Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
2
68 of 79(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
October 16, 2014
By: SurpriseGift
from Michigan
"He said it was his favorite birthday present this year."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Nice,
September 22, 2014
By: Bryan29572
from Myrtle Beach SC
"I live in the south. I thought it would be a good weight for our mild winters. Right after buying I took it to Toronto in mid September for a "test drive". It was great. I can be between sizes so the smaller size worked well for me. With a banded bottom, looks best when zipped."
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
August 29, 2014
By: Wmfis
from Lafayette California
"I returned this sweater as the color for me was to bland. The sweater was nicely made but was not for me. Others might feel diferently.."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
should be great,
May 26, 2014
By: cedarshark
from Texas
"we are past peak season for this, but it appears to be well made and REALLY heavy"
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
His Wednesday Sweater,
May 20, 2014
By: Kilk
from Mendocino, Ca
"We shall call it "His Wednesday Sweater", you can dress it up or down and it will be excepted @ any meeting in Northern California Redwoods... The wool is so soft and warm and very handsome on my husband -- great fit, wonderful warm color w/shade darker patches on the sleeves that also matches the trim on the pockets... What a great buy...!!!!"
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever!,
April 24, 2014
By: rsaldana
from Bronx, NY
"Purchased this sweater as a gift for my husband. Simply said " best gift ever". Beautifully made, and the construction is impeccable. the material is of the highest quality and wears well. A bit hesitant because of the price, but worth every dollar. My husband looks elegant in it!"
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classical Fisherman's Cardigan,
April 14, 2014
By: Bottomgun
from Dana Point , Ca
"Very attractive and cozy sweater which immediately elicited very complimentary comments from discerning friends."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas present,
January 16, 2014
By: ntasr
from Houston, TX
"Since receiving the sweater as a gift on Christmas, I have worn it with pleasure every day. Very glad it has a zipper instead of buttons."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Soangie
"I gave this sweater to my husband as a gift after he picked it out of the Orvis catalogue as an item he wanted for Christmas. He loves it. It is soft, comfortable, not too heavy, and true to size. It is a great sweater at a good price."
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive but handsome,
January 2, 2014
By: GrammiB
from Pinehurst, NC
"A most attractive sweater. Patches on elbows and trim at edge of pockets add a nice distinction. One flaw: the pockets are secured inside the sweater, each with a knitted single chain of yarn, one of which had come loose from the sweater when we received it. Really a flimsy attachment. However, "fixable". Overall, a really a good looking garment."
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hints favorite sweater,
January 1, 2014
By: azlandforyou
from az
"This is my husbands favorite sweater. It runs a bit large. It is very warm."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishermens Sweater,
December 30, 2013
By: pbock
from Palmer, IL
"Love it it's exactly what I was looking for. Will be buying the other color soon."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift!,
December 28, 2013
By: 1diane1
"Sweater was a gift for my husband who was very pleased with it. It is well made and beautifully styled. I am sure he will be wwearing it for years to come."
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Sweater,
December 28, 2013
By: Sox2monkeys
from Lake Guntersville, Alabama
"This classic sweater has everything to create a sense of style and comfort -- a zipper to make it easy to put on and take off -- beautiful knit with the accent of elbow patches for strength and sport, and a nice shape that compliments a broad shoulder/small waist fit. It is the perfect sweater for the man who doesn't want to fuss with clothes but wants to be able to fit in if he walks into public from the outdoors. This Fisherman's cardigan is so versatile, there almost isn't any place where it is not appropriate. My husband has received so many compliments on it, I'm going to have to order more of these. It is the one item he won't travel without."
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!,
December 27, 2013
By: kentia
from Santa Barbara, CA
"Liked this sweater in the magazine and on line, but when I received it as a gift, it was even better than I had imagined. Great sweater day and night for those in-between occasions!
I liked it so much, I bought my son-in-law one in a different color for Christmas.
"
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
December 27, 2013
By: Beaslley311
from Rhode Island
"I purchased this Classic Fisherman Cardigan for a friend, and he was so pleased. The quality and craftmanship of this sweater is first class. I would not hesitate to recommend this purchase. There is a lot to be said about the saying, "You get what you pay for"."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and practical,
December 26, 2013
By: AnnfromVa
from Alexandia, VA
"This sweater is good looking, with leather elbow patches and pocket trim. It's light weight, yet warm."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
December 21, 2013
By: Stacaro
from California
"Exceeded my expectations. Will be a perfect complement to my husband's wardrobe and particulary appropriate for a Canadian cruise next fall."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 18, 2013
By: Mimicross
from Columbus, OH
"I bought this sweater for my husband and he LOVES it. Wonderful purchase and well worth the money. Would definitely recommend to a friend."
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
December 17, 2013
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"This is a finely made sweater with excellent wool yarn and a comfortable weight. The 'large' size fits my 5' 11" 195 lb. frame very well. The way the sweater is knit will allow it to fit larger and smaller body sizes as well. The sweater is nice and warm when zipped up and can be made comfortable in warmer places by simply unzipping part or all the way down. That said, I am pleased to say that when wearing it I have received compliments on this great looking sweater."