Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WWII Naval Deck Jacket

We modeled this casual, unlined lightweight military jacket after a rare, limited-issue World War II-era US Navy deck jacket. The washed, soft corded-cotton fabric gives it the look and feel of a weathered favourite from the very first wearing. Distinctive gunmetal firefighter's clasps and storm flap conceal a full metal zip closure. Ribbed collar, cuffs, and hem. Two front patch handwarmer pockets. Military jacket for men in weathered navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
34 of 42(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Review 1 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beats the fog!,
April 12, 2014
By: Fluffie
from San Francisco, CA
"On these damp San Francisco mornings before the sun rises and the fog burns off, there's nothing like this new deck jacket to keep me snug and cozy."
Review 2 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Find!,
April 8, 2014
By: TimmerOHIO
from Port Clinton, Ohio
"This jacket is both warm and stylish, with a hint of nostalgia thrown in. The navy buckles are easy to use and add to the serious look of this jacket - I love wearing it!"
Review 3 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
April 7, 2014
By: MacJIm
"This is a great jacket and should last a lifetime. It isn't lined, but the material is so heavy that it will work for those more than chilly days."
Review 4 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
close,
April 1, 2014
By: MickeyJagguar
from North Carolina
"excellent coat - would love to see it in tall sizes - BUT you've got to add some pockets!!!!"
Review 5 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prehistoric,
March 10, 2014
By: WJCJ
from Gardnerville, NV
"The jacket looks good on me. However, it has only two pockets (shallow hand warmer pockets) Cell phones , wallets, glasses keys ( may fall out)
etc will not find refuge in this jacket.
At the hi price more pockets could have been added to update the jacket & still have a good margin.
"
Review 6 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE BUY,
February 12, 2014
By: LEGS74
"NICE ENOUGH BUT WOULD BE BETTER WITH THE LINING THE OLD ONES HAD"
Review 7 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
February 7, 2014
By: Armiss
"This jacket is everything it claims to be, with a perfect fit."
Review 8 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nicely Made!,
February 4, 2014
By: GMWBB60
from Montgomery, AL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this to wear for living histories aboard USS Alabama. The jacket is very close to the original except it is unlined. I remedied this by wearing my Deck Sweater under it and was comfortable in 35 degree weather.
The hook flap came in handy during firefighting drills where water was blowing back on us. I was glad I had it on!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
January 29, 2014
By: DodgerRick
from San Francisco, CA
"The jacket was a great buy and, as usual, of very high quality. It is also very fashionable and I have received compliments every time I have worn it.what more can you want?"
Review 10 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coolest jacket on the planet,
January 29, 2014
By: H1949
from Naples FL
"The coolest jacket on the planet. Superb timeless product with superb detail and styling! Bravo Orvis!"
Review 11 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really liked this jacket BUT,
January 28, 2014
By: scubaguy
"As mentioned in other reviews this jacket is cut very full as in huge. My normal xl size came to my thighs.
I am sending it back for a large and hope it fits."
Review 12 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart and Comfortable,
January 21, 2014
By: MosbyDog
from Oakton, VA
"I had been attracted to the Naval Deck jacket from the first time I saw it in an Orvis catalog. I was very pleased when it arrived. It's mads of a heavy, canvas-like material with elasticized cuffs and neck shroud. The zipper is supplemented by some old-ish galosh snap clasps. I'm using the jacket as an all-purpose work / get-around covering, for working in the yard or running to the store. The jacket is strong and stylish. I'll have this one for years!"
Review 13 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT,
January 20, 2014
By: DELECTATUS
from MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
"This jacket is EXCELLENT in every way. I am VERY happy with it."
Review 14 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
retro look,
January 17, 2014
By: Ryther
from Seattle
"Vintage look with very nice fabric.
Like the metal toggle closures
Pockets could lie flatter
"
Review 15 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected.,
January 16, 2014
By: Ptate86
from Birmingham, AL
"This product was cut much fuller than i expected and the size seems to run a bit big. I was expecting a closer fitting jacket that would be easier to wear."
Review 16 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
January 14, 2014
By: fazzy1
"Closest replica of my old navy foul weather jacket."
Review 17 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 13, 2014
By: thomas2
from Glen Arbor, MI
"I am very satisfied with the jacket.. Excellent fit and workmanship."
Review 18 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
navy jacket was a great purchase,
January 13, 2014
By: tozzo18
"fits great and is just like the one my uncle had in the Navyt"
Review 19 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Fit,
January 9, 2014
By: MrFurious
from Washington, DC
"If you are short and fat and have the worst largest biceps, this jacket might just fit you. The quality is just fine, but if you have a body that even closely resembles that of a human being, this jacket will not fit.
Also not terribly pleased about Orvis' shipping policy. $17 to find out that the jacket doesn't fit. Real nice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WWII Naval Deck Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I was expecting,
December 29, 2013
By: dgeos
"The jacket arrived as promised and appears well-made and is sized properly.
However, while it may be "modeled after" the WWII version, the buyer should be aware that it differs in that my father's original is lined with a dark blue fleece-like material, whereas the Orvis version is unlined. Sort of like a Levi's jean jacket.
Yes, upon rereading the producet description, I see that the product description says "unlined", but my eyes jumped over that and focused on the idea that it was similar to the WWII version. I never though of Orvis as a "fine print" company.
but oh well, live and learn.
On the plus side, the WWII version does not have a zipper, which is a nice feature of the Orvis jacket.
Given the above, I'm very glad that I bought mine on sale, although even at the sale price, I think the item is at the high end for a light jacket. Despite my disappointment, I am planning on keepinig it as it is a well-made, unique light jacket.
As far as recommending it to a friend, I would stress that it is not identical to the WWII version and is pricy. My advice would be to read the description carefully to be sure of what you're getting and wait for a sale."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.