Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (204 reviews)
5 stars
158
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
190 of 204(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointed,
January 5, 2015
By: Bob24
from Novato, Calif....
"Shirt was extremely attractive in catalogue and something I desired, however upon receipt, it did not appear as I imagined from the catalogue photo...collar was much too large and clumsy. The shirt is nice however, as I am a sailor...and something I would like and wear if suitable. Unfortunately, it was not to my liking and it was returned."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
January 5, 2015
By: ReidBG921
"Aside from being extremely comfortable, this shirt is also fantastic in the sense that it can be worn in a number of situations - whether that situation be a casual get-together, bringing wood into the house, or whatever! The bottom line is that while you can wear it for essentially any activity, you'll look even better just by wearing it and show that you are a rugged, sophisticated individual."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Rugby,
January 3, 2015
By: Renimar2
from Connecticut
"Bought this rugby as a gift for my son and nephew. They both love it. Great quality. Washed many times and looks great. It's a generous, loose fit. You don't need to order a size up to get a loose fit. It has quickly become a favorite!"
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome shirt,
January 2, 2015
By: bluegreenie
"A really handsome, well-made shirt. Purchased it for my husband, and he loves it."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rugby,
January 2, 2015
By: Swilliams3
"This rugby is mid-heavy weight, great quality. Wish it was button up--but still a great shirt!"
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
December 31, 2014
By: mweb29
"This shirt is beautiful! I was hesitant because of the price. But it is worth it. I got free shipping which was the icing on the cake! My husband loves this shirt, I'm sure it will be a favorite for years to come!"
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
unique product, well made,
December 30, 2014
By: JRB3
from Cleveland OH
"I was originally looking for a more typical rugby shirt when I came across this design, and like the idea of combining the rugby stripe with the more nautical design. I wear it as an overshirt rather than by itself, and the sizing works well for that in my case. I liked it enough that I bought two, one in the red/blue and one in the green/blue combinations."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and sturdy,
December 30, 2014
By: DGraser
"Substantial shirt, and very stylish. The fabric is substantial enough to wear as an outer during the fall and light winter weather. It has a nicely turned collar and a very good looking cord loop button at the top, the colors are true to the photo. It is full cut so it can be worn layered."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School Class,
December 29, 2014
By: Judy3366
from Lancaster PA
"This shirt is extremely well made. Old school class not often found. Would buy in ten colors if available. A definite winner."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift,
December 27, 2014
By: Rica90
"I had gotten the green/blue rugby sweatshirt for my boyfriend and he loved it. Especially since he shops on this site."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner!,
December 27, 2014
By: JAT2
from Atlanta, GA
"My teenage grandson loved the rugby style shirt so much that as soon as he opened his gift, he put it on and wore it the rest of the day! I really appreciate it being a well made quality shirt along with the shawl collar and rope closure make it unique. The fabric is a nice weight...not too heavy and not too light. We are very pleased with this purchase!"
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New boating shirt for my husband!,
December 22, 2014
By: ddiederi706
from Seattle, WA
"Love the quality of this shirt and the fact that it's the perfect wait for our NW weather!"
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable & Attractive,
December 20, 2014
By: KICK22
from Rochester Hills MI
"I ordered this shirt for both my husband and me. It is very comfortable and great looking. I see this becoming our 'go-to' shirt with jeans or khakis. Classic styling and the collar design is a very nice change."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CHILLY TAMPA MORNINGS,
December 19, 2014
By: flgolfer
from TAMPA. FLORIDA
"THE PERFECT WEIGHT FOR THOSE CHILLY MORNINGS IN TAMPA, FL. YES IT DOES GET BELOW 60 DEGREES. THIS GARMET IS PERFECT."
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made & comfortable.,
December 18, 2014
By: Dakotaman
from Sioux Falls, SD
"I insist on all cotton, for comfort. A GREAT casual top, which may become my favorite ! Lighter than a sweatshirt, heavier than a t-shirt. Shawl collar can be raised for protection, if necessary."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat shirt,
December 17, 2014
By: StephRR
from Maryland
"Very well made, rugged looking and comfortable. Runs big!"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absofreakinlutely awesome,
December 16, 2014
By: Predsfan
from Nolensville, TN
"My husband loves this shirt! I bought him the green one and then the navy. It's comfortable, soft and can be worn alone or with a shirt underneath. He wants the white one next summer."
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE & COMFORTABLE,
December 15, 2014
By: Jimbo1502
from Sinking Spring, PA
"RECENTLY PURCHASED. ATTRACTIVE AND COMFORTABLE. TWO PROBLEMS FOR ME, HOWEVER: ORDERED LARGE, BUT LENGTH IS VERY LONG (NEEDED TO HAVE SHORTENED) AND WISH ARTICLE HAD SLASH POCKETS. OTHERWISE, GREAT!"
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immediate wearable,
December 14, 2014
By: EmeraldIsle
from Lake Geneva, WI
"This garment is immediately wearable and easy to dress up or down. It will stand alone for spring or fall, and works as a nice layer under a heavier winter weight coat."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm lovin' this shirt!,
December 9, 2014
By: StevieH
"'Warm, comfortable and good-looking. It's a shirt that can go almost anywhere. I really like the shawl collar for looks and warmth"