Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants

Smooth and soft with a nice drape and resiliency, our winning Tencel/cotton blend is sewn into these immensely comfortable explorer pants. Styled with front patch pockets, they have side back elastic insets and back darts for shape. Contrasting topstitch detailing. Explorer pants in safari, dark denim, black, stone. Tencel®/cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 4-20; 31" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Review 1 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy but Casual,
May 13, 2013
By: Minngrama
from Mn
"These pants are a very nice fabric and drape well. The stitching gives them a little something extra...could be dressed up with a black top to match the stich. I like my clothing to have just a touch of something interesting but still be classic. These fit the bill. The fit is true to size."
Review 2 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy!!,
May 11, 2013
By: giuseppina
from San Francisco
"I would have returned the Pants but I had shortened them. The material wrinkles too easily and the fit of the pants is not good around the groin"
Review 3 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
March 14, 2013
By: frstrated
"I guess I should have known that Tencel is a flimsy fabric.
The most frustrating thing for me about Orvis pants is that the size, fit and shape varies so much. In these, a 14 is way too small, whereas in others a 14 is roomy and almost too large. I don't have this problem of inconsistency with other company's pants.
"
Review 4 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True to advertising.,
March 13, 2013
By: MarthaToronto
from Canada
"These pants fit well, true to size and very comfortable. Have a good look. Easy to wear. A bit dressier than regular jeans."
Review 5 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
stiching,
October 15, 2012
By: samuelle
from west coast
"liked the fit & the wide legs but the decorative stiching ruined the look for me. Hope you will make this fit and wide leg in other pants especially khaki cotton"
Review 6 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casual Looking,
September 6, 2012
By: NorCalGal
from Occidental, CA
"I bought the dark denim color which is very nice and gives them a more polished look than regular jeans. I like the straight/wide leg.
The fabric is about 60% Tencel, 40% cotton. They are relatively soft and a mid-weight. They have enough stiffness to keep their shape. Because of this the larger size looked bulky on me.
The waist is above the belly button. The button & zipper fly has an overlapping waist band with 2 buttons (second one on the inside) for secure closure. The waist band has 2 elastic panels. The elastic is as wide as the band, but they only stretch about 1/2" all together, which is about the same as a jean with some stretch in the fabric.
I really don't like the pockets. They are patch pockets (on the outside), so it's not just the contrast stitching. This makes them look very casual and a little juvenile in my opinion.
I bought a size up for comfort and they are really way too big, especially the waist. I would exchange them except for those darn pockets."
Review 7 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Tencel,
September 3, 2012
By: RollinD
from denver, colorado
"Tencel is a great fabric for travel. Black stitching on safari color is most attractive."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful large pockets,
July 25, 2012
By: Tencelfan
from Dorset, UK
"These trousers are very comfortable and would have been perfect but unfortunately the contrast stitching at the ankle had a rather messy knot. A little more care should have been taken to get the stitching neat."
Review 9 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size is Always Right,
June 14, 2012
By: blouse
from Orvis "addict"
"I just love that your sizes for slacks have been standard for me and always fit!"
Review 10 for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basic Wardrobe Pants,
February 22, 2012
By: Nickey
from Asheville,NC
"These pants are comfortable and easy to care for.They can be worn most of the year. Also they are a litttle dressier than jeans and khaki pants."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tencel®/Cotton Topstitched Explorer Pants
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2