Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

How To Be a Lady

This ladies book of etiquette offers helpful tips and rules without being snobbish, boring, or intimidating. From how to dress for the workplace to the importance of knowing self-defense, this is the official handbook for the woman of today. Hardcover; 154 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How To Be a Lady
Review 1 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
trite and archic suggestions,
December 3, 2012
By: Bloomington
from Minnesota
"Didn't think in this 21st century, I'd actually see something like this in print and being sold through a reputable and modern day firm.
I bought it out of curiosity --- and now will share it --for a laugh with my friends. I'm a female senior citizen and have long outgrown old society's
ideas of what a woman "should" be and "should" act. Have we not grown beyond these trite and obvious suggestions?? Are women not intelligent beings?
Courtesy is for both men as well as women. How about a book on "How to be a gentleman"?
Unfortunately, I thing that it is much more needed in present day society
This takes me back to the '40's and '50's.
"
Review 2 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Book,
November 27, 2012
By: MamaVal
from Chicago, Il.
"This book is very enjoyable. I love that is has been updated with more of "Todays" problems like cell phone rudeness, etc. I am enjoying reading it and will definitely pass it on to my girls and their friends."
Review 3 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gift to my daughter,
October 23, 2012
By: JS123
from Buffalo,NY
"I thought this would be a great guide for a young lady."
Review 4 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Teenage Girls,
April 10, 2012
By: Realthing
from Louisiana
"My very well mannered 16 year old granddaughter is enjoying this book. Although some of it is really comical, it does included fine information for girls her age. I'm glad I made the purchase."
Review 5 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 28, 2012
By: Bigash53
from Crystal Lake, Illinois
"I have ordered 10 of these books for members of my family, Daughters, Nieces, future Nieces, and daughters of friends. It is well written and just a great reference."
Review 6 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manners from Heaven,
January 7, 2012
By: Squam
from Holderness, NH
"Excellent primer for young adults especially in an era too void of old school values."
Review 7 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks Orvis for the extra help raising my kids,
December 31, 2011
By: lindylexie
from Saginaw, MI.
"I purchased this book (guide) as a light hearted gimmick for both of my girls at Christmas. Turns out the whole family all wanted to read it and we were all amazed at all of the useful and practical information it offers. Turns out, the girls both actually cherish this gift. Once again Orvis, you've come through for me. The book is beautifully bound also."
Review 8 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money Smart,
December 30, 2011
By: papapete
from St. Simons Island, GA
"Among other items from Orvis, I purchased two "How To Be a Lady' and they both made a hit even though one was for a 14 year old and the other for a 32 year old. Each recipient had advice in the book that pertained to them. The mother of the younger person was also thrilled. The older person recently became a professional and need the advice to further her career. Thanks Orvis for marketing an item that was well received and will be a reference for the future."
Review 9 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Book for Grand-daughter,
December 29, 2011
By: Perdido
from NM
"I gave it to my Grand-daughter with the explanation I didn't mean I thought she had no manners. I told her to use it as a reference as she went through life.
She was very happy with the gift."
Review 10 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nifty reference,
December 29, 2011
By: Nyles
"Bought this book for my daughter who is heading off to college next year. She read it and commented to both her mother and me that she liked what she read and will use the book to always put her best foot forward. She called the gift a nifty reference guide for life."
Review 11 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ms. Manners,
December 29, 2011
By: Yabbott
from Illinois
"I purchased these for a 15 year old and a 24 year old. Wonderful work and social tips that everyone should know! Worth every penny."
Review 12 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
interesting and insightful,
December 28, 2011
By: jess
"learned quite a bit from this little book. some things someone from my generation was not familiar with. nice little book of knowledge."
Review 13 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to be a lady,
December 28, 2011
By: DrMarge
from Chicago, Illinois
"Purchased as a Christmas gift for may Granddaughter who is embarking on a new career. I think this book will enhance the impressions she make on her employers and fellow workers. and professionals she interacts with."
Review 14 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Need More Info,
December 10, 2011
By: SanAntonian
from San Antonio, TX
"This info in this book turned out to be too advanced age wise for the child it was purchased for, but I will save it for a later date."
Review 15 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
December 3, 2011
By: Paisley
from Oakland, CA
"I had hoped this would include more social etiquette tips to do with dining, invitations; thank yous, etc. But all in all it will provide basic social behavior expectations that are often skipped over in parental education."
Review 16 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased for Gran Daughter,
November 19, 2011
By: andysmom
from Memphis TN
"Proper manners tend to be lacking in today's world. I hope that my grand daughter will learn ladylike behavior from reading this book. Bought the book on being a gentleman last year for grandson. It HAS helped him polish his behavior."
Review 17 for How To Be a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 14, 2011
By: thundercloud
"I haven't had a chance to read the complete book. I purchased it for a Christmas present for my granddaughter. Last year I bought the book 50 Things a young man should know for my grandson and I wanted the same type of experience for her."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for How To Be a Lady
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1