Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wine Barrel Cheese Tray

Add a touch of authenticity to your wine and cheese parties. An actual California vineyard oak wine-barrel head-complete with vintner's stamp-makes up this unique tray, perfectly sized for presenting a large variety of cheeses, meats, and hors d'oeuvres. Cast-iron handles make carrying easy, while a sealed lacquer top allows food to be placed directly on the surface. Hand-rubbed and finished with a deep, chestnut stain. 23" dia. Hand wash. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Review 1 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great gift,
December 29, 2013
By: Grandace
from Florida
"I sent the wine barrel cheese board to my son and his wife for Christmas, they loved it. They cannot wait to have friends over to show off!"
Review 2 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT GIFT EXCEPT....,
December 25, 2013
By: JJOIV
from Manhattan, Montana
"My wife loves the tray. Only issue is two of four soft "feet" are missing. They aren't in the box. I can easily fix it so it wasn't worth complaining or sending back.
Exactly what was averted. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 3 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
practical and beautiful,
December 25, 2013
By: kimmykins
from Ohio
"My family was thrilled when they received this beautiful wooden cheese tray. They plan to display this tray on their counter top next to the Orvis wine barrel Lazy Susan they received last year. These items are well constructed, useful, and attractive pieces of wooden art work."
Review 4 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So Disappointing,
December 19, 2013
By: Cakes1234
from Warren, MI
"I purchased this as a gift for my boss and his wife. The quality, knowing it was a wine barrel top, was not as expected, boards didn't meet and were chipped. Additionally, the item was just too large and heavy for it's intention."
Review 5 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gift,
December 10, 2013
By: DannyHead
from Perdido Key, FL
"I was impressed by the catalog presentation and thought what a great gift it would be for my daughter's family. However, when I received the package, I was overwhelmed by the quality. Can't wait for them to open it this Christmas."
Review 6 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great barrel head platter,
December 7, 2013
By: Ghislaine
from Derby, VT
"Purchased for my daughter and son-in-law as a gift. They loved it, would buy again. Wish we had a choice of winery stamp on cover. Actually thinking of ordering one for myself.
GREAT product.
"
Review 7 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disappointing,
December 5, 2013
By: ritzy
from pensacola fl
"altho most orvis purchases have been quite good this one was a disappointment. it unfortunately di not measure up to the picture in the catalog. one handle was loose, the spaces between some of the boards were too big and the finish was not done well. i purchased it as a gift and am glad i opened it before sending it."
Review 8 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Gift,
January 1, 2013
By: KSM1
from Grapevine, TX
"I purchased this wine tray for my Brother and Sister in Law for Christmas this year. They loved it! They are so excited to entertain with it in their outdoor kitchen, cabana, and pool setting. Thanks for such a neat product!"
Review 9 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
December 7, 2012
By: wjane
from Clinton, IA
"The first tray I rec'd was broken. Called Orvis and rep was very polite and apologetic. He shipped another one out express mail. I was very excited when I saw how nice the tray was. A perfect gift for my son and wife. Can't wait until I give it to them at Christmas. Very impressed with Orvis customer service."
Review 10 for Wine Barrel Cheese Tray
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too large to be practical,
November 28, 2011
By: Gretyl
"These trays are beautiful, but too large for practical, frequent use."