Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Fly Line

An entry-level line designed to aid the inexperienced caster. This weight-forward floating line is built a half-size heavy to help load the rod. Compact head helps to create positive leader turnover to deliver the fly to the intended target. New sleek and durable welded loop makes leader attachment quick and easy while holding up to repeated use. Helps to transfer energy more efficiently to the leader allowing better turnover. Built with Integrated Slickness—a patented additive that produces high line slickness for longer casts and reduced friction. Keeps lines cleaner longer to help with floatation and overall performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
51 of 54(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Fly Line
Review 1 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good deal,
July 24, 2015
By: arfarf
from Springfield, OR
"I bought this and a reel at the same time. Orvis spooled on some backing for free."
Review 2 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUY THIS LINE,
July 16, 2015
By: stovetop36
from Fort Worth, TX
"I have bought lines from other companies that have a scientific approach selling to anglers and they don't come close to these. I love the loop connection and it is much smaller, smoother and stronger than I expected. I also like the shorter shooting head. I rarely cast more that 40' in my fishing so being able to get the line to perform at these distances is great. If you really want great distances you may want another line but, for normal fishing conditions this is prefect. I also really like the half line size addition. I find so many 5wt rods to really be far to stiff for average casts. So that little extra weight turned my stick fast rod into a nice casting machine."
Review 3 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems very good,
July 10, 2015
By: Squinty
from Oregon
"Haven't been on the water yet but it works very well practicing in the back yard. Better than fly line I've purchased before."
Review 4 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fly line,
July 7, 2015
By: Joshrx2010
from Alabama
"Good line for the money. Smooth and clean casting."
Review 5 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one for the wife!!,
June 16, 2015
By: lewisia
from dorset
"I was using an similar orvis line and the wife loved it ,so I was talked into buying one for her or loose mine !! she used it today .what can I say?3rd cast and 9 tenths of the line was placed on the water in a dead straight line . 2 fish in 2hours .great line for anyone!!!!"
Review 6 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyline,
June 5, 2015
By: TwoKatz
from Calgary
"Started to use this fly line.. It handles very nice.. Slides through your finger and you have nice control of the line. I would definitely buy some more.."
Review 7 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
June 5, 2015
By: Troutiowa
from Iowa
"So far I am impressed with this fly line. I plan on putting it through the test this summer."
Review 8 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Line,
May 27, 2015
By: JustinN
from Republic, MO
"This came on my Clearwater Outfit and I really like it. The line is very bright and easy to see, very soft and flexible, and casts great. It floats well on the water and moves around very well. I would definitely look into replacing my line with more of the same thing once I wear it out."
Review 9 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's ALIVE again!,
May 12, 2015
By: AltamontSam
from Albany, NY
"This line brought a very old #7 rod back to life. The slight additional weight was the trick, where a #8 was too much!
Just what the doctor ordered."
Review 10 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Line,
May 5, 2015
By: DakotaB
"Nice line for the price. Easy to shoot. Holding up well so far even though it took a beating on the rocks."
Review 11 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for beginners,
April 24, 2015
By: stovetop36
from Fort Worth, TX
"They market this line for beginners because it is a little over weighted but, I think that sells this line short. The first GREAT thing I noticed about it is how supple it is. I have had lines by other companies and they just seem heavy and stiff. This line really falls limp and moves the the guides easy. The over weight nature of this line attracted because my 5wt rod really seemed more a 5/6 wt and quite stiff. That little extra of this line gives it a nice balance. The welded loop is great, makes things so much neater and smoother. Lastly the price! I usually try and stick to this price point for lines and this is the best one yet. No compromise here."
Review 12 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slick Fly Line.,
April 23, 2015
By: AryDurr
from Mississauga, ON
"Amazing weight forward line with great turn over on the selected flies."
Review 13 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice and slippery,
April 13, 2015
By: Dr907
"I like this line. it feeds through the guides really smooth."
Review 14 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
April 8, 2015
By: Lonespruce1
from Fairfield, Mt
"This is a great fly line for the entry level fly fisher. It helps the novice overcome basic problems, thus giving more confidence later."
Review 15 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid,
January 1, 2015
By: Edd42
"Wonderful, I'm Just getting into fly fishing for the first time and I ordered the Clearwater combo on a friends advice, without knowing a thing about casting I opened it and went straight to the yard in the middle of winter and was casting semi effective in no time, with a little help from my friend. When I ordered the combo I made a mistake on my shipping address when I entered it online and one quick call and they fixed it in seconds. Wonderful customer service. anxious for the spring. The Fly Line seems to do very well."
Review 16 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Bass Line,
December 24, 2014
By: dstriplett
"This came installed on my Clearwater 8 wt 10' outfit, along with the Clearwater IV LA reel. It has the weight and authority to handle large bass bugs and streamers well even in windy conditions. Can also handle smaller flies with a modicum of delicacy. Excellent mid-level line that I will happily use. Interested to try the bass bug line but until then I am very satisfied with the performance of this line. MInimal coil."
Review 17 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater fly line,
December 1, 2014
By: Grandpa5
from Ohio
"I have used the Clearwater fly line on two occasions and have been completely satisfied with its performance on the water."
Review 18 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watch it fly,
November 27, 2014
By: scunnercampbell
from ayrshire
"I bought this line after recommendation from a friend, and caught three fish on my first outing, the line is straight and true and floats high on the water surface, no memory coils a truly slick line, very easily cast to intending trout this line will appeal to all anglers from novice to pro, comes highly recommended!"
Review 19 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
September 29, 2014
By: Morg1
from Colorado Springs, CO
"While I like the castability and slightly heavier weight of this line it didn't perform well on the water. Even though it is WF4F, after only a few casts it just didn't float well. The tip sank on every cast and made dry fly presentations difficult. Even on calmer water it sinks. I will spend more next time for a better line."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 4, 2014
By: Ruperttttt
"Got this to replace line that came on an encounter outfit. Immediately noticed how much easier it was to load the rod and shoot line. Love it so far"