Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. In navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
48 of 57(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Jacket,
June 19, 2014
By: TexasRailroader
from Arlington, TX
"I originally ordered this in the weathered navy color. I liked the jacket but returned it for the jacket in standard Navy color. The new jacket is a bit lighter in weight than the weathered version but still heavy enough to keep me warm on even very cool days. Each has a very comfortable fit and the matching ribbed knit cuffs, collar and hem are very substantial in weight. The firefighter clasps give it a unique look that no other jacket can match. I decided that I liked both jackets so I went back and tried to reorder the weathered version only to find out that it was no longer available in my size.!! Oh, well. My loss.......but I look forward to years of comfortable use from the one I kept."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 2, 2014
By: micheal1
"This product is of great quality, fit is smack on, I have had so many compliments on this coat."
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Done!,
May 30, 2014
By: heprof
from LA, CA
"If you are looking for a classic military jacket with a few modern upgrades, then don't miss this one! Very well made with high quality clasps similar to those on my Buzz Rickson and Nigel Cabourn. Adds a nice zipper (upgraded YKK) and substantial cuffs and color. The washed look breaks this in and mine is much lighter than the one in the picture--a grayer blue closer to a West Point gray than a dark navy.
I live in LA, so sized down because I don't expect to wear a sweater underneath. I'm usually a medium but the small fits me great with a long sleeve button down underneath. My dress shirt sleeve is about 32-33 and the cuffs on this jacket just hits my wrist. I would not recommend sizing down if you have long arms or a gut bigger than your chest. Otherwise, for those who plan to wear only something light underneath this jacket, going with regular size might be a bit billowy. I've been wearing for about 3 days and just like all of my favorite jackets, the corded fabric is beginning to conform to my body and bends and will soon feel like a customized jacket that gets better as it ages. Only issue is that there should be inside pockets given that this is not meant to be a true replica and has modern material upgrades. Otherwise, can pass as a Rickson jacket after some breaking in.
"
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket...,
May 28, 2014
By: Clipper2
"Jacket has super design lines, great attention to details and quality construction. Wore it immediately and the fit was perfect."
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like it,
May 28, 2014
By: laibn
from Delhi, NY
"I have wanted to replace my "Blue
Jacket" for years, since I foolishly dumped my entire Sea Bag in a good will receptacle upon separation from the Navy in 1964.
When I saw the jacket in the catalog
I was redeemed. It is better quality
than the old Navy issue. I have sown
my rating patch on the sleeve and wear it everywhere.
"
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WWII Deck Jacket,
May 15, 2014
By: cousinjohn
from Michigan
"Received lots of compliments on
this jacket. The 'boot' buckles drew
many comments. Very good on
cold windy mornings.
Could use an inside breast
pocket or two.
"
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Navy Jacket,
May 14, 2014
By: Busky
from Studley,Va
"Just purchased the wwII Navy deck jacket. The fit is perfect and I like the fact it is light weight, room for a sweater. Brings back memorys of my days in the Navy back in the middle sixties. Thanks for bringing it back."
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
naval jacket,
May 5, 2014
By: jimben
from maine
"this is a very cool looking jacket, one like i have always wanted. Fits well, looks sharp, and the trim appearance gathers notice."
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deck Jacket,
May 2, 2014
By: Marco625
from S E PA
"This jacket fits well and I have received several compliments. There is nothing like it offered in any other catalogs, military included."
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Heritage, Great Jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: RickyJ
from Glencoe, IL
"Just right weight for cool spring or early fall days. Superior design, fit and the high quality you've come to expect from Orvis. Wife complimented me on my choice."
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: Bondo4431
from PresqueisleWi wi.
"This is a nice jacket. Fits great, looks great, reminds me of the old days."
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deck Jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: Doncva43
from Fresno,California
"I was in the US Navy 1973-1977 and wore a deck jacket simular to this one.I am the secretary for The USS Coral Sea Assn and have a nylon jacket with all my patches sewn into it.I am planning on transferring them to my new jacket and adding my ships rockers and rate and rank patch to make it as near looking to my original jacket.Thanx Orvis for coming out with this jacket,Don."
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Naval Deck Jacket,
April 21, 2014
By: BigBig
"Comfortable. Rugged. good for not too cold days. Overpriced, big time."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Spring Jacket,
April 21, 2014
By: davy0crockett
from New Jersey
"As the weather started to warm up, I was looking for a lighter weight jacket I could wear with either short sleeves or in a light button down. This jacket is the perfect weight for spring/summer weather and looks great. It's served me well on the breeziest of April days and I routinely get compliments on it.
Functional and it looks good, enough said."
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beats the fog!,
April 12, 2014
By: Fluffie
from San Francisco, CA
"On these damp San Francisco mornings before the sun rises and the fog burns off, there's nothing like this new deck jacket to keep me snug and cozy."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Find!,
April 8, 2014
By: TimmerOHIO
from Port Clinton, Ohio
"This jacket is both warm and stylish, with a hint of nostalgia thrown in. The navy buckles are easy to use and add to the serious look of this jacket - I love wearing it!"
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
April 7, 2014
By: MacJIm
"This is a great jacket and should last a lifetime. It isn't lined, but the material is so heavy that it will work for those more than chilly days."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
close,
April 1, 2014
By: MickeyJagguar
from North Carolina
"excellent coat - would love to see it in tall sizes - BUT you've got to add some pockets!!!!"
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prehistoric,
March 10, 2014
By: WJCJ
from Gardnerville, NV
"The jacket looks good on me. However, it has only two pockets (shallow hand warmer pockets) Cell phones , wallets, glasses keys ( may fall out)
etc will not find refuge in this jacket.
At the hi price more pockets could have been added to update the jacket & still have a good margin.
"
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE BUY,
February 12, 2014
By: LEGS74
"NICE ENOUGH BUT WOULD BE BETTER WITH THE LINING THE OLD ONES HAD"