Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
2
101 of 115(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A CLASSIC SWEATER,
January 29, 2015
By: JUDITHELLEN721
from WYNNEWOOD, PA
"I bought two of these sweaters, one in each offered color, for a gift for my husband. My husband absolutely love both of them and wears them practically every day! The patch details are very handsome."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Vaery Nice Sweater,
January 29, 2015
By: rakidd
from San Jose, CA
"I really like this sweater. It fits well and is very warm. It is nice and thick, which also makes it heavy (as in it weighs several pounds. It is 100% wool and can be hand washed in cool water or dry-cleaned."
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great warm cardigan,
January 28, 2015
By: Psydoc
from Short Pump Richmond, VA
"Good looking cardigan with a good fit. Smooth working zipper. My wife loves it's appearance. Must be careful with the pockets as things can easily fall out when getting in and out of a vehicle."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very handsome !,
January 26, 2015
By: justaluckygirl
from Cornville, Az
"Purchase the right size for you, because XL when zipped was too big around stomach area. Large was perfect and did not stick out around middle."
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
January 17, 2015
By: RoySans
from Van Wyck, SC
"This sweater is an example of the classic sweater construction and quality I remember from years ago when we were importing goods from the British Isles. I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 9, 2015
By: Archer2021
"It was exactly as described and very warm. Several people asked where I got it."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Awesome, BUT.......,
January 5, 2015
By: Hump7
"Super sweater but does not fit right. Arms are great but the middle is way to tight. I am average weight and another size up would make the arms to long. Proportions all wrong.
The quality was very nice.
"
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cardigan Sweater,
January 5, 2015
By: kbert
from Upstate NY
"Nice material and well made, cut large for a good fit. Unfortunately, it had a small pull right in the front of the sweater. At this price point, I would not have expected that. Orvis swapped it out promptly at no charge to me."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fit,
January 5, 2015
By: tfl8989
from Surrey
"Well made item and very comfortable and with the type of stitching stretches without it looking skin tight"
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martista,
December 31, 2014
By: Martista
from Harkers Island, North Carolina
"This cardigan is my Favorite. Of course my husband looks great in it and he loves it as well. What I love about it is that it is a bit more dressy when an occasion needs more than a hoody and less than a dinner jacket. Classic indeed!"
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and classy!,
December 31, 2014
By: Karen4Gators
from Orlando, FL
"Bought this for my husband and he loves it. It's a very warm sweater and well made."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: Redyoyo
"This was a Christmas gift for my husband, he's told me that it's his favorite gift. Nice weight and looks great on him."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
December 27, 2014
By: Chip1951
from Pasco wa
"Just what I expected from orvis.. This beautiful sweater is just as advertised and more ! I buy many things from orvis, and for good reason.. Super quality every time."
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves it!,
December 27, 2014
By: BRMCP
from Wheaton, IL
"This sweater is just what I expected. It has a nice substantial weight and looks great! My husband loved this Christmas gift and wore it all day! Great product for those who want extra warmth."
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
December 26, 2014
By: Stonedog
from Truckee, CA
"Great sweater for a traditional look. Very comfortable. When ordering online note that it seems to run a little on the large size. i.e. I typically wear an XL or XXL but a Large fits me perfectly."
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my husband loves it,
December 26, 2014
By: jsnyder
from Woodbridge, VA
"This sweater is beautiful and has weight to it. It is a quality sweater; it is soft and warm. It is a true fit."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect Caridgan,
December 26, 2014
By: Khawk
from La Mesa, CA
"Just received the Gray Cardigan and just love it. Very nicely designed and quality product. At 6'1" and 180lbs the large fits great. The elbow patches and pocket trim are excellent. Just love it."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful but...,
December 22, 2014
By: Ebdog123
"Beautiful cardigan. Loved the color and style but when it arrived I compared it to other cardigans the same size and it was short. That was the only downfall but other than that nice cardigan."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: jwood
from Canandaigua, NY
"Love the design and fit of this sweater. The added leather detailing is great!"
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: Racer2
from Raleigh, NC
"A very elegant sweater. Quite heavy, and can be worn in place of a jacket."