Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. In navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
84 of 96(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met Expectations,
June 25, 2015
By: JM062515
from Holliston, MA
"In seeing this WWII Navy Jacket in the catalog, it garnered my attention instantly. It's a great design with a very good look. So I ordered it.
As we all know, sometimes what one sees in a catalog and what one receives can be two different things.
Not so in this case. This jacket lived up to my expectations. And now, I just need the weather to turn a little colder in order to start wearing it which I am eager to do.
"
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
June 18, 2015
By: Allan55
from Portsmouth England
"Excellent jacket - fits well. I'm 5' 8" with 42" chest and size L is perfect.
Agree with others about inside pocket: could be larger to fit a wallet and a second inside pocket would not go amiss.
Very comfortable and has already attracted comments from friends."
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Jacket,
June 9, 2015
By: Eksynapse
from Fort Worth, TX
"A handsome military commemorative. Have enjoyed this jacket very much, and my wife liked it so well that she induced me to get a second one, just in case. (I must say, it didn't require too much effort on her part to induce me.) Wish the pocket were a bit deeper and less horizontal to avoid cell phone fall outs."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WWII Commemorative,
June 6, 2015
By: Eksynapse
from Fort Worth, TX
"Bought the jacket more-or-less on a whim. My wife liked me in it so well, she urged me to buy a second one, just in case. Wears well; very comfortable. My only concern has to do with the side pockets, which are a big shallow and at times worrisomely horizontal, so much so that my cell phone has slipped out on a few occasions. But, otherwise, no qualms with the jacket at all. Am enjoying it very much."
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Jacket!,
May 15, 2015
By: IanDy
"This is a refreshing change in style from "bombers" & "barracudas". It is supremely comfortable, especially the knit collar. I've received several compliments on this jacket. It stands out in a crowd, with the firefighter style clasps used, or not. The inside pocket is perfect for a cell or a bill fold. It's a great choice for those who like to be noticed and have fun doing so."
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get Cool Looking Jacket,
May 4, 2015
By: Meatdog624
from Merrimack NH
"great jacket for fashion & practical wear. Warm enough for winter wear but light enough for early spring & I am sure late fall wear."
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Legacy,
April 30, 2015
By: Rosmo
from Framingham, MA
"I love the jacket. My father must have worn such a jacket while serving in the Navy in WWII. He was killed 6 months before I was born.
This is a great legacy jacket for sons, daughters or grandchildren of sailors who served in the Navy. It is warm but not too warm for early spring days and nights.
"
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
April 27, 2015
By: Keld
"Bought it online without trying on. The fit was good, and I was impressed by the relative weight of the fabric. Not too heavy and not too light. Just right for New England Spring or a cool Summer night on the boat."
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING JACKET,
April 24, 2015
By: CrazyDuffer
from Upper Marlboro, MD
"This is a wonderful lightweight yet warm garment. It has rapidly become my favorite jacket for this time of year in Maryland.
Unplanned but smart purchase on my part."
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat jacket!!,
April 20, 2015
By: WLK001
from Victoria, TX
"You will like the look and feel of this jacket! It is one of those you will grab first for most occasions. It is very Unique in appearance -- you will be proud to wear it."
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for my husband,
April 15, 2015
By: Harriewt52
"This jacket is very well made. The fabric is heavy but very smooth. There is no lining but with a sweater under it the North Carolina jacket season will be well tolerated. My husband was a naval officer and this is just perfect for him."
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking good,
April 11, 2015
By: Fashionistadoc
from Norwich
"The jacket looks the business, and feels like a quality item; the collar and cuffs, fastenings and zip are all good quality. My only criticism is that the internal pocket is clearly made for a mobile phone and will not take a wallet. This is a big disadvantage, as the outer pockets are not deep enough to ensure a wallet will not fall out."
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
April 6, 2015
By: KneeDragr
from Arlington VA
"Might be a tad expensive for what it is, but hopefully it will last a decade and then its price wont be an issue. Very cool looking jacket, have 2 compliments in the first week of wearing it. I read some people had an issue with how it fit, but it fits me great. I am 6'1" 185 athletic build and its perfect in L. I could see it being baggy if you are very slim, I've got wide shoulders. It does have 1 interior vest pocket, just big enough to hold my HTC M8 after I took the button out."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Department,
March 31, 2015
By: Ferddie
from N Y C Fresh meadows
"Good custom department good marketing Great store No baloney. Thank. Perfect fit for you naval deck jacket"
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait,
March 22, 2015
By: Mechanic
from Seattle, WA
"I waited six months for this jacket to be re-stocked; it was definitely worth the wait. I own a few of my father's Air Force issued flight jackets from the Korea/Vietnam War era. Although I have not owned a reproduction military jacket before, this one has the same quality feel and fit of an original. The size medium fits my 5-11, 170 lb. frame (size 40R suit, 15-1/2 34 shirt) perfectly. Zipped up it is form-fitting--consider sizing up if you pack a few pounds around the middle or want to layer beneath it. My first Orvis jacket--definitely not my last."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3 Season Coat,
March 19, 2015
By: VanIsle3549
from Sidney, British Columbia
"I received this coat about 1week ago and so far, it's everything I had hoped for and more. I am 5'9" and have a broad chest (44") and the large size fits perfectly. The ribbed waist and cuffs keep the jacket in place and block out the wind. The jacket goes well with my usual casual wear, cotton twill pants and/or jeans. In my area, it doesn't get very cold, but on occasion, can be a bit rainy and breezy--I think this coat will work great in spring, summer and fall. After only one week, had a fellow behind me in a lineup at the grocery store ask me where I bought the coat--good for Orvis!
Hope it will last for many years to come.
The snaps on the front give the coat a unique and old- time look--just how I like it!
"
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Light Wgt Jacket,
March 12, 2015
By: MaxwellSmartDog092511
"This is a great spring time jacket. The fit is true to size. The ribbed cuffs at the wrist and waist provide the needed coverage. The front closures remind me of the galoshes I have as a kid and give the jacket a unique look that will last for years."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a great jacket.,
October 27, 2014
By: Noah42
from Bellingham, WA
"I purchased a large in fear of the fact that I'm a taller person and medium anything is to small in arm length. The large size fits my arm span just fine it's just a little to baggy in the body and arms. But I am perfectly happy with it. Everyone who sees it loves the fireman clasps. The jacket does very well in the rain (I live in Washington state). Yes I would recommend this jacket to anyone who loves to not have to come up with conversation starters on the fly. Let your jacket do the talking for you."
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
October 9, 2014
By: Judy123456789
from Bethesda, MD
"Purchased the jacket as a gift for a good friend. He was thrilled with it - said he had been looking at it himself but didn't want to spend that much. I think it was the best present I had given him in the last few years.
Also before he opened the box, he said that it didn't matter what I purchssed because if he didn't like the gift, there was so much more that the Orvis store that he loved so he would certainly end up with something great."
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found after 55 years,
October 2, 2014
By: Photodoc
from Bucks Co. PP
"This deck jacket is very close to the one my father wore in WW II and I have been looking for the past 55 years. The cut and fit are authentic as is the heavy cotton fabric. It fits perfectly and works very well as a light jacket. The zipper closure and fireman's clips are functional and attractive. I am very happy to have found this jacket and wear it often."