Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. In navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
65 of 76(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
October 9, 2014
By: Judy123456789
from Bethesda, MD
"Purchased the jacket as a gift for a good friend. He was thrilled with it - said he had been looking at it himself but didn't want to spend that much. I think it was the best present I had given him in the last few years.
Also before he opened the box, he said that it didn't matter what I purchssed because if he didn't like the gift, there was so much more that the Orvis store that he loved so he would certainly end up with something great."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found after 55 years,
October 2, 2014
By: Photodoc
from Bucks Co. PP
"This deck jacket is very close to the one my father wore in WW II and I have been looking for the past 55 years. The cut and fit are authentic as is the heavy cotton fabric. It fits perfectly and works very well as a light jacket. The zipper closure and fireman's clips are functional and attractive. I am very happy to have found this jacket and wear it often."
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Fall Coat,
September 26, 2014
By: MichiganTravelers
from Au Train, MI
"The fit of this coat as well as it's proportions make it very comfortable. The arms are proportionally tailored, the color accomodates buton down shirts, the shoulders offer room without being bulky... exceptional style.
The coat keeps warmth in, without the heft of a bulky coat.
I can wear this coat while driving my small car whereas I usually am relegated to removing my outterwear so that I can fit comfortably and drive.
I like this coat."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Merchandise,
September 23, 2014
By: johnT07
from New York, New york
"I have been a customer of Orvis over the last 15 years. Orvis service is impeccable. The quality of the clothing is an A plus. The packaging of their goods are great. the intelligence of their customer service I rank as number 1. I ordered many different items either by phone or online and Orvis number 1 in all aspects of their operation."
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well done, good value,
September 19, 2014
By: Jimbo3737
from Birmingahm,Al
"As expected.Would recommend .Description was right on."
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great navy jacket,
September 8, 2014
By: DukeGreat
from Scranton,Pa.
"Unique styling practical and a great fit! I'm am considering the other naval deck coat with wool lining . Orvis service was great. Thank You!!!"
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but not for me,
September 5, 2014
By: Planetvin
from Hanover Park, Il
"Quality materials and care where put into this jacket; however, for the price it isn't for me. It may be rare style but there are plenty of cheaper coats with more functionality then having 2 pockets. Again, quality product but not what I expected. I will be returning. Thanks."
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not great,
August 28, 2014
By: mamoth
from Canada
"not as long as it appears in catelog - snaps are bulky - doesn't "drape""
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great jacket but pricey.,
August 27, 2014
By: theHoff
from Incline Village, NV
"I love the jacket, it reminds me of my days in the Navy.
The reason for the lower rating, however, is due to the cost.
"
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
August 27, 2014
By: Flatcap
from West Yorkshire UK
"This jacket is well made, stylish, while at the same time feeling like you've owned it for years"
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WW11 Naval Deck Jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: Ronmur
from Portland, Or
"Hello from Portland, Oregon. This
Navy Blue Light-weight Jacket is a
really nice find. I am a rather Warm
Blooded individual and wearing a
heavy Parka or similar is very uncomfortable to me. This is the
perfect wear - I love the metal Firemen
type closures on the front and I also
also like the pockets. I will get a lot
of wear out of this Jacket
"
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deck jacket,
August 21, 2014
By: usmcwrestler
from Gaithersburg Maryland
"Distinctive closure with latches. Durable fabric and generous cut. Great looking. Not run of the mill look but still rugged and masculine as well as very functional. Great over a submariner sweater or heavy irish seamen sweater."
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Remembering my dad's Navy uniform...,
August 21, 2014
By: Oconee98
from The "Real" Buckhead, GA
"As a young boy growing up in the 1950s, I remember my dad's WWII Navy uniforms.
The denim shirt and pants with his Chief's insignia on the sleeve was a good combination. However, his Deck Jacket...albeit worn from constant wearing over 3 years' service...was still in pretty good shape.
When I read about the same style and design jacket being offered by Orvis, my expectations were automatically high...and I was not disappointed. This is a quality item and will definitely serve my needs for a long time to come...
Even the 'generic' size of Medium proved to be a very comfortable fit. Becoming used to the Firefighter's clasps will take a modicum of effort. The zipper does a great job of keeping the wind from leaking past it.
The banded collar and cuffs are soft to the touch as well as quite comfortable with the jacket completely buckled and zipped.
My only suggestion and possible disappointment preventing this review from being a "5 Star" was the lack of an inside pocket or two for the sake of convenience and/or security. Perhaps this will be considered in a future updating of the item."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
August 20, 2014
By: Pdxxpd
from Portland
"Light weight comfortable and distinctive styling. Not carried in the local store."
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Jacket,
June 19, 2014
By: TexasRailroader
from Arlington, TX
"I originally ordered this in the weathered navy color. I liked the jacket but returned it for the jacket in standard Navy color. The new jacket is a bit lighter in weight than the weathered version but still heavy enough to keep me warm on even very cool days. Each has a very comfortable fit and the matching ribbed knit cuffs, collar and hem are very substantial in weight. The firefighter clasps give it a unique look that no other jacket can match. I decided that I liked both jackets so I went back and tried to reorder the weathered version only to find out that it was no longer available in my size.!! Oh, well. My loss.......but I look forward to years of comfortable use from the one I kept."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 2, 2014
By: micheal1
"This product is of great quality, fit is smack on, I have had so many compliments on this coat."
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Done!,
May 30, 2014
By: heprof
from LA, CA
"If you are looking for a classic military jacket with a few modern upgrades, then don't miss this one! Very well made with high quality clasps similar to those on my Buzz Rickson and Nigel Cabourn. Adds a nice zipper (upgraded YKK) and substantial cuffs and color. The washed look breaks this in and mine is much lighter than the one in the picture--a grayer blue closer to a West Point gray than a dark navy.
I live in LA, so sized down because I don't expect to wear a sweater underneath. I'm usually a medium but the small fits me great with a long sleeve button down underneath. My dress shirt sleeve is about 32-33 and the cuffs on this jacket just hits my wrist. I would not recommend sizing down if you have long arms or a gut bigger than your chest. Otherwise, for those who plan to wear only something light underneath this jacket, going with regular size might be a bit billowy. I've been wearing for about 3 days and just like all of my favorite jackets, the corded fabric is beginning to conform to my body and bends and will soon feel like a customized jacket that gets better as it ages. Only issue is that there should be inside pockets given that this is not meant to be a true replica and has modern material upgrades. Otherwise, can pass as a Rickson jacket after some breaking in.
"
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket...,
May 28, 2014
By: Clipper2
"Jacket has super design lines, great attention to details and quality construction. Wore it immediately and the fit was perfect."
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like it,
May 28, 2014
By: laibn
from Delhi, NY
"I have wanted to replace my "Blue
Jacket" for years, since I foolishly dumped my entire Sea Bag in a good will receptacle upon separation from the Navy in 1964.
When I saw the jacket in the catalog
I was redeemed. It is better quality
than the old Navy issue. I have sown
my rating patch on the sleeve and wear it everywhere.
"
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WWII Deck Jacket,
May 15, 2014
By: cousinjohn
from Michigan
"Received lots of compliments on
this jacket. The 'boot' buckles drew
many comments. Very good on
cold windy mornings.
Could use an inside breast
pocket or two.
"