Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Briar Haven Field Watch

Check for shooting time with ease in the low light of dawn. Luminous hands and numbers show day and date. This men's sport watch features a durable, comfortable, and handsome leather-lined sage canvas strap. Japanese quartz movement, mineral crystal. Men's sport watch has a case diameter of 38mm. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
3
25 of 44(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Briar Haven Field Watch
Review 1 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good field watch,
April 21, 2014
By: pg1106
"Trying to find a good field watch at a reasonable price that isn't enormous was a tough task. I looked at Swiss Army and other brands but they were all extra large. I found the Orvis watch. The first one I bought stopped working after a day. It started and worked perfectly for a month, when it stopped again. Took it back and got a new one. For the last two weeks, the new one has been working just fine. Hopefully, there won't be any other issues."
Review 2 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice watch,
January 4, 2014
By: PPM9
"This is the second of this style watch I've owned. I like it a lot. Quick delivery. You should know the bevel doesn't rotate."
Review 3 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
December 10, 2013
By: RStock
from Raleigh, NC
"My son has been mowing lawns and saving money. He wanted a great outdoors watch. We took him to Orvis and he loved this watch. He purchased it with his own money. He absolutely loves it. He wanted a grown up watch and is very proud of it. The watch is well made and very reliable. It is stiff at first but breaks in nicely and is very comfortable to wear. Thank you Orvis for making wonderful products such as this watch."
Review 4 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Field Watch,
November 14, 2013
By: kamuysc
"I had the band on this watch replaced twice in 2 months. The band not only weathers poorly with minimal exposure to moisture but the leather ties that hold the band together snap easily. The actual watch itself seems ok but I havent gotten much use out of it because the band looks badly weathered and the ties don't work to hold the band together."
Review 5 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch..but....,
November 10, 2013
By: Watchword
from Nottingham England
"Briar Haven is a great general purpose watch and the green canvas strap really sets it off BUT those skimpy little leather rings that hold the strap in place are so so poor. That said Orvis have always given great service and either replaced the strap or the complete watch. Surely their manufacturer can sort out this problem to resolve this irritating issue. I'm now on my 4th watch under the unbeatable Orvis warranty but there ought to be a more economic way of solving the
problem ! Looking at the watch now it looks as though the rings are about to go for the 5th time !
"
Review 6 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Band not very durable,
November 4, 2013
By: GAtroutslayer
from Marietta, GA
"I like the watch but the band is not very durable. The leather strips on the band broke after 1 year of wear. I thought the bands were warranted but I am having trouble finding how to locate a replacement band."
Review 7 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great looking watch,
October 11, 2013
By: DDawkins
from Southland, USA
"Great value and quality looks. This watch will fit in at the Orvis Lodge of the Year or at the board meeting. Very versatile. Easy to read at night because of illumination. Have not tested watch at this point in water other than shower- I would have liked to see a screw in crown to ensure watertight seal."
Review 8 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Field Watch, Not Field Band,
September 3, 2013
By: LRInman
from Dallas
"This is the second Orvis field watch I have owned, excellent watches, very durable and withstand a variety of environmental conditions. Unfortunately the dye in the leather of the band bleeds like a lacerated artery when moist. This causes staining of whatever comes into contact with the band, ie-clothes. So get the watch and switch the band if you are truly going to be in the field, particularly in the tropics."
Review 9 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Deal,
August 22, 2013
By: seasonedbuyer
"I got this watch through a gift certificate..have had it for about five years..changed the band to leather for the look I wanted. ... put in a new battery last year. This is a good deal for the price......."
Review 10 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the watch,
March 16, 2013
By: PaulF
from St. Louis MO
"I have had this watch 3 months now, and am very happy with it. The watch is nice looking and keeps perfect time, easy to set the day and date. I saw comments about the watch strap, the inside lining of the leather bands peeled off the first few times I wore the watch, but the outer leather part has remained whole. Overall, I am very happy."
Review 11 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shame about the strap,
January 28, 2013
By: Kipper2
from London
"Watch has proved to be fine and kept good time But the little bands on the strap have broken. I was therefore disappointed to find out that replacements are not easily available It is sold as a"field" watch and therefore I would have expected it either to be a little more hard wearing or to have spares easily available. The Manager of the store I use is trying to sort something out but no promises have been made. I will keep my fingers crossed but in the meantime the experience has coloured my view of Orvis"
Review 12 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
replacement watch bands,
January 15, 2013
By: Filson
"I have always been pleased with Orvis watches and I have owned several. I enjoy the functional and rugged outdoor looks and have always been pleased that I could purchase replacement bands directly from Orvis for $10.00 or less.
I just tried to replace the band on my all time favorite Briar Haven watch and found that this service is no longer available. The repair service wants $25,00 and won't promise an exact replacement. Orvis needs to rethink this policy if they are going to continue selling watches - to loyal customers
"
Review 13 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
September 28, 2012
By: apale
"I purchased this watch as a gift for my husband. I had admired a similar style on someone and had heard such positive comments about the product as well as the company. Their return policy and any repairs that might need to be done in the future were outstanding. I was impressed with the service and the timely fashion that the watch was received."
Review 14 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch!,
August 16, 2012
By: ColaMatt
from Columbia, SC
"This watch is another amazing product from Orvis. Super high quality and incredibly durable. Looks great with a suit or a tshirt. I wear it every day and everywhere."
Review 15 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
almost great,
March 6, 2012
By: UTvolmntman
from Zionsville, IN
"I got this watch for x-mas from my mom. Both the little leather band straps broke.
and it looks like the cost went down from $150.00 to $98.00. I guess we should have waited or not bought at all."
Review 16 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 29, 2012
By: TheAC
"I love this watch. It is everything I was looking for. Its light, keeps great time and can go with almost anything. I ware this watch everyday"
Review 17 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cheap Watch,
October 29, 2011
By: Hiker2
from NC
"Poor quality watch. Returned for the second time today. First watch would stop running then start back finally quit working. Second time the stem kept coming out until finally it came out and I do not know where it went. Started not to take the replacement watch after observing three different store personnel attempt to set the date and time. I'm saving the receipt."
Review 18 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Inexpensive Field Watch,
September 3, 2011
By: JiminKY
from Lexington, KY
"I wanted a field watch to wear with jeans or chinos in the fall and saw this watch in the ORVIS catalog and bought it. When I received the watch I was pleasantly suprised with the quality.and apperance. Good watch for the price. Great for weekend bike rides and football games . I am very pleased with this watch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Watch, really lousy band,
August 31, 2011
By: kilo6
from Raleigh, NC
"I purchased this watch locally at an Orvis store about a year ago. I have an old stainless steel military issue watch I picked up prior to going to SE Asia; it had a similar padded band. Throughout my time in the Marine Corps that watch kept perfect time and the band lasted well over 15 years. I still have that old Government Issue watch and it still keeps excellent time, albeit with a newer nylon band.
Unfortunately the Briar Haven band has lost band both straps, well within the first year. And from time to time the timepiece hangs up when changing dates. I have become more careful about changing dates or setting the time and that annoying issue has abated. But, It seems I cannot get a replacement band now, Orvis no longer sales the replacement bands.
Any ideas on where I can get a replacement band similar to the original padded band?"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 22, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer to apologize and to and let him know we were disappointed to hear this Briar Haven Field Watch
band hasn't performed as expected. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not perform as expected.
Additionally, Orvis is proud to offer a watch repair service for our customers who have watch-repair needs in the years ahead. Our new repair program was created as part of our goal to offer World Class Customer Service.
Review 20 for Briar Haven Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value and quality,
July 20, 2011
By: SCTarpon
from Bluffton, SC
"Our grandson received a new Orvis watch for his 15th birthday in June, 2011; he accidentally dropped it in the Atlantic Ocean while playing and swimming off our dock. We contacted Orvis customer service personnel and identified the Briar Haven Field Watch as an appropriate replacement; and, we discovered it to be on sale. We bought two; one for our grandson's replacement, and one for grandfather! Thanks Orvis for your help ... great service & product!"