Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Large Loop Scissor Forceps

Simplify your fly fishing. These versatile forceps eliminate the need to carry multiple tools. Patented design incorporates large surface-area jaws that de-barb hooks, grip, and cut the toughest line, including Dacron and braided line. Large finger loops accommodate gloves and larger hands. Ideal for crimping any size split shot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Review 1 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A long time coming .......,
May 28, 2015
By: Rippedoff
from Gloucester uk
"Best forceps ever ! Right size and man size finger holes. The extra large hole allows two fingers to be inserted and hence greater handling stability. Used 2 days after delivery - perfect for extracting flies from WBT who are always determined to swallow the fly and therefore hooked deep in the mouth.
The "stiffness" issue is easily remedied with a smear of petroleum jelly on the right parts. Best of all - they are BLACK.
Review 2 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Man-Sized Fingers,
January 8, 2015
By: Tsatsawassa
from Oregon
"I don't know why anyone would use something different! Large holes accommodate man-sized fingers. I struggled for years to use the small holes on regular forceps, constantly getting my fingers stuck in the small holes. This little change has made a huge difference in helping to make my fishing trips much more enjoyable."
Review 3 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative Forceps,
November 26, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased these on a whim just to try the innovative large finger loop; they work great. Along with all of the other features that these forceps incorporate, the scissors standout for their ability to cut the tough braided lines that I often use spin fishing. The hinge is tight, but it should loosen with use."
Review 4 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally some great forceps,
March 19, 2013
By: Anonymous
"These forceps actually fit a guys hand! They are strong, and grip well. Having the scissors added on is great, and the little vise really bends down barbs with ease, the first time. These get the job done."
Review 5 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Forceps,
October 18, 2012
By: WoodyNC
"The most comfortable and versatile forceps I've used in 20+ years of fishing."
Review 6 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gorilla Hands Needed,
October 6, 2012
By: Flyfish5225
from Camp Hill, PA
"Nice features what with the big thumb loop, de-barbing area, scissors, etc. It, however, is a miserably short-sighted design otherwise:
Designed for use by RIGHT HANDED ANGLERS ONLY. Not only are these extremely tight and stiff, the locking barbs are difficult to open one handed and impossible to open with your left hand. Mine were re-packaged and ready for return less than 10 minutes after opening them. They look nice but that's about it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Forceps,
September 5, 2012
By: spitter
from Naperville, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"First off, let's get the name straight on these... it's the Large Loop, Power Jaws, Scissors forceps... You get all the bells and whistles in one product.
I personally like a matte black finish to eliminate any potential glare on the water. I've been waiting on a large loop product that can comfortably fit my larger hands, even if I choose to wear a sunglove or stripping guard...
The scissors are first rate - I can cut the finest tippet or 30# dacron. Crimping shot is made easy with the power jaws feature...
For $20, I've got forceps, nipper and crimper all-in-one!
A little stiff right out of the package, but a simple repositioning of my fingers and easy to lock down and re-open...
Fantastic... thanks for offering a first rate product"
Review 8 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
quite difficult to use,
July 16, 2012
By: southturner
"These " patented jaws " are rather expensive, for forceps, and were a great idea.
But in execution, the product needs tweeking. They grip tenaciously, far too much so in fact. Mine, are nearly impossible to open once closed. You'll need two hands, and unless you leave them open, which I've taken to doing, you won't be able to open them, one handed, just when you need them."
Review 9 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the precision I expect From Orvis,
June 22, 2012
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"The tip of the plier was not ground properly leaving a very sharp edge that would nick or cut line if you tried to hold a leader or tippit with it. I had to take a small file and smooth it before I could use it. Otherwise they are well made and should be fine. Just not the quality I expect from Orvis or any other $20 plier."
Review 10 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever,
June 6, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"I love the large loop on these forceps since I have large hands. The best forceps I have ever used and will never buy another pair."
Review 11 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!,
February 29, 2012
By: Okfly1974
"So far so good! Really lke the two finger handle helps to with split shot weights and with straighting leader lines more like a vise. Just put leader line in the clamp part of the forceps wrap it around a few times and take your straingtener and run it down the leader. Have even straightend a 16lb lead that way. A great product in general. Have even recommended it to other fishing enthusiists."
Review 12 for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
February 28, 2012
By: Riverraider
from Eau Claire, WI
"Very light weight and strong. The large loop makes it very easy to use and you don't have to look for it while bringing in a fish."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Large Loop Scissor Forceps
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2