Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Fisherman's Cardigan

Stay warm in a classic cardigan knit of pure merino wool. Among the finest of all natural fibers, merino insulates while still breathing exceptionally well—all without itching the way coarser wool can. Our zip-front cardigan pairs well with anything from a tee shirt to a shirt and tie. Soft, durable English Ratcatcher moleskin elbow patches and pocket trim. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
2
77 of 89(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Review 1 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Beautiful Classic,
November 20, 2014
By: fooey
from Mill Valley, CA
"Perfect for the cool winter days here in San Francisco and cool evenings at our Palm Springs retreat. It's elegant in design and construction."
Review 2 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fills the need,
November 20, 2014
By: STIR23
from Fort Lee
"Excellent, very warm, practical with leather patches at points of possible wear"
Review 3 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater,
November 12, 2014
By: Fishdoc
from Chattanooga ,TN
"Warm, not rough on skin. Well made, I like the
merino wool
"
Review 4 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fishermans sweater,
November 10, 2014
By: LumpyZ
from Sacramento, CA
"Generously proportioned, handsome and leather elbow make this one of my favorites. Should wear well and it is just the right weight and softness to be the "go to" garment for No California winters."
Review 5 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Keeper,
November 9, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I got this sweater for my Dad as a B-Day gift. We were both impressed with the quality right away. This sweater is comfortable and looks great. Dad is 5'9" and slim - the medium fit nice. He says its a keeper. Saved me again Orvis."
Review 6 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy,
November 3, 2014
By: 2CAST
from Pittsburgh PA
"It's better than the last one I purchased and I still have it."
Review 7 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Comfy,
November 1, 2014
By: Canz
from Connecticut
"I was really trying to convince myself to keep this cardigan. It's warm, soft, and best of all, looks great. However, the sizing doesn't seem to fit my build. The medium was great in the chest, but the sleeves and waist were too short. A large would have been overly baggy everywhere. The pockets also add a bit of bulk to the waist, making the wearer look like he has more of a belly."
Review 8 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
October 29, 2014
By: ClynnK
from Uxbridge, ONTARIO,
"Great weight to this sweater. Will be worn for years to come. The elbow patches seem a bit low on the arm."
Review 9 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Sweater......But Not,
October 22, 2014
By: wilsonja01
from New York, NY
"I'm a function over form kind of guy, but loved both the look and feel of the sweater. It has a bit of a design flaw though which was mentioned in other reviews. The pockets are attached by a thin yarn and if the sweater is worn unzipped, they tend to hang out of the sweater. If you can live with that, it's a great product."
Review 10 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
October 16, 2014
By: SurpriseGift
from Michigan
"He said it was his favorite birthday present this year."
Review 11 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Nice,
September 22, 2014
By: Bryan29572
from Myrtle Beach SC
"I live in the south. I thought it would be a good weight for our mild winters. Right after buying I took it to Toronto in mid September for a "test drive". It was great. I can be between sizes so the smaller size worked well for me. With a banded bottom, looks best when zipped."
Review 12 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
August 29, 2014
By: Wmfis
from Lafayette California
"I returned this sweater as the color for me was to bland. The sweater was nicely made but was not for me. Others might feel diferently.."
Review 13 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
should be great,
May 26, 2014
By: cedarshark
from Texas
"we are past peak season for this, but it appears to be well made and REALLY heavy"
Review 14 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
His Wednesday Sweater,
May 20, 2014
By: Kilk
from Mendocino, Ca
"We shall call it "His Wednesday Sweater", you can dress it up or down and it will be excepted @ any meeting in Northern California Redwoods... The wool is so soft and warm and very handsome on my husband -- great fit, wonderful warm color w/shade darker patches on the sleeves that also matches the trim on the pockets... What a great buy...!!!!"
Review 15 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever!,
April 24, 2014
By: rsaldana
from Bronx, NY
"Purchased this sweater as a gift for my husband. Simply said " best gift ever". Beautifully made, and the construction is impeccable. the material is of the highest quality and wears well. A bit hesitant because of the price, but worth every dollar. My husband looks elegant in it!"
Review 16 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classical Fisherman's Cardigan,
April 14, 2014
By: Bottomgun
from Dana Point , Ca
"Very attractive and cozy sweater which immediately elicited very complimentary comments from discerning friends."
Review 17 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas present,
January 16, 2014
By: ntasr
from Houston, TX
"Since receiving the sweater as a gift on Christmas, I have worn it with pleasure every day. Very glad it has a zipper instead of buttons."
Review 18 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Soangie
"I gave this sweater to my husband as a gift after he picked it out of the Orvis catalogue as an item he wanted for Christmas. He loves it. It is soft, comfortable, not too heavy, and true to size. It is a great sweater at a good price."
Review 19 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive but handsome,
January 2, 2014
By: GrammiB
from Pinehurst, NC
"A most attractive sweater. Patches on elbows and trim at edge of pockets add a nice distinction. One flaw: the pockets are secured inside the sweater, each with a knitted single chain of yarn, one of which had come loose from the sweater when we received it. Really a flimsy attachment. However, "fixable". Overall, a really a good looking garment."
Review 20 for Classic Fisherman's Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hints favorite sweater,
January 1, 2014
By: azlandforyou
from az
"This is my husbands favorite sweater. It runs a bit large. It is very warm."