Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Double-Faced Shearling Hat

Capturing Zhivago-esque romance, this luxuriously plush shearling hat for women is absolutely gorgeous and flattering for every face. Deep-pile double-faced mouton shearling is wonderfully soft and rich. Poly-satin lining keeps hair smooth. Shearling hat for women in mocha, winter white, black. Shearling outer. Nylon lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(7⅜), L(7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
55 of 59(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Review 1 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful and stunning hat,
December 15, 2014
By: Taskmaster
from Washington state
"I received this hat and was impressed at how beautiful it was just coming out of the package, and then I tried it on. It was an absolutely perfect fit and looked really great. I was reluctant initially to buy a hat online but this hat proved to be a real winner with me. I am very happy with the product and hope to wear it for many years to come."
Review 2 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Classic Look,
December 9, 2014
By: LadyBeck
from Sierra Nevada Mountains
"I bought this hat in Black last year as a treat for myself. I loved it so much that this year I came back and bought myself a White one too. The white is slightly softer and fluffier than the black but I love both of them. My husband has declared that all women should wear these - they are that flattering! A note on size - I have a very small head (XXS in a Motorcycle Helmet) and I was worried about ordering a Medium in this hat, but it fits me perfectly. Stays on even in gusty wind."
Review 3 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
December 4, 2014
By: Oelc92
from Wilmington, De
"Looks much better in the picture. Hat was very tight even though I measured my head according to the catalog. Hat does not lay flat on the crown of the head."
Review 4 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the hat!,
December 4, 2014
By: CPHAPPY
from Alexandria, VA
"This is a beautiful hat! The white color is as shown in photo. Well made and fit perfect! I purchased the hat for myself but I'd highly recommend it to someone looking to purchase a warm hat for someone special. Price point for the quality was reasonable. Orvis service is stellar!"
Review 5 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful but small,
December 2, 2014
By: Swervysrv
"I had hoped this would fit at which point I would have bought another as a Christmas gift but it was not to be. Didn't cover my ears and tended to creep up."
Review 6 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and elegant,
December 1, 2014
By: RafterBGrrl
from Overbrook, KS
"Really special-looking. I am petite with a small hat size, and the hat fits beautifully snug without falling into my eyes. I bought one in each color."
Review 7 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice but small,
November 18, 2014
By: NewOrleans
from New Orleans, LA
"As the other reviews stated, it runs very small. I ordered it in black and it is a very dark, absolute black. Unfortunately it did not match my coat so I returned it. But it was very soft, plush and probably very warm. I wish it matched my coat."
Review 8 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
none,
October 31, 2014
By: kuzu
from Boston MA
"It is a nice plush shearling however very small. A medium should fit me loosely , according to your chart, it doesnt even fit tightly. Will exchange for a large, hope it will fit well."
Review 9 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice product,
October 27, 2014
By: patjg
from milford,pa
"I wanted to like this hat, but it was a little tight for me. I had ordered the large, in black, very nice, good quality, but would have liked it better , if the hat wasn't as snug as it was."
Review 10 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One shortcoming.,
October 23, 2014
By: Bernerlover
from Pacific northwest
"I do like the hat BUT i did an online chat before I purchased it. I asked if the brim could be turned down and was assured that it could. Well, it can, BUT, the underside of the brim is lining with the tags, so whike you can, you won't!!"
Review 11 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Russian style "lara" hat,
May 28, 2014
By: DeeHu
from Matthews, North Carolina
"II wanted this hat last winter and I bought it now to wear this winter in Matthews ,North Carolina AND in Germany this December.This beauty is warm, well made , and flatters the face. It can also be packed.The quality of the hat is superb . The ask a question chat line is staffed with very informed and polite people. As always,Orvis is great"
Review 12 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic "Lara "Russian style hat,
May 27, 2014
By: DeeHu
from Matthews, North Carolina
"I have wanted this hat since last winter but, I bought it now to wear this winter in NorthCarolina AND for our trip to Germany in December.The double -faced shearling hat is well made ,warm and fits very well.It also flatters your face.It will be aJOY to wear this winter.Thank`s so much to all the help from customer service people.My questions were answered with knowledge and politeness. They also told me the hat packs well. As always ,Orvis does a GREAT job."
Review 13 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and chic hat,
January 21, 2014
By: Jacinthe
from Quebec, Canada
"I love this hat; it is wonderful and very chic. I have a very small head and it fits very well."
Review 14 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warmest of them all!,
January 19, 2014
By: EveMarie
from New York, NY
"this hat is the most comfortable and warmest hat, i've ever worn. I very tempted to buy in other color. It covers my ears totally, does not interfere with my view. Thanks Orvis."
Review 15 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Classic,
January 16, 2014
By: BessieLamp
from West Chester, Pa. 19380
"I really liked the hat very much. I liked the feel and weight of it. I liked everything about it. Wish it was a little more capable of being expanded or made smaller."
Review 16 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
January 16, 2014
By: Minnie79
from Pittsburgh, PA
"The hat fit, looks great and the quality is tops. Couldn't be happier."
Review 17 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm as Toast!,
January 16, 2014
By: gardenmaven
from Upstate NY
"I absolutely love my double-faced (brown) shearling hat. First it keeps my head toasty warm especially seeing as our temps. in Northern NY have been frigid to say the least! Also, the lining avoids any itchy feeling on my forehead. It is tremendously comfortable and worth every penny. It is glamorous looking so much so that I feel I am a Russian princess when I wear it!"
Review 18 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Head-warmer # 1!,
January 15, 2014
By: qwertycom
from Brooklyn NY
"This shearling hat keeps you warm without your looking like something cute-sy from a Nordic children's book. Mine is black, and quite sophisticated looking. I bought a matching black shearling collar and now I almost look forward to frigid weather."
Review 19 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Hat,
January 1, 2014
By: JStratHat
"Nice hat for the money. Need to order the large to fit any reasonable sized head."
Review 20 for Double-Faced Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat.,
December 30, 2013
By: crazyjoe51
from Jersey City NJ
"My friend Mary was overjoyed to get hat she loves it. Turned out to be great Christmas hat."