Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater

Knitted in Fall River, Massachusetts, by one of the last remaining knitwear factories in America, this pure cotton crew neck pullover sweater pairs rugged versatility with a touch of warmth you'll appreciate when temperatures drop. Based on a naval classic, this sweater features rib-knit trim at the neck, hem, and cuffs. This cotton crew neck sweater is a perfect complement for dungarees or chinos. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Review 1 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another Orvis value,
March 1, 2014
By: 2fussy
from royal oak, mi
"Very comfortable and warm for what has been an awfully cold winter. I like the design which looks well with jeans or slacks."
Review 2 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality and complements,
January 3, 2014
By: DocG
from Lakewood, NJ
"This is a well made sweater that is comfortable and fits perfectly. I have had several complements on the sweater having worn it several times already. I highly recommend this sweater to all who like comfort and quality, in fact I bought a second one in blue."
Review 3 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous sweater!,
December 27, 2013
By: KMSMD
from Maryland
"Outstanding quality of materials; very good fit. Beautiful color (navy). Promises to last for a very long time."
Review 4 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quality cotton sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: Davegf
from NE , Pennsylvania
"I'm a serious sweater person. This off white cotton crew sweater fit and feels as good as it looked online and, in the catalog. I've sent my share of cotton sweaters back to other sites. This was a sure keeper. Would buy another if they offered it in black."
Review 5 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Ordered,
December 14, 2013
By: Mckailla
from Buda, TX
"Texas does not make many wintery demands on its residents. But, when it is chilly, it is cold. I needed a sweater that would work for inside as well as short term ventures outside.
Warm and snuggely and a perfect fit to my 83 year old body is what I needed and that is what I now have thanks to Orvis"
Review 6 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and cozy,
November 15, 2013
By: armmon
from Manchester, NH
"Great sweater, well made, comfortable and warm ... picked up another sweater once I knew that you offer quality products ..."
Review 7 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!!,
November 13, 2013
By: CanadianZ31
from Canada, manitoba,
"I have a thing for sweaters just think they look good once its fall time, and all through the winter. And the Orvis submariner sweater is by far one of the best I have bought. You can see the quality right away, the look and feel is top notch for sure. Im a bigger guy 5.9 an 220 LB, I bought an LX and it fit snug at first but after 20 minutes of wearing, it fits an feels exactly how you want a sweater to feel. You can tell this sweater will last for years. Follow the washing instructions and your fine with the the care an maintenance. Fast shipping..."
Review 8 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect wear,
October 24, 2013
By: Alby
"Fits and looks great!
A perfect crewneck sweater by it self or layered over a shirt for a night out.
"
Review 9 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality sweater,
October 18, 2013
By: newera5
from Muskegon Heights Mi
"This is the first thing I have ever purchased from Orvis. I no longer care what the price is when I buy from Orvis because i know it will last along time. I get complimented every time I wear it."
Review 10 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great USA-Made Sweater,
September 30, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the submariner’s cotton crewneck sweater in navy, size medium, from the helpful team at Orvis Tyson’s Corner. Great sweater, fit is just right and construction first rate. Made in America, too."
Review 11 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding purchase,
March 13, 2013
By: Malad
from Belfair, WA
"Great quality, fits perfect and looks fantastic great for any occasion and have received a lot of positive comments."
Review 12 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sweater,
March 11, 2013
By: burglengenfeld
from va
"The sweater is very attractive but not functional. After two washings based on directions on the label, the sweater begins to unravel creating small holes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
March 8, 2013
By: NateDawg
"Great weight, quality material. I am considering purchasing the blue sweater as well."
Review 14 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fits just right,
February 15, 2013
By: kjen
from Powhatan VA
"Very good sweater for our very changing Virginia weather. The design is nice and uniform and hard to tell from a expensive woolen sweater. It will work very well in the early spring through late fall.
Glad it is made in USA
"
Review 15 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super quality,
February 13, 2013
By: didchat
from Murrieta, CA
"I just love Orvis products and this sweater is no exception. Can't always afford everything I like in their catalog but the quality is outstanding."
Review 16 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this sweater.,
January 24, 2013
By: WillieMac
from Durango, Colorado
"One of the things that bothers me about sweaters today is that the vast majority of them are made with bottom hems that are too large. Maybe I'm old school but I don't want my nice sweaters to hang on me like an over-sized sweatshirt. This sweater is perfect.. It fits just like sweaters of old. I was so pleased with the fit and look that I bought both colors. These have become my favorites. Wish they came in additional colors."
Review 17 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice american-made sweater !!,
January 22, 2013
By: ostrich
from michigan
"great sweater i ownit in both colors.
it has generous sizing, roomy but accurate in the size.
nice all- cotton woven in mass, only caveat would be drying it flat, a must to avoid stretching on a hanger, or shrinkage in the dryer. tags says dry flat.
overall, a really nice garment !!
"
Review 18 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 11, 2013
By: tchaser
from Los Angeles, Ca
"I come from a boating background.
I have had an old sweater for 10 yrs that was 100% Washable / Dryable Cotton. It needed to be replaced.
I did a lot of research online and found this one. The size is perfect and it really keeps me warm!
But I want to commend the customer service at Orvis.
When I called in the order, I was told that the Virginia Shipping Center was out of the item based on it's popularity.
I was extremely pleased that they located the sweater in a Kansas Store and shipped it right away.
Great Customer Service!
I just wish I got more $$ for Xmas,
because I would like to get a jacket!
"
Review 19 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Sweater,
January 11, 2013
By: JohnnyD888
from Massachusetts
"Warm....Beefy....Great color....stylish with jeans or other pants."
Review 20 for Submariner's Cotton Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 31, 2012
By: Matane
"I received this sweater as a gift. It was beautifully boxed and wrapped.
I had to return it, which was very simple.
The only problem was the fit of the sweater. As stated in the Orvis catalog, their clothing is cut full. I have a medium build, and as true to their word, the sweater was too large in the body for me.
So overal the sweater and service was great, but just not the right cut for me.
"