Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. In navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
69 of 80(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait,
March 22, 2015
By: Mechanic
from Seattle, WA
"I waited six months for this jacket to be re-stocked; it was definitely worth the wait. I own a few of my father's Air Force issued flight jackets from the Korea/Vietnam War era. Although I have not owned a reproduction military jacket before, this one has the same quality feel and fit of an original. The size medium fits my 5-11, 170 lb. frame (size 40R suit, 15-1/2 34 shirt) perfectly. Zipped up it is form-fitting--consider sizing up if you pack a few pounds around the middle or want to layer beneath it. My first Orvis jacket--definitely not my last."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3 Season Coat,
March 19, 2015
By: VanIsle3549
from Sidney, British Columbia
"I received this coat about 1week ago and so far, it's everything I had hoped for and more. I am 5'9" and have a broad chest (44") and the large size fits perfectly. The ribbed waist and cuffs keep the jacket in place and block out the wind. The jacket goes well with my usual casual wear, cotton twill pants and/or jeans. In my area, it doesn't get very cold, but on occasion, can be a bit rainy and breezy--I think this coat will work great in spring, summer and fall. After only one week, had a fellow behind me in a lineup at the grocery store ask me where I bought the coat--good for Orvis!
Hope it will last for many years to come.
The snaps on the front give the coat a unique and old- time look--just how I like it!
"
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Light Wgt Jacket,
March 12, 2015
By: MaxwellSmartDog092511
"This is a great spring time jacket. The fit is true to size. The ribbed cuffs at the wrist and waist provide the needed coverage. The front closures remind me of the galoshes I have as a kid and give the jacket a unique look that will last for years."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a great jacket.,
October 27, 2014
By: Noah42
from Bellingham, WA
"I purchased a large in fear of the fact that I'm a taller person and medium anything is to small in arm length. The large size fits my arm span just fine it's just a little to baggy in the body and arms. But I am perfectly happy with it. Everyone who sees it loves the fireman clasps. The jacket does very well in the rain (I live in Washington state). Yes I would recommend this jacket to anyone who loves to not have to come up with conversation starters on the fly. Let your jacket do the talking for you."
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
October 9, 2014
By: Judy123456789
from Bethesda, MD
"Purchased the jacket as a gift for a good friend. He was thrilled with it - said he had been looking at it himself but didn't want to spend that much. I think it was the best present I had given him in the last few years.
Also before he opened the box, he said that it didn't matter what I purchssed because if he didn't like the gift, there was so much more that the Orvis store that he loved so he would certainly end up with something great."
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found after 55 years,
October 2, 2014
By: Photodoc
from Bucks Co. PP
"This deck jacket is very close to the one my father wore in WW II and I have been looking for the past 55 years. The cut and fit are authentic as is the heavy cotton fabric. It fits perfectly and works very well as a light jacket. The zipper closure and fireman's clips are functional and attractive. I am very happy to have found this jacket and wear it often."
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Fall Coat,
September 26, 2014
By: MichiganTravelers
from Au Train, MI
"The fit of this coat as well as it's proportions make it very comfortable. The arms are proportionally tailored, the color accomodates buton down shirts, the shoulders offer room without being bulky... exceptional style.
The coat keeps warmth in, without the heft of a bulky coat.
I can wear this coat while driving my small car whereas I usually am relegated to removing my outterwear so that I can fit comfortably and drive.
I like this coat."
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Merchandise,
September 23, 2014
By: johnT07
from New York, New york
"I have been a customer of Orvis over the last 15 years. Orvis service is impeccable. The quality of the clothing is an A plus. The packaging of their goods are great. the intelligence of their customer service I rank as number 1. I ordered many different items either by phone or online and Orvis number 1 in all aspects of their operation."
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well done, good value,
September 19, 2014
By: Jimbo3737
from Birmingahm,Al
"As expected.Would recommend .Description was right on."
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great navy jacket,
September 8, 2014
By: DukeGreat
from Scranton,Pa.
"Unique styling practical and a great fit! I'm am considering the other naval deck coat with wool lining . Orvis service was great. Thank You!!!"
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but not for me,
September 5, 2014
By: Planetvin
from Hanover Park, Il
"Quality materials and care where put into this jacket; however, for the price it isn't for me. It may be rare style but there are plenty of cheaper coats with more functionality then having 2 pockets. Again, quality product but not what I expected. I will be returning. Thanks."
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not great,
August 28, 2014
By: mamoth
from Canada
"not as long as it appears in catelog - snaps are bulky - doesn't "drape""
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great jacket but pricey.,
August 27, 2014
By: theHoff
from Incline Village, NV
"I love the jacket, it reminds me of my days in the Navy.
The reason for the lower rating, however, is due to the cost.
"
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
August 27, 2014
By: Flatcap
from West Yorkshire UK
"This jacket is well made, stylish, while at the same time feeling like you've owned it for years"
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WW11 Naval Deck Jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: Ronmur
from Portland, Or
"Hello from Portland, Oregon. This
Navy Blue Light-weight Jacket is a
really nice find. I am a rather Warm
Blooded individual and wearing a
heavy Parka or similar is very uncomfortable to me. This is the
perfect wear - I love the metal Firemen
type closures on the front and I also
also like the pockets. I will get a lot
of wear out of this Jacket
"
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deck jacket,
August 21, 2014
By: usmcwrestler
from Gaithersburg Maryland
"Distinctive closure with latches. Durable fabric and generous cut. Great looking. Not run of the mill look but still rugged and masculine as well as very functional. Great over a submariner sweater or heavy irish seamen sweater."
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Remembering my dad's Navy uniform...,
August 21, 2014
By: Oconee98
from The "Real" Buckhead, GA
"As a young boy growing up in the 1950s, I remember my dad's WWII Navy uniforms.
The denim shirt and pants with his Chief's insignia on the sleeve was a good combination. However, his Deck Jacket...albeit worn from constant wearing over 3 years' service...was still in pretty good shape.
When I read about the same style and design jacket being offered by Orvis, my expectations were automatically high...and I was not disappointed. This is a quality item and will definitely serve my needs for a long time to come...
Even the 'generic' size of Medium proved to be a very comfortable fit. Becoming used to the Firefighter's clasps will take a modicum of effort. The zipper does a great job of keeping the wind from leaking past it.
The banded collar and cuffs are soft to the touch as well as quite comfortable with the jacket completely buckled and zipped.
My only suggestion and possible disappointment preventing this review from being a "5 Star" was the lack of an inside pocket or two for the sake of convenience and/or security. Perhaps this will be considered in a future updating of the item."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
August 20, 2014
By: Pdxxpd
from Portland
"Light weight comfortable and distinctive styling. Not carried in the local store."
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Jacket,
June 19, 2014
By: TexasRailroader
from Arlington, TX
"I originally ordered this in the weathered navy color. I liked the jacket but returned it for the jacket in standard Navy color. The new jacket is a bit lighter in weight than the weathered version but still heavy enough to keep me warm on even very cool days. Each has a very comfortable fit and the matching ribbed knit cuffs, collar and hem are very substantial in weight. The firefighter clasps give it a unique look that no other jacket can match. I decided that I liked both jackets so I went back and tried to reorder the weathered version only to find out that it was no longer available in my size.!! Oh, well. My loss.......but I look forward to years of comfortable use from the one I kept."
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 2, 2014
By: micheal1
"This product is of great quality, fit is smack on, I have had so many compliments on this coat."