Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag

Incredibly functional with so many organisational features, beautifully fashionable, and best of all, made of eco-friendly, recycled materials. Converts from shoulder to tote to backpack. Water-resistant nylon. Detachable wallet. Two separate interior compartments. Quilted convertible bag in scarlet only.12"H x 11"L x 5"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Review 1 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Bag!,
May 28, 2013
By: Lukebo
"I LOVE this bag. I have so many purses, but this by far is my favorite.
It is light, versatile, & roomy. The sale price is an added bonus!
It is made from recycled plastic bottles to.
"
Review 2 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and Practical,
May 26, 2013
By: Fudgie
from Shrewsbury, Pa.
"I lucked out finding this bag. It's stylish, roomy, and easy to carry several ways. Great colors too."
Review 3 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
None Better - Take it to the bank!,
May 21, 2013
By: JJTT
from So. California
"The quality of this bag is outstanding. The design is over the top. So many features. So many conveniences."
Review 4 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag!,
April 16, 2013
By: Excited
"I just love this bag! It has many different compartments for your possessions and is very light weight! A most have!"
Review 5 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Bag EVER!,
March 29, 2013
By: Mimiof2
from Houston, Texas
"I purchased this bag for a trip to Santa Fe. Litle did I know that it would become my favorite bag! It quickly transitions from backpack to over-the-shoulder style(and vicea versa) by pulling the straps. The compartments make organizing easy - the front pocket holds my cell phone and reader glasses. Because there is a safety snap covering them, I don't worry that they will fall out while walking. Being a grandmother of twins, this is the perfect bag for carrying while still having two free hands. I would highly recommend this bag as attractive and practical for any purpose!"
Review 6 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hand Bag,
March 4, 2013
By: Muffy3
from CT
"Great bag for keeping my stuff organized. That is the main reason I purchased it, and it is attractive. The straps are a nice length for throwing over my shoulder. Have not used it as a back pack yet but can see where it could come in handy. A set back is that the straps attach only to the back so if you do not close the clasp it flops open. The design of the straps also cause them to twist sometimes which can be annoying. Only time will tell on how the recycled material holds up with wear."
Review 7 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile,
March 4, 2013
By: desertdiva
from Tucson, Arizona
"This bag has a number of pockets and compartments and holds a lot. I like the fact that it can be used as a backpack because it distributes the weight of the bag evenly on both shoulders. I plan to use it on a trip to Switzerland this summer."
Review 8 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the job,
March 1, 2013
By: micklet
from Cotswolds
"Bought this to use as all purpose bag whilst away in France on a short trip . Was sufficient capacity for compact hand baggage on flight and then made a stylish personal bag for everyday needs. Very pleased with it !"
Review 9 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
March 1, 2013
By: Pjpicks
from Toronto
"Just received his purse last week in time of a quick week end trip. We walked and went sightseeing for many hours and this purse carried, water,books,hats and gloves for 2 of us. In fact when I got tired my husband gladly slung it over his back. A handy addition for traveling ."
Review 10 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Handbag,
February 26, 2013
By: Rromf
from Media PA
"This handbag is roomy, helps me be organized, easy to use and easily converts to a backpack in seconds. I had a leather bag that did the same and couldn't replace it until now. This bag has terrific pockets, closes securely with a clasp, has a clip for keys and a holder for my most-used credit/id cards. While I wish it were leather, the fact it's made of recycled materials makes me happy, yet it's so polished, I take it everywhere. I'm thinking of ordering the other colors. Only (minor) gripe are the handles are a bit slippery and sometimes slide off my shoulder. Still, I've been waiting for this bag for a few years. How lucky I spotted it in Orvis' catalogue."
Review 11 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More than expected,
February 25, 2013
By: rlsr
from Holton, KS
"This bag ended up having more pockets than I expected. It holds a lot but I can separate all my stuff so it is easy to get to. It doesn't look like a back pack but is easy to convert to wear on my back. I'm really pleased I purchased this bag!"
Review 12 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife love it,
February 25, 2013
By: Keithred
"Could use more pockets, but works great for moving quickly from a purse to a small daypack. Worth the high cost."
Review 13 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever!!!!,
December 29, 2012
By: onthegogirl
from Long Island, NY
"I love this handbag. It spacious without being too big. It holds so much. Very comfortable and easy to switch from shoulder bag to back bag. The best bag ever!!!"
Review 14 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Convertible Purse!!,
December 28, 2012
By: Twintough
from Asheville, NC
"My chiropractor advised me to start wearing a backpack purse to evenly distribute the weight on my back, rather than just one shoulder. I searched for months - everything I found was either super-expensive, or just downright ugly! I spotted this purse in the store, and fell in love with it! The color is neutral, and can go with either casual or dressy dress. The fabric resists water and stains, and I would guess, is pretty easy to keep clean. The best part, though, is that with a simple tug on the straps, you can convert this purse into a backpack or a shoulder bag! Love it! I have used it for several weeks now, and it's just what the doctor ordered! Highly recommend!"
Review 15 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice purse, great if you have back trouble,
December 17, 2012
By: ec05
from Alexandria, VA
"after my other convertible backpack purses wore out and I started carrying a regular shoulder bag, my lower back started to really bother me (I walk ALOT-to work and errands), so this one looked like a nice replacement. It's VERY lightweight and the pink lining is a nice touch to find things. I'd like it to be bit less sporty, but the shape is cute and it's easy to convert."
Review 16 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for this for ages,
February 22, 2012
By: GardenBarb
from Los Angeles, CA
"I've been looking for a lightweight backpack-purse that is made of soft material and is not so casual/sporty that it can't be worn someplace nice. This fis the bill perfectly. It's good quality. Has several pockets that snap or zip. Really good design."
Review 17 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Travel/Everyday Bag,
February 19, 2012
By: Scrappie
"I purchased this bag primarily for travel. It holds a lot but has enough pockets and separate areas to keep items close at hand (and not too many pockets which can make finding things difficult). It's very easy to convert to a backpack which is what I need when handling luggage and sight seeing. I highly recommend!"
Review 18 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
How Does it Work?,
February 16, 2012
By: SanOne
"I purchased this handbag thinking it would convert to backpack without a map. I was wrong. The straps do not provide a good grip on shoulders and need to be crossed in back to hold securely to body. I'll just carry this item as a hand bag with a strap. For the money, it was not worth the purchase."
Review 19 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Difficult to Use,
February 10, 2012
By: quimmiq
from MN
"This was a nice bag, but I thought it would be difficult to access given the double zipper entry"
Review 20 for Quilted Convertible Backpack/Handbag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good bag - difficult straps,
January 31, 2012
By: Frustratedbackpacker
"I like the bag for its size, pockets, etc. but found it v. difficult to work out how to make it into a back pack. Even took it into my nearest Orvis store and the ladies there were not sure either. Instructions on attached tag unfathomable. Maybe best used as shoulder bag. (NOT why I bought it.)"