Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties for comfort. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
7
169 of 187(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
like these waders,
October 13, 2014
By: bruinsluvtofish
"Just purchased a pair of convertibles. The convertible feature is great. Wore them down until it got cold or when I needed to wade deeper. Also, it made it much easier to relieve myself!
I had a pair of orvis waders previously which did not wear very well (leaked at the seams). Hopefully these will wear better. Will see how they do over the next year."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
October 9, 2014
By: jackl1978
from New Jersey
"What a pair of waders. Why did I wait so long to buy a pair of waders from Orvis. These are a must for any serious angler looking for new comfortable waders."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real good product,
October 9, 2014
By: TheSoftHackleGuide
from Pittsburg, NH
"I am on the river 5 or 6 days a week guiding or doing "market research". A pair of waders usually last me about a year, more or less. I'm finishing my
second year on my Super Sonic Convertible waders and plan to wear them until they wear out. That could be a while.....
"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good! VERY nice waders!,
October 7, 2014
By: flyguy139
"Update to my review last week on the Sonic Convertibles. I know it's only been a short time since my first review but I get on the water or in the creeks a lot and so far I've had them out at least 7 or 8 times for an average of 4-5 hours each time. So far these waders are great! Ive had to hike with them, walk through knee deep creeks littered with downed limbs, rocks etc. and these have performed very well. I can't stress enough the "comfortability" of these waders. The suspender system is so convenient, it takes me seconds to get everything on compared to a couple minutes with my old pair and when your "combat fishing" every second counts to help get your spot in the madness of Steelhead fishing. My feet usually get very cold even in 50 degree water but these are paired with Simms liner and wading sock and Simms boots and my feet were warm and dry all day!"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fitting waders,
October 3, 2014
By: flyguy139
"Here's my .02 cents. I like to give as detailed reviews as possible because I hate reviews like "fits great" or "works well" and that's all that's said....really!? So here goes. My local fly shop sells Orvis, Simms and Redington for waders and I was drawn to these first off because of the looks... I know but it is what it is lol. As far as size goes Im 5'11" 210lbs 30-31" inseam and a size 10 for shoes. If I went by Orvis's size chart I would be a size XL. I tried an XL but they were too big and the yes the booties were too big as well so I then tried a size Large and the fit was perfect! There is plenty of room for layering but not too big. With me having a size 10 in regular shoes the booties were fine, they have some extra room (maybe like 1/2-3/4") but when I put my boots on I didn't notice any bunching like others have, in fact everything was very comfortable. For the price point and features you get you can't beat them! Convertible system, 1 large exterior water tight pocket, 2 interior pockets one being water proof and detachable, the suspender system makes it a lot easier to get everything up and on without searching and reaching for straps like typical waders, the fabric they use is heavy duty yet these are very light and comfortable! The shop I bought them at had me kneel, step up and down and in every way I moved they were very comfortable, no binding or pulling in any way. I can easily see myself walking some distances, walking through brush, over obstacles etc. with these and have no worries they are that comfortable. What else can I say these are very, very nice waders!"
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
September 16, 2014
By: drjohn314159
from Ohio
"I just spent a week in AK salmon fishing with these and loved them. Very comfortable and easy to get around in. Warm without being too bulky. The convertible top was nice and made them easy to get in and out of. The waterproof bag worked perfectly and kept my camera dry when I did everything I could to get it wet. Most importantly, no leaks!
Only two real complaints:
1. SImilar to other posts I found the booties way too big. I bought an XL (6'2", 240) and the waders themselves fit great, but the booties were huge. I wear a size 12-13 shoe and the booties were still large. Made getting into the wading boots a little difficult at times. The shaped feature in the booties was nice, just needs to be sized down a little.
2. The gravel guard was not particularly effective. I have found better luck with the neoprene guards or maybe adding a latch in the back would help as well.
"
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silver sonic waders,
September 9, 2014
By: normf
"great fitting and comfortable - almost forgot I had them on."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 9, 2014
By: MJstich
from Crestwood,KY
"I tried on regular waders at my local Orvis store to make sure of the size.The store did not have my size in stock for the Convertible Top waders. i placed the order through the store for delivery to my hame at a delayed date since I would be out of town for a few weeks. When i returned home, my waders arriver two days later as promised. The waders are a perfect fit. i have used them twice since i received them and i absolutely love them. They replaced Simms waders. I love that with the convertible top, you can lower them enough to relieve yourself without unstrapping and taking everything off. Best quality i have had in waders."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Why is booty so large,
September 9, 2014
By: Smeltdipper
from Mi
"Not sure about these waders. Very great fit throughout. I am a size 10.5 and run my boots big but holy cow. There is a lot of material I have to stuff around in order to be half way comfortable. They may want to redesign the booty. I have had orvis waders for 18 years. The material is great. If you have a size 11 foot or under you might not like the booty"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders.,
September 1, 2014
By: Bunt
from Tennessee
"I've used these a couple times a week for two months. Really like the convertible feature and they seem very durable so far. Unless I'm venturing out waist deep I usually leave the chest in the down position. I'm 5'11" and 180 pounds. I thought I would use a Medium Tall but went to the store to be sure. The Regular Large fits perfect with a little extra room for layers this winter. I did a fair amount of research and don't think there's a better pair of waders at this price point."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
August 28, 2014
By: ScottsdaleChuck
from Scottsdale, AZ
"The convertible top waders are great. I got the medium short and they fit great including the boot sock. Nice to have boot sock at the right size and not bunch up with wading boots on. The convertible top will be great for warm day fishing on the Colorado River, Lees Ferry."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An improvement,
August 12, 2014
By: Spotthedog
from U.K.
"I purchased these new at the start of this season. The sizing is good except for the very large neoprene boot which is excessively large and tends to roll up at the heal inside my wading boots. They seem durable except that the stitching is coming apart at the elastic stone guard."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I changed my mind.,
August 5, 2014
By: Bushie
from Manchester, NH 03103
"Last year I had decided that it was time for a new pair of waders. I decided my new pair should be hip waders and not chest waders do to my age, 75, I am not as steady on my feet as I was 60 years ago. Who is? So I ordered a pair of hip waders from Orvis, I received them late last season. I never opened the box, just put them away and waited for this season to open. In early June we went upstate New Hampshire to trout fish for 3 days. The first day I took them out of the box and tried to put them on. I am 6' tall and weigh 220 lbs. They were Mediums and not the Ex. Large I had ordered. So when I got back home I called Orvis and explained my problem. They understood , but explained to me that they did not have any stock in my size in hip waders and didn't know when they would.
I had just received a new Orvis catalog and in there I found the new Silver Sonic Convertible Top Waders. I liked the idea so I ordered a pair and received them 4 days later. So far I have used them twice and I am very satisfied with them. When it's hot, unhook the top and slide them down and they become hip waders. They are great.
So after almost a year later, from my first ordering a pair of hip waders, I now have the new Convertible-Top Waders and they are just fine. Luv'm.
"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leaks, leaks, and more leaks,
July 31, 2014
By: Kolledog
from New Hartford, CT
"I bought Silver Sonic waders three weeks before a trip to MT. I wanted to wear them before heading west, and the first time I wore them, both legs leaked. I called Orvis and was told that it would take 6-8 weeks to repair them. I asked for a refund and was refused. I continued to wear them and have now worn them 40-50 times. They always leak. Always. I worn them yesterday and my left leg filled with water. My right pant leg got wet, but at least my whole foot wasn't soaked. Any way to use a zero-star rating?"
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
if they didnt leak they would be great,
July 29, 2014
By: hendrixcc
from horton,ny
"I bought a pair in May both stcockings began leaking within 30days. No problem I returned them and they sent me a new pair withn 2 weeks. Now the right stocking is leaking on new pair. Must be a defect. I love Orvis and their customer service, but now I have to do this all over again. Next time Ill order the guide pants."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Waders,
July 26, 2014
By: avimar
from Galveston, TX
"Excellent stocking foot waders. Pack easily and compactly in the included carry bag. Comfortable and dry quickly. Sizing is accurate and fits real world dimensions. Convertible feature is wonderful but releasing the back strap is a bit awkward. Best waders I've ever owned."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great...but problems,
July 18, 2014
By: Shipley
from Rolla, Mo
"This is my second pair. The first lasted almost 5 years and then began to delaminate...about what can be expected from breathable waders with regular use. I replaced them and in my second season have found a serious "chafing" issue where the inner stocking foot meets the outer breathable materia, causing me to have a wet foot. Only in one spot but possibly a killer for these waders. I take good care of my waders and love these but if I can't repair the leak I won't purchase another pair. That being said, the design is wonderful and all I could ask for in fit, comfort, and function. I really hope I can repair them!"