Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Fly Line

An entry-level line designed to aid the inexperienced caster. This weight-forward floating line is built a half-size heavy to help load the rod. Compact head helps to create positive leader turnover to deliver the fly to the intended target. New sleek and durable welded loop makes leader attachment quick and easy while holding up to repeated use. Helps to transfer energy more efficiently to the leader allowing better turnover. Built with Integrated Slickness—a patented additive that produces high line slickness for longer casts and reduced friction. Keeps lines cleaner longer to help with floatation and overall performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 of 32(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Fly Line
Review 1 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Line,
July 4, 2014
By: PolskaFisher
from New York
"Good fly line. I have this line on a Clearwater reel. No complaints with it. If you want a quality line & don't want to spend a lot of money, this is it. It casts well & feels good in the hand. Very pleased with this line so far."
Review 2 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 27, 2014
By: thetreader
"Excellent line! Casts very well - lies down smoothly."
Review 3 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent line,
May 27, 2014
By: Nicholas757
from Suffolk, VA
"When I first used this line I was instantly impressed with the ease that it slides through the guides. This line creates minimal friction against all contact surfaces resulting in a greatly improved cast distance. The welded loop in the end makes attaching a leader a breeze and the WF makes for an easy and accurate cast. You really couldn't ask for any more in such a reasonably priced line."
Review 4 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality product,
May 21, 2014
By: iliniwek54
"The Clearwater fly line was as expected from online information. I am very satisfied."
Review 5 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Clearwater Line Coating Cracks,
May 10, 2014
By: hojodo
from Cincinnati, OH
"I bought a 8 wt clearwater outfit in December and practiced doublehauling before fishing. Unfortunately, the coating cracked need the loop. The store told be to coat it with rubber glue which I did to repair it. While the line casts well, I would never recommend this line because it cracked and I doubt if it will last long."
Review 6 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Longevity,
April 16, 2014
By: tolotom
from Stanley, Idaho
"This Clearwater Lie holds up real well for folks starting out in the FlyCasting World...Its priced right to attract people into getting started W/o breaking a budget line"
Review 7 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
super value,
April 2, 2014
By: chromeraab
from Sorel-Tracy Qc.
"I just reeled on this line on my new spare spool encounter 4 , nice taper transitions, smoothness,I have not shot it yet, thus rating 4.. feels like my Hydros (my best line ever) I re-review after trial."
Review 8 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slick,
April 1, 2014
By: DW4weight
"Slick,smooth casting.Floats well.Does turnover good on short casts."
Review 9 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Disciple of FlyFishing,
February 26, 2014
By: LAFlyFisher97
from DeRidder, LA
"Since 1997 when I started in Seminary in Kansas learning to flyfish at the Orvis store in Olathe became my mediation time away from book learning and it continued to be so throughout my 30 yrs. of ministry and now being in my retirement years it still is. My Orvis rod (Rocky-Mountain 4wt -Silver Label) that I bought in 1997 is still the only rod I have & use. The new 'Clearwater Fly-Line' works so well with this old rod that I wouldn't have any other...I have both the 3wt & 4wt lines and have had nothing but great results casting any type fly in both cold or hot weather for all types of fish here in Louisiana... Thank you Orvis for making an affordable fly-line that works superbly both in casting and feel.
I strongly recommend this fly-line for both the novice or the experienced fly-fisherman...you won't be disappointed.
"
Review 10 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
February 4, 2014
By: LVEmkeWisc
"Line has great feel and is very smooth. No problems at all."
Review 11 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for price,
January 31, 2014
By: Indybio72
"I purchased a very nice 3wt outfit but the line that came with it was quite lacking. I didn't want to spend a lot as I don't plan on using a 3wt an awful lot other than for bluegill. The clearwater looked like a good option. I was very impressed when I received the line. Great quality, good slickness, and I love the loop. This line has little memory which is nice. If you have an outfit that you don't use all the time but still want a quality line without breaking the bank, this is a great choice"
Review 12 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Fly Line,
November 13, 2013
By: JosephEarl
from Henderson, TN
"Casts well and has a good feel in the finger tips. I went with the yellow color and it is bright and easy to see. I am very please with it."
Review 13 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Floating Line,
October 7, 2013
By: bassflyfishing
"The Clearwater floating fly line is a great buy! One great feature of this line is its slickness. I normally use my fly rod to catch bass and panfish, and this line does its job."
Review 14 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line,
September 7, 2013
By: sbrouwers
"My friend was given a used 5wt rod and reel that needed new line. He is just getting into Fly fishing so I ordered him the Clearwater line. I was impressed at how this cheaper line preformed. Casts very easy, floats well, and seems to be a good beginner line (if there really is such a thing as a beginner)"
Review 15 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bang for buck,
July 14, 2013
By: mjag
from Utah
"This line is great. Pretty inexpensive, but you don't have to compromise on quality. Nice color. Shoots far. Everything that I need to catch some nice trout."
Review 16 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater fly line 3 wt,
July 12, 2013
By: sargentransdale
from farm pond
"Fished with clearwater line and loved it. Great for blue gill. had a ball. Will buy more..."
Review 17 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Casting Line,
July 11, 2013
By: oceanographer
from Stockholm, Sweden
"I am new to fly fishing and appreciate this easy casting affordable line. The price of exotic line is scary. This line will serve my purpose for a long time to come ... getting out there where the fish are."
Review 18 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I got this line to put on my BBS II reel and loved it. At first, I just settled on this line, but when I got it, I was extremely happy with my choice. This line cast great at any distance and turns of flies with the utmost delicacy. Like any other line, it needs to be cleaned regularly, but all-in-all, another great product from Orvis. Looks great with a BBS reel, too. The only thing I have a problem with is the bright yellow color. For spooky trout in the Smokies and on heavily fished Tennessee tailraces, not the best color. Still great line, though."
Review 19 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value and Orvis quality,
May 22, 2013
By: Ghost44
from Palos Heights, IL.
"I used the 3wt for panfish and it seems to have a very slick coating which keeps the line clean and helps me cast further. Matched with a 3wt braided leader the combination is outstanding. I can lay a fly down on the water with almost no ripple."
Review 20 for Clearwater Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line!!!!,
April 23, 2013
By: Kayakfisher
from Easley, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Got this line for my back up rod and it casts better than my high dollar line! Floats well."