Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
151 of 162(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Land and Sea Rugby shirt,
October 20, 2014
By: luv2sail
from New Jersey
"What a great shirt to take a walk in cool weather or go to a fall game and yet nice to wear out on the water especially when the sun starts to go down so soon in October. I ordered and XL based on the reviews and it fits perfectly. I am 6'2" and 245lbs and feel I have enough room to move around and get the sails down and put away."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
October 16, 2014
By: CPick
from Evanston, IL
"This rugby looks as I expected based on the pictures, though it runs a bit large. I like the style, though the fabric is not quite s soft as I had expected - perhaps it will get that way after a few more cycles through the wash."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable casual shirt,
October 14, 2014
By: TechUser
"As with all Orvis products and merchandise the quality is there in everything. The material and functionality is top of the line. Style and comfort is very important to me and this is a great place to purchase any clothing item."
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
October 14, 2014
By: JamesGMS
from West Coast
"Good looking garment - but it does run a little on the roomy side - so while I normally wear a large I purchased the medium and it fits just right - I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 182 pounds."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 13, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Yorba Linda, CA
"I will be purchasing more items from orvis. The quality of the clothes is very good."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rugby shirt,
October 7, 2014
By: pippin99
"This product has that bit of pizazz over the normal rugby shirt with t he yatching collar and toggle.
Maroon and blue is a good colour combination and the material is soft to the skin.
The fit in the XXL is excellent and this shirt fast became my favourite for the cool of the morning and evening.
"
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
September 29, 2014
By: Pistolgrip
"Nice quality fabric and well built. Feels good to the skin.
Only thing I don't like is just my preference and has nothing to do with the quality...The neck line is too low and I need to wear an undershirt with it.
"
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this, Something I could wear every day.,
September 29, 2014
By: Eaglelaker
from Ontario Canada
"As soon as I put it on I loved it. Very comfortable. looks good( according to my wife). Warm. Ideal Fall wear and driving sweat shirt.
Will be worn a lot."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
September 27, 2014
By: JamesGMS
from West Coast
"This is a wonderful sweatshirt - looks great and feels great on - just one thing to keep in mind - it does run pretty large. I'm 6' 1" and about 182 pounds - and normally I wear a large in most clothes - but had to return the large I first ordered as it was just too big. I now have the medium and it fits perfectly."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rugby alternative,
September 26, 2014
By: VincentV
from Dallas
"What a great design; the look of a rugby without the white collar that is difficult to keep straight. Very comfortable and a nice weight. Sizes run large, I ordered my regular size then shrank it down just enough in a hot wash."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rugby…just the right weight,
September 18, 2014
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"This is the second one of these rugby shirts I have bought from Orvis. They run a little big and don't shrink too much. So watch what size you buy. I am 6 foot 250 lbs and the XL fits me perfect.
I just returned from Ireland on a week long trip and this shirt was perfect for their weather.
Great over-shirt. I bought my first one for fall sails in Chicago on the windy and cold lake Michigan…liked it so much I returned and ordered a second one in a different color. Great collar when the weather turns nasty. If they come out with that white and navy one again I will be buying a 3rd one.
Get one you'll love it !!"
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snuggle Plus,
September 17, 2014
By: MarkTwain2
from Asheville, NC
"This shirt is warm and looks great. It makes my wife want to snuggle with me. So what else can I say."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY,
September 16, 2014
By: Tony3327
"I bought the sailing rugby shirt in a 2XL and it is a winner! Not only does the size run true, but it is so cool. You can't find this look anywhere else."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
September 16, 2014
By: Erecruiter
from New Jersey
"I am always looking for a shirt going from summer into fall other than the traditional item. This shirt fits great; feels great and according to my wife, looks great.
My only issue is sizing. I have been an XL for most of my adult life. Had I bought this online, I certainly would have bought an XL and it would have been too big. I was in a retail store and it was suggested that I try on a large and sure enough, the large is perfect. How do I buy products online if I am not sure if they will fit me? I will shop Orvis stores, but online is questionable because I am not sure of their fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfortable,
September 16, 2014
By: AutumninNY
from NYC
"The rugby shirt is so soft and warm. Perfect fit in XL. I am 6'5". The look is casual and cool. Get compliments every time I wear it."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY 2nd one,
September 12, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"After I purchased one I had to have the other color
This shirt is very well made and of good heavy quality, it will last a lifetime.
I now have two.
"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what you want,
September 8, 2014
By: bulldogger
from Patchogue NY
"If you want a "light-heavyweight" (orvis' inelegant, but highly accurate description) pull overdid or cool nights at the beach or on the boat, this is it."
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugby shirt,
September 8, 2014
By: Dogg1
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Great shirt! Very good fit. Material very durable and colors are very good. Great shirt for those crisp fall days. I would recommend this shirt to anyone. Gotta buy more!"
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
September 5, 2014
By: RMulder
from Brighton, MI
"This is light weight, comfortable in both cool and warm weather. it's made of cotton; so it's washable and looks great after it's dried, color looks good with all of my clothes."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My First Orvis Purchase,
September 4, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"Item was received in very short time and "in excellent shape no shipping problems
I will order from Orvis again
This shirt is great quality an will last forever
It's such good quality I order another one the next day
Highly recommended
"