Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt

Rugged good looks, classic rugby styling, and a cool shawl collar for added warmth and versatility. Sewn of our Light-Heavyweight fabric, a robust 10-oz. cotton that's been heavily washed for a distressed, broken-in look that makes each rugby unique. Other features include underarm woven patches with metal grommets for ventilation, and side slits for added mobility. Rope toggle closure, rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
140 of 151(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Review 1 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rugby…just the right weight,
September 18, 2014
By: Bigduke
from Chicago, IL
"This is the second one of these rugby shirts I have bought from Orvis. They run a little big and don't shrink too much. So watch what size you buy. I am 6 foot 250 lbs and the XL fits me perfect.
I just returned from Ireland on a week long trip and this shirt was perfect for their weather.
Great over-shirt. I bought my first one for fall sails in Chicago on the windy and cold lake Michigan…liked it so much I returned and ordered a second one in a different color. Great collar when the weather turns nasty. If they come out with that white and navy one again I will be buying a 3rd one.
Get one you'll love it !!"
Review 2 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snuggle Plus,
September 17, 2014
By: MarkTwain2
from Asheville, NC
"This shirt is warm and looks great. It makes my wife want to snuggle with me. So what else can I say."
Review 3 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY,
September 16, 2014
By: Tony3327
"I bought the sailing rugby shirt in a 2XL and it is a winner! Not only does the size run true, but it is so cool. You can't find this look anywhere else."
Review 4 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
September 16, 2014
By: Erecruiter
from New Jersey
"I am always looking for a shirt going from summer into fall other than the traditional item. This shirt fits great; feels great and according to my wife, looks great.
My only issue is sizing. I have been an XL for most of my adult life. Had I bought this online, I certainly would have bought an XL and it would have been too big. I was in a retail store and it was suggested that I try on a large and sure enough, the large is perfect. How do I buy products online if I am not sure if they will fit me? I will shop Orvis stores, but online is questionable because I am not sure of their fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfortable,
September 16, 2014
By: AutumninNY
from NYC
"The rugby shirt is so soft and warm. Perfect fit in XL. I am 6'5". The look is casual and cool. Get compliments every time I wear it."
Review 6 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY 2nd one,
September 12, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"After I purchased one I had to have the other color
This shirt is very well made and of good heavy quality, it will last a lifetime.
I now have two.
"
Review 7 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what you want,
September 8, 2014
By: bulldogger
from Patchogue NY
"If you want a "light-heavyweight" (orvis' inelegant, but highly accurate description) pull overdid or cool nights at the beach or on the boat, this is it."
Review 8 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugby shirt,
September 8, 2014
By: Dogg1
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Great shirt! Very good fit. Material very durable and colors are very good. Great shirt for those crisp fall days. I would recommend this shirt to anyone. Gotta buy more!"
Review 9 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
September 5, 2014
By: RMulder
from Brighton, MI
"This is light weight, comfortable in both cool and warm weather. it's made of cotton; so it's washable and looks great after it's dried, color looks good with all of my clothes."
Review 10 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My First Orvis Purchase,
September 4, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"Item was received in very short time and "in excellent shape no shipping problems
I will order from Orvis again
This shirt is great quality an will last forever
It's such good quality I order another one the next day
Highly recommended
"
Review 11 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salty Dawg loves his Sailing Rugby Shirt,
September 4, 2014
By: Gypsyredfoster
from Loveland, CO
"I purchased the Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt from Orvis as a gift for the sailor in our family. It turned out to be a great choice. Perfect weight and style, and the collar in particular works well in windy sailing weather. So much better than a hoodie!"
Review 12 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fit,
September 4, 2014
By: Oklatrio
from Oklahoma
"This shirt will be very nice to layer in the winter or just ware on a cool day."
Review 13 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
September 4, 2014
By: JoshV418
"This was a great purchase. Arms are a little long so just be aware. It's super comfortable and I would definitely recommend to anyone who asks."
Review 14 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A NIGHTSHIRT,
September 3, 2014
By: 0091
from Blairstown NJ
"Shirt much too long; could wear it as a nightshirt. I am 5' 9"."
Review 15 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 3, 2014
By: danlecl
"Purchased this through the catalog and product was better than the picture portrayed"
Review 16 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not satified,
August 26, 2014
By: jimbo54
"I have purchased a lot of items from orvis,and have been satisfied with everything. I washed this shirt in cold water like the tag said,and it bled a little, so I threw it away. I only got to wear it onnce. jm"
Review 17 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 26, 2014
By: JJ11
"very comfortable. Ordered three more for my buddies"
Review 18 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average,
August 24, 2014
By: Uchujin
"OK, overall. The rope and wood button didn't match the white and blue shirt, so I had to remove them. Navy rope with a white button would have been much better."
Review 19 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
August 22, 2014
By: FlyRunner
from Ohio
"Love this item. Looks great, wears great and washes up great. I have worn it primarily in the evenings after it cools off a little bit and it is the perfect weight for nighttime activities. As fll kicks in, I can see this becoming a real go to shirt. Orvis delivers again. As usual."
Review 20 for Light-Heavyweight Sailing Rugby Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Husband,
August 20, 2014
By: Tori19
from Kalamazoo, MI
"My husband received this Rugby Shirt from me for his birthday. He was so happy with it that he immediately put it on and wore it for the rest of the evening. He said he can't wait for it to get cold outside so he can wear it all day long. It's very soft and cozy, yet manly."