Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Commission an Original Artist's Portrait

The very talented portraitist Diane Morrow is the sole artist, who works in Conté crayon—a technique first used in France in the 1700s. Just send a photo 3" x 5" or larger to receive a 16" x 20" portrait ready to mat and frame, or we'll professionally mat and frame it for you. Photos are returned. Hand-drawn family portrait is available in black-and-white or color.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
39 of 43(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Review 1 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Priceless,
February 28, 2014
By: j454j
from Utah
"The drawings were better than I could have ever imagined. I was blown away and brought to tears when I opened them. I commissioned four drawings and was very impressed by the artists amazing gift.
I bought them for my husband for Christmas and he said that it was his favorite present that he has ever received in his entire life. They look gorgeous framed and will be cherished for many years to come. Words can't express my gratitude to the artist. I love, love, love the drawings!
"
Review 2 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sketch,
January 3, 2014
By: Mightymac
"This is the second sketch I have ordered. One of my grandson a few years ago and this year of my granddaughter. They are absolutely gorgeous. The likeness is remarkable and will be something to cherish forever.
And we're received in a timely fashion.
"
Review 3 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Gift under the Tree!,
December 28, 2013
By: turq107
"The portrait of our daughter's baby was just so beautifully done and exactly what we hoped when it was commissioned. We are so pleased! Thanks for the wonderful likeness and for getting it finished in a timely fashion."
Review 4 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Treasured Pictures,
December 23, 2013
By: Ladymallory
from Little Falls, MN
"I chose to Commission an Original Artist's Portrait using pictures of our growing children and our late dog. The artist captured them in perfect detail. As our kids move on, we will always have these beautiful images on the wall to remember them, and our late family friend, by. Spot on accurate. Thank you for the wonderful work!"
Review 5 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artist Drawing,
December 18, 2013
By: Gigisusie
from Charlton, Ma
"Having two granddaughters within a month of each other has been such a thrill...Doing something special for their parents was accomplished with the artist drawings. The artist captured the essence of each child! When I received the package, I delayed opening it - I had such a high expectation and was afraid to be disappointed. I was not and am very anxious for this exciting Christmas present which will be something to be passed on for the children. Thank you for the opportunity - the artist is amazing and captured the sparkle as only a loved one could!"
Review 6 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portrait of my new granddaughter,
December 18, 2013
By: impressmesilly
from Stratford, WI
"This was the most beautiful gift I have EVER given in my 47 years!! The portrait was exquisite!!! What a talented artist, I don't know how to explain how happy I am there are no words in the dictionary to explain how talented she is and how happy I am!!! I will purchase another as my granddaughter grows older. I will buy one every year for her, I have found the one thing I can give to my granddaughter for the next 18 years as a collection!!! Can't say how proud I am of this artist!! Purchase this product, so worth it, beyond worth it, and the price is well below what she should be charging!!! Thank you, my soul has been touched for the rest of my life. Jill"
Review 7 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Beautiful Gift,
December 6, 2013
By: GrammyGram1
from Langhorne, Pa.
"The Artists Portrait was of our first grandchild...It came out much better than expected, so beautiful..Done from a picture we enclosed..We have since had it framed and will give it to our son and daughter in law as a Christmas gift..So professional, so perfect..A joy to look at..Thank you to the artist who did this, what talent..Very pleased all the way around..Thank you so much..."
Review 8 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darling Children,
March 11, 2013
By: GmaQ
from Long Island, NY
"I have wanted sketches of my grandchildren for a while, now I have beautiful renderings of them both. The artist did a spectacular job of capturing them."
Review 9 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What A Treasure!!,
February 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Roanoke, Va
"I ordered a portrait as a gift for my daughter for her birthday. It was my favorite picture of my 2 year old grandson. The portrait turned out even better than I imagined it would. I didn't order it framed, so when my daughter put it in a frame, my grandson was so taken with it, he was carrying it all over the house. She had to hide it from him before he hurt himself as the frame was rather heavy. I took it to work and showed all my coworkers and they were as stunned and pleased with the quality as I was. It caught his personality perfectly and honestly was even better than the original picture. Thank you so very much for a wonderful treasure and keepsake!!"
Review 10 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Diappointed,
January 21, 2013
By: ikester
from Wisconsin
"I spent a lot of money & waited two months for this rendering of my sister's cat who passed away last year. Although the photo I sent was a full body picture the artist chose to fade out at an odd point of the cat's rear quarter which doesn't look "artsy" but makes the portrait look half finished, like the cat is missing a leg. I'm not sure I'll even give this to my sister. Very sad."
Review 11 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speechless,
January 4, 2013
By: hiker324
from Western New York
"The portrait I received was breathtaking.
The portrait was a gift for my son and daughter in law. I sent in a picture of my granddaughters, 8 years old and her 10 month old sister and true to the advertisements, it was a perfect match but only better. The details in the portrait were exquisite! I went with the black and white with hesitation but am so glad I did now. When turning the framed photo around, I noticed how well and how secure the hanging was put together. I will order another one and will not hesitate to get it framed. Professional quality with expert marksmanship.
This is a priceless treasure that my son and his family will have for the rest of their lives and more importantly so because my 8 year old granddaughter is losing her battle with pediatric bone cancer. I can't thank you enough for this beautiful treasure!!"
Review 12 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Treasure,
January 2, 2013
By: Grandparents
"We could not be more pleased with the portrait of our grandchild. The artist captured his personality as well as his features. A treasure, for sure!"
Review 13 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great present!,
January 1, 2013
By: msb123
from Massachusetts
"I gave the portrait of our granddaughter to my daughter for Christmas. She was so thrilled. The likeness is perfect. It makes a very meaningful gift. Thank you for offering this possibility."
Review 14 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PORTRAIT OF OUR DOG,
December 28, 2012
By: DOG4413
from IOWA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"In October , I sent in a photo of our beloved 13 year old dog to have a protrait done by your artist. At that time she was still with us but we lost her due to old age shortly after. If you have ever had a pet you know how we felt. The portrait arrived on December 21st - just in time for Christmas. I highly recommend this service. We have a lasting memory of Marti."
Review 15 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Portrait by Artist,
December 13, 2012
By: Sahar
"It was a very long wait, but my picture came out beautifully. What Orvis doesn't tell you is the picture gets shipped to NY to be framed from the artist in VA, then it is finally shipped to the buyer. Their Email just said it was shipped and it was 3 weeks before I actually got it after waiting 2 months."
Review 16 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Keepsake,
November 30, 2012
By: Avajane
from Bayonne, NJ
"I have recently received the finished Conde portrait of my grandson. It has exceeded my expectations! The artist has truly captured the likeness of my grandson and somehow managed to also catch the "glint" in his eyes. I ordered it framed and I am extremely pleased with the quality of both the frame and oval matting. I am sure that his parents will love this very special and lasting gift."
Review 17 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Portrait,
November 25, 2012
By: Rachel2
"The p;ortrait of my grandson is exceptional - everyone that has seen it has marveled at the quality and how the artist picked up the "personality" from the picture and transferred it to the portrait."
Review 18 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Original Artist Portrait,
October 16, 2012
By: abbydabby
from newland NC
"Wonderful artist!! Would highly recommend this for a gift to parents or grandparents!!"
Review 19 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond my expectations,
September 26, 2012
By: TerWoert
from Bronxville NY
"The portrait/sketch was true to life in every detail. Our submitted photo was 70 years old--and the little boy came alive. Made a fantastic 80th birthday gift--and so unique and moving, Not only is the artist talented, but her framer is incomparable. The matting as well as the distressed wood were exquisite & done with such care--rich and worthy of display anywhere. We could not be more pleased with the composition...as is the delighted recipient."
Review 20 for Commission an Original Artist's Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Special Gift,
September 10, 2012
By: adman48
from Galena, IL.
"Having my twin grandchildren done individually by this artist is the BEST decision I have ever made. She did a wonderful job and I could not be happier. Their portrait is done with the details that I could never imagine. I know it is something that my grand-daughter and grand-son will treasure for the rest of their life. Thank you Orvis for making a dream come true and a memory that will last a lifetime."