Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Metal Dog Barrier

Keep your dog safely in the cargo area of your station wagon or SUV. This tubular metal barrier uses a pressure-mount system to stay firmly in place—eliminating annoying rattling. Features three rows of protection with steel-plated “trombone bars,” which extend horizontally to fill in the spaces on either side of the main barrier. A split extension projects downward to block the space between the seats. Electro-coat finish adds durability. In black. Extends from 30½" to 51"H; 38½" to 66"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Dog Barrier
Review 1 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mixed Feelings--install carefully,
June 7, 2013
By: Inlovewithlabs
"Product looks great, but the thumb screws are impossible to use effectively. They require a talented contortion finger artist to get them to work properly. Go to the hardware store and replace them with more appropriate wingnuts/screws. I don't think that I should have to do that, however, with a new purchase. In addition, my medium size lab figured out how to work her way through the bars because the screws did not stay tight. The "feet" are very hard to manipulate into place. There was some damage to my interior where the pressure bars met the ceiling. When it's all said and done, I wish this barrier was easier to install and perform properly--I love the esthetics of the product and the design."
Review 2 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Close to perfect dog barrier,
February 5, 2013
By: drm326
from Chicago IL
"Looked better than other similar products on line, when the product arrived I was not disappointed! Solid construction, hightly adjustibility (actually fits in my Subaru wagon upside down better than right side up), no rattles and looks good too. The one thing that could be better is the thumbscrew bolts used to tighten the adjustible legs... there is no way anyone with anything short of bionic fingers could get the thumbscrews tight enough to secure the adjustable legs from sliding. As a result the barrier has a tendancy to work loose when bumped. Easily fixed though... I went to the hardware store and purchased a couple 6mm set screws to replace the thumb screws it came with. Using an allen wrench I can easily tighten the set screws enough to secure the adjustable legs. Keeping the allen wrench handy in the car makes for easy removal, reinstallation and adjustment. I'd suggest the manufacturer upgrade the thumb screw assemblies to something more securable by hand to take this product from good to excellent!"
Review 3 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works...,
January 30, 2013
By: ericx
"It's nice and light. Handsome. Adjusts to fit pretty easily. However, it is fixed into place by pressing between the ceiling and the floor. One first extends the legs and tightens thumbscrews to hold the legs at length. Then one turns a threaded fitting at the bottom to really apply enough pressure to keep it in place. The problem is: the thumbscrews don't hold. A few bumps in the road and the legs start to collapse and the whole thing falls down. The thumbscrews have a plastic knob molded over a steel bolt. When you attempt to put enough torque on the thumbscrews to hold, the plastic knob rounds off against the steel and simply spins. Go to your hardware store and buy 2 metric bolts with the same thread count and throw away the thumbscrews. Other reviewers here have suggested using zip ties to their head rests."
Review 4 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what we needed,
January 9, 2013
By: linsaldana
from Columbis, SC
"We took our time looking for a good dog barrier for our SUV. This is exactly what we were looking for! It was easy to install and in addition to working great it also looks good. It keeps our 70 pound boxer happily behind the seat and he can no longer use the top of the back seats for his head rest! Thank you for an excellent product!"
Review 5 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits a saloon car as well,
December 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Florida
"Bought this for a 98 Deville (not an SUV), and use bungee cords around the front headrests to hold it in place. The slider horizontal bars slide out and fit well."
Review 6 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Barrier I've owned,
December 19, 2012
By: Fada
from Miami, FL
"This barrier is sturdy, adjustable, and best of all, does not rattle or loosen over time. One of my dogs has been able to get around or through every other barrier I've bought, even a very expensive model made by Volvo for their wagons, but this one stops her cold."
Review 7 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Metal dog barrier,
December 15, 2012
By: JustinS
from Chicago, IL
"All in all the barrier is a great product the only thing I would change is the handles that you tighten to adjust the suction rods from the floor of the vehicle to the roof of the vehicle slip and you don't get a good tight fit so I attached a bungie cord to each of the head rest to secure a tighter fit."
Review 8 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Buy,
September 3, 2012
By: Roadrnr821
from Avon, OH
"What a great product--minimal assembly, fair price, and it really does the job! I have a rambunctious golden retriever who pushed against the bars, tried to bite them, and even rubbed over them. Although the pressure rods from floor to ceiling were not always tight due to her activity, it still held her behind the front seats and she had enough contact with us to get a scartch or two behind her ears--just enough to keep her happy. I did also put a bungee cord around the unit and my headrests to secure even moreso. We are ordering another one for my husband's jeep. This fit my Impala with no problem. Love it!!"
Review 9 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Barricade,
August 20, 2012
By: bgcm3
from TEXAS
"Only complaint is the possibility of the pups getting through the top or bottom (depending on orientation of barricade). Other than that, no changes would be suggested for the design"
Review 10 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
life saver,
August 13, 2012
By: hiddenhill
"My chocolate lab puppy hated to be left home alone, so I would bring him along with me in a crate, which I installed in the back of my Honda SUV. Then that just didn't work out any more because he got way too big, and I didn't know what to do. Letting him roam around the car just wasn't safe. He would try to crawl into my lap, and stop at nothing. He is almost 60 lbs., and even a "seatbelt" wouldn't have worked.
I am 74 years old, a widow, and this gate was a cinch to install. Now we're both happy.
"
Review 11 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
August 10, 2012
By: AnneLG
"I have had many dog gates over the years and they never fit right and constantly rattled. When I got a new SUV I decided to try the Orvis dog gate. It installed easily, ft the car perfectly and best of all is silent! It is also quite attractive. I highly recommend it."
Review 12 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
June 29, 2012
By: alsatian
from NY
"The only thing I would change with this product would be a way to lock the sliding side bars in place for the escape artist dogs. All in all a good divider."
Review 13 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well with 1 Problem,
May 24, 2012
By: HDSN
from OK
"The rubber feet that helps hold the barrier is place leaves black marks on upholstery. The marks can be removed. I will use the barrier but will wrap the rubber feet in plastic wrap. This flaw should be corrected."
Review 14 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Car Barrier,
April 24, 2012
By: lll64
from Jacksonville, FL
"Relatively easy installation.
It is not the tightest fit, but seems to do the job at this point to keep my yellow lab out of my lap.
"
Review 15 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the trick,
March 26, 2012
By: ohcharlie
from jamestown, ri
"easy to install. chrome pieces gives it some style. adjusts to a perfect fit."
Review 16 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
March 15, 2012
By: kashauli
from Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a very anxious pit bull who refused to sit in the back seat on car rides. No matter what part of the car I would part him in (I have a Hummer); he would make his way into my LAP. Driving with a 45/50lb anxious pitbull in your lap is not the safest and I tried everything from "doggie seatbelts" to other cargo nets/etc.
This product keeps him safely and securely in the back. Thank you!"
Review 17 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
February 9, 2012
By: GSPfan
from Albany, CA
"We tried one other car barrier for dogs (purchased from a local store, not Orvis), but it was impossible to install and had multiple jagged metal seams that ripped our skin as we wrestled with it--returned it immediately. This one from Orvis was such a relief--super easy to install, very clever design that adjusts really easily to fit our wagon. We had our pup in a crate in the back of the wagon previously, but visibility out the rear window was a problem, and this solves that issue beautifully."
Review 18 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy Install,
February 2, 2012
By: Anonymous
"My wife loves this as it is easy to install and it keeps her big yellow Labrador out of her lap!"
Review 19 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No squeaks!!!,
January 24, 2012
By: Javagal
"I've had several other of these types of dog barriers for my car and they've all squeaked and rattled. Not this one! It's great. Follow the directions to get it in properly and you'll love it."
Review 20 for Metal Dog Barrier
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Movable side bars,
January 2, 2012
By: WeimVet
from Unionville, PA
"While easy to size into place, the side bars do not lock in. If you have a intrepid dog trying to move from back to front, one push of the head from side to side, and you have a dog in the back seat. Trust me. Good product, but only for the well behaved pooch that doesn't test their boundaries."