Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan

Soft, pure merino wool in a special two-layer knit ensures this cardigan will warm you up without slowing you down. Dale of Norway—founded more than 130 years ago—is known the world over for fine knitwear designed to complement the active winter lifestyle. With its detailed intarsia design and full front zip closure, this sweater is versatile, whether you're relaxing in the lodge or layering for the outdoors. Wool cardigan sweater in navy. Pure merino wool. Washable. Norway. Sizes: M(38-40).
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Review 1 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase ever,
February 23, 2013
By: nwmountainman
from Kenmore, Wa.
"Fit was good. Had good strechability. Liked the soft cashmere like feel of theproduct."
Review 2 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully Made.,
January 16, 2013
By: Karlstoybox
from Klamath Falls, Oregon
"This sweater is very nicely made. Nothing is compromised. I like that it is a tight weave but not too heavy, yet still warm. The sizing is clearly for more slender folks than I, but it's truly a top quality garment."
Review 3 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
January 3, 2013
By: DaveBD
from Newtown, CT
"Cardigan is very well made and would be what i consider to be a tight proportioned fit. I ordered an extra large and the fit is snug....but not too snug. I would love to see this cardigan in solid colors."
Review 4 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrong kind of zipper for a sweater,
January 1, 2013
By: tdereg
"I like the design and feel of this sweater. In fact, my wife wanted one, too, even though it is in the men's section of the Orvis website. I like that it's washable, too, rather than having to take it to a dry cleaners.
The only thing I REALLY don't like is that the teeth in the zipper are far too small for the length zipper that's used. The zipper snagged up on itself the second time I wore it and ruined a couple of the tiny teeth. It's now at a tailoring/alterations shop where I'll have to spend $80 taking out the ruined zipper and getting a decent-sized zipper installed. They agreed that the zipper is entirely the wrong kind to be used in a full-length application like that.
So yes, I would recommend the sweater - but with the caveat that whoever buys it will be smart to get a whole new zipper replacement for it first."
Review 5 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gift Purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: smmjjm
"This is a georgeous sweater and my husband loves it! The feel and texture of the sweater is wonderful."
Review 6 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 26, 2012
By: Badger1AB
from Milwaukee, WI
"This is a nice looking sweater. The fit is great and the colors are beautiful. It only has one minor detail that takes away from a near perfect product and that is the zipper. It is made of plastic and just does not compliment or match the sweaters overall quality otherwise. It's weight is just right for those of us that need something a little heavier. Great looking and functional sweater that needs a zipper improvement."
Review 7 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice sweater,
December 22, 2012
By: kenoo
"sweater seemed high quality, but lighter weight than I expected. sweater design looked great in catalog photo, but not as good when on me...not the sweater’s fault, just not a good match for what I wanted. for $325, it needs to be a perfect match."
Review 8 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Product,
December 16, 2012
By: BubbafromReno
from Reno, Nevada
"Sweater is exactly as advertised.. Well-made, excellent material, beatutiful design. Light weight yet very warm."
Review 9 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size and design,
January 3, 2012
By: Everyone
from Andover MN
"Bought this as a Christmas present for my husband this year 2011. Sizing perfect, he's big and doesn't like the half zip styles. The sweater is super well crafted, beautiful fabric and not to busy of a Nordic pattern. Also happy it didn't have those big metal clasp closures for the sweater. It is a perfect updated style and is warm. My husband absolutely loves it and is enjoying wearing it here in Minnesota."
Review 10 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exquisite quality,
November 25, 2011
By: jrd21
from N. Aurora, IL
"I'm not a big sweater guy but Dale of Norway is the way to go for a ski/outdoor sweater. I bought the XL and returned it for a XXL and it's perfect. I'm 6' 225 and wear 36 waist so normally an XL does it. Just beautiful details and quality."
Review 11 for Dale of Norway Nordlys Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Item.,
October 28, 2011
By: Upnorthern
from Eau Claire, Wisconsin
"I purchased one of these and am very happy. At 310 dollars its spendy but has everything you want great weave extremely warm like a jackaet. Orvis always seems to have the best wool. This is no exception."