Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. In navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
75 of 87(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING JACKET,
April 24, 2015
By: CrazyDuffer
from Upper Marlboro, MD
"This is a wonderful lightweight yet warm garment. It has rapidly become my favorite jacket for this time of year in Maryland.
Unplanned but smart purchase on my part."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat jacket!!,
April 20, 2015
By: WLK001
from Victoria, TX
"You will like the look and feel of this jacket! It is one of those you will grab first for most occasions. It is very Unique in appearance -- you will be proud to wear it."
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for my husband,
April 15, 2015
By: Harriewt52
"This jacket is very well made. The fabric is heavy but very smooth. There is no lining but with a sweater under it the North Carolina jacket season will be well tolerated. My husband was a naval officer and this is just perfect for him."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking good,
April 11, 2015
By: Fashionistadoc
from Norwich
"The jacket looks the business, and feels like a quality item; the collar and cuffs, fastenings and zip are all good quality. My only criticism is that the internal pocket is clearly made for a mobile phone and will not take a wallet. This is a big disadvantage, as the outer pockets are not deep enough to ensure a wallet will not fall out."
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
April 6, 2015
By: KneeDragr
from Arlington VA
"Might be a tad expensive for what it is, but hopefully it will last a decade and then its price wont be an issue. Very cool looking jacket, have 2 compliments in the first week of wearing it. I read some people had an issue with how it fit, but it fits me great. I am 6'1" 185 athletic build and its perfect in L. I could see it being baggy if you are very slim, I've got wide shoulders. It does have 1 interior vest pocket, just big enough to hold my HTC M8 after I took the button out."
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Department,
March 31, 2015
By: Ferddie
from N Y C Fresh meadows
"Good custom department good marketing Great store No baloney. Thank. Perfect fit for you naval deck jacket"
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait,
March 22, 2015
By: Mechanic
from Seattle, WA
"I waited six months for this jacket to be re-stocked; it was definitely worth the wait. I own a few of my father's Air Force issued flight jackets from the Korea/Vietnam War era. Although I have not owned a reproduction military jacket before, this one has the same quality feel and fit of an original. The size medium fits my 5-11, 170 lb. frame (size 40R suit, 15-1/2 34 shirt) perfectly. Zipped up it is form-fitting--consider sizing up if you pack a few pounds around the middle or want to layer beneath it. My first Orvis jacket--definitely not my last."
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3 Season Coat,
March 19, 2015
By: VanIsle3549
from Sidney, British Columbia
"I received this coat about 1week ago and so far, it's everything I had hoped for and more. I am 5'9" and have a broad chest (44") and the large size fits perfectly. The ribbed waist and cuffs keep the jacket in place and block out the wind. The jacket goes well with my usual casual wear, cotton twill pants and/or jeans. In my area, it doesn't get very cold, but on occasion, can be a bit rainy and breezy--I think this coat will work great in spring, summer and fall. After only one week, had a fellow behind me in a lineup at the grocery store ask me where I bought the coat--good for Orvis!
Hope it will last for many years to come.
The snaps on the front give the coat a unique and old- time look--just how I like it!
"
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Light Wgt Jacket,
March 12, 2015
By: MaxwellSmartDog092511
"This is a great spring time jacket. The fit is true to size. The ribbed cuffs at the wrist and waist provide the needed coverage. The front closures remind me of the galoshes I have as a kid and give the jacket a unique look that will last for years."
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a great jacket.,
October 27, 2014
By: Noah42
from Bellingham, WA
"I purchased a large in fear of the fact that I'm a taller person and medium anything is to small in arm length. The large size fits my arm span just fine it's just a little to baggy in the body and arms. But I am perfectly happy with it. Everyone who sees it loves the fireman clasps. The jacket does very well in the rain (I live in Washington state). Yes I would recommend this jacket to anyone who loves to not have to come up with conversation starters on the fly. Let your jacket do the talking for you."
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
October 9, 2014
By: Judy123456789
from Bethesda, MD
"Purchased the jacket as a gift for a good friend. He was thrilled with it - said he had been looking at it himself but didn't want to spend that much. I think it was the best present I had given him in the last few years.
Also before he opened the box, he said that it didn't matter what I purchssed because if he didn't like the gift, there was so much more that the Orvis store that he loved so he would certainly end up with something great."
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found after 55 years,
October 2, 2014
By: Photodoc
from Bucks Co. PP
"This deck jacket is very close to the one my father wore in WW II and I have been looking for the past 55 years. The cut and fit are authentic as is the heavy cotton fabric. It fits perfectly and works very well as a light jacket. The zipper closure and fireman's clips are functional and attractive. I am very happy to have found this jacket and wear it often."
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Fall Coat,
September 26, 2014
By: MichiganTravelers
from Au Train, MI
"The fit of this coat as well as it's proportions make it very comfortable. The arms are proportionally tailored, the color accomodates buton down shirts, the shoulders offer room without being bulky... exceptional style.
The coat keeps warmth in, without the heft of a bulky coat.
I can wear this coat while driving my small car whereas I usually am relegated to removing my outterwear so that I can fit comfortably and drive.
I like this coat."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Merchandise,
September 23, 2014
By: johnT07
from New York, New york
"I have been a customer of Orvis over the last 15 years. Orvis service is impeccable. The quality of the clothing is an A plus. The packaging of their goods are great. the intelligence of their customer service I rank as number 1. I ordered many different items either by phone or online and Orvis number 1 in all aspects of their operation."
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well done, good value,
September 19, 2014
By: Jimbo3737
from Birmingahm,Al
"As expected.Would recommend .Description was right on."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great navy jacket,
September 8, 2014
By: DukeGreat
from Scranton,Pa.
"Unique styling practical and a great fit! I'm am considering the other naval deck coat with wool lining . Orvis service was great. Thank You!!!"
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but not for me,
September 5, 2014
By: Planetvin
from Hanover Park, Il
"Quality materials and care where put into this jacket; however, for the price it isn't for me. It may be rare style but there are plenty of cheaper coats with more functionality then having 2 pockets. Again, quality product but not what I expected. I will be returning. Thanks."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not great,
August 28, 2014
By: mamoth
from Canada
"not as long as it appears in catelog - snaps are bulky - doesn't "drape""
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great jacket but pricey.,
August 27, 2014
By: theHoff
from Incline Village, NV
"I love the jacket, it reminds me of my days in the Navy.
The reason for the lower rating, however, is due to the cost.
"
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
August 27, 2014
By: Flatcap
from West Yorkshire UK
"This jacket is well made, stylish, while at the same time feeling like you've owned it for years"