Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress

You just can't go wrong with a classic shirtdress. Our pretty black-floral version is sewn of ultrasoft rayon challis for a graceful, slightly swingy drape. Point collar. Buttons to the waist. Three-quarter sleeves. Elastic waist with self-tie belt. In black. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes: 4-20; about 32" long from waistline.Petite sizes: 4-20; about 29" from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Review 1 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dress,
July 15, 2014
By: BiBi719
"Ordering a dress out of the internet catalog is always a little scary. This dress ended up of good quality and excellent fit. My husband loves it and I am very pleased with my purchase. An excellent value and a classy look."
Review 2 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not Best Choice For Me!,
June 26, 2014
By: Bootsie58
from Leesburg, VA
"This is a beautiful dress. The material is so soft and would be so comfortable to wear. I had hoped this would work for me. It is not meant for shapely women."
Review 3 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cute dress,
May 13, 2014
By: pocketlady
"Great price! Perfect to wear to work. Best thing is that it has pockets!!"
Review 4 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful dress, with pockets!,
April 13, 2014
By: redgrandma
from NYS
"I ordered this dress knowing I would have to cut off several inches since I am 5'2". But I loved the pockets and the fabric with no spandex.
It's hard to find dresses without stretch anymore and the stretch makes them hot in summer.
"
Review 5 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new Sunday dress,
March 17, 2014
By: Channie50
from Florida
"I don't wear dresses much anymore because they never fit right. This one fits perfectly and I love that it doesn't button all the way down, as many shirtdresses do. The fabric feels silky to the touch. A great buy."
Review 6 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All occasion,
February 4, 2014
By: CloverGrl
from Ohio
"This dress is great for the office and will follow you through the day into the evening. Has style and most importantly side pockets!"
Review 7 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Graceful Dress,
December 10, 2013
By: Prairie123
from New England
"I ordered this dress because I had another one in the same style. It is the kind of dress you can wear alone or add a jacket, and always be ready for almost any occasion. I like classic styles, and this is one of them. It seems to make my figure look slim--a welcome result!"
Review 8 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shirtwaist dress,
October 16, 2013
By: smlpainter
from Hardy, VA
"I have this dress in brown and white and love it. I hand wash it in cold water even though it says to dry clean, with no problems. I only have to lightly iron and it is good as new! I bought the dress when it first appeared in the catalogue and have gotten much wear out of it."
Review 9 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile Dress,
September 27, 2013
By: Lassie2
from SF Bay Area, CA
"I was looking for dresses for work and found this dress to fit the bill and beyond. The print is diminutive and elegant. I can see this dress in other calico prints and dark colors. I am 5'4" about 120 lb. and wears a 4P or XS in Orvis dress. I hope to see more dresses in Petite. I took a star off because I wish the dress is machine washable."
Review 10 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent dress,
September 1, 2013
By: cd1234
"The one complaint about this dress was that it was short waisted, but it was perfect for me. It is pretty and comfortable."
Review 11 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful dress, but....,
August 5, 2013
By: jothp
from High Plains, USA
"Beautiful dress, but maybe its sized a bit small...? I normally wear a size 8 but this was pretty much skin tight on the top, and VERY short waisted!! I'll try a 10. Normally I LOVE Orvis clothes!!"
Review 12 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 30, 2013
By: JAMH
from Chicago
"As others have remarked, the dress is short waisted--but that was not a problem for me, especially since the sash belt can be placed wherever. The fabric is attractive and will travel well."
Review 13 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Top of dress too big,
April 15, 2013
By: Patec
from NYC NY
"One has to have an ample bust line
To fill out the top of this dress. If not, it's billowy and too big. I wear a 36A bra, so that has something to do with it, but you have to be a lot bigger than that.
The fabric and print are beautiful though.
"
Review 14 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Style,
March 5, 2013
By: Buggo
from Texas
"This dress has a classic and timeless style. It is very comfortable to wear and "just right" in a variety of settings. I've dressed it up with a black jacket and also worn it alone at more casual events. It's long, but I prefer it that way. My only complaint is that it's dry clean only. There are so many pretty fabrics that are wash and wear--too bad!"
Review 15 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice style & the pattern has casual elegance,
November 2, 2012
By: Ahlie
from Santa Cruz
"I just love wholesome styles, the world is full of too short, too tight styles, but this dress is lovely. The fabric hangs nice, the pattern is not to big so it's easy on the eyes, and the length is near perfect.
I'd probably fit better over all in a size 6 but the line across my shoulders was just a little too snug, and I could see that ripping in the future, so I ordered an 8 and only hope the waist won't be too generous since I am not busty enough to fill in the blouse area.
I bought it for looking professional at my Day Spa. It is a lovely wholesome design and very professional but not stuffy looking, but friendly looking.
I would prefer that it not have the elastic waist as I like a more tailored look. But the tie that comes with it dresses up and hides the elastic gatherings.
I would like to see it offered in some lovely mature colors like: solid black, brown, super deep blackish red, and a blackish deep olive, or an all over small leaf or fern pattern that would be slimming and pretty too
I don't like the super lite pastels as it see them mostly over used as colors and some times they look childish no lady like. But lite colors that appear rich are fine.
I just think the darker colors look elegant and rightly understated, and especially slimming too."
Review 16 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits just right,
November 2, 2012
By: Pulaski
from Catalog
"The fabric is lucious and the on seam pockets I love. It fits perfectly. I will have to hem it a couple of inches but othersywise a perfect style and fit. I can add a red vest for a nice compliment ;to the black and white print."
Review 17 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
October 30, 2012
By: Jonadab
from Canada
"Because pictures are often more flattering to the model wearing them than to me, I usually keep my fingers crossed when ordering. This dress is lovely (and flattering). Very pleased"
Review 18 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waists too short,
October 22, 2012
By: Santolina
""Aha", thought I. 2 shirt dresses in lovely light fabrics-one black and white, the other brown and white. I ordered a 16 and the waist was too short; the 18 was way too big but the waist also was short. I was going to buy both in the proper size.
Not the cut for me. Maybe if the waists were not elasticized the style would be improved.
"
Review 19 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable dress,
October 5, 2012
By: catlady24
"This dress is very comfortable, but I would like it more if it were a dew inches longer."
Review 20 for Black-Floral-Print Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Between Season Dress,
September 20, 2012
By: Authentic
from Bridgeport, WV
"The dress was true to size. I have worn it and it is comfortable. Wish it was a little shorter. Material is soft and did not wrinkle. Would have liked it to be washable. Nice for between summer and fall wear as light weight but darker color."