Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
143 of 154(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
September 27, 2014
By: JamesGMS
from West Coast
"This is a wonderful sweatshirt - looks great and feels great on - just one thing to keep in mind - it does run pretty large. I'm 6' 1" and about 182 pounds - and normally I wear a large in most clothes - but had to return the large I first ordered as it was just too big. I now have the medium and it fits perfectly."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rugby alternative,
September 26, 2014
By: VincentV
from Dallas
"What a great design; the look of a rugby without the white collar that is difficult to keep straight. Very comfortable and a nice weight. Sizes run large, I ordered my regular size then shrank it down just enough in a hot wash."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rugby…just the right weight,
September 18, 2014
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"This is the second one of these rugby shirts I have bought from Orvis. They run a little big and don't shrink too much. So watch what size you buy. I am 6 foot 250 lbs and the XL fits me perfect.
I just returned from Ireland on a week long trip and this shirt was perfect for their weather.
Great over-shirt. I bought my first one for fall sails in Chicago on the windy and cold lake Michigan…liked it so much I returned and ordered a second one in a different color. Great collar when the weather turns nasty. If they come out with that white and navy one again I will be buying a 3rd one.
Get one you'll love it !!"
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snuggle Plus,
September 17, 2014
By: MarkTwain2
from Asheville, NC
"This shirt is warm and looks great. It makes my wife want to snuggle with me. So what else can I say."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY,
September 16, 2014
By: Tony3327
"I bought the sailing rugby shirt in a 2XL and it is a winner! Not only does the size run true, but it is so cool. You can't find this look anywhere else."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
September 16, 2014
By: Erecruiter
from New Jersey
"I am always looking for a shirt going from summer into fall other than the traditional item. This shirt fits great; feels great and according to my wife, looks great.
My only issue is sizing. I have been an XL for most of my adult life. Had I bought this online, I certainly would have bought an XL and it would have been too big. I was in a retail store and it was suggested that I try on a large and sure enough, the large is perfect. How do I buy products online if I am not sure if they will fit me? I will shop Orvis stores, but online is questionable because I am not sure of their fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfortable,
September 16, 2014
By: AutumninNY
from NYC
"The rugby shirt is so soft and warm. Perfect fit in XL. I am 6'5". The look is casual and cool. Get compliments every time I wear it."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY 2nd one,
September 12, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"After I purchased one I had to have the other color
This shirt is very well made and of good heavy quality, it will last a lifetime.
I now have two.
"
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what you want,
September 8, 2014
By: bulldogger
from Patchogue NY
"If you want a "light-heavyweight" (orvis' inelegant, but highly accurate description) pull overdid or cool nights at the beach or on the boat, this is it."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugby shirt,
September 8, 2014
By: Dogg1
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Great shirt! Very good fit. Material very durable and colors are very good. Great shirt for those crisp fall days. I would recommend this shirt to anyone. Gotta buy more!"
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
September 5, 2014
By: RMulder
from Brighton, MI
"This is light weight, comfortable in both cool and warm weather. it's made of cotton; so it's washable and looks great after it's dried, color looks good with all of my clothes."
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My First Orvis Purchase,
September 4, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"Item was received in very short time and "in excellent shape no shipping problems
I will order from Orvis again
This shirt is great quality an will last forever
It's such good quality I order another one the next day
Highly recommended
"
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salty Dawg loves his Sailing Rugby Shirt,
September 4, 2014
By: Gypsyredfoster
from Loveland, CO
"I purchased the Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt from Orvis as a gift for the sailor in our family. It turned out to be a great choice. Perfect weight and style, and the collar in particular works well in windy sailing weather. So much better than a hoodie!"
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fit,
September 4, 2014
By: Oklatrio
from Oklahoma
"This shirt will be very nice to layer in the winter or just ware on a cool day."
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
September 4, 2014
By: JoshV418
"This was a great purchase. Arms are a little long so just be aware. It's super comfortable and I would definitely recommend to anyone who asks."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A NIGHTSHIRT,
September 3, 2014
By: 0091
from Blairstown NJ
"Shirt much too long; could wear it as a nightshirt. I am 5' 9"."
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 3, 2014
By: danlecl
"Purchased this through the catalog and product was better than the picture portrayed"
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not satified,
August 26, 2014
By: jimbo54
"I have purchased a lot of items from orvis,and have been satisfied with everything. I washed this shirt in cold water like the tag said,and it bled a little, so I threw it away. I only got to wear it onnce. jm"
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 26, 2014
By: JJ11
"very comfortable. Ordered three more for my buddies"
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average,
August 24, 2014
By: Uchujin
"OK, overall. The rope and wood button didn't match the white and blue shirt, so I had to remove them. Navy rope with a white button would have been much better."