Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Summerweight Field Coat

We took our best-selling field coat design and recreated it in an unlined lightweight soft-brushed pure cotton microcanvas. Two snap-flap pockets; two additional upper slash pockets. Matching finewale corduroy trim on the collar and cuffs. Button-adjustable cuffs. Bi-swing back for full range of motion. Field coat for men in British tan. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 30¾" long in size large. About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summerweight Field Coat
Review 1 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too much mustard,
April 21, 2014
By: drydruid
"I liked the style of the jacket, a lot intact, but the color was too mustard for my taste."
Review 2 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and Comfortable,
April 16, 2014
By: CupcakeNYC
from New York City
"I bought this for my husband because I liked the way it looked in the ad. I don't know what a Field Coat is; we live in New York City, where there aren't really any "fields". But, it's nice to wear over a shirt in the Fall and Spring, when just walking around. It fits him very well, too."
Review 3 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed.,
March 7, 2014
By: karpov
"This jacket is a little too narrow in the shoulders, while the rest is still the same XL, which I normally wear.
And honestly it is very-very simple jacket. I'd say it should cost a $150 max.
"
Review 4 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for its purpose,
February 19, 2014
By: Smithers35
from Texas
"I purchased this lightweight coat to shield my torso and arms from mosquitoes while in the woods, yet light enough to wear even in the hottest months. This coat is perfect for my intended use. It also has plenty of pockets to stash gear. Great lightweight coat."
Review 5 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The classic fishing jacket,
August 1, 2013
By: BambooMIke
from The Midwest
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I saw this jacket in the 2012 catalog and by the time I tried to order it, Orvis was already sold out. I did not make the same mistake in 2013. The jacket reminds me of the classic fishing jackets worn during the golden age of fly-fishing in America. As a matter of fact, this jacket looks almost identical to the one worn by my fishing hero, George LaBranche, during the early 1900's It is the perfect weight for spring, summer and fall. Just a great jacket!"
Review 6 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Is it not a fake?,
June 7, 2013
By: JohnFromNY
from NY
"Color does not match the image. Missing zip. Is it not a fake?"
Review 7 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical stylish summer Jacket,
May 20, 2013
By: Vogel
from London UK
"I am a keen Orvis fan. This jacket met a need for a stylish but casual, practical jacket that was suitable for what passes as a British summer."
Review 8 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handsome coat,
May 8, 2013
By: lagomorph
"what a wonderful coat,, works in many different venues"
Review 9 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reserve judgement,
April 24, 2013
By: Balmain
from Belfast
"I was slightly taken aback by the lack of lining, creating a somewhat unfinished look on the inside. Once I got my head around that, and reminded myself that I trust Orvis, I felt reassured. Although I've given four stars, I will reserve final judgement until the summer comes and I'm wearing the coat regularly."
Review 10 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Summerweight,
April 16, 2013
By: JoelS
from Philadelphia, PA
"I found the jacket way to heavy, stiff and canvas like. I wouldn't want a jacket that requires a break in period. This one does, and it does not have enough pockets"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
April 15, 2013
By: zentao
from Toronto, ON
"This jacket has very good quality in both material and stitching. No signs that buttons will fall off. The canvas is definitely intended for rough use and is much heavier than many "fashion" coats - it is probably the same weight as Barbour's original line. In fact, this jacket might work well coated with Barbour's wax.
The fit is a bit funny in that the arms and shoulders fit me quite well while the body of the jacket is very large. I guess when (if) I grow a huge beer belly then it will still fit.
I think it would be good if it had an inner pocket that closed with a zipper for storing things like my wallet while I'm out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a must buy - pity,
March 17, 2013
By: Charlie44
"Nice fabric and great colour but heavy for a summerweight jacket even in an English summer. Snapflap pockets excellent , but styling at the back over fussy and combined with boxy cut does not make for a "must buy me" look"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking forward,
February 28, 2013
By: Byrathon
from Stafford UK
"This jacket looks good, Is excellent fit, and I look forward to wearing it when the weather improves"
Review 14 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good lightweight Jacket.,
October 12, 2012
By: Marleys
from Scotland
"Comfortable lightweight summer jacket, I have same style heavier lined one for winter wear."
Review 15 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Field coat nearly there,
August 31, 2012
By: mikl
from Stockport UK
"The Heritage field Coat has the right looks, is practical, excellent material but is unfortunately let down by poor finishing. The stitching is uneven and looks lightweight compared to the materials. If I were Orvis I would put more effort into this area to give a really high quality product. As it is I think it is overpriced and does not compare well with other similar products."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For an intrepid adventurer,
August 20, 2012
By: Taz2
from Carnwath
"A classic summer weight field coat that can be used on those long vacations to far away countries where you can imagine that you are about to discover a lost civalisation."
Review 17 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Summerweight Field Coat,
August 6, 2012
By: nogrunch
"I'm still on the fence with this purchase; not that I have found anything wrong with it at all - I just haven't got round to wearing it: I suppose that I'm still waiting for summer, which is a long time coming this year. I did read the other reviews, so that I was aware that the coat is unlined, & lacks any interior pockets. The lining, or rather the lack of one, may or may not matter in the long run; but I seriously think that at least one zipped or buttoned interior pocket would ensure that this garment would seem to be more functional & complete."
Review 18 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality build - no lining,
April 17, 2012
By: PinkPigg
from Wilmington, NC
"The jacket is slightly lighter in color than in the picture. The stitching is very well done. There is weight to the fabric and it feels substantial without being too heavy. It is a boxy fit not tapered and no waist drawstring. Great looking jacket. Only complaint is that there is no lining. I believe this was not put in as the cotton applied to this jacket is already hefty enough. Though the jacket seems a bit unfinished without the lining. Being pragmatic, not many people see the inside of your jacket any way and the wear is comfortable. I would still buy the jacket, no question."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Summerweight Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cracking coat,
April 3, 2012
By: Megapode
from Winchester
"Great light coat, my only criticism is that I would have preferred a light lining and an inside wallet pocket.
Great to wear though.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Summerweight Field Coat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1