Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Battenkill® Travel Kit

We've updated our popular travel kit with a signature Orvis plaid lining and double-knotted zip pulls, which are guaranteed to never fall off. It's also been resized to make it perfectly packable. As with the original, this canvas and leather travel kit features a full-length mouth, which opens for ready access to his shaver and packed toiletries. Durable canvas and leather construction. Canvas and leather travel kit from our Battenkill Collection in green/brown. 5½"H x 11"L x 7"D. Spot clean. Imported
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Review 1 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was Looking For,
November 14, 2014
By: Fosbee
from Buffalo, NY
"After years of settling for man made travel kits I finally took the plunge and treated myself to this leather one. Great looking, large enough to carrying all my bath needs, soft, and flexible. Looks like it's built to last a life time."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 13, 2014
By: CathM
"I purchased the Battenkill luggage set for a graduation gift for college bound. He loved it, very cool! I also had set monogrammed. A lifetime gift!"
Review 3 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 13, 2014
By: Sherry2246
"Travel kit is a great gift for any man. Gave this to my nephew and the one I gave his father over 20 years ago still looks as good as this new one. Also wonderful that it can be personalized with a monogram."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Battenkill Travel Kit,
January 18, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"A perfect complement to my other Battenkill luggage pieces; this kit has accompanied me on many trips. I can often pack for long weekends with just a compact fly rod, a carry-on duffle bag and this kit. Well made, strong, good looking and easy to keep clean. The substantial brass zipper is tight at first, but loosens with use and has not been an issue. I have given several to family as well-received gifts."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zipper help!,
January 16, 2014
By: Welsie
from Ruxton, MD
"It is a bit longer than most toiletry bags which was a plus. The plaid interior should be shown better on the website, attractive and nice. Only down side is the zipper gets stuck on the end of the piping when trying to open it. I'm hoping with time it softens and it's an issue."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift in many ways,
January 15, 2014
By: Elizabethg
"This travel kit arrived quickly, was packaged well and arrived in perfect shape. Very handsome with study leather edges and canvas body. The brass tag for initials finished off this first class gift."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 2, 2014
By: Lestrade
from Boring, Oregon
"The shaving kit bag is very rugged and will last for years. Great service from the Orgis staff! Thank you!"
Review 8 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 26, 2013
By: SLNR
"Quality product - very masculine. Arrived as expected. Color is rich and quality of leather is good. Expect this to be a forever shower/shaving kit for my sons and husband. (bought 3!)"
Review 9 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
would not recommend,
December 20, 2013
By: kathpj
from hampton roads VA
"This is a very sturdy toiletry kit but the zipper closure is clumsy and very hard to close"
Review 10 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not sure,
December 17, 2013
By: MiniG
from CT
"The zipper seems a bit hard to use. Not sure if hubby will like it."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Badly Done, Off-Center Monogramming,
December 17, 2013
By: Julia938742
"The bag itself seems fine (I bought this as a gift that I haven't yet given), but the monogramming was very poorly done. The initials engraved on the metal plate are off-center on the plate, and the plate itself was placed off center on the bag.
A big reason why I chose this was that it could be monogrammed, but I now regret it. If you are not getting monogramming it is probably find."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice bag,
December 7, 2013
By: Maryleonilda
"Got this for my son and had it engraved with his initials. Very roomy and sturdy. Makes a nice gift for any age man. Small but expands and can hold quite a bit."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel kit,
December 30, 2012
By: FrankG
from Midwest, USA
"Bought the travel kit knowing I'd be traveling out of town a few times in the near future. Great kit. Lots of room for all the essentials. Fit nicely in the suitcase. Wipe it down with a wet cloth to clean it if necessary. If you need to replace that old travel kit, recommend looking at this one. Good deal for the money."
Review 14 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is going to be impressed!,
December 15, 2012
By: Gmama7
from Jackson, TN
"It is a Christmas present, and Christmas is not here yet. I liked the item just seeing it in your catalog, but now that it has been receved, I know he will be happy. There is no problem with the item ordered, but there is a problem to email someone back about an item like this ----- he asked today what was the email from Orvis all about!! We share the same computer as do many people.
No, we do not have the same email address, but I was showing him something our son had sent to me, and there was Orvis listed right under that email I wanted him to see ---- Now that is not a good policy --- ordering when I did right before Christmas, and Christmas is a week away --- don't you think this review would have been better after Christmas? --- all you have to do is provide a check place if it is a Christmas present, then do not send this out until afterwards ---- a simple check on your ordering form would not let this happen ----- you employees taking orders could have this as one of their questions --- "Is this a Christmas present?
"
Review 15 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice, but defective,
December 15, 2012
By: eepchicago
from Chicago, IL
"This is a really good looking Dopp kit; ordered it for my older son. Unfortunately, when I pulled the tabs at each end of the zipper (they were stuck to the bottom of the bag), the stain on the leather came off! Called customer service to tell them I was sending it back, but did not feel I should have to pay for the return. They were very nice and accommodating and said they would waiver the return fee."
Review 16 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Liked the old one better.,
January 26, 2012
By: Jackie1234
"Ordered many of these for all the men in the family - fathers & sons.
My husband's has the Orvis stamped
bottom and an engraved brass plate.
Two/three years ago attempted to order 5,
and no engraving/embossing was available, when received
they were horribly made - returned!
Bought one at Orvis store - no embossing. bought anyway. Last
year ordered 7 since embossing
was back. Yea! ok. This year -
ordered gift for a young friend -
all was changed but no Orvis
embossing on bottom layer; larger,
and no monogramming available
at all. Kept it anyway, but not
happy with it. Sorry. The old ones
are better - smaller - maybe fatter
and perfect for the school age kid
or college student. There was
always a larger one available too
for "real " travellers, too.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stands the test of time,
January 14, 2012
By: 3333
from PA
"I never write recco's, but after reading the 2 reviews, I had to comment.
I was given this Dopp kit by my parents when I was about 15 years old & now that I'm 39 & this bag is still going strong, I can assure you it sure holds up. Mine has a brass monogram tag on the leather piece & I cherish this bag. It packs well & holds 90% of my stuff. The other 10% is hair pomade & any liquids which I wrap in plastic and pack separately so they don't leak in my bag. I can assure you, this bag is worth every penny, as my brother has replaced 3 leather bags over those years bc he lost his years ago, which he regrets everytime he sees mine.
We also have a few battenkill luggage from back in the day as well, so they will last you many many years & still look great!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shave kit,
December 31, 2011
By: wiseguy69
"I received this as a Christmas gift and couldn't be happier with it. It is perfectly sized; neither too large or small. The wide opening allows for easy opening and closing, and finding things inside is much easier than having to dig around or open a bunch of smaller compartments. The materials used are top notch, and should be very easy to just wipe clean. Overall I am very pleased and would recommend this to anyone looking for a premium shave kit."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Travel Kit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big Disappointment,
December 23, 2011
By: Crista
from Trumbull, CT
"What a disappointment!!! Item looks nothing like the picture. What arrived was this FLAT wrinkled mass of material. Way over-priced!!!
Certainly not what is expected from Orvis. This is a gift which will more than likely be returned after Christmas.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.