Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dog Couch Protector

Protects all the vulnerable areas of your furniture. An 8" front flap covers the front while a second flap runs along the back of the protector and tucks under the cushions to prevent shifting. Grippy non-skid material prevents sliding while your pet is on it. Weights in the arm and back flaps keep protector in place when you're seated. Water-resistant membrane. Guaranteed to improve your and your dog's comfort and keep your furniture looking great. Seat depth on all protectors 26". To determine correct sofa size, measure seat width between sofa arms. Polyester. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (463 reviews)
5 stars
287
4 stars
118
3 stars
33
2 stars
12
1 star
13
420 of 463(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Couch Protector
Review 1 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stays put!,
March 31, 2015
By: florida76
from new port richey FL
"at last a protector that is weighted at the bottom on sides and back and stays where you put it. it is a bulky fabric, tho, and is sometimes hard to squeeze it into the back/sides of the cushions. looks great."
Review 2 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Couch Protector,
March 31, 2015
By: Calley
"Although the product looked to be extremely well made, both the sofa and loveseat covers were returned as the color was not at all like the color pictured in the catalogue (looked like brown tweed in the catalogue, was actually a greenish hued tweed). Would buy again if there was a better color selection."
Review 3 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Product,
March 31, 2015
By: ProRef
from Alexandria, VA
"I've tried other dog couch protectors but this is the best one I've purchased. It does everything it says it will do. I purchased two protectors and the backing material definitely keeps them in place whereas in the past all the other protectors would be back on the floor in a matter of minutes, I was continually putting them back on the couch - very frustrating. I've already recommended the Orvis protectors to a couple of friends."
Review 4 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
March 30, 2015
By: LolaLawson57
from Raleigh , NC
"This cover is hard to put on . Once it is on it looks good but it does not stay in place. For the price this is not a good product. It is way over priced . There are also not instructions about how to wash the covers . Would have been better off just buying twin bedspreads"
Review 5 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good But Not Great,
March 30, 2015
By: HoundDad
from New York
"The color (we purchased brown tweed) is much darker than the image on the product page. Since it's only on the couch when we're out, we didn't bother dealing with an exchange, but we were disappointed.
It fits our couch nicely, however, the weighted flaps don't really stay in place. We routinely come home to find that our dog has moved the protector in the course of getting himself comfortable. An arm will be uncovered or the protector will have shifted. Overall, it keeps dog hair off of the couch and protects the fabric from punctures, but it doesn't do everything that Orvis promises."
Review 6 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Couch Protector,
March 25, 2015
By: AlaskaPets
from Anchorage, AK
"This review is for the Brown/Tweed 70" size. This is one of the best couch protectors we have found. Material is sturdy, and has a slight rough look to the texture. We installed it (2 people makes it easier), and it has been 5 days and very little fabric movement with 4 small/medium sized pets. The front edge that rolls over the front of the cushions needs to be about 4-6" wider on the front. Arm protectors have weights to help keep them from shifting. Bit expensive, but a well built product. The anti-skid backing on the material is a great boon to preventing fabric movement. Cannot report on how well it holds up after cleaning. Looks much better on the couch than other print/solid fabric covers we have purchased."
Review 7 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing that compares!,
March 21, 2015
By: BCars
from Carmel, IN
"This sofa cover is fantastic! The fabric choices are attractive and very durable. The flaps underneath really do grip and protect your sofa. No more slipping, it stays in place! Highly recommend it!"
Review 8 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent couch protection,
March 13, 2015
By: Denny99
"We bought 2 of these to protect couches from our beagle - very well finished, attractive, and easy to use, with a very nice surface"
Review 9 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent couch cover,
March 10, 2015
By: KSdogs
from Leawood, KS
"I bought this to protect our leather couch which our dogs love to watch out the window from. The couch measured 69 inches and I purchased the 70 inch couch protector. Fits very well and stays perfectly in place. Even noticed it's water repellant and stain resistant after our 5 yr old niece spilled milk on it. I highly recommend this product!"
Review 10 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 10, 2015
By: Erik03
from Victoria, tx
"Looks great. Protects my couch well. Would buy again"
Review 11 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frustrated by Color,
March 6, 2015
By: LabOwner3
from Southbury, CT
"Having recently moved to a home without a family room, my dogs now expect rights to my beautiful blue living room sofa. I wanted the best in protection for the sofa and so was willing to pay the cost of this one from Orvis - the best I have seen. Everything about it was great: it fit well and the fabric was strong, yet soft. However.....I returned it because the brown tweed made my entire living room look ugly (that's the only word for it). If only this sofa protector had come in a blue tweed I wouldn't have felt the need to return it. I just couldn't live with the brown. If ever I see that Orvis offers a blue tweed, I'll be first in line to purchase it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love/Hate,
March 4, 2015
By: Goldenpup3
from Florida
"Ordered the brown tweed color because another reviewer had mentioned it had unexpected green in it. We needed a bit of green to match our sofa. It is totally brown. I can live with that. There were no installation instructions in the package and it is not obvious how to install. Catalog had a picture which helped a little, but I am still not sure I have it on the sofa correctly. If I do, it is a terrible fit for our sofa style and certainly does not stay on well. One or two jumps on the sofa by our Golden Retriever has it all jumbled up and in need of re-tucking. On the plus side, the fabric and heavy-duty construction are outstanding! I would be totally happy with the product if it matched our sofa (not downgrading because of that...I knew I was taking a chance when I ordered) and if it did not need to be repositioned 5 or 6 times a day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the couch protector.,
March 3, 2015
By: JTinOhio
"I am very happy with the dog couch protector and my two dogs like it too. The quality is good, it looks nice, and it protects the loveseat from the dirt and hair from the dogs. I would buy it again."
Review 14 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great couch cover,
February 26, 2015
By: HalM
from Knoxville, TN
"We bought a new leather couch and we wanted to protect it from our two Labs claws. It doesn't fit and stay in place as well as we had hoped, but it does protect the couch. Overall, we are happy with it."
Review 15 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
February 26, 2015
By: VDONNDEL
from Dearborn, MI
"We bought this for our new sofa because our senior beagle peed on our old sofa and we want to protect the new one; we have used this cover for about six months.
While the product has delivered on its promise to protect the sofa from the dog's bodily fluids, I am disappointed because
(1) the cover does not stay in place, making it uncomfortable to sit on the sofa unless tucked back in on a daily basis
(2) tucking it in so it lays neatly is not an easy feat
(3) laundering is difficult in our 18-year-old top-load washing machine
(4) the cover is line dry only
(5) the freshly-washed cover is heavy & unwieldy
(6) the sofa is not protected for a minimum of 24 hours as the cover is washed and hangs to dry
In retrospect, I wish I had opted for two (or maybe four) of either the Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet, the Reversible Dog Blanket, or Reversible Dog-Proof 3/4 Bed Cover. It would seem they would have been a better match for me. I would drape one cover over the back of the sofa, and the other cover across the seating surface, and keep an extra pair on hand to cover the sofa while laundering the soiled pair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchase It,
February 26, 2015
By: MePoochie
from Jackson, MI
"I measured and fits perfectly. Heavy duty. Appealing to the eye. Dog still loves it. I'd recommend immediate purchase."
Review 17 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Couch cover,
February 26, 2015
By: Bobster123
"I like the quality, color, etc. but it still slides around and has no straps to fasten it under the back cushion."
Review 18 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury and comfort combined,
February 21, 2015
By: Rosierocket5mt
from South Hams Devon
"We wanted covers to give us a luxurious and practical look to our traditional sitting room. A room which is not only for us to enjoy but for our dear pets. These Orvis covers do just that, perfect covers for happy pets."
Review 19 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great!,
February 20, 2015
By: Nickles
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I didn't purchase this for my dog. I bought it to protect my couch from my 2 year old. He eats and spills and draws on it all the time. This thing works perfectly! It doesn't let any liquids get through and covers my couch beautifully. My husband didn't even know I had it on the couch - it blended that well!"
Review 20 for Dog Couch Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit the need to a T,
February 18, 2015
By: Lagottoluv
"Great looking, feels good and stays in place…..all qualities that make this perfect for protecting our couch."