Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Pure merino wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
2
122 of 137(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT & UP TO NECK,
August 22, 2015
By: Jerry4520
"I had looked all over for a full sweater
with a full zip-up or buttoning. Only ORVIS had one in its catalog; all the rest go partly up towards neck, but then stop, leaving space in a lg v-neck.
"
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now I found my dream sweater,
August 1, 2015
By: Jennette
from Massachusetts
"I have been looking for my dream sweater for years. When I visited the Peobody Orvis store I was looking for any men's clothing that I might like and finding non I sat in the big chair waiting for my wife. A clerk said can I help you and I responded what I was looking for is what I called an "old men's sweater". I'm 82 and felt that I was qualified. The clerk said I think we have what you are looking for which he found for me in the on line catalog. It came yesterday and once I saw it and tried it on I now have a great old mans sweater thanks to Orvis"
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Choice,
March 23, 2015
By: GiftGiver31
"This sweater was a gift for my brother's early retirement, and he just loves it! It is soft, warm, very attractive, and fit perfectly. We got an XL which is true to size but comfortably cut, and the length is very good, even for a guy who is 6'3". Quality is excellent, and I would easily recommend this fine Orvis product to anyone."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Mother of all Cardigans!,
March 21, 2015
By: TARbaby419
from Gettysburg, PA
"I have not purchased a cardigan for 25+ years, until I saw this one! I trout fish in central Pennsylvania all during the year, and this beast is a six month garment. Great styling, fit, and the comfort of wool. Classic designs in classic fabrics are not so easy to find anymore. Don't care too much for synthetics...I like the look and feel of wool."
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but not great,
March 12, 2015
By: Chemist13
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I really like the general look of this sweater in the dark color, but it needs to be improved in two areas to be really great. The sweater fits great in the body (I wear an XL size), but the sleeves are about 4-5 inches too long for normal length arms. Because of the thickness of the material, it is difficult to roll the sleeves back and still look good because of the bulkiness when rolled. Second, the "elbow" patches are closer to the wrists than the elbows as several other reviewers have mentioned. Put the patches on the elbows where they belong. The current position of the patches makes the sweater look terrible, despite the high quality construction and material."
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Quality Sweater,
February 26, 2015
By: Lynda3924
from Freeland, MI
"We were very pleased with the quality of the sweater. The sweater was well proportion for his size. He will be ordering more of different colors. Orvis you handle quality clothes and since this was my first purchase I will be back to order more clothing. Shipping was quick and no hassle."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Second One,
February 26, 2015
By: Georgl
from New Ulm, MN
"I bought this identical replacement for my first sweater which I wore out, because the first was simply the most comfortable all-around sweater I've ever owned."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 19, 2015
By: 7472mes
from highland springs ,va.
"i find this sweater to be made of quality fabric and is very comfortible to wear.also during sweater wearing weather it proved to be very warm."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
February 19, 2015
By: EeBe
from Hastings on Hudson NY
"The material and look were very nice. But the large size was very broad in shoulders and therefore long in the sleeves but tight in the waist (I have a 44 chest and 36 waist)."
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt with jeans and dress trousers,
February 17, 2015
By: EmmaH
"medium weight but very warm, looks smart with dress pants and jeans, covers neck, great looking patch on elbows. Worth the price!"
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth and Substance Without Bulk,
February 10, 2015
By: kc00
from Centrally isolated in New Hampshire
"Disclaimer: I am a merino wool fanatic. Winter, summer and in between it is my first choice material, on the skin, mid layer and outside.
This is a clean lined, dense knit, very comfortable sweater. It is soft, drapes nicely while holding its shape and adjusts to temperature variations with the zippered front. Simple and elegant.
A keeper, a favorite."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great sweater,
February 10, 2015
By: betta
from bflo. n.y.
"this sweater met all my expectations when it arrived. it was up to the quality i have come to expect from orvis. the one comment i have is that i wish clothing items were available in tall sizes. this would allow me to get more items."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 5, 2015
By: PitVins
from Fredericksburg/TX
"Like the colour and the trims; feels like high quality; nice and warm"
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater,
February 5, 2015
By: amayaucla
from Burnsville, MN
"I have another one that I purchased many, many years ago. This prompted me to try another one. This sweater/cardigan is heavy, warm, and comfortable. Thank you Orvis."
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 4, 2015
By: Bobetee404
from Sunny California
"A very well made good looking sweater. However the length of the product was to short for me to wear, especially considering the price. The overall sweater in all aspect was excellent with this one exception. The sweater has been returned, since they do make it in a tall size"
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater,
February 3, 2015
By: Joe8
from Ohio
"This sweater is well made. I wear a size 42 suit jacket and the size medium fits me perfectly. I couldn't be more pleased."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and toasty,
February 2, 2015
By: Fishandgolf
from Leesburg, VA
"this sweater keeps me warm and toasty with this cold,windy andsnowy winter Northern Virginia is enduring this year. and many compliments on its good looks. D
An
"
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyone comments on my new sweater,
February 2, 2015
By: mread1
from Sacramento
"I spotted the Classic Fisherman's Cardigan on the Orvis website and liked it. So I ran it by my wife whose taste is more refined than mine, and she approved. The proof: The first time I wore it, I got compliments from three different people."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Early Valentine,
February 2, 2015
By: Beattle
"When I saw this jacket on the cover of your catalog, I knew whose name was on it: my brother's. He's sometimes reluctant to buy things for himself, so I love stepping in and getting him something special that I know he will love. And he does! He's always excited when he sees an Orvis package at his front door.
Thank you, Orvis, for making my gift-giving faultless.
"
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Zip up Sweaters,
February 2, 2015
By: MichaelBiedenbach
from Traverse City Michigan
"I ordered the Classic Fisherman and the Military zip. The XXL fit nice in the Military zip but 2xl was a bit big on the fisherman - also on the fisherman the elbow patches were very low - more like forearm patches? I don't know if this is a flaw or sizing on XXL or if this was a custom sweater for an orangutan
Both Sweater are made in China but look well made.
"