Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
2
85 of 98(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful but...,
December 22, 2014
By: Ebdog123
"Beautiful cardigan. Loved the color and style but when it arrived I compared it to other cardigans the same size and it was short. That was the only downfall but other than that nice cardigan."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: jwood
from Canandaigua, NY
"Love the design and fit of this sweater. The added leather detailing is great!"
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: Racer2
from Raleigh, NC
"A very elegant sweater. Quite heavy, and can be worn in place of a jacket."
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Warm,
December 15, 2014
By: Wayne101
from Nashville,,TN
"I like the look and the feel of this 100% Wool Classic Sweater. It is very warm and versatile and I expect this one will become a close friend!"
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny!,
December 6, 2014
By: CarrieK
from Annapolis, MD.
"This sweater is absolutely gorgeous in person! Excellent quality, rich, plush, soft, hangs beautifully on my husband. He loved it as one of his 40th bday presents!"
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I will keep it, but...,
December 4, 2014
By: netlogix
from Florida
"I am 5-10 and 190 pounds, so I got a medium. It seems to make me look fatter around the waist, although it is warm and comfortable. Much heavier than I thought, and perhaps a bit big. It is cozy and reasonably well made, but I will not use it much, so I do not know how durable. The patches on the elbow appear to be in the right place for me."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fisherman Cardigan,
November 29, 2014
By: 2CAST
from Pittsburgh PA
"Warmth and durability, this is the second one I have."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
November 26, 2014
By: mdgct
"I bought this as a gift and the recipient loved it! It looks great on. Nice quality and fabric."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Beautiful Classic,
November 20, 2014
By: fooey
from Mill Valley, CA
"Perfect for the cool winter days here in San Francisco and cool evenings at our Palm Springs retreat. It's elegant in design and construction."
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fills the need,
November 20, 2014
By: STIR23
from Fort Lee
"Excellent, very warm, practical with leather patches at points of possible wear"
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater,
November 12, 2014
By: Fishdoc
from Chattanooga ,TN
"Warm, not rough on skin. Well made, I like the
merino wool
"
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fishermans sweater,
November 10, 2014
By: LumpyZ
from Sacramento, CA
"Generously proportioned, handsome and leather elbow make this one of my favorites. Should wear well and it is just the right weight and softness to be the "go to" garment for No California winters."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Keeper,
November 9, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I got this sweater for my Dad as a B-Day gift. We were both impressed with the quality right away. This sweater is comfortable and looks great. Dad is 5'9" and slim - the medium fit nice. He says its a keeper. Saved me again Orvis."
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy,
November 3, 2014
By: 2CAST
from Pittsburgh PA
"It's better than the last one I purchased and I still have it."
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Comfy,
November 1, 2014
By: Canz
from Connecticut
"I was really trying to convince myself to keep this cardigan. It's warm, soft, and best of all, looks great. However, the sizing doesn't seem to fit my build. The medium was great in the chest, but the sleeves and waist were too short. A large would have been overly baggy everywhere. The pockets also add a bit of bulk to the waist, making the wearer look like he has more of a belly."
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
October 29, 2014
By: ClynnK
from Uxbridge, ONTARIO,
"Great weight to this sweater. Will be worn for years to come. The elbow patches seem a bit low on the arm."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Sweater......But Not,
October 22, 2014
By: wilsonja01
from New York, NY
"I'm a function over form kind of guy, but loved both the look and feel of the sweater. It has a bit of a design flaw though which was mentioned in other reviews. The pockets are attached by a thin yarn and if the sweater is worn unzipped, they tend to hang out of the sweater. If you can live with that, it's a great product."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
October 16, 2014
By: SurpriseGift
from Michigan
"He said it was his favorite birthday present this year."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Nice,
September 22, 2014
By: Bryan29572
from Myrtle Beach SC
"I live in the south. I thought it would be a good weight for our mild winters. Right after buying I took it to Toronto in mid September for a "test drive". It was great. I can be between sizes so the smaller size worked well for me. With a banded bottom, looks best when zipped."
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
August 29, 2014
By: Wmfis
from Lafayette California
"I returned this sweater as the color for me was to bland. The sweater was nicely made but was not for me. Others might feel diferently.."