Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
63 of 73(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classical Fisherman's Cardigan,
April 14, 2014
By: Bottomgun
from Dana Point , Ca
"Very attractive and cozy sweater which immediately elicited very complimentary comments from discerning friends."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas present,
January 16, 2014
By: ntasr
from Houston, TX
"Since receiving the sweater as a gift on Christmas, I have worn it with pleasure every day. Very glad it has a zipper instead of buttons."
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Soangie
"I gave this sweater to my husband as a gift after he picked it out of the Orvis catalogue as an item he wanted for Christmas. He loves it. It is soft, comfortable, not too heavy, and true to size. It is a great sweater at a good price."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive but handsome,
January 2, 2014
By: GrammiB
from Pinehurst, NC
"A most attractive sweater. Patches on elbows and trim at edge of pockets add a nice distinction. One flaw: the pockets are secured inside the sweater, each with a knitted single chain of yarn, one of which had come loose from the sweater when we received it. Really a flimsy attachment. However, "fixable". Overall, a really a good looking garment."
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hints favorite sweater,
January 1, 2014
By: azlandforyou
from az
"This is my husbands favorite sweater. It runs a bit large. It is very warm."
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishermens Sweater,
December 30, 2013
By: pbock
from Palmer, IL
"Love it it's exactly what I was looking for. Will be buying the other color soon."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift!,
December 28, 2013
By: 1diane1
"Sweater was a gift for my husband who was very pleased with it. It is well made and beautifully styled. I am sure he will be wwearing it for years to come."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Sweater,
December 28, 2013
By: Sox2monkeys
from Lake Guntersville, Alabama
"This classic sweater has everything to create a sense of style and comfort -- a zipper to make it easy to put on and take off -- beautiful knit with the accent of elbow patches for strength and sport, and a nice shape that compliments a broad shoulder/small waist fit. It is the perfect sweater for the man who doesn't want to fuss with clothes but wants to be able to fit in if he walks into public from the outdoors. This Fisherman's cardigan is so versatile, there almost isn't any place where it is not appropriate. My husband has received so many compliments on it, I'm going to have to order more of these. It is the one item he won't travel without."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!,
December 27, 2013
By: kentia
from Santa Barbara, CA
"Liked this sweater in the magazine and on line, but when I received it as a gift, it was even better than I had imagined. Great sweater day and night for those in-between occasions!
I liked it so much, I bought my son-in-law one in a different color for Christmas.
"
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
December 27, 2013
By: Beaslley311
from Rhode Island
"I purchased this Classic Fisherman Cardigan for a friend, and he was so pleased. The quality and craftmanship of this sweater is first class. I would not hesitate to recommend this purchase. There is a lot to be said about the saying, "You get what you pay for"."
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and practical,
December 26, 2013
By: AnnfromVa
from Alexandia, VA
"This sweater is good looking, with leather elbow patches and pocket trim. It's light weight, yet warm."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
December 21, 2013
By: Stacaro
from California
"Exceeded my expectations. Will be a perfect complement to my husband's wardrobe and particulary appropriate for a Canadian cruise next fall."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 18, 2013
By: Mimicross
from Columbus, OH
"I bought this sweater for my husband and he LOVES it. Wonderful purchase and well worth the money. Would definitely recommend to a friend."
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
December 17, 2013
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"This is a finely made sweater with excellent wool yarn and a comfortable weight. The 'large' size fits my 5' 11" 195 lb. frame very well. The way the sweater is knit will allow it to fit larger and smaller body sizes as well. The sweater is nice and warm when zipped up and can be made comfortable in warmer places by simply unzipping part or all the way down. That said, I am pleased to say that when wearing it I have received compliments on this great looking sweater."
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater!,
December 14, 2013
By: tkone
"great sweater; feels terrific and the materials are high quality. this was a gift for my dad and he absolutely loved it!"
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
December 14, 2013
By: BillieE
from Sacramento, CA
"I was impressed with the quality of this item the minute I pulled it out of the box. Extremely well made and extremely high quality fabric. Fit well and breathable. Have received numerous compliments."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great looking sweater,
December 10, 2013
By: ecmcv
from Westchester, NY
"Purchased for my husband for Christmas. It's very good looking. I'm hoping it's one of those sweaters that he never takes off, as he is often cold."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality you remember,
December 10, 2013
By: NENIE
from Columbus, OHIO
"This is great garment for a guy that likes a good looking good wearing sweater for home,office,sports events. A classic forever sweater."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
December 6, 2013
By: Emccormac
from Colorado
"I bought this for my Dad for Christmas and it's perfect! I love the thickness of the wool and the gray color is awesome. Looks like it's made to last."
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i want one too,
December 5, 2013
By: coastalessence
from Coastal Maine
"Bought this sweater as a gift for my Dad. As soon as he put it on we were all wishing we had one too. Handsome knit with lovely trim, sturdy but refined zipper, and a perfect weight for chilly NE houses on winter days or a brisk walk on a fall day."