Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

English Shearling Jacket

Soft, supple, windproof, and exceptionally warm. This is not only a jacket that'll fast become his winter favorite, it's one he'll quickly wonder how he ever lived without. Designed in classic stadium coat style, this exceptional leather shearling jacket is meticulously manufactured by hand in a traditional British workshop, ensuring no detail is overlooked. Features include a snap closure with a wind flap secured by antique-brass fireman's toggles, side vents with reinforcements, two generously sized exterior flap-over pockets with snap closures, and a stand-up collar with double snaps. Leather shearling jacket in dark brown. Genuine sheepskin leather. Professionally clean. UK.Sizes: XXL(50-52); 31"L in size L.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for English Shearling Jacket
Review 1 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overpriced and Undersized,
June 19, 2013
By: Hobbit
from Fairfield County, Connecticut
"When I first ordered this coat, it was out of stock, but the Orvis rep promised to contact me if/when it came back in, and would sell it at the sale price. That they did! The coat was way, way too small (the XXL was more like a "Large") and the shearling was poor quality for the price...a bit scratchy and no where near "sumptuous". It was returned with no questions asked. Terrific customer service, as always."
Review 2 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
June 11, 2013
By: Soozieqpt2
from Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
"I am very pleased with my jacket, I ordered a large as I had read it fits small & It does. It is very comfortable & I think it will keep me warm & cozy up here in the Mountains in British Columbia!
Thank You Orvis!
"
Review 3 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
English Shearling,
April 8, 2013
By: Ernest9999
from Calgary, Alberta
"It is a gorgeous coat. It is much smaller than it is advertised as.
The problem is that it has to be the smallest XXL that I ever purchased! I have coats that are XL or Large and they fit better than this one.
It is not what I was expecting when the description said that the coat was "ample". There is nothing ample about this coat.
it would be perfect if it was properly sized."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat,
April 1, 2013
By: JonM
"This coat is stylish, fits well, and the best coat that I've ever owned! I am very satisfied with the purchase."
Review 5 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice jacket, but,
March 4, 2013
By: Orvis281365
"I ordered this jacket for my husband and received it promptly, as usual for Orvis. The jacket is really lovely. The quality is definitely there, however, it runs very small. My husband generally wears a large, but after reading the reviews, I ordered an extra large. I opened the box before he got home and was totally impressed with the quality, but it appeared a little small. I decided to try it on myself. I usually wear a ladies medium to large and this coat just fit. Of course the shoulders were larger and the sleeves were longer, but it was cut so slim, I would have labelled it a medium. I would still recommend this jacket, but just know to order a much larger size."
Review 6 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Jacket,
February 22, 2013
By: chuck7
"After reading mixed reviews I was somewhat questioning this order. However, the sale was great and the Jacket turned out to be better than I expected. Fit in the XL was perfect for me. The jacket is trim cut. Limited pockets but that was not a deal breaker for me. Jacket actually fits like it was tailored for me. Light, soft and warm !!"
Review 7 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good....,
October 16, 2012
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"As others have said the fit, the look, the toggles, and the warmth are all out of this old and make the jacket worth the price, BUT the leather was a bit dry when I got the jacket and after treating it the leather is much happier. That being said I worry how much the toggles will wok and possibly rip the leather....only time will tell"
Review 8 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
UNIQUE SIMPLICITY,
February 5, 2012
By: CAP10
from OSSINING, NY
"THIS SHEARLING IS GOOD QUALITY. LIGHT AND SOFT. THE LEATHER IS WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM A COAT OF THIS PRICE-GOOD QUALITY. I LOVE THE UNIQUE STYLE OF THIS COAT. NOT THE EVERYDAY RUN OF THE MILL TYPE OF COAT. THE COAT IS A LITTLE SMALL FOR A LARGE, I MAY HAVE TO GET XTRA LARGE. THE ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT IS THIS COAT DOES NOT HAVE ANY INSIDE POCKETS. I HAVE SHEARLING COATS FOR LESS THAN HALF THIS PRICE THAT HAVE INSIDE POCKETS. FOR THIS MUCH MONEY YOU GOT TO SWEAT THE DETAILS. FOR THAT REASON I CAN ONLY GIVE IT 4 STARS. BUT I LOVE THE UNIQUENESS AND SIMPLICITY OF STYLE OF THIS COAT."
Review 9 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An okay shearling,
February 3, 2012
By: Kookylab
from Bucks County, PA
"This English shearling is perhaps worth the $2000 for its warmth, slim cut, and the giddy brass toggles. However, it is NOT great shearling or leather. The leather feels dry and frankly department-store rough and the shearling is a tad scratchy and grating. I own other shearlings in that price range far more sumptuous, though certainly not as hip-looking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesomeness,
December 30, 2011
By: inkbren
from NY
"I was given the jacket by my wife for Christmas, it will forever be my favorite coat."
Review 11 for English Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gorgeous coat but did not fit,
December 17, 2011
By: doughboy
from St. Louis, MO
"got this coat last night and was so excited. leather is the softest i've ever felt - like butter. the weight was lighter than anticipated, but the shearling was very warm. unfortunately, it was snug across the shoulders and the hips on the XXL, but the chest was deep/round enough. i'm built like a linebacker so sizing is always a challenge. i'll be returning. you should know when deciding to buy this, at first the XXL was out of stock. but 2 customer service personnel went above/beyond to get me this, calling/emailing me not once, not twice, but repeatedly! and even canceling it in their name and placing in mine so i would have my coat. thanks deborah and holly; you two excelled and have a lifelong customer. never have i been treated so well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.