Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest

Handsomely understated, traditional Black Watch tartan is a fitting choice whether heading out to a casual holiday gathering or to an elegant dinner party. Our waxed-cotton vest is modeled after our best-selling lapel style and features notched lapels, two front slash pockets, self fabric back, and an adjustable back strap. Fully lined with brushed twill. Pure cotton. Wipe with damp sponge. ImportedSizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 23½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Review 1 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Buy,
February 24, 2014
By: MrCog
from NYC
"Have been looking to purchase this vest for awhile and the price finally went to a point at which I just could no longer say No. The vest is a tad short, but not too noticeable. The back adjust strap stays where you put it and does not loosen up by itself. The quality of the vest is very good and looks very nice as well.
Very happy with the purchase.
"
Review 2 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome vest,
January 15, 2014
By: Penguy
from Springboro, Ohio
"Not knowing what kind of material black waxed cotton is, I now realize after wearing this vest in several of my singing performances how classic this is . Comments from strangers about how great it looks tells the whole story. Thanks Orvis for a quality product and a timeless look."
Review 3 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
December 20, 2013
By: Sperandeo
from Ontario, Canada
"I was pleasantly surprised when I put this vest on after receiving it via mail order. It fit perfectly and looked great, I was concerned at first that the colours would be a little to bright for my liking, but they were not, in fact the colours have a beautiful vintage look to them."
Review 4 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holiday Cheer,
November 20, 2013
By: 072955spy
from Johnston,SC 29832
"My son loves Christmas and holiday outfits......Quite GQ! Quality is exceptional....."
Review 5 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pretty darn excited,
July 1, 2013
By: TOBRIAN
from Oklahoma
"I was pretty darn excited when the waxed blackwatch vest arrived. It exceeded my expectations both in fit and quality. I intend on wearing it both with jeans and with party attire. I play in an irish/ scottish band as well so I am anticipating many uses. Again, Orvis is a front runner in both surprise and delight. Good job!"
Review 6 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GREAT LOOKING BUT NOT PRACTICAL,
December 29, 2012
By: Rais
from WARMINSTER, PA. 18974
"HAVE PURCHASED TWO VESTS BEFORE CHRISTMAS WITH GREAT SATISFACTION BUT THIS ONE NOT AGOOD BUY . THE ONLY CLEANING INSTRUCTION ADVISE TO "WIPE MED OFF WITH A DAMP CLOTH" OR WORDS TO THE AFFECT. LOVE YOU CLOTHES WHEN I CAN AFFORD THEM. THANKS, VMP"
Review 7 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As billed,
October 15, 2012
By: Passout
from Houston, TX
"I read the other reviews before purchasing...I'm a solid 44" so I got the XL...you can tighten it at the waist but so the sizing is accurate in my opinion. I'd recommend..."
Review 8 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Worst thing I ever purchased from or is,
September 4, 2012
By: Cheech12
"Returned vest not up to Orvis quality. Purchased as gift disappointed."
Review 9 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it but....,
February 6, 2012
By: HF123
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Love it except for red lining seems to appear above waist in back. Could be stitched so as not to sag out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what he wanted,
January 3, 2012
By: loganton
"This vest is just what my husband wanted! I purchased it for him for Christmas, and he loved it. It is well made, sturdy waxed cotton and should hold up well over time. The fit was perfect -"
Review 11 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment,
December 28, 2011
By: Siestanana
from Sarasota, FL
"The problem is in the sizing. I ordered XXL (his usual size) for my husband, and the vest is short and tight. So it is being returned. It is a very expensive item, but we both have Barbour jackets so we knew what we were getting. Is the size problem because you are using British size measurements, or what?"
Review 12 for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed,
December 9, 2011
By: Virginian43
from Virginia
"This vest was exactly what I wanted, or so I thought. It is a very long story, but I ordered (via mail) three different vests. The XL was too big, the L pulled at the top button. This could be written off as my 65+ year old body shape. And I might have convinced myself to live with one of them. But, each one had a permanent horizontal crease in the back. I didn't try steaming it out, but after several days of handing on a hanger the creases never came out. I returned all 3. For the price of this vest, I expected more."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Black Watch Waxed-Cotton Lapel Vest
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1