Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.47 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
2
117 of 132(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Quality Sweater,
February 26, 2015
By: Lynda3924
from Freeland, MI
"We were very pleased with the quality of the sweater. The sweater was well proportion for his size. He will be ordering more of different colors. Orvis you handle quality clothes and since this was my first purchase I will be back to order more clothing. Shipping was quick and no hassle."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Second One,
February 26, 2015
By: Georgl
from New Ulm, MN
"I bought this identical replacement for my first sweater which I wore out, because the first was simply the most comfortable all-around sweater I've ever owned."
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 19, 2015
By: 7472mes
from highland springs ,va.
"i find this sweater to be made of quality fabric and is very comfortible to wear.also during sweater wearing weather it proved to be very warm."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
February 19, 2015
By: EeBe
from Hastings on Hudson NY
"The material and look were very nice. But the large size was very broad in shoulders and therefore long in the sleeves but tight in the waist (I have a 44 chest and 36 waist)."
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt with jeans and dress trousers,
February 17, 2015
By: EmmaH
"medium weight but very warm, looks smart with dress pants and jeans, covers neck, great looking patch on elbows. Worth the price!"
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth and Substance Without Bulk,
February 10, 2015
By: kc00
from Centrally isolated in New Hampshire
"Disclaimer: I am a merino wool fanatic. Winter, summer and in between it is my first choice material, on the skin, mid layer and outside.
This is a clean lined, dense knit, very comfortable sweater. It is soft, drapes nicely while holding its shape and adjusts to temperature variations with the zippered front. Simple and elegant.
A keeper, a favorite."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great sweater,
February 10, 2015
By: betta
from bflo. n.y.
"this sweater met all my expectations when it arrived. it was up to the quality i have come to expect from orvis. the one comment i have is that i wish clothing items were available in tall sizes. this would allow me to get more items."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 5, 2015
By: PitVins
from Fredericksburg/TX
"Like the colour and the trims; feels like high quality; nice and warm"
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater,
February 5, 2015
By: amayaucla
from Burnsville, MN
"I have another one that I purchased many, many years ago. This prompted me to try another one. This sweater/cardigan is heavy, warm, and comfortable. Thank you Orvis."
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 4, 2015
By: Bobetee404
from Sunny California
"A very well made good looking sweater. However the length of the product was to short for me to wear, especially considering the price. The overall sweater in all aspect was excellent with this one exception. The sweater has been returned, since they do make it in a tall size"
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater,
February 3, 2015
By: Joe8
from Ohio
"This sweater is well made. I wear a size 42 suit jacket and the size medium fits me perfectly. I couldn't be more pleased."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and toasty,
February 2, 2015
By: Fishandgolf
from Leesburg, VA
"this sweater keeps me warm and toasty with this cold,windy andsnowy winter Northern Virginia is enduring this year. and many compliments on its good looks. D
An
"
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyone comments on my new sweater,
February 2, 2015
By: mread1
from Sacramento
"I spotted the Classic Fisherman's Cardigan on the Orvis website and liked it. So I ran it by my wife whose taste is more refined than mine, and she approved. The proof: The first time I wore it, I got compliments from three different people."
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Early Valentine,
February 2, 2015
By: Beattle
"When I saw this jacket on the cover of your catalog, I knew whose name was on it: my brother's. He's sometimes reluctant to buy things for himself, so I love stepping in and getting him something special that I know he will love. And he does! He's always excited when he sees an Orvis package at his front door.
Thank you, Orvis, for making my gift-giving faultless.
"
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Zip up Sweaters,
February 2, 2015
By: MichaelBiedenbach
from Traverse City Michigan
"I ordered the Classic Fisherman and the Military zip. The XXL fit nice in the Military zip but 2xl was a bit big on the fisherman - also on the fisherman the elbow patches were very low - more like forearm patches? I don't know if this is a flaw or sizing on XXL or if this was a custom sweater for an orangutan
Both Sweater are made in China but look well made.
"
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A CLASSIC SWEATER,
January 29, 2015
By: JUDITHELLEN721
from WYNNEWOOD, PA
"I bought two of these sweaters, one in each offered color, for a gift for my husband. My husband absolutely love both of them and wears them practically every day! The patch details are very handsome."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Vaery Nice Sweater,
January 29, 2015
By: rakidd
from San Jose, CA
"I really like this sweater. It fits well and is very warm. It is nice and thick, which also makes it heavy (as in it weighs several pounds. It is 100% wool and can be hand washed in cool water or dry-cleaned."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great warm cardigan,
January 28, 2015
By: Psydoc
from Short Pump Richmond, VA
"Good looking cardigan with a good fit. Smooth working zipper. My wife loves it's appearance. Must be careful with the pockets as things can easily fall out when getting in and out of a vehicle."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very handsome !,
January 26, 2015
By: justaluckygirl
from Cornville, Az
"Purchase the right size for you, because XL when zipped was too big around stomach area. Large was perfect and did not stick out around middle."
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
January 17, 2015
By: RoySans
from Van Wyck, SC
"This sweater is an example of the classic sweater construction and quality I remember from years ago when we were importing goods from the British Isles. I am very pleased with my purchase."