Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
106 of 113(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 18, 2014
By: Cogswell
from Minnesota
"The weight is perfect for cool summer evenings. The shawl collar gives it a distinctive look and I've received a number of compliments on it. Its has become a go-to shirt this summer."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another success,
July 15, 2014
By: Cuziwanna
from Fenton, Mi
"After 29 years of marriage I am blessed by the Orvis catalogue. I leave it right where I know he will find it, wait patiently for the next day and there is the catalogue open to his favorite thing. The sweatshirt was a perfect fit and best of all another surprise!"
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Shirt,
July 15, 2014
By: MarktheShark
from Centennial< CO
"This Rugby shirt is a perfect addition to my other Orvis sportware. The weight is perfect for three seasons. The wooden button is very nice touch and it separates it from other pullovers. I love this shirt."
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
garment designed for comfort,
June 25, 2014
By: buruusu
from san jose, ca
"works as advertised. arms made with flexible cloth so that you can bend arms at elbows. very natural feeling."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
June 21, 2014
By: Harry1931
from Florida
"This is a great shirt for cool mornings in Florida. Even in the summer at times. It is very comfortable and really is broken in when you get it. I have both a white and a blue one and wear them all the time."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even Better Than It Looked,
June 20, 2014
By: HYK4U
from Honolulu, Hawaii
"I liked this pullover the moment I saw it. I normally wear a Small size (which you normally don't have), but the item was so great looking, I ordered a Med and hoped I could fit into it..but I couldn't. Rather than returning it, I gave it to my nephew since it was too nice an item to return. Question: Why not make Small sizes? Mahalo!"
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It' what i was looking for.,
June 19, 2014
By: chuck44mb
from scottsdale az
"Going to Monterey Bay i needed something that would take out the early morning chill. This is the perfect pullover. Large enough to cover a shirt but not to large without a shirt and it's very smart looking . LOTS of complements."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous fabric,
June 18, 2014
By: WillsMom
from Chicago
"I bought this for my son and was concerned it would be too stiff and heavy like most rugby type shirts. Not so, the fabric has a soft feel and is a great summer weight. Fit was perfect also - ordered a medium"
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Real Looker,
June 17, 2014
By: Los64
from Rochester, NY
"Technically it is a Rugby Shirt, but people have already commented on what a great "sailing shirt" it is, so I think Orvis got its point across. I like to wear things that are distinctive and get favorable comments. That's why I like to buy things at Orvis!"
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 16, 2014
By: Burkie
from Burlington Ontario. Canada
"I purchased one last December for my son and he loves it. Because there's no women's model yet I purchased a men's small...a little big but then it's for ruffing, and I love it! A terrific buy!
Being from Canada and very reluctant to purchase from a catalogue you have no worries. The quality is amazing. I haven't returned anything in the past couple of years. Their return policy is also top notch.
Gail
"
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sailing rugby,
June 16, 2014
By: Munson15
from Newport News, VA
"This is a perfect shirt. It has now travelled to two European countries and fit all weather and occasions."
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great design,
June 16, 2014
By: veggieburger
from Houston TX
"........cool design and execution.....typical Orvis quality."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Their having problems with this product,
June 16, 2014
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"This is a great piece of clothing, I loved it right out of the packaging, fit was really true to size. Material was comfortable and a great weight.
I could not wait to take this shirt sailing.
Then I washed it for the first time and the blue ran all over the white, I followed their care instructions to the letter but still had a serious issue. I returned my shirt to an Orvis store and asked to order a new one to replace it and the store manager was great to work with. Unfortunately the new one isn't coming until August / September…so I think they know they have a problem and Orvis is trying to correct it. I really liked the shirt though and you will to if they get this material dye problem worked out.
I will say that Orvis is wonderful to work with if you have any problems with any of the items you buy from them. The store personnel are really great to work with too.
"
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EPIC,
June 6, 2014
By: neenytyo
from northern ny
"The EPIC summer shirt that says R-E-L-A-X! What can be more classic than nautical blue, ocean white and a toggle? Whether you are out on the boat this season, or just completing summer courses, hopefully on the sea, you will be happy in this EPIC man's shirt from your favorite company, ORVIS!"
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need two,
June 6, 2014
By: Tightenupguy
from CT and FL
"I have 1 for each residence there great for a slightly cool evening."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Summer Sailing,
June 4, 2014
By: druickd
from KIngston, Ontario
"This sailing/rugby shirt is the perfect fit and weight for a cool or windy summer day. Very well made and designed. I am very happy with it!"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
June 3, 2014
By: ScottH47
from Maryland
"Fells light when you wear it. Plenty of room. I usually take a tall size but this shirt is long even thou it is a regular size. Fells great and look good."
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great casual shirt,
June 3, 2014
By: donk
from wv
"Great looking shirt! The quality of fabric and workmanship were good and it is very comfortable."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing shirt,
May 19, 2014
By: fazalk
from Carpentersville, IL
"I have a love-hate relationship with the fitting of Orvis clothing, but this shirt is perfect. It's unique, comfortable, rugged, and just plain looks smart."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Shirt,
April 1, 2014
By: Scrabble
from Canada
"This looks great and is really comfortable. I am 6'0" and 204 Lbs. Normally I would by XL but I took a chance with a large and it fits great.."