Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing

By Tom Rosenbauer - The definitive and comprehensive guide book to fishing small trout streams throughout North America. Tired of the famous and crowded rivers, today's anglers have a greater desire to get close to nature while staying closer to home. The Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing provides all the information for finding and fishing unspoiled gems found everywhere from wilderness areas to suburban backyards. These often overlooked streams are abundant throughout the United States, and range from the Appalachians from Maine to Georgia to northern Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota, the Black Hills of South Dakota, the entire Rocky Mountain region from Montana to northern Arizona, and the Cascade and Sierra Nevada ranges. As more fishing is done close to home, small trout streams, or third-order streams as described by hydrologists, are thirty times as abundant as the bigger, more famous trout streams, and most of them are on public land, making them more accessible. This beautifully illustrated and definitive resource explains the small-stream environment, how to find these streams, how small-stream trout behave, how to read the water, special casts, fly selection, and how to present the fly in all types of small streams. With this stream fly fishing guide book, anglers can find and catch wild trout far off the beaten path. Hardcover 8½" x 11.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Review 1 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
September 24, 2013
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"Loved the book, it's beautiful, and loaded with great information. Read it cover to cover now I will refer back as a reference. I live in CT and mainly fish small streams so this book is invaluable."
Review 2 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Book,
August 8, 2013
By: Argo
from Atlanta, GA
"Yet another fantastic book by Tom Rosenbauer, this book has great advice and beautiful photography that has earned it a permanent place on my coffee table. The chapters are logically organized, starting with how to find small streams and ending with care and ethics for small water areas. The book contains great information on fly selection, approach, and fighting the tireless enemy that is drag. As someone who avidly fishes the small streams in the southern Appalachians, I am glad that Tom took time to outline information relevant to the southern fly fisher, as many other books sadly focus more on northern and western areas. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys fly fishing."
Review 3 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book on Small Streams,
June 14, 2013
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"Tom shares a lot of insight and information on the dynamics of small stream fishing. It reads very easily, and has great pictures and diagrams."
Review 4 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait till spring,
February 7, 2013
By: Red717
from New Brunswick, Canada
"after reading the first page of this book, i cant wait for spring to arrive to visit the streams with my flyrod that normally i would only go to during hunting season."
Review 5 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Stream fly Fishing,
September 25, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Another great book from Orvis. Tom did an excellant job writing this book."
Review 6 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
like it!,
April 15, 2012
By: waterlou
from South Carolina
"we were very pleased with this book. Will order another for my son."
Review 7 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
March 14, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is a fantastic, well-written, very informative book about fishing small streams, which is much harder than most people think it is. Tom makes the information very easy to digest with very little personal bias about how to fish small streams. Excellent read. Pick one up!"
Review 8 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Reading,
February 22, 2012
By: Mukilteo
from Mukilteo, WA
"An excellent book for easy explanation, wonderful pictures, and just the right amount of technical information-- you can get as complex as you want, or just remember the basics. An enjoyable book."
Review 9 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Read, Excellent information,
January 17, 2012
By: Arkauer
from Auburn Hills, MI
"I purchased this book because most of Michigan's rivers are closer to streams then big open rivers. The information Tom provided is worth its weight in gold. This book focuses on many different aspects of stream fishing. Some topics that are covered:effects of climate, terrain, surrounding vegitation, human activity, casting techniques, go to flies, and much more. If you've never picked up one of Tom Rosenbauer's books, your missing out on one of the best fly fishing authors/teachers ever. I could not put this book down. The way he writes gives the reader the impression that he his talking to you face to face. I ended up purchasing "The Orvis Pocket Guide to Nymphing" by Tom Rosenbauer after and was impressed by that read also."
Review 10 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
January 4, 2012
By: Capkirk
from Midland, TX
"Great value and great product. Got this belt as a Christmas present and was thrilled by the quality, and pleased with the price my wife paid."
Review 11 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annual Reading ~ At Least,
September 5, 2011
By: Anonymous
from New Hampshire
"Tom Rosenbauer's - The Orvis Guide To Small Stream Fly Fishing" should be in every fly fisher's library. And, it should be reviewed each year, before the season begins.
I fish in New Hampshire rivers and streams. Even some of our bigger rivers can be viewed as small streams. Break the big water down to smaller sections, and fish the sections as described in Mr. Rosenbauer's book will increase success.
I recently took a trip to a river I fish frequently, and I looked at the water as described in the book. Water that I had, in the past, walked past to get to the "good" pockets were analyzed and fished with great success, and extra reward ~ for having caught and released a trout and a salmon I would have walked past, (or over) before.
I will break this book out every year; to keep the tips fresh."
Review 12 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comprehensive,
September 2, 2011
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
"Go this book today. My first fly fishing trip to Colorado is next week 9/11/11, specifically to fish small streams and smaller lakes. As a consummate reader, you have to read the words the first time, then go back and re-read with illustrations. Fished in Minnesota for the last 2 Summers on different waters, but apparently the same. This book is spot on for developing a personal technique for fly fishing if you want to fish off the well traveled path. Thank you Mr. Rosenbauer."
Review 13 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent resource,
June 15, 2011
By: mysticangler
"Rosenbauers's Small Stream Fly Fishing is motivational for me to go fish the small streams near me. Lots of great how-tos done in a useful and attractive format. Good work!"
Review 14 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huge help,
June 14, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"As someone who enjoys small mountain streams as much as any other type of fly fishing I decided to pick this up. I have done quite a bit of stream fishing and I'm embarrassed to admit I thought I knew quite a bit about it. This book proved me wrong. Tom provided insights I'd never considered and I can report the number of fish I'm hooking has significantly improved after putting to use just some of the knowledge in this book.
For anyone fishing small streams this book is a must read. For those who haven't ventured to a small mountain stream I can't recommend it enough. Spending some time in a remote stream away from the pressure areas most often fished is very rewarding."
Review 15 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small stream,
May 27, 2011
By: stew
"As I prepared for the season I bought this book thinking it would keep me busy until the snow melt. I found it to be very informative and help full. I found lots of tips on things to change and try and could see the things I was doing wrong and right and can now go to the small streams with more confidence and and know how ."
Review 16 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book...Would love Kindle edition,
May 12, 2011
By: Haligator
"I love this book! It has a ton of useful information and is written as if it's being read to you by an old friend. But a Kindle edition would be great. I find the Kindle much easier to read and hold. I have had shoulder and neck surgery. And being able to hold the Kindle with one hand makes it much easier for me and others like me. PLEASE PUT THIS AND ALL YOUR BOOKS OUT FOR KINDLE!!!"
Review 17 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Book for the Novice to the Experienced!,
April 26, 2011
By: TMBarry
from Marlborough, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While I am merely a newbie when it comes to Fly Fishing, I find this book to be an excellent guide and a great addition to my personal library. This book, along with my weekly listening of Tom Rosenbauer Fly Fishing podcast, have provided me with a wealth of information that has served as a great launching point for my new found venture into and my enjoyment of fly fishing.
The text is very easy to read and very informative. Plus as an amateur photographer, I am amazed by the images contained in this book; they are fantastic and provide a great visual aid to the concepts the book portrays."
Review 18 for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Informative,
April 21, 2011
By: RayMissouri
"The book exceeded my expectations by far. The full page pictures are wonderful and Tom's writing style is enjoyable and very informative. I would also add that the information is very practical and addresses all areas of the country. Those of you that are fortunate enough to live in an area where there are many small streams may find the information on searching for new streams especially useful. This book is a great companion to the information in many of the weekly Podcasts. Great work Tom."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Guide to Small Stream Fly Fishing
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1