Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. Military jacket for men in weathered navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
35 of 44(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Naval Deck Jacket,
April 21, 2014
By: BigBig
"Comfortable. Rugged. good for not too cold days. Overpriced, big time."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Spring Jacket,
April 21, 2014
By: davy0crockett
from New Jersey
"As the weather started to warm up, I was looking for a lighter weight jacket I could wear with either short sleeves or in a light button down. This jacket is the perfect weight for spring/summer weather and looks great. It's served me well on the breeziest of April days and I routinely get compliments on it.
Functional and it looks good, enough said."
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beats the fog!,
April 12, 2014
By: Fluffie
from San Francisco, CA
"On these damp San Francisco mornings before the sun rises and the fog burns off, there's nothing like this new deck jacket to keep me snug and cozy."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Find!,
April 8, 2014
By: TimmerOHIO
from Port Clinton, Ohio
"This jacket is both warm and stylish, with a hint of nostalgia thrown in. The navy buckles are easy to use and add to the serious look of this jacket - I love wearing it!"
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
April 7, 2014
By: MacJIm
"This is a great jacket and should last a lifetime. It isn't lined, but the material is so heavy that it will work for those more than chilly days."
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
close,
April 1, 2014
By: MickeyJagguar
from North Carolina
"excellent coat - would love to see it in tall sizes - BUT you've got to add some pockets!!!!"
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prehistoric,
March 10, 2014
By: WJCJ
from Gardnerville, NV
"The jacket looks good on me. However, it has only two pockets (shallow hand warmer pockets) Cell phones , wallets, glasses keys ( may fall out)
etc will not find refuge in this jacket.
At the hi price more pockets could have been added to update the jacket & still have a good margin.
"
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE BUY,
February 12, 2014
By: LEGS74
"NICE ENOUGH BUT WOULD BE BETTER WITH THE LINING THE OLD ONES HAD"
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
February 7, 2014
By: Armiss
"This jacket is everything it claims to be, with a perfect fit."
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nicely Made!,
February 4, 2014
By: GMWBB60
from Montgomery, AL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this to wear for living histories aboard USS Alabama. The jacket is very close to the original except it is unlined. I remedied this by wearing my Deck Sweater under it and was comfortable in 35 degree weather.
The hook flap came in handy during firefighting drills where water was blowing back on us. I was glad I had it on!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
January 29, 2014
By: DodgerRick
from San Francisco, CA
"The jacket was a great buy and, as usual, of very high quality. It is also very fashionable and I have received compliments every time I have worn it.what more can you want?"
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coolest jacket on the planet,
January 29, 2014
By: H1949
from Naples FL
"The coolest jacket on the planet. Superb timeless product with superb detail and styling! Bravo Orvis!"
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really liked this jacket BUT,
January 28, 2014
By: scubaguy
"As mentioned in other reviews this jacket is cut very full as in huge. My normal xl size came to my thighs.
I am sending it back for a large and hope it fits."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart and Comfortable,
January 21, 2014
By: MosbyDog
from Oakton, VA
"I had been attracted to the Naval Deck jacket from the first time I saw it in an Orvis catalog. I was very pleased when it arrived. It's mads of a heavy, canvas-like material with elasticized cuffs and neck shroud. The zipper is supplemented by some old-ish galosh snap clasps. I'm using the jacket as an all-purpose work / get-around covering, for working in the yard or running to the store. The jacket is strong and stylish. I'll have this one for years!"
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT,
January 20, 2014
By: DELECTATUS
from MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
"This jacket is EXCELLENT in every way. I am VERY happy with it."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
retro look,
January 17, 2014
By: Ryther
from Seattle
"Vintage look with very nice fabric.
Like the metal toggle closures
Pockets could lie flatter
"
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected.,
January 16, 2014
By: Ptate86
from Birmingham, AL
"This product was cut much fuller than i expected and the size seems to run a bit big. I was expecting a closer fitting jacket that would be easier to wear."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
January 14, 2014
By: fazzy1
"Closest replica of my old navy foul weather jacket."
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 13, 2014
By: thomas2
from Glen Arbor, MI
"I am very satisfied with the jacket.. Excellent fit and workmanship."
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
navy jacket was a great purchase,
January 13, 2014
By: tozzo18
"fits great and is just like the one my uncle had in the Navyt"