Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
161 of 173(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
November 20, 2014
By: Duffer123
"A very goo quality shirt. It should last for a very long time."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sailing rugby shirt,
November 18, 2014
By: 1712mh44
from Northumberland. UK.
"Glad I ordered a size smaller than normal after reading the reviews. Good quality,strong material. Well made. Toggle surplus to requirements as does not have any purpose, so cut it off and looks a lot better."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucky husband!,
November 13, 2014
By: Fiddiwebb
from Scotland
"Fabulous top for a gorgeous guy - he's worth it! Well made, great feel."
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality for years of use,
November 12, 2014
By: DANX
from Virginia
"Quality is the best way to describe the Rugby Shirt. I think it will last for years."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
was not oversized,
November 7, 2014
By: grasshopper2
"I found that the garment was sized appropriately. Unfortunately, based on previous reviews I ordered a medium when I usually wear a large. In my opinion, quality is not commensurate with price."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
October 31, 2014
By: BrendaE
from Georgetown, SC
"I bought this as a gift for my husband for his birthday. It is awesome! Feels wonderful and he loves it."
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great upscale casual,
October 30, 2014
By: HighSchoolHarry
from Milford OH
"Unique style. Goes great with jeans or khakis for dressy casual outings. Good weight for chilly fall and spring weather. Bought two, green and blue, too bad the white sold out or I would have gotten three. Highly recommended."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weight for autumn,
October 30, 2014
By: Hirshy
from Sunbury, Middlesex
"The shirt arrived in good time as specified by Orvis and the article itself is faithful to its description in the catalogue. A good buy and I wish I had now ordered the optional colour as well."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
October 27, 2014
By: frugalmom
from Wakefield MA
"I bought this shirt for my husband as a Christmas gift, and as he is a current sailor and past rugby player,! I know he is going to love it as the quality is beautiful, The fabric is thick and soft, It is a very handsome shirt! I know he's going to love it!"
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
October 21, 2014
By: ADG41ljg
from Danbury, CT
"Perfect Style for the Fall. This should last a long time. I made the correct purchase.."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Land and Sea Rugby shirt,
October 20, 2014
By: luv2sail
from New Jersey
"What a great shirt to take a walk in cool weather or go to a fall game and yet nice to wear out on the water especially when the sun starts to go down so soon in October. I ordered and XL based on the reviews and it fits perfectly. I am 6'2" and 245lbs and feel I have enough room to move around and get the sails down and put away."
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
October 16, 2014
By: CPick
from Evanston, IL
"This rugby looks as I expected based on the pictures, though it runs a bit large. I like the style, though the fabric is not quite s soft as I had expected - perhaps it will get that way after a few more cycles through the wash."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable casual shirt,
October 14, 2014
By: TechUser
"As with all Orvis products and merchandise the quality is there in everything. The material and functionality is top of the line. Style and comfort is very important to me and this is a great place to purchase any clothing item."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
October 14, 2014
By: JamesGMS
from West Coast
"Good looking garment - but it does run a little on the roomy side - so while I normally wear a large I purchased the medium and it fits just right - I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 182 pounds."
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 13, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Yorba Linda, CA
"I will be purchasing more items from orvis. The quality of the clothes is very good."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rugby shirt,
October 7, 2014
By: pippin99
"This product has that bit of pizazz over the normal rugby shirt with t he yatching collar and toggle.
Maroon and blue is a good colour combination and the material is soft to the skin.
The fit in the XXL is excellent and this shirt fast became my favourite for the cool of the morning and evening.
"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
September 29, 2014
By: Pistolgrip
"Nice quality fabric and well built. Feels good to the skin.
Only thing I don't like is just my preference and has nothing to do with the quality...The neck line is too low and I need to wear an undershirt with it.
"
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this, Something I could wear every day.,
September 29, 2014
By: Eaglelaker
from Ontario Canada
"As soon as I put it on I loved it. Very comfortable. looks good( according to my wife). Warm. Ideal Fall wear and driving sweat shirt.
Will be worn a lot."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
September 27, 2014
By: JamesGMS
from West Coast
"This is a wonderful sweatshirt - looks great and feels great on - just one thing to keep in mind - it does run pretty large. I'm 6' 1" and about 182 pounds - and normally I wear a large in most clothes - but had to return the large I first ordered as it was just too big. I now have the medium and it fits perfectly."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rugby alternative,
September 26, 2014
By: VincentV
from Dallas
"What a great design; the look of a rugby without the white collar that is difficult to keep straight. Very comfortable and a nice weight. Sizes run large, I ordered my regular size then shrank it down just enough in a hot wash."