Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shearling Hat

This sheepskin hat features the same shearling used in our World's Finest Shearling Coat, the warmest natural material on earth. A plush, comfortable hat to insulate and keep you warm in the cruelest cold. Constructed in a classic style. Contrast band. Shearling sheepskin hat in brown. Genuine sheepskin leather with shearling lining. Professionally clean. Imported of USA shearling.Sizes: S(6⅞-7), M(7⅛-7¼), L(7¼-7½), XL(7⅜-7¾), XXL(7⅞-8).
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Hat
Review 1 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm and well made!,
January 31, 2015
By: WilliamRL
from Welches, OR
"I purchased the shearling hat for the cold days when I am visiting family in the mountains of Oregon. The quality is outstanding. I followed the hat measuring guide and the size ordered is correct. Very warm, looks great and functions well in the cold windy snow."
Review 2 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and Warm,
January 21, 2015
By: Anav
from NYC
"This hat is very soft and very warm. When it's really cold and/or windy, folding down the ear flaps keeps ears and part of face warm too. The Velcro strap is much better than string straps which are common on similar hats. I wish this model was available in other colors too.
Someone asked me if I swiped this great hat from a State Trooper."
Review 3 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping warm,
January 12, 2015
By: skinbasher
from Chichester WS
"First class quality and workmanship, very warm and practical.
Very chic oozes quality a real head turner, Rolex of hats.."
Review 4 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
January 1, 2015
By: BigBud
from SIlver Spring, MD
"I absolutely love the Shearling hat from Orvis. It is very warm, and it is a very soft and comfortable hat. It is exactly as described by Orvis."
Review 5 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect match to Shearling Jacket,
December 27, 2014
By: TomCentralNY
from Central NY
"I purchased this hat because I thought it would be a good match to the Bostonian Marino Shearling Jacket. My expectations were surpassed -- it's a perfect match. Because of the luxurious lining, the hat slips on and off like a hood. That, along with the high turned-up collar of the jacket, keeps one warm and comfortable from the head down."
Review 6 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hat,
December 26, 2014
By: Lynndavidual
"Got this for my extremely particular husband for Christmas. He LOVES it. Says it's his most comfortable hat and is thrilled that it is entirely shearling, not lined with any other material anywhere on the inside. It's super lightweight, too. He's wears a medium, and the size medium was a perfect fit."
Review 7 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
December 21, 2014
By: geoffdhar
from Devon, UK
"Just put it on your head and you will not want to take it off until summer. Could not ask for better."
Review 8 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
December 17, 2014
By: ChrisvH
from UK
"Purchased for a mid-winter trip to Eastern Europe. Warm, comfortable and easily packed. An excellent product"
Review 9 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money,
November 22, 2014
By: Dpug39
from Cprnwall
"The prodiuct lived up to descriptio
As you would expect from Orvis.
Usual excellent service with a first class product."
Review 10 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Classic & practical,
March 1, 2014
By: SLPP
from New Jersey
"Bought if for my husband and he couldn't be happier with his new hat. It is soft and warm and he loves the classic look. It matches so well with his Orvis sherling coat."
Review 11 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Funny Fit,
February 3, 2014
By: shippedoutofluck
from MD
"Loved the hat but returned them both. The XL was too big and the L was too small. Disappointed because I liked the style and got nothing except shipping costs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THEY CALL ME UNCLE BUCK!,
January 17, 2014
By: sunlight1
from Iowa
"I had a hat like this in my youth that I literally wore out after 23 years. It was bought in Canada at a Sheep Ranch. this hat looks, and feels JUST like that one. Since I have had it, my head has NEVER approached being cold. NO MORE COLD EARS either. Love the Velcro strap instead of buttons or strings. EXCELLENT HAT for people that like the look and the warmth. Friends once again say I look like Uncle Buck."
Review 13 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Hat,
January 15, 2014
By: c47pilot
from Seattle, WA
"I have very short hair and as such my head gets cold. The hat is very warm and comfortable to wear. I live in Seattle and it appears to be holding up well even in our rain. I would think it would be even better in areas where it is much colder. I would highly recommend the hat. I have had many friends complement me on its looks."
Review 14 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cozy hat,
January 14, 2014
By: 211sycamore
from Boston
"I purchased this hat as a gift. It is a wonderful hat for the worst of New England winter days. The lining flips down over the ears and neck when needed and flips up when weather is milder. This was a good purchase."
Review 15 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas gift ever,
January 2, 2014
By: mgk51
from Newport KY
"My girlfriend gave me this hat for Christmas so I've only had it a week but the temperature has dropped to12 degrees,I wore my hat while shoveling the walk and clearing snow off the jeep. It fit well and kept my head and ears warm and toasty.
I have already recommended it to friends at work.
"
Review 16 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent cold weather hat,
December 26, 2013
By: Rifleboy
from California
"The shearling hat is excellent quality. With ear flaps up, the lower part of head and the ears get the breeze and stay cool, but down, everything is toasty. The shearling is very comfortable. At first the hat sits more "on" your head, rather than the head being in the hat, but as the shearling compresses it sits well and is very comfortable. I have not yet used it in real cold, but can't wait. I know my head, ears, upper neck and forehead will be well protected from extreme cold and wind. I'm glad I bought it."
Review 17 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Winter Hat,
December 26, 2013
By: Filtersure
"Warm, Stylish, Matches all my winter outerwear. Luv it !!"
Review 18 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not As Pictured,
December 12, 2013
By: Ianfromengland
from Manchester, England
"I was disappointed with this hat and will return it for a refund. The design of the hat is different from the picture shown here, the straps now have a square cut off end instead the illustrated round cut end, also the sheep skin itself is not 'fluffy' or soft.
Overall its a well made item but its simply not the item shown in the photo.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worthless hat,
October 8, 2013
By: SXSMak
from Charlotte, NC
"I bought this hat on a count of its good look from the photo and exagerated quality. This hat can not keep my head warm even in Charlotte nc which does not get all that cold. Not satisfied with it at all. Do not recommend it to ny one and I am ready to return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearling Hat,
February 23, 2013
By: Chenry
from Sidcup, Kent
"Good quality well made product. A little on the expensive side.
Excellent service by company re delivery from time of ordering.
Orvis are an excellent company to deal with, offering quality goods. Prices reflect the quality"