Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater

Knitted in Fall River, Massachusetts, by one of the last remaining knitwear factories in America, this pure cotton crew neck pullover sweater pairs rugged versatility with a touch of warmth you'll appreciate when temperatures drop. Based on a naval classic, this sweater features rib-knit trim at the neck, hem, and cuffs. This cotton crew neck sweater is a perfect complement for dungarees or chinos. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
50 of 53(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Review 1 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis has done it again great product,
July 17, 2014
By: theodeb
from Chesapeake, VA
"i have been spoiled by orvis it seams they always have great products thanks for having the best mens and womens wear made thank you Steve"
Review 2 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
July 17, 2014
By: teacuphandle
from Bloomingtin, IN
"The submariner sweater is a classic and a universal item of clothing for anyone. Orvis's traditional approach and quality make it worth every penny."
Review 3 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality cotton sweater,
July 15, 2014
By: jimogosox
from northern Kentucky
"I really like the quality of this sweater. It is comfortable, well made, and made in the USA. I plan to get another in a different color this fall."
Review 4 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cotton sweater,
July 14, 2014
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"Great cotton sweater. If you like to wear a sweater without an under layer but can't wear wool against your skin like myself, this is perfect. Also works well with a turtleneck or shirt. Heavy weight cable and so well 'knit'. Love this like I do my turtleneck version of this fine sweater. Quality of material and workmanship are up to the Orvis standard once again."
Review 5 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional sweater,
July 2, 2014
By: dutchmafia
from Michigan
"Great quality, looks good too. Can't beat Orvis clothing, I have never been disappointed,Thanks Orvis!"
Review 6 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
June 25, 2014
By: jimogosox
from northern Kentucky
"Really like the quality of this sweater and the fact it is made in the USA. I plan to order another color this fall."
Review 7 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Replica,
June 15, 2014
By: RugBPlyr5
from NJ/MA
"Gifted with the Navy version Xmas '13 and like it enough to order it in natural - a big pricey for a cotton sweater but like that its made in the USA. Was my go to sweater for weekend mornings and could be worn without a collared shirt. Looks to be a great three season sweater and cooler summer nights."
Review 8 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer ware,
June 14, 2014
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"I got this sweater specifically for cool evenings in Nova Scotia (from TX but summer in Nova Scotia) I'm a large guy and find it hard to get a good fit even with an XX, this is a perfect fit. I got the navy and it looks great. I'm completely satisfied."
Review 9 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Quality,
June 11, 2014
By: AdamTri
"You can't beat the fit and construction at this price! Really warm and an obviously well made product"
Review 10 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Cotton Sweater,
May 15, 2014
By: Outdoors110
from TN
"Orvis is always top drawer when it comes to quality of products and choices. I can't wait for some cooler weather to enjoy this on the boat and at the beach at sunset. Perfect for sunset on Captiva Island FL in Fall and Winter."
Review 11 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great chjoice,
May 5, 2014
By: DWN659
from Fort Worth, TX
"Again, I made a great choice by choosing Orvis. I served aboard a US Navy nuclear submarine and always enjoy great submarine clothing. This sweater enhances my wardrobe nicely."
Review 12 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
May 5, 2014
By: Topbum
from Denver, Co
"Great product, it does run just a little tight, so perhaps go one size up. Still, looks and feels great.
Cheers,
"
Review 13 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another Orvis value,
March 1, 2014
By: 2fussy
from royal oak, mi
"Very comfortable and warm for what has been an awfully cold winter. I like the design which looks well with jeans or slacks."
Review 14 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality and complements,
January 3, 2014
By: DocG
from Lakewood, NJ
"This is a well made sweater that is comfortable and fits perfectly. I have had several complements on the sweater having worn it several times already. I highly recommend this sweater to all who like comfort and quality, in fact I bought a second one in blue."
Review 15 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous sweater!,
December 27, 2013
By: KMSMD
from Maryland
"Outstanding quality of materials; very good fit. Beautiful color (navy). Promises to last for a very long time."
Review 16 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quality cotton sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: Davegf
from NE , Pennsylvania
"I'm a serious sweater person. This off white cotton crew sweater fit and feels as good as it looked online and, in the catalog. I've sent my share of cotton sweaters back to other sites. This was a sure keeper. Would buy another if they offered it in black."
Review 17 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Ordered,
December 14, 2013
By: Mckailla
from Buda, TX
"Texas does not make many wintery demands on its residents. But, when it is chilly, it is cold. I needed a sweater that would work for inside as well as short term ventures outside.
Warm and snuggely and a perfect fit to my 83 year old body is what I needed and that is what I now have thanks to Orvis"
Review 18 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and cozy,
November 15, 2013
By: armmon
from Manchester, NH
"Great sweater, well made, comfortable and warm ... picked up another sweater once I knew that you offer quality products ..."
Review 19 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!!,
November 13, 2013
By: CanadianZ31
from Canada, manitoba,
"I have a thing for sweaters just think they look good once its fall time, and all through the winter. And the Orvis submariner sweater is by far one of the best I have bought. You can see the quality right away, the look and feel is top notch for sure. Im a bigger guy 5.9 an 220 LB, I bought an LX and it fit snug at first but after 20 minutes of wearing, it fits an feels exactly how you want a sweater to feel. You can tell this sweater will last for years. Follow the washing instructions and your fine with the the care an maintenance. Fast shipping..."
Review 20 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect wear,
October 24, 2013
By: Alby
"Fits and looks great!
A perfect crewneck sweater by it self or layered over a shirt for a night out.
"