Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers

Based on a vintage pair of trousers discovered in an abandoned mine in Colorado, these trousers pair pre-World War II design and features with a breathable-yet-durable blend of natural hemp and cotton. The result is a rugged pair of trousers built for timeless comfort. Button front closure with 1940s-style internal button tab; cut brass zip, just like the originals. Large-opening slash front pockets. Right-side watch pocket. Button-flap rear pockets. Distinctive rear buckle-belt adjuster. Genuine leather braces offer traditional, broken-in looks, adjustability, and antiqued-brass hardware. Canvas trousers for men in tan. Trousers are 55% hemp/45% cotton. Washable. Braces are genuine leather, and are sold separately. Even waist sizes 40. Finished up to 35" or 34" with turn-ups, at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Review 1 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Suspenders not so great.,
August 12, 2013
By: HeadWest
from Joplin, MO
"This review is for the suspenders only. The pants are 5+ stars. Suspenders are very stiff and difficult to use. I'm going to apply a leather conditioner to them to remedy the stiffness but usability is another matter. There are no instructions on how to adjust them or how they are supposed to look. If I had it to do over again I would look around for less pricey and easier to use suspenders. Don't recommend them."
Review 2 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than I expected!,
July 22, 2013
By: HeadWest
from Joplin, MO
"As usual, Orvis has exceeded my expectations with these pants. They are a much heavier canvas than I thought they would be. They really stand out as something different. Nice hardware for the suspenders. Look closely, though, as these pants can only be worn with suspenders or braces. No belt loops. I'm pairing them with the linen/cotton banded shirt. They'd go well with the Orvis 1000 mile boots too!"
Review 3 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For Old Guys and Young Ones,
May 23, 2013
By: OZHaire
from Roanoke, VA
"The product is well crafted and fits nicely. The material of the pants give you a rugged feel, showing that in all types of environments they can handle the situation. I, also like, the fact that you can wear this product as casual dress when going out to restaurants or movies"
Review 4 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had to Modify to fit,
May 2, 2013
By: LakePlains
from Medina, NY
"Suspenders are robust and solid. However, they appear to be constructed backwards in that the adjustable straps are inverted. As a result some less that 6.3" cannot adjust them without punching holes and refitted attaching fastener.
Once I did that the suspenders are fine but will need several other holes to adjust to other trousers. Other than that the item is great!
"
Review 5 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trousers,
April 21, 2013
By: Smod
"Pants are super but suspenders are huge
I will have to add extra holes to be able to wear them
"
Review 6 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No gold here,
April 20, 2013
By: Dissatisfied21
from London, UK
"I loved the concept on paper but these miner pants failed to deliver the goods. The fabric is spot on and good quality so no complaints there. But the cut was wrong for my body - too baggy in the legs and tight around the waist. Normally I'm a 32 waist and same in the inseam, and often wear skinny sized cut as my legs are thin. Also, the suspenders are way too big. You'd have to be well over 6 foot tall or weigh at least 200 lbs, unless you cut your own holes in the straps as mentioned in the previous review. Just wished I tried this stuff on before buying online."
Review 7 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pants, suspenders a bit large,
March 18, 2013
By: SamInHouston
from Houston, TX
"The miner's pants are very impressive. Quite well constructed, sturdy, and comfortable. I found the 32 waist 33 length to fit close but not tight on my frame at 6 ft 185 lbs. Look, feel, and fit are very high quality in my book. I particularly like the styling of the watch pocket, v notch in the rear of the waist band, and adjustable belt in the back. These are great pants!
However I found the leather suspenders to be significantly too large. The suspenders are adjustable over a range of lengths, but even when adjusted to their shortest setting they were far too loose, with a great deal of slack. A man would have to be quite robust to wear the suspenders within the range of adjustment they offer. A few minutes with an awl allowed me to create an additional adjustment hole for the stud so the suspenders now fit properly. This is not a major issue to me, but surprising for a garment which is otherwise very high quality and frankly not inexpensive.
If the suspender size adjustment had been within range I would have rated this combination 5 stars."
Review 8 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 13, 2013
By: bevodenton
from Wimberley, Texas
"Great product...I will enjoy wearing these pants...esp the suspender buttons that will allow me to wear all my braces again/"
Review 9 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miners Pants,
May 25, 2012
By: AJIII
from Evergreen, Colorado
"This is my favorite Orvis pant! Love them! They fit perfectly. I would buy more of these pants, but it appears you will not be offering any more in my size."
Review 10 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine but just not me!,
May 10, 2012
By: JimTheRed
from Colchester UK
"As usual from Orvis, superb quality but they simply didn't suit me. As I've got older my belly has got bigger than my backside and, unfortunately, the cut of these trousers accentuated this. Were I still as svelte as I once was they would have been fine!"
Review 11 for Hemp/Cotton-Canvas Miner's Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Miners pants,
March 26, 2012
By: Parkerman
from San Antonio
"I ordered both the pants and the leather suspenders.Pants are made too short in the stride.Pant waist is under my hipbone,very uncomfortable with or without suspenders.I will never wear these.
May fit a women who likes hip huggers!! Bill
"