Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties with rubberized lining on neoprene seams. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (246 reviews)
5 stars
174
4 stars
44
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
8
224 of 246(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable and full featured,
August 13, 2015
By: PhillyFlyBoy
"Excellent waders -- they fit well and are comfortable on the hottest and most humid days. I've hiked miles in them in July and they really do breath. My wife also has a pair and feels the women's sizing is spot on. Can't speak to durability because I just got them this season."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good but,
August 11, 2015
By: Uchdryd
from Devon uk
"I'd despaired of ever finding decent waders that fit my big feet and everything fits here.
For two months everything was great. Then the crotch seam started to go.
I returned them and well three weeks later I've heard nothing. where is the famed Orvis customer service.
I'm off on a fishing holiday next week and it looks like I'm going to have to pick up another pair somewhere , after this experience I,m not sure it will be Orvis.
"
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good design & quality, but confuse,
July 31, 2015
By: Dick76
"Just received these waders, so they haven't gotten wet yet, but I'm impressed with the fit, design features, and product quality. But I'm confused. regarding the use of the second pair of lightweight suspenders. Called Orvis customer service asking about this and received a reply that made absolutely no sense, so I remain confused."
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect fit,
July 31, 2015
By: Lakefisher46
from Northern California
"These are the best fitting waders I've ever owned. The convertible tops lower to the perfect height for float tubing. But keeping with Orvis tradition there were no instructions included oh how to use their unique "Convertible" wader design. No instructions with the waders, no instructions on the web or in the catalog, I was left to figure it out on my own. Unlike other Orvis products it wasn't too hard to figure out."
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convertible Top Waders,
July 27, 2015
By: BigHouse1
"I ordered these for a fishing trip with my HS buddies to Halifax Nova Scotia. I can't wait to get into the Margaree River - where the fishing for Atlantic Salmon is supposed to be fantastic. The weather is going to be fluctuation between warm and cool, and being able to put the "top down" will be AWESOME! I grew up on some great trout rivers in NY, but now live in South West Florida, where wading requires only a swim suit. I'm sure with these I will be almost as comfortable."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Thumbs Up!,
July 18, 2015
By: Crocket
from Cold Spring, NY
"After owning neoprene waders for years and then buying these Silver Sonic convertible waders after doing a lot of research. I could not be happier with my decision going with these waders! They are a joy to get them on and off! Also having the option to convert them to waste high is great in warmer weather.With 1 outside pocket and two inside is plenty of storage and the one inside being completely water proof is over the top! Thanks for a great pair of waders..."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic Converable Waders,
July 18, 2015
By: Skilly
from Western WA.
"These were an upgrade form my previous waders. They are the nicest waders I have owned. I am 75 hand have fished hard all my life and have owned most brands of waders. these are Light weight and seem to breather very well. Nice to just flop the top down on a warm day.
One of my grandsons bought the guide version. h e is as happy with his as I am mine.
"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light Weight Waders,
July 15, 2015
By: RVPrigodich
from West Hartford, CT
"These waders are easy to slip on, fit well, and are comfortable. I look forward to years of fishing New England streams in these beauties."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
July 9, 2015
By: grbmds
"From the minute I tried these waders on I was happy. They fit so much better than the others I've tried. Can't wait to get out and use them for the first time. It will be so nice not to fight with my waders. It's like wearing regular clothes."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great set of waders,
July 3, 2015
By: MNTenkaraNinja
"After shopping around I selected these for my first set of waders. They look great, and are very comfortable to wear. I am 6'2'' with a size 12 shoe, and the large fit perfect
They also pack very small which is a big plus for me.
"
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best waders I ever purchased,
June 27, 2015
By: fish21
from Longue-Rive,quebec,canada.
"Very comfortable,light,dry...very dry...does not retain humidity.Seem to be robust..will see after a few years.Repair kit included,a good idea."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value!,
June 26, 2015
By: PThomas
from Pennsylvania
"Had been considering a new pair of waders for a while now - then I tore my old pair a few weeks back while climibing over a guardrail. The silver sonics had been recommended to me by a friend, so I checked them out. Went to my local Orvis store and tried a pair on. After trying a few pairs on, we realized that I would likely need a L, XLong (I'm 6'4", 230#) - which unfortunatley they did not have in stock - so the salesman proceeded to order a pair online for me, after assuring me that I could return them if the fit was not right. The waders arrived a few days later at my house - and I was eager to test them out. After wearing them for a weekend of fishing, I can say that these waders are great! They are very comfortable and easy to get on/off. The belt/suspenders are easy to adjust. The convertible tops are great, and will be nice to have on those warmer days when wading shallower water. I really appreciate the storage pockets in these waders - especially the waterproof one that I can store my cell phone, carkey fob, etc. in. There is enough storage that, if I wear a lanyard, I can easily fit everything to fish for a day. The only criticism that I would have is that the booties are a bit long (seem to be sized for a much larger boot than mine). Overall these waders represent great value and I couldn't be happier with them!"
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good design bad quality,
June 24, 2015
By: Schaubie42
from Coeur d'Alene Id
"like the waders a lot, really like the convertible top. But in less than a year have already had to patch twice, thought these waders would be a tougher"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beat the heat,
June 24, 2015
By: WItroutHunter
from Wisconsin streams
"I just got these and forced myself to where them even though it was 75 degrees and would have felt better wet wading. I wanted to test them out in the heat and for walking fairly far to get ready for a trip to Yellowstone. I was impressed with how comfortable I stayed. I'm a skeptic of "breathable waterproof" products, but these waders really seemed to hold true to that claim. They are also extremely light and the ability to convert to waist high option is a huge plus in hot weather."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW !!!!!!!!!!,
June 17, 2015
By: tsewekim
from B.C. Canada
"After years of searching finally a great pair of waders.
Have only had for a short time but so far I love.
They are everything one could want.
"
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders!,
June 15, 2015
By: Ruggzie87
"Although these were my first waders, I would still recommend these to anyone. I had them for 3 years almost and never had any issue with them. I fished in them pretty hard using them at least 25 times each season and they worked without fail. They finally failed this past weekend when I was walking out of the river just after it became pitch black dark outside and I fell into a rock and ripped the thigh. I will gladly be purchasing and brand new pair of these exact waders if my patching doesn't hold up."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection Personified,
June 11, 2015
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"Extremely well made and a perfect fit. The new booties trim and form fit make for a longer day on the water, reducing fatigue and better fit in my wading boots. Add the strap design that allows them to be worn at the waist on a hot day and you are sure to catch more fish."