Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (222 reviews)
5 stars
175
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
208 of 222(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just an awesome Rugby for sailing !,
March 27, 2015
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"I have this shirt in two of the three colors offered. I actually bought the white and blue one twice, I lent my first one to a friend while sailing and he won't give it back. I had no issue spending the money to get another one. Great weight and feel to it. Get compliments everywhere I wear it. It runs large so order the next size down. It won't shrink very much. I am 5'-11" and weight 250 and the XL fits me perfect. Literally my favorite shirt when I am sailing or boating or hanging by the lake at night."
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Style,
March 27, 2015
By: Timberline
from Hudson, Quebec, Canada
"This is a great product: sharp looking, comfortable and really well made with a nice fabric and weight..
As with Orvis clothes generally, it is generously sized. At almost 6 feet in height and 215 pounds, the Large size is just perfect including lots of body length."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure comfort,
March 24, 2015
By: BigTucky
from Jersey C.I.
"i have been after this product for over a year as it is very popular - the wait was worth it as it is just a fantastic comfortable item of clothing."
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting,
March 23, 2015
By: Hanover12345
from Hanover, MD
"I have all 3 colors offered. Will purchase other colors when they come available."
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
March 12, 2015
By: Bob35
"It took awhile to get used to the unusual collar, but the shirt is very comfortable, and the Orvis quality is there."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top-notch Rugby Shirt,
March 12, 2015
By: MaxwellSmartDog092511
"The shirt is everything I expected from Orvis. High quality with great design features. The fit is true- to size. I may get a 2nd one in another color."
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product!,
March 11, 2015
By: daddiocoolio
from Bemidji,MN
"This is a sweater'sweatshirt that is as good as advertised. Good weight, will warm you up when needed , yet not too hot in warmer weather."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 11, 2015
By: Boxcar7
"Very comfortable and cozy. Can be worn for many different non-professional occasions with or without a shirt underneath. It presents a very attractive appearance."
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sublime,
March 7, 2015
By: john45713
from Kent
"A sublimely comfortable yet still smart garment to wear, still with a sporty but smart appearance. Just what you like to slip on for a casual weekend"
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 16, 2015
By: Seahawk1940
"Bought this product on line and was completely satisfied. Good fit, color, and style. May buy another."
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis Quality,
January 27, 2015
By: RichM777
"Great product and looks great. This item is typical of what is expected from Orvis. Quality material, excellent customer service, and fast shipping. Runs big which is not unusual from Orvis so plan accordingly. Any questions before ordering on-line contact their customer service because they have more information on the item that what appears on the web site. Bought both shirts offered on-line. Not disappointed."
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointed,
January 5, 2015
By: Bob24
from Novato, Calif....
"Shirt was extremely attractive in catalogue and something I desired, however upon receipt, it did not appear as I imagined from the catalogue photo...collar was much too large and clumsy. The shirt is nice however, as I am a sailor...and something I would like and wear if suitable. Unfortunately, it was not to my liking and it was returned."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
January 5, 2015
By: ReidBG921
"Aside from being extremely comfortable, this shirt is also fantastic in the sense that it can be worn in a number of situations - whether that situation be a casual get-together, bringing wood into the house, or whatever! The bottom line is that while you can wear it for essentially any activity, you'll look even better just by wearing it and show that you are a rugged, sophisticated individual."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Rugby,
January 3, 2015
By: Renimar2
from Connecticut
"Bought this rugby as a gift for my son and nephew. They both love it. Great quality. Washed many times and looks great. It's a generous, loose fit. You don't need to order a size up to get a loose fit. It has quickly become a favorite!"
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome shirt,
January 2, 2015
By: bluegreenie
"A really handsome, well-made shirt. Purchased it for my husband, and he loves it."
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rugby,
January 2, 2015
By: Swilliams3
"This rugby is mid-heavy weight, great quality. Wish it was button up--but still a great shirt!"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
December 31, 2014
By: mweb29
"This shirt is beautiful! I was hesitant because of the price. But it is worth it. I got free shipping which was the icing on the cake! My husband loves this shirt, I'm sure it will be a favorite for years to come!"
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
unique product, well made,
December 30, 2014
By: JRB3
from Cleveland OH
"I was originally looking for a more typical rugby shirt when I came across this design, and like the idea of combining the rugby stripe with the more nautical design. I wear it as an overshirt rather than by itself, and the sizing works well for that in my case. I liked it enough that I bought two, one in the red/blue and one in the green/blue combinations."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and sturdy,
December 30, 2014
By: DGraser
"Substantial shirt, and very stylish. The fabric is substantial enough to wear as an outer during the fall and light winter weather. It has a nicely turned collar and a very good looking cord loop button at the top, the colors are true to the photo. It is full cut so it can be worn layered."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School Class,
December 29, 2014
By: Judy3366
from Lancaster PA
"This shirt is extremely well made. Old school class not often found. Would buy in ten colors if available. A definite winner."