Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed

This Orvis-exclusive design redefines comfort for your dog. Crafted with tufted Berber™ fleece on top and microfiber on the bottom, this revolutionary bed features spun-polyester-filled chambered liners inside, which provide a plush sleeping surface that won't shift or clump as your dog settles in. The cover incorporates zippers on both ends, making reassembling the bed after washing fast and easy. Ideal anywhere in the home, it's also a great choice for a vehicle bed. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
29 of 39(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Review 1 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Purchase Ever,
October 22, 2013
By: Gailplatides
"This bed has very little filling. I requested they send me extra fill free of charge but they refused. I returned the bed. I have purchased 3 other dog beds from Orvis. They lost a customer now."
Review 2 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a hit!,
April 9, 2013
By: NobleLab
from Naples FL
"Replaced an Orvis Nest that has been used for YEARS. This Lab loves to stretch out; others were nesters.
She loves it!"
Review 3 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not worth the price,
March 15, 2013
By: Sodapopbed
from Ft Worth, TX
"I have bought an Orvis dog bed before and spent well over $150 for it. I was hesitant to give Orvis a second chance, but I saw this bed on sale and bought two for my boxers. These beds are beautiful to look at, cushy, and my dogs do like them. The problem is the fuzzy top - With even mild use it sheds, and I am already seeing a hole peek through here and there. This was the same problem I had last time. These will not likely last long and I think I've reached my fill of "so so" dog beds at the cost of a luxury bed. :("
Review 4 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Everyday Dog Bed,
January 23, 2013
By: DuckyBob
from North Texas
"One of the best all around dog begs there is. Use a small one inside the dog crate for long trips. My dogs like them whether the sleep curled up in a ball or completely laid out fully extended. Keeps its shape well. The next best bed to have for your dog(s) next to the memory foam."
Review 5 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very very poor product,
December 12, 2012
By: Mogg
from Cheshire
"We are now on the second futon the first one fell apart holes started to appear this was replaced the second after less than six months basically going bald, I phoned customer service and was disgusted when asked how long you expect it to last."
Review 6 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big mistake,
November 28, 2012
By: Parismylove
"We didn't think our greyhounds were big "diggers" before, and at first they seemed to be fine with these beds but they have started digging at them constantly. Due to the construction of the bed they cannot shift the filling, so one dog pawed so vigorously he damaged my carpet. Now they've gotten to the point of refusing to lay down on them. Also, the berber top is not good quality. The berber was shedding even after several launderings and I had berber tufts all over my house - and this was before the digging started. I really wanted the berber option because one of my hounds licks her bedcover and she won't lick berber. I'm looking for other options."
Review 7 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sheds!,
November 24, 2012
By: WildGSPs
"We purchased this bed to keep in the back of our wagon. We have washed it several times and it continues to shed. We do have a dog that digs and spins to get comfortable but expected more. The stuffing is self contained by the fabric is cheap. We tore it when trying to put the bed together after washing. We have purchased a lot of orvis dog products and this is definitely not our favorite."
Review 8 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
good concept but needs improvement,
September 2, 2012
By: gspdog
from Austin, TX
"Bought this for my 37 lb GSP for a crate bed in chocolate. Unfortunately there are some design/quality flaws which need to be improved upon. First, the material which the liner/tubes are made from is incredibly flimsy. Two of them have big rips just from trying to re-insert them into the cover. We wash the dog bed every other week so this is a major pain when fluff spills out everywhere. I've tried sewing it myself with a needle and thread but it doesn't hold because of the poor quality of liner material. Also, the liner/tubes are several inches longer than the actual bed which is odd and requires bunching up the fabric at the end near the zipper. Very strange. The last thing is the berber fabric makes a big mess. My does doesn't chew but she does 'dig' just before settling into the perfect spot to sleep. There were bald patches on the berber side the first month after having it. If Orvis would fix the liner problems and offer this in a tough chew fabric it would be a great bed. The channel design is a good idea to keep the fluff from clumping in one corner like the big pillow beds. Overall I'm disappointed I spent so much on a bed that has not lived up the quality I expect from Orvis. Our previous beds have all been great but this one is going in the trash. I would return it to the local store where I purchased it six months ago but I threw out the receipt assuming it would hold up as well as our other Orvis beds."
Review 9 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
stained floor,
August 16, 2012
By: stella22
"I got this bed in red and wanted to love it but it stained my kitchen floor and now I can't get the stain up. It also seems to flatten quickly. I have a dog elbow dyspepsia and this is not the best bed for him."
Review 10 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very Dissatisfied,
August 15, 2012
By: TP67
from Virginia
"I purchased this bed some time ago and my dog loves it. However, it is a real pain to wash and reassemble. When I purchased it, I did not realize there were four separate liners inside and believe me, they are almost impossible to put back in. I washed it again this morning and while trying to put the liners back in, one of them ripped and now I will need to purchase a new bed before I have to wash it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lofty & Sturdy Bed,
July 31, 2012
By: Guest8730
from Virginia
"I first got this bed when my doodle was a puppy and it has proven to hold up pretty well to his destructive puppy behaviors. Now a year later I'm ordering a replacement. Overall a great bed.
Pros: Sturdy and well made. Competitive price given the size and quality. The stuffing stays put while still being nice & comfy. Easy to disassemble and reassemble for washing (the zippers on both sides are genius).
Cons: May not be the best choice for a puppy...not waterproof. When my puppy peed on it, the urine went straight through to the stuffing, which became very smelly. Had to replace the stuffing (but the fabrics all washed well). Also, when going through his chewing phase he pulled off and ate some of the fleece as well as ate into the other side (I simply sewed it up afterwards). Not able to monogram - bummer.
Now that he's a year and a half (and done destroying everything) I'm confident this bed will hold up well. I've looked into many other beds and haven't been impressed. I know i can trust the Orvis quality."
Review 12 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed,
July 7, 2012
By: 2doglover
"Design fixes that low spot in the middle of a bed that our two dogs sleep on."
Review 13 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality,
June 4, 2012
By: pafk
from TX
"This dog bed is poorly made & worst of all it is very tedious to reassemble after washing - the liners are difficult to get back in the chambers- it is a 2-person job."
Review 14 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bed,
May 21, 2012
By: Pipershuman
from snowmass, co
"My toller seems to love this bed. It works perfectly as a crate liner or in the back of the car. The cover comes off easily to wash and she seems to like both sides of the bed."
Review 15 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality,
May 14, 2012
By: RozMom
from Chicago
"I got this for my very chew-obsessed Chihuahua. I needed something to withstand 5 lbs of cuddly, chewing power, and this bed did the trick! My dog destroyed her cheap bed because she "loved" it too much, but this bed is very durable is heavy enough she can't exercise her dominance over it. She likes to lay in this bed, but I think if it had sides to snuggle, she would be more interested in sleeping there at night, that's why I gave this 4 stars. Otherwise the quality and comfort (as I imagine) are fantastic; I wish it came in human size!"
Review 16 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 22, 2012
By: Lovetoshop2
from Smyrna, Ga
"We purchased the large for our Great Pyrenees mix, thought he deserved it after knee surgery. We bought the large b/c it fit in his crate. Admittedly he's only been on it a few times but the moments he has been on it lhe seems to be in heaven! The cushioning doesn't fall flat. Amazing considering he's 95lbs. Down the road we will probably purchase the extra large for him to stretch out on and the large will go to his little brother. Little brother has tried to get on it three times :)"
Review 17 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed,
April 13, 2012
By: houndgirl
from surrey UK
"Bought the first bed as it matched our bedroom decor perfectly. Love the way that the stuffing stays put. Love the fluffy side for winter and the blue side for summer. Love the way it washes a dream. Loved it so much I have bought another 5 (we have a large pack of hounds!) and will be back to buy 2 more soon. Just the best bed we have ever had and believe me, we have had a lot"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice bed but the fleece sheds,
April 6, 2012
By: Cals
"The bed seems to be pretty comfy since our dog enjoys it. However I do not enjoy picking up after the shedding fleece. We thought this problem would go away over time or after a wash or two- but it has not. I would advise against this bed, unless you don't mind finding little fleece balls on your dog and in your house."
Review 19 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
March 21, 2012
By: INOD
from Bean Blossom, IN
"We have purchased several Orvis dog beds and decided to try the futon for our 9-yr-old lab. The design and color are as depicted online. Apparently it's also very comfortable: my old lab loves it and always chooses it from his several options. The only problem is that his sister likes it also; we will need to get her one for her birthday."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Full-Sized Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted with purchase!,
March 15, 2012
By: Annji
from Hertfordshire
"Bought the medium size futon for my 18 month cocker spaniel. She loves it as it enables her to lie out at her full length, which she loves, and there's room to spare! Lovely quality and colour (after much deliberation I went for the natural corn collour which is a nice gold shade underneath, with a neutral cream fleece top - it looks really nice and unobtrusive in our sitting room). She loves the warm fleece and even chooses it as an alternative to sitting on the sofa! Totally delighted with Orvis as usual."