Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Falkirk British Wool Shawl

It's the kind of sweater that pairs beautifully with a good book and a fine single malt. Crafted from pure Scottish wool in a thick cardigan stitch, it offers a rustic look with a soft, refined hand. A perfectly balanced blend of white, tan, and gray yarns results in an appealing oatmeal tweed. The genuine leather elbow patches are complemented by Orvis corozo buttons. In oatmeal. Washable. UK. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Review 1 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job,
March 26, 2013
By: Waddy
from Clitheroe, Lancashire. UK
"I was lucky enough to obtain this cardigan at a discount price so am doubly pleased. Perfect fit, very warm and comfortable. Just the job for these wintry English days."
Review 2 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfying sweater,
March 26, 2013
By: Turney
"Very good weight, nice weave, should have leather buttons and a button and loop at the neck to finish off a very good product. The sweater runs very large so order one size down. I am a 6'2" 200 pounder and the medium fits very nicely. Haven't been a medium since high school!"
Review 3 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Warm,
February 22, 2013
By: Rhetoric
from Washington DC
"Received the Falkirk today. I have to admit I was expecting it to resemble the listed Falkirk in the Dec. catalogue-- leather elbow patches and much darker. But I am keeping the sweater because it is extremely warm and it is possibly something to bequeath to my son."
Review 4 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
February 12, 2013
By: dannybjr
from glen mills,pa
"If you want one cardigan sweater that you can wear going out or wear to keep warm in the house this is it. Comfortable and feels and looks good.Color is good with just about any pants or jeans."
Review 5 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Quality,
February 5, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I wear XL shirts but this sweater in XL is very large. A regular large is the perfect fit for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this will keep you toasty,
January 24, 2013
By: aklaw
from Anchorage, AK
"I was having trouble with chronically cold hands in my office. Other sweaters weren't working so I had to put on a light jacket as well. This sweater does the job by itself. Very roomy. The wool fibers do tend to shed a little, but that seems to just be the nature of the material."
Review 7 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab Shawl Sweater,
January 22, 2013
By: Webfoot
from Elmer, NJ
"Fabulous Shawl Sweater! Best ever! Right comfortable anywhere but best for me when home and in my soft clothes practicing guitar, doing bank reconciliations and cooking. However, i can tell you! If you're in the kitchen for too long with this sweater on you'll be perkin' through the pores; get my meaning? It's one perfectly warm sweater. Great...!"
Review 8 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny!,
January 14, 2013
By: bdean
from Rehoboth, MA
"I have been wanting a shawl collar sweater for years and finally decided to treat myself. I'm so glad I did. The quality, fit, and overall classic design makes for the perfect sweater on a cold day. Love it!"
Review 9 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
January 14, 2013
By: seattleman
"I was looking for a warm, heavy sweater to wear around the house in cool weather, durability, and comfort. This sweater exceeds my hopes. It is a thick, warm weave, and the shawl collar feels warm and great on the back of my neck. Some have commented on the itchiness of pure wool, but I haven't found this a problem. There are elbow pads to resist damage if one's habit is to rest weight on one's elbows. The large size (I'm 15-1/2 neck, 34 sleeve, 42 chest) was just right. Unlike others, I don't find the sleeves too small. I can wear a long sleeve shirt underneath, and the sweater fits inside my jacket if I go out. The oatmeal color, flecked with blue and tan, is beautiful. I am very happy with this sweater, even more so than I thought I would be."
Review 10 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
okay product, but ridiculously oversized,
January 8, 2013
By: molyneux51
from Maine
"It is an okay sweater, but ridiculously oversized .. I called Orvis before I bought it and asked for garment dimensions ... I was told that chest was 48, back was 31, and sleeves were 34 ... the only thing correct was sleeve length .. actual chest was more like 56 and you could have stuffed a small pumpkin under each armpit ... back length was about 34 and the bottom of the sweater hung down to the bottom of my back jean pocket, about 10" below my waist line ... in other words, what I bought as a large was more like an extra large tall ... unless you like a sweater that drapes like a queen sheet on a double bed, order the next size down ... I am returning mine."
Review 11 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional warmth and comfort,
January 8, 2013
By: ErTB
from St. Louis area
"Do not hesitate to by this heirloom garment. It is extremely high quality, warm, comfortable, and worth every penney. With that said, I am 5' 11" 178lbs and a somewhat slender build so I ordered a medium because its measurements corosponded with what I typically wear in a t-shirt size. Upon receiving it I tried it on and thought it was just a hair too big but thought a small would be way too small so I cut the tags off and began wearing it. After about 2 weeks of wear the sweater really broke in and began to "relax/stretch" to its final size. Now I have a high end cardigan that is far too big on me and cannot return it now. However I still enjoy it and am not regretful for the purchase just a little dissapointed. Moral: upon receipt if you think its even a hair too big send it back and get the smaller size."
Review 12 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best sweater yet!,
January 4, 2013
By: bhr123
from Palmdale, Ca
"I tend to buy only what I need, this year I decided to spoil myself and ordered this sweater.
This sweater is more than warm and comfortable, i just feel good wearing it.
Quality and workmanship is excellent."
Review 13 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
January 2, 2013
By: Cogswell
from Minnesota
"This is a very warm and thick sweater. It's quite heavy in weight. The sweater offers a very roomy fit and has already become one of my go-to garments."
Review 14 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
knock 'em dead,
December 29, 2012
By: EnglishProf
from Bellingham,WA
"This sweater screams Anglophile. Quality construction throughout, and the oatmeal flecks give it character rarely seen in today's generic cardigans. The heavy weight makes it equally useful in front of the fire or on a walk in the woods, but the greatest impact is in the classroom. I'm a bit short in the arms, so the tight fit in the cuffs is a plus for me. Very high quality."
Review 15 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant favorite,
December 29, 2012
By: ChadL
from Northern Cailifornia
"Overall a great wool sweater. Great quality yarn. Oatmeal heather is nice, with some multi-colored flecks. I wear a 44 slim fit suit jacket and was concerned about fit given occassional reviews that Orvis sizes run typically larger. I contacted Orvis customer chat and they have product measurements available. Very helpful. Turns out a medium fits perfectly without having to stretch the fabric. Highly recommend this sweater, worth the price without question."
Review 16 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater,
December 29, 2012
By: PinWin
from Blacksburg, VA
"Warm and comfortable.
Has a great look and looks good with the turtleneck or a tee.
"
Review 17 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
December 28, 2012
By: SEMM
from Cleveland Oh
"This sweater is wonderful. Very high quality and so warm. Worth the price."
Review 18 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT GIFT,
December 28, 2012
By: LADYBUG01
from HOUSTON, TEXAS
"MY HUSBAND LOVES IT. PERFECT ON A COOL TO CRISP DAY."
Review 19 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift ever,
December 28, 2012
By: 1phatmomma
from Haughton, LA
"I bought this sweater for my husband. I had been looking for quite awhile for this type of sweater. He had one similar and we lost it in a house fire. He was so delighted with the fit, the color, and most of all the quality of this beautiful sweater. The color is like uncooked oatmeal and it the buttons go right with the sweater. The patches on the elbow are not only attractive but also useful. This sweater is suitable for work or with a pair of jeans.. It's toasty warm and just what my husband wanted in a sweater. Thank you Orvis for always selling top of the line clothing."
Review 20 for Falkirk British Wool Shawl
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ANOTHER QUALITY PURCHASE,
December 26, 2012
By: sanfelipe
from Southern Cal.
"The quality of the Falkirk shawl is unsurpassed. I accually bought it for my girlfriend, she hasn't taken it off since she got it. This is one purchase that you get what you pay for."