathable as I did not sweat in them."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice Waders,
April 7, 2015
By: ASG1
from Carmel, NY
"The Quality and Fit of these wades is great. I have not had a chance try them out, but I know I'm going to love these waders. Excellent Quality!"
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good,
April 6, 2015
By: JacksonRainbows
"Just got a pair of silver sonic convertible waders - first new pair in about 10 years. First - they fit great. At 6'6", I can't always say that, but the XL - XLong are perfect. Quality looks good and the waders are comfortable to wear. Will stream test them in a few weeks. Only wish is for a place to attach my net on the back of the shoulder straps (guide series has a ring, but not the convertible series)."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
April 6, 2015
By: CajunFly
from Bourg,Louisiana
"These waders are among the best. The people that work at the Orvis store in Baton Rouge are very experienced in what they do. Even though this wader was not in stock, they size me and my up for waders that fit perfect. Last year they sized up the right outfit(3 weight Clearwater rod with a Battenkill II reel for my son and a 4 weight Clearwater rod with a Battenkill III reel for me) for both my son and I. They were perfect for the Appalachian Mountains. Going back this year with the waders to fish creeks even harder. Thanks Orvis!"