Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (238 reviews)
5 stars
188
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
5
222 of 238(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 27, 2015
By: Emily2010
from Forked River, NJ
"Roses are red and violets are blue, I think Orvis is best on you.
Get excited and get red, for this is just something that must be said.
"
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely top,
April 23, 2015
By: Franky67
"I like this top very much. My wife approves as well.
I'm 6ft tall and weigh 210 pounds and a large fits very well.
"
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Interesting Look,
April 20, 2015
By: leek
"Great construction. Distinctive look
and a good weight for cool days.
Quality product
"
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
April 20, 2015
By: CraigB53
from Santa Rosa Beach, FL
"Very comfortable and nice looking, quality is excellent"
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sailing Rugby Shirt,
April 15, 2015
By: GeorgeK3
"The shirt fit very well except it 2 inches too long in the torso. I had to return the product. The arm length was fine, but the overall dimensions did not work."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought a second one,
April 14, 2015
By: CharlesChips
"The kind of shirt that makes you hope for temperatures cool enough to wear it. Slightly oversize (the medium fits like a large from another store would). Thick material, great in temperatures from 50 degrees into 70s. Was so happy with the maroon/blue shirt that I bought the green/blue one later."
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific choice.,
April 13, 2015
By: Papito51
from New York, NY
"A very attractive, comfortable, excellent fitting sailing rugby shirt, it's evident that a lot of consideration went into every detail of its design and construction."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice`,
April 9, 2015
By: DPW06
"Nicely weighted material. Loose fitting. WOuld buy again."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Best Friend,
April 7, 2015
By: Treabeton
from New Hartford, NY
"The Sailing Rugby Shirt is now my constant companion. Actually now have two. Perfect for cool spring weather. Typical Orvis quality: High.
Size: The extra large is, well, quite large. Tent like. I returned and the large is perfect. The customer service personnel are excellent: Responsive and friendly."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great new idea,
April 6, 2015
By: veterancustomer
from Lincolnshire UK
"I like rugby shirts for casual ware with jeans and this takes the concept a bit further in that it is good for chillier weather and gives lots of room for something underneath. Striking colour combinations."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
many problems,
April 1, 2015
By: AndyHikes
from Sausalito, CA
"It's mainly the sizing, I ordered an XL and this is easily a XXXL. Too weird.
I'm 6'3", 220lbs, 46" chest, 32" waist; it's just not sized well for fit people.
You came VERY close to making the perfect sailing rugby shirt...I simply expected better.
"
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shirt,
March 31, 2015
By: dragonflie
from Eastover SC
"I bought the light-heavyweight sailing rugby shirt for friends birthday and he loved it. It is heavy enough to wear during the cold weather and light enough to wear for the spring cool nights. It is attractive and the colors go together beautifully. It fit him perfect and the sleeves were long enough."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 31, 2015
By: Twicks1003
"I love this pullover. It is light enough for warm weather, but good for the chilly weather. Plus, it is very stylish. I have received many compliments form friends and they want to know where I got it. They have not seen one like it before. I highly recommend it."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
March 31, 2015
By: MarZab
from Baltimore, MD
"Great item. Very warm. Can act as a shirt or a sweater. Love the large collar that protects the neck from cold weather"
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome sailing rugby,
March 30, 2015
By: sailthekeys2day
"just the correct weight between too heavy to wear anywhere south of Canada and too light to only last a year in the wash. Fantastic neck style. Orvis does it again!!!"
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissapointed,
March 28, 2015
By: DK47
from Peak District UK
"The product arrived with the usual promptness and as an item was fine except that there were white marks within the fabric round the bottom of the garment and inside. Obviously a failure of quality control. Looking forward to the replacement."
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just an awesome Rugby for sailing !,
March 27, 2015
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"I have this shirt in two of the three colors offered. I actually bought the white and blue one twice, I lent my first one to a friend while sailing and he won't give it back. I had no issue spending the money to get another one. Great weight and feel to it. Get compliments everywhere I wear it. It runs large so order the next size down. It won't shrink very much. I am 5'-11" and weight 250 and the XL fits me perfect. Literally my favorite shirt when I am sailing or boating or hanging by the lake at night."
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Style,
March 27, 2015
By: Timberline
from Hudson, Quebec, Canada
"This is a great product: sharp looking, comfortable and really well made with a nice fabric and weight..
As with Orvis clothes generally, it is generously sized. At almost 6 feet in height and 215 pounds, the Large size is just perfect including lots of body length."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure comfort,
March 24, 2015
By: BigTucky
from Jersey C.I.
"i have been after this product for over a year as it is very popular - the wait was worth it as it is just a fantastic comfortable item of clothing."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting,
March 23, 2015
By: Hanover12345
from Hanover, MD
"I have all 3 colors offered. Will purchase other colors when they come available."