Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Rugby polo shirt in navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
87 of 93(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Shirt,
April 1, 2014
By: Scrabble
from Canada
"This looks great and is really comfortable. I am 6'0" and 204 Lbs. Normally I would by XL but I took a chance with a large and it fits great.."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 10, 2014
By: Liz89
from Charlotte, NC
"I gave this shirt as a gift and the person who I got it for loves it. Has worn it three times already. They said it's a great weight for spring weather, but heavy enough to wear a t-shirt under if it's chilly. Would absolutely recommend this shirt!"
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
March 7, 2014
By: Donnell3
from ARL., VA.
"Nice product-- but it needs a few pockets & perhaps a zipper!"
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rugby Shirt,
March 6, 2014
By: GeorgieGirl2
from Atlanta, GA
"My husband loves rugby shirts and this one is very nice! He loves the ribbed cuffs. He started wearing it immediately."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For Spring and Fall,
February 26, 2014
By: NYSailor
"I bought one of these for use on my sailboat during the fall in northern New York. It is very comfortable and looks great, I have received numerous complements and been asked where i purchased it. After buying my first in the fall i have since purchased two more as gifts."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shirt,
February 25, 2014
By: jennich
"I like this shirt. It fits well, I am a standard med. The material is a nice weight and drapes nicely."
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
February 10, 2014
By: DocDunc
from Texas
"This the best pullover shirt I have ever owned. The fit is perfect & the material is great."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical as well as handsome.,
February 3, 2014
By: Strelnikov
from Des Moines, Iowa
"A few months ago I purchased the grey Donegal shawl collar sweatshirt material pullover from Orvis. It is practical, good looking, but rather light weight. This shawl collar rugby shirt is heavier and colorful. It is practical because the fabric is heavy enough for outside wear in the autumn and spring and inside wear from October through April. It is handsome enough to wear at many social occasions."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Rugby Shirt,
January 20, 2014
By: DCDKR
from PA.
"This Rugby shirt is just the right weight to hang softly on your shoulders arms and neck. No bunching around the cuffs, underarms or back when you go to sit down. The look is great too, and good comments from others let you know you picked a piece of clothing not only comfortable to wear but fun too. I sure enjoy it each time I put it on and I really believe you will also."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Material had spots,
January 16, 2014
By: Kendall
from Illinois
"I originally went into a brick and mortar store to buy this and the clerk informed me that they had some quality control issues and had to send their supply of these back. No problem, I figured, it was probably a bad batch that slipped through quality control. I'll just order online while I'm here. When the shirt arrived it had the same speckled discoloring on the fabric. It looked almost as if the shirt got near splashes or a mist of bleach. Unfortunately I had to bring it back. The fit was fine, material was thick and good quality, there was just something wrong with the dye process or something."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
January 16, 2014
By: Tarheel14
from Wilmington, nc
"Loved this rugby shirt I purchased for my husband. Ran very true to size. Washed nicely. No fading."
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product!,
January 16, 2014
By: Empty
from Minnesota
"We gave this as a gift at Christmas. We loved the quality and style. Our son-in-law really liked it. We will most likely look here again for a gift or to purchase for us."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to weekend wear,
January 16, 2014
By: rabbit01
from Princeton, NJ
"comfortable, versatile and looks good with a pair of jeans. That says all you need to know."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I ordered.,
January 16, 2014
By: PATANW
from East Hampton, Ct.
"Very happy with the rugby shirt. When it arrived it looked like the photo in Orvis flyer. I ordered a medium which is the size that usually fits me and this fit like a glove. Comfortable to wear and warm. Lot's of nice comments on it's looks."
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casual but stylish pullover,
January 16, 2014
By: Jayck
from Montclair, nj
"If you're seeking something to replace that light sweater you always wear with jeans, consider this distinctive cotton pullover. More than a sweatshirt, this sailing shirt is sturdy and well-designed. The shawl collar is a nice touch!"
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 16, 2014
By: stevebr
from chelmsford, MA
"Well made, prchased for my son, he loves it and wears it happily"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
January 15, 2014
By: Mark423
from Chattanooga, TN
"Great product. Nautical styled neck is a nice feature. Nice mix between informal but not sloppy looking. Good layering piece."
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something a Little Different,
January 15, 2014
By: Equus
from Canada
"You don't have to be a rugby player or a sailor to wear this shirt with conviction. Its comfortable fit along with unique detailing around the collar make for a versatile garment suitable for dressing up or dressing down be it with freshly pressed trousers, or stone washed jeans."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort and style,
January 7, 2014
By: Banatrae
"This is an excellent shirt. It is comfortable and stylish. You can wear it out or around the house. I wish I had a few more!!"
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
surprised,
January 2, 2014
By: mikkns
from BG Ohio
"I thought this shirt would be very thick cotton and heavy. Old Style. instead this tightly woven light weight shirt stills feels just as good and of course runs a little small ."