Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Summerweight Field Coat

We took our best-selling field coat design and recreated it in an unlined lightweight soft-brushed pure cotton microcanvas. Two snap-flap pockets; two additional upper slash pockets. Matching finewale corduroy trim on the collar and cuffs. Button-adjustable cuffs. Bi-swing back for full range of motion. Field coat for men in British tan. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 30¾" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.147 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 34(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summerweight Field Coat
Review 1 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolutely superb,
July 22, 2015
By: veryhappycustomerUK
from UK
"very happy with the jacket. everything i wanted. excellent quality, great colour, great fit (but do go a size down. i have to agree with other reviewers sizing is generous but if you go a size down it will fit lovely). impressive customer service (thank you Amber, you have been brilliant help) prompt delivery."
Review 2 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First Class Product & Service,
July 7, 2015
By: Tomb59
from Surrey England
"First Class service from the time of order to regrettably returning jacket.
Colour was not quite the same in Catalogue.
Jacket quality could not fault and sizing on the plus side so look to down size.
Informed when jacket arrived back also when refund was paid back into my account.
Two small things I would like to see built into jacket of this price 1, The inside pocket to have a zip. 2, A hanging tab to the back of neck for hanging up or to hold should the need arise (Also guys missing a chance for brand name placement )
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality product.,
July 4, 2015
By: SharpPractice
from Elgin, Moray
"It was too large for me although based on your own size categories.
The product was also a lot heavier than expected for summer wear. Hence my return.
"
Review 4 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied with a wish,
June 15, 2015
By: DavidR217
from Detroit, Michigan
"The fabric weight is a perfect for late spring and early fall. The construction is solid with durable materials and excellent craftsmanship. Nice collection of outside pockets.
My one wish is for an inside pocket. Something big enough to stash a cellphone, passport, or similar valuable."
Review 5 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 8, 2015
By: JohnHarrisonJr
"So I ordered a medium (I'm always on the cusp between small and medium and they had no small sizes left) and unfortunately it buried me! I would say the sizes are on the generous side. However the quality of the garment was unquestionable. Rugged, clearly hard wearing and a lovely righ colour. Classic design with some practical features. I only wish I were bigger!!"
Review 6 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NEEDS IMPROVEMENT,
May 6, 2015
By: Anonymous
from Colorado
"I read all of the reviews before I ordered this overcoat, so I knew what I was purchasing. It is definitely a lighter weight, unlined field coat that is suitable for wearing throughout the late Spring and the early Fall. It is good looking and strongly made. On the negative side, as soon as I washed it, the inner seams on the button placket rolled over. Since I didn't want to iron these flaps down every time I washed this coat, I had these sewed to the front with a proper matching thread. Unlike most Orvis jackets, this one lacks internal pockets that can buttoned or zippered closed to secure a wallet, passport, or money, which makes it less travel worthy. Also, the upper slash pockets seem to be a bit flimsy and not as strongly constructed as most Orvis pockets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer Coat!,
April 20, 2015
By: Ian1980
from Chicago, IL
"Great lightweight Summer jacket with thoughtful features I will use in the field. As with everything I've ever purchased from Orvis... the quality is second to none."
Review 8 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect jacket,
April 14, 2015
By: theUtahn
from Brigham City, UT
"I love the fit, style and especially the utility of this field coat.
It is the best all purpose jacket I've ever had.
Thanks"
Review 9 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE IT,
April 6, 2015
By: ROD67
from Nashville, TN
"Sometimes what is pictured and described is not what you receive. This has never been the case with Orvis. This coat, along with another coat and two pairs of pants have been even better than I expected. This is now my favorite store and I look forward to seeing an actual store."
Review 10 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
April 3, 2015
By: jcbott
from Topeka, KS
"Just what I wanted. Priced fair and quality above expectations."
Review 11 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
March 26, 2015
By: Ted1942
"Great weight for spring time. And cool summer evenings."
Review 12 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Spring Jacket,
March 13, 2015
By: Willy1716
from Virginia Beach
"The coat fits as graded and the weight is perfect for warmer wear. The design is great. A classic cut and features like some of the best barn coats over the past two or three decades."
Review 13 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
March 7, 2015
By: Brik
from AZ
"This coat was just what I expected from the description. The one unexpected, pleasant surprise is that there is one interior pocket on the left side down near the hem of the jacket. Although it isn't meant for cold weather there is plenty of room for a sweater so I'll be able to extend the amount of time this jacket is wearable. In Arizona this jacket will fit right in."
Review 14 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too much mustard,
April 21, 2014
By: drydruid
"I liked the style of the jacket, a lot intact, but the color was too mustard for my taste."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and Comfortable,
April 16, 2014
By: CupcakeNYC
from New York City
"I bought this for my husband because I liked the way it looked in the ad. I don't know what a Field Coat is; we live in New York City, where there aren't really any "fields". But, it's nice to wear over a shirt in the Fall and Spring, when just walking around. It fits him very well, too."
Review 16 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed.,
March 7, 2014
By: karpov
"This jacket is a little too narrow in the shoulders, while the rest is still the same XL, which I normally wear.
And honestly it is very-very simple jacket. I'd say it should cost a $150 max.
"
Review 17 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for its purpose,
February 19, 2014
By: Smithers35
from Texas
"I purchased this lightweight coat to shield my torso and arms from mosquitoes while in the woods, yet light enough to wear even in the hottest months. This coat is perfect for my intended use. It also has plenty of pockets to stash gear. Great lightweight coat."
Review 18 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The classic fishing jacket,
August 1, 2013
By: BambooMIke
from The Midwest
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I saw this jacket in the 2012 catalog and by the time I tried to order it, Orvis was already sold out. I did not make the same mistake in 2013. The jacket reminds me of the classic fishing jackets worn during the golden age of fly-fishing in America. As a matter of fact, this jacket looks almost identical to the one worn by my fishing hero, George LaBranche, during the early 1900's It is the perfect weight for spring, summer and fall. Just a great jacket!"
Review 19 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Is it not a fake?,
June 7, 2013
By: JohnFromNY
from NY
"Color does not match the image. Missing zip. Is it not a fake?"
Review 20 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical stylish summer Jacket,
May 20, 2013
By: Vogel
from London UK
"I am a keen Orvis fan. This jacket met a need for a stylish but casual, practical jacket that was suitable for what passes as a British summer."