Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Zip-Back Fleece Vest

This is the easiest dog vest you (and your dog) will ever use. Simply lay it on the ground, align your dog's front feet with the openings, pull it up, and zip up the back. It's so fast, your dog won't even realize it's on until it's all zipped up. Small opening to allow lead access; collar secures with a hook-and-loop fastener. Measurement reflects neck-to-tail length. To determine the correct size, measure from the base of the neck to the base of the tail. Polyester. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.825 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
10
65 of 80(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase and great buy!,
August 4, 2014
By: LuanneHott
from Wartrace, TN/Blairsville, GA
"Love the soft fabric and how easy it is to put on an off. My dog is looking forward to cooler weather to show off her new vest."
Review 2 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
July 31, 2014
By: radar911
from Fairview
"so much better than a sweater, really warm and comfortable."
Review 3 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coat is fine - just a bit too small for my dog.,
May 14, 2014
By: Fred2
from Chicago
"The Zip-Back Fleece Vest is well made and easy to get on the dog. I like it - but - I need to get the next size up. My dog is on the cusp of Medium and the lower size for the Large coat. The medium is tight around the front legs. Not a problem with the coat - a problem with getting the right fit. I will get the Large coat when it is back in stock."
Review 4 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HAPPY DOGGY, HAPPY "MOMMY",
March 17, 2014
By: PatandRubicon
from Ridgefield Park, NJ
"FINALLY!!! A cost for a large dog that stays in place!!! VELCRO just does not work for coat fasteners for a large active German Shepherd. This coat fits perfectly, ZIPS closed and gives my "pup" ease of movement and warmth/comfort to brave our cold NJ winters! GREAT price too, and much better than coats that are twice the price!!! THANKS ORVIS!!"
Review 5 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and safe,
February 18, 2014
By: Arthur1
"This coat is easy to put on and take off. Our dog loves it. It is just the job for this cold wet weather and he is happy to stay outside in it and would keep it on it when he comes in!
Thank you Orvis for another good buy.
"
Review 6 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality vest,
February 17, 2014
By: leftcoaster
"I found that the vest is well made and fits my dog well. The zipper is smooth to operate to secure vest. It has taken my dog a bit of time to get used to the material touching her legs as she walks and causes her to take more cautious steps. Sometimes it is difficult to put the vest on my dog by myself if my pet is excited about going out. Keeping her legs in the leg openings until the vest is zipped can be a challenge . I'm sure it will become easier with practice.
My dog attracts attention in the vest( a Dalmatian in red vest) which is good to slow drive byes and make walks safer. All in all I'm pleased with purchase.
"
Review 7 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the Athletic Dog,
January 24, 2014
By: CaseytheRedbone
from Virginia
"This vest is great for the athletic/crazy dog who doesn't do well in a traditional dog coat with a belly band. I ordered a size M for my 42 lb. Redbone Coonhound mix, who is slender, trim and built like a runner. It fit him well, although I was worried when I ordered it that it could be too small.
The large would have been too long along the belly, it turns out. He is very comfortable in it, and most importantly, it stays on during active play. It is a breeze to put on/take off. A better fit could only be had with a custom made vest.
"
Review 8 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 21, 2014
By: 9below
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Recently purchased jacket for my treeing walker coonhound during the winter vortex. Really keeps him warm especially the belly area. Very easy to put on even with a wiggly dog. Thanks Orvis for thinking of the larger dogs that need cold weather gear!"
Review 9 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful for Cats Too!,
January 20, 2014
By: JustJayne
from Portland Oregon
"I bought this jacket for my cat, as he is 17 and really feels the cold, though he loves to sit outside, even if only for a few minutes on a winter's day. It is easy to get on him and he can move freely. He may not love the jacket, but he loves its warmth."
Review 10 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Dog Jacket,
January 17, 2014
By: Seafox
from Cloudcroft, NM
"This dog jacket is well made and seems to make my hound dog happy. The "up the back" zipper makes getting it on and off a breeze. I think all of the other neighborhood dogs are jealous"
Review 11 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Belly Coverage,
January 10, 2014
By: Mali
from Seattle, WA
"Got this coat for my 85 pound lab mix because she's mostly bald in the tummy region. There are not many coats that provide lots of coverage in this area. This coat is easy to put on and easy to wash (I let it air dry). The only problem I have with the coat is that my dog is kind of barrel chested, so the coat tends to slide back and leg openings become a bit tight. This may be my fault in ordering, because my dog is right in between sizes. I plan on making a cut in the leg holes and inserting some elastic to fix this. Otherwise, do expect the usual fleece + dog = hair everywhere issues."
Review 12 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good vest,
January 10, 2014
By: Weimaraner
from Central California
"My dog has a large chest, but slim through the neck and waist. I had to take in the collar to make the vest fit better. Quality of materials are quite good. Easy to put on and take off. I'd buy it again, but go with a larger size so I could custom fit to my dogs shape better."
Review 13 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madison loves it and so do we!!,
January 9, 2014
By: Debkays
from Adirondacks, NY
"Madison, our soft-coated wheaten terrier just loves it - wears it all day if we allow her to. Perfect in snow as the snow mats her fur but this vest protects her entire belly area. Also easy to put on and take off which can be a problem with some vests because of her long hair. Fits well also. Buying a second one today! Thank you."
Review 14 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
January 6, 2014
By: simsl
"This dog vest is soft, easy to get on and off and provides a comfortable fit. It allows the dog's legs to move freely. Its a great product for those chilly winter walks!"
Review 15 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding dog vest,
January 4, 2014
By: Tobeybear
from STOUGHTON , Ma.
"This is the second time I have purchased this dog vest . It fits perfectly and is easy to put on. It washes nice and our dog loves the feel of it."
Review 16 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 3, 2014
By: ginkojo
from Southern California
"Perfect thickness for warmth without being bulky and so easy to put on and remove."
Review 17 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy dog!,
December 28, 2013
By: Elly52
from Seattle, Wa.
"My grand dog loved her Christmas fleece vest! She wore it all day and night. It's cold in Seattle, Wa. Being a weinerimer it's hard to stay warm.
She loves it! Thank you so much for this great product, Elly
"
Review 18 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Almost good purchase,
December 27, 2013
By: Saym
"The quality of the vest is excellent and very well made. Unfortunately the sizing chart led me astray. I have a 90 lb Lab so I bought the vest for the 85 - 110 lb dog. It is too big rather than a little to big and my dog got tangled up in it - it was quite the ordeal. Now I am stuck with a vest I cannot use and it was not an inexpensive item. Altering it to fit would be a major task."
Review 19 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fleece for our fur kids,
December 27, 2013
By: welovelabs
from mclean, va
"We have 3 girls and 3 boys, our fur kids. We purchased the green for the boys and the red for the girls. Great colors!!
These are snuggly, soft, easy to put on/off and they look adorable.
Please note, we will hand wash or put on gentle in washer, and then line dry, as that is the instructions. Not a problem for us, but should be known.
These act almost like thunder shirts. Our one girl with allergies licks incessantly. She gets ONE Benedryl per day, per our vet, she could have more...however, we put on her new fleece and she stops licking and goes on her bed.
We take it off once she gets it that she needs to stop licking.
Love them. Sent as a gift to my niece's designer dog...he wore it for Christmas. Great product!
"
Review 20 for Zip-Back Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't fit a boxer,
December 26, 2013
By: Winlu
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Ordered 2 vests for my boxers. One weighs 95 pounds and the other 55 pounds. Neither vest fit well across the chest. These vest are made for smaller chested dogs, like labs or golden retrievers. They do not fit well on square chested dogs."