Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

The most versatile welded waders on the market today. Fish dry, and know you'll stay that way. Featuring the patented Orvis SonicSeam technology, all thread and stitch holes are eliminated and seams are double reinforced, prolonging the life of the waders dramatically. These are hard-wearing, breathable, everyday waders for the serious angler. Main wader is made of the same durable 4-layer nylon fabric as the Pack and Travel waders, while the upper is a lighter weight 4-layer nylon, the same fabric used in the Pro Guides. An innovative suspension system allows you to convert them to waist-highs without removing suspenders, a perfect feature for warm spring afternoons. Front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out interior waterproof pocket can hold cameras, cell phones, or fishing licenses. Attached gravel guards feature a quick-drain panel to keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties with rubberized lining on neoprene seams. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Wader is cut higher in the front on women's model to provide a more comfortable fit. Wader belt and traditional suspender option included. In overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (237 reviews)
5 stars
169
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
8
216 of 237(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are definitely the most comfortable waders I've ever worn. The fit is much improved, a slimmer fit compared to a much roomier fit than previous Orvis waders I've had. The front pocket is very roomy, the convertible top is a great improvement over the previous Silver Label convertible waders, and there's less "slack" in the booties. The self-fabric gravel guards are also much nicer than neoprene. I'm eager to test the durability out more, but from the few times I've used them (at the moment of this review), these waders are a HUUUUGE steal for the price. Orvis definitely hit a home-run with these waders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders!!,
November 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, Ga
"I went back and forth between these and a pair of Simms, and I am so glad I went with the Silver Sonic's. Very light weight, and extremely durable. I have fished in North Carolina, and various parts of North Georgia and they have exceeded my expectations. I have also worn them on some moderately short hikes to get into the rivers and they are so light weight I forget I'm wearing them. They are worth the extra bucks. You won't be disappointed!!!!"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for Value,
October 24, 2012
By: JRSIII
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just got into a new pair of these for dropping into some spring creeks here in PA, and also up north in the colder creeks during the fall Steelhead run. These are great waders, and very comfortable and great for quick drops into some streams. Very comfortable, sizing is very true to the specifications set on the sizing guide before you purchase. I have bought many pairs, and for the price I do not think these can be beat. Sure, you can get into something a little better, but for the price and the overall versatility these cannot be beat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great set of waders,
July 3, 2015
By: MNTenkaraNinja
"After shopping around I selected these for my first set of waders. They look great, and are very comfortable to wear. I am 6'2'' with a size 12 shoe, and the large fit perfect
They also pack very small which is a big plus for me.
"
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best waders I ever purchased,
June 27, 2015
By: fish21
from Longue-Rive,quebec,canada.
"Very comfortable,light,dry...very dry...does not retain humidity.Seem to be robust..will see after a few years.Repair kit included,a good idea."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value!,
June 26, 2015
By: PThomas
from Pennsylvania
"Had been considering a new pair of waders for a while now - then I tore my old pair a few weeks back while climibing over a guardrail. The silver sonics had been recommended to me by a friend, so I checked them out. Went to my local Orvis store and tried a pair on. After trying a few pairs on, we realized that I would likely need a L, XLong (I'm 6'4", 230#) - which unfortunatley they did not have in stock - so the salesman proceeded to order a pair online for me, after assuring me that I could return them if the fit was not right. The waders arrived a few days later at my house - and I was eager to test them out. After wearing them for a weekend of fishing, I can say that these waders are great! They are very comfortable and easy to get on/off. The belt/suspenders are easy to adjust. The convertible tops are great, and will be nice to have on those warmer days when wading shallower water. I really appreciate the storage pockets in these waders - especially the waterproof one that I can store my cell phone, carkey fob, etc. in. There is enough storage that, if I wear a lanyard, I can easily fit everything to fish for a day. The only criticism that I would have is that the booties are a bit long (seem to be sized for a much larger boot than mine). Overall these waders represent great value and I couldn't be happier with them!"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good design bad quality,
June 24, 2015
By: Schaubie42
from Coeur d'Alene Id
"like the waders a lot, really like the convertible top. But in less than a year have already had to patch twice, thought these waders would be a tougher"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beat the heat,
June 24, 2015
By: WItroutHunter
from Wisconsin streams
"I just got these and forced myself to where them even though it was 75 degrees and would have felt better wet wading. I wanted to test them out in the heat and for walking fairly far to get ready for a trip to Yellowstone. I was impressed with how comfortable I stayed. I'm a skeptic of "breathable waterproof" products, but these waders really seemed to hold true to that claim. They are also extremely light and the ability to convert to waist high option is a huge plus in hot weather."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW !!!!!!!!!!,
June 17, 2015
By: tsewekim
from B.C. Canada
"After years of searching finally a great pair of waders.
Have only had for a short time but so far I love.
They are everything one could want.
"
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders!,
June 15, 2015
By: Ruggzie87
"Although these were my first waders, I would still recommend these to anyone. I had them for 3 years almost and never had any issue with them. I fished in them pretty hard using them at least 25 times each season and they worked without fail. They finally failed this past weekend when I was walking out of the river just after it became pitch black dark outside and I fell into a rock and ripped the thigh. I will gladly be purchasing and brand new pair of these exact waders if my patching doesn't hold up."
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection Personified,
June 11, 2015
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"Extremely well made and a perfect fit. The new booties trim and form fit make for a longer day on the water, reducing fatigue and better fit in my wading boots. Add the strap design that allows them to be worn at the waist on a hot day and you are sure to catch more fish."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Replacement,
June 2, 2015
By: LRGMT
from Billings, MT
"I purchased these waders to replace a pair that I had for 20 plus years. I had some concerns and questions about these waders but the Orvis chat cleared all those up. Love the waterproof pouch on the waders and the big zipper pouch on the outside. The convertible top works great and is very easy to convert. The only thing I would like to see would be a D ring on the back for a net."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Waders,
May 22, 2015
By: ElMundo
from Northern California
"Bought online, sizing was good and the size chart definitely helped. The built in neoprene foot socks are a large but were not uncomfortable in my felt boots. Waders were very comfortable, used for a 3 day fishing weekend and got all weather, cool, overcast, rain and sunny and warm. Best part was that the waders did not heat up into a sweat box during a sunny afternoon. If the neoprene booties fit better they would rate five stars."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy breezy!,
May 17, 2015
By: BoxerMD731
from Baltimore, MD
"I've had a chance to wear these waders out five times since I purchased these. I can say that these waders are truly amazing! They are really lightweight and breathable but at the same time rugged. The best part about these waders are that they are convertible. The last time I was out on the river, it was 82 degrees out. I just slipped down the suspenders and felt the breeze on the river which made an enjoyable afternoon, not to mention landing a nice 13 inch rainbow! Thanks, Orvis for quality equipment... Mike"
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Siler Sonic Leaks,
May 15, 2015
By: William1inMichigan
from Michigan
"Have used Orvis waders for years and have been pleased with the quality and when the Silver Labels were finally worn out I replaced with a pair of Silver Sonic. Had them just a couple of years with light use maybe 15 times and disappointed to note the right foot now leaks. Expected more from Orvis for a pair of premium waders."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Company and Waders,
May 14, 2015
By: DamonM
from Hamilton, New Zealand
"Company service is brilliant and waders are awesome!!"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waders should be easy to put on,
May 11, 2015
By: Kahoona
from Blakeslee, PA
"Waders should be easy to put on, comfortable and do not leak. For years I have always ordered they boot foot waders as they were easy to put on and I did not have to worry about an extra shoe to carry along with me. Well this all changed when my four year old Orvis River Guard Silver Label Bogs Boot foot Waders with Eco-Trax Soles sprung a leak. I was heartbroken and was very leery about the stocking foot wader. I ordered and received my Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders with the River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles. Because I never had stocking foot waders before, it was a little awkward but rather easy to put them on. Once all set, the comfort level was amazing. The shoes were so comfortable and easy to walk in that they felt as though I had sneakers on. The waders themselves were spacious as well as designed well. I opted for the convertibles as I wade small streams. Once I figured out how to convert them (There was no directions for this) it was very nice. Overall, I give these boots a 4 star, so far."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fit for a big guy,
May 7, 2015
By: EricLunar
"Im a big guy and it is tough to get around the gut with a good fit. These are very comfortable. Love having built in gravel gaurds. Keeping me nice and dry."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silversonic waders are great,
May 6, 2015
By: FishingDoc
from Manchester, VT
"These waders fit me perfectly. Very comfortable and breathable. High quality, sturdy construction, still flexible and light. Very excited about this fishing season."
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 4, 2015
By: FirstTimer15
from Ohio
"I recently purchased the Silver Sonic Convertible-Top waders in preparation for my first time out. Not wanting to buy something cheap that might leak the first time (didn't want leaks to ruin my trip) Ii erred on the side of paying extra. These were comfortable, breathable and all-around a great purchase. I kept dry, especially being in the water for a few hours at a time. I really liked the fact that I could lower the upper part down to my waist when I was out of the water or I was not in high water and wanted to stay cooler.
The inner zip lock pocket is an awesome idea. I was able to keep my fishing license, phone, car keys, etc. safe. The fold over velcro closure is a nice added protection.
The only complaints I have is that the areas around the knee caps were a little tight if I needed to sit or squat. The second is that for a skinny guy like me, I had a hard time sinching up the belt really tight. This is not fault of Orvis, just my build.
Otherwise, these are a great buy. I definitely will recommend these waders to friends. I can't wait to get back out again."