Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (208 reviews)
5 stars
147
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
8
188 of 208(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
water logged...,
February 23, 2015
By: modiddler
from NY
"had these for a serious season. Hardcore fishing. fished yesterday and my right foot filled up with water in seconds. might last a season but after that don't plan on a long lasting wader… orvis has great products but dam these waders are nit that great all in all."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waders,
February 9, 2015
By: don7
"first waders i've owned they fit great price was great.
have not gone in the water yet but am looking forward to it.
"
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
February 3, 2015
By: Vermonter802
from Clarendon, Vermont / Vail, CO
"I did an extensive amount of researching for waders, since they would be my first pair. I selected the Silver sonic waders,I was impressed when I saw the waders in store. After about 5-6 months of very light use, tiny holes started to appear on the bottom portion of the legs, It didn't hold up quality wise overall. I'm fairly disappointed with the quality of my pair, maybe it was a defect..
I'm hoping Orvis will take care of the problem for me. I would like to upgrade to the Guide version if possible, it seems a lot durable compared to this model.
"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waders Boots,
February 3, 2015
By: Bentley08
from Vail Colorado
"Great quality product as always from ORVIS!! In Colorado you always need top notch waders and boots. Both are great!!"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Product,
January 20, 2015
By: NateTheFisherman
from York, PA
"After reading countless reviews on the interweb, it became clear that these waders were going to be a good purchase. I wasn't wrong with taking that chance. Not only were there of great quality, way better than others I've seen, they were moderately priced. You can certainly trust Orvis will continue to produce high quality items as they have in the past. These waders, along with Orvis wading boots, have certainly set me up for a lifetime of dependable fishing gear for various conditions. I really enjoy the convertible feature as well, highly recommend. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
January 5, 2015
By: KatoMcGhee
from SLC, UT
"These waders were selected because of their high ratings by Yellowstone Anglers. their comfort, fit, breath-ability and durability were primary considerations. Once the decision was made, the total purchase experience was a real treat. I ordered by phone. the woman who handled my order was kind, friendly, conversant, and efficient. It was a tremendous overall experience. To top it off, the size ordered was too large so I needed to make an exchange. That entire experience was as pleasant and efficient as the initial order. Great waders and great service are an excellent combination. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, Not Great,
January 4, 2015
By: ColoradoTrout5768697
"I picked these up after my last pair of Orvis convertibles finally bit the dust. I have been thrilled with the previous pair (older silver label version). I think most of the changes are definitely for the better, with the exception of two:
1)The neoprene booties are WAY to big. I have a hard time even getting my feet into my boots. Once I do, they are quite tight until I've walked for 10 - 15 min, after which I pretty much forget about it.
2)The seam between the gravel guard and leg is very poorly designed. The way the seam has been constructed allows a lot of sand and silt to stay in the seam after you come out of the water. It is so bad that I have to use my air compressor when I get home to clean the seam out. I am very afraid that the increase in abrasive material will prematurely destroy this seam. I am going to resort to neoprene wraps to go around the area to protect the seam."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders,
January 3, 2015
By: TallJon
from Baltimore, MD
"Comfortable, adjustable, lightweight. Short of acting as a fish magnet, these waders do it all."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great waders for active fly fishers,
December 19, 2014
By: LooknFishy
from AR
"Pick these up for wearing while I'm fly fishing from my kayak. The convertible top is great for staying cool while paddling. Easy to drop when I'm paddling and raise when I need to wade. A 5 star product if the rear buckle were easier to reach. As it is no problem releasing it but really hard to re-attach when you need chest high. Awesome fit."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstnding service,
December 16, 2014
By: Johnfrompenna
"Orvis has continued to provide outstanding service to me over the years. I returned a pair of Silver Label waders with a nominal fee for repair. Rather than repairing the waders, Orvis sent me a pair of the new Silver Sonic waders instead. These waders look great and are a comfortable fit. I am sure they will prove durable and a pleasure to fish in. Thank you Orvis for your unbeatable service.."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid waders,
December 8, 2014
By: wiegel
from Pulaski, NY
"Well I got these a fews years ago now right when they came out and finally ready to write a review. Im about 6 foot tall and went with the regular large size. I wish I had got the extra long legs so have more movement. at times hiking or chasing steelhead down river they feel tight around my knees. Ive had my front zipper come off and fall in the river but just made my own thats easier to use. and i like the idea of the drianing gravel gaurds but they are just to bulky and drag a lot in current. However, i wear these waders well over 100 times a year and bushwack, slide down hills and fall my fair share of times and these waders have never leaked or shown any obvoius wear besides the stiching on the back belt loop. But they go on and off super easy. These are my first pair of stockingfoot waders and I am very pleased"
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
December 5, 2014
By: hairsear
from Central New York
"These are the best fitting waders I have owned. They allow for freedom of movement and less drag in deep water than I'm used to. They just feel like a quality piece of equipment from top to bottom."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super sonic Christmas present!,
December 4, 2014
By: mpearson
from N.C
"I have been wanting these waders since they came out and since I have worn my others out, I finally decided to give myself an early Christmas present and purchased the Silver Sonics just in time for winter fishing, and have been extremely impressed with the fit, and the superb performance of these waders. I have always liked Orvis gear and will continue buying Orvis for years to come. Thank you for these great waders!"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Comfortable,
December 3, 2014
By: backtomorrow
from Western, MA
"Bought these waders as a backup pair late last winter. After fishing in them in a couple of times they became my favorites all season. Wonderfully roomy and comfortable, light weight and EZ on and off. I found the convertible feature especially nice during the heat of July & August and the extra room allows for layering in cooler weather."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Wader for the Money!,
November 30, 2014
By: WNCFlyGuy
from Asheville, NC
"Have worn Simms for years, bought these as a replacement for an old leaky pair based on the price & convenience to pick up locally. I've been very pleasantly surprised! Super comfortable, great suspenders and have been flawless on a dozen trips or so. Fairly rugged but not quite on par w/ Simms. Will get a pair of guides at some point & use these as back-up/warmer weather waders. Have made a convert of me."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good waders,
November 28, 2014
By: Liam000
from Australia
"I have worn these waders a few times now and love them. Comfy, keep me dry etc. I also love the storage on them. The only downside is the grip on the booties. It does make it hard to get my wading boots on. Other than that, im loving them."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Now an Orvis Man,
November 27, 2014
By: HookedOnOrvis
from Ottawa, Canada
"I debated hard about Simms or Orvis for my waders. First waders were Redingtons I bought used as I was new to fly fishing. Well, now that I'm "hooked" on fly fishing I'm making more investments. I'm 5'11" and 200lbs. Reading other reviews I was getting nervous legs would be long and baggy. As soon as I put them on the fit was great. I'm a size 10 foot and bootie was a little large, but this was not an issue in my boots at all...I ran straight down to Pulaski on the Salmon River to test things out and I can now really appreciate quality waders versus my entry-level Redingtons. Wow. Great, comfortable fit and I can tell they're gonna wear well. I had a slip on the Salmon River on a rough rock and leg material didn't show any sign. (More on that spill in my other review of the Gale Force Waist Pack) Love the function of the convertibles...could put the bib down to access some items in pocket much easier. Overall totally pleased and would recommend these waders as the best buy on the market."