Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka

Such exquisite comfort in an old classic is sure to make any polo player envious. Our cushioned footbed and fully leather-lined interior support and cradle your foot each step of the way—an example of how far the chukka has evolved since it was adopted for general wear from polo in the 1950s. In dark tan. Imported. Whole and half sizes 7, 7½, 8½, 9, 10½. In D width.
Average Customer Rating:
3.348 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
9
29 of 46(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Review 1 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Boots not true to size,
June 20, 2014
By: NYOrvis
from Armonk
"When the books arrived they looked great but I could not even get them on and had to return them. I would buy them again if Orvis can get the manufacturer to make their shoes true to size."
Review 2 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shoes are not sized properly,
February 11, 2014
By: lafayette
from Hawley,Pa.
"These Chuckka boots are not a D width as represented. Almost impossible to squeeze on with no socks.I purchased these same boots three years ago and were made by same Brazilian manufacturer.I enjoyed those boots immensely and was delighted when they were brought back into catalog.However the manufacturer went from four eyelets on each side to three and the shoes won't fit.I'm surprised the Orvis buyer didn't see this immediately.After i ordered and received the current pair I read the reviews and too many people had the same issue.Orvis should not ship to customers unless they warn them about width.Since this is such a good looking shoe the manufacturing defect should be corrected and shoes produced like they were several years ago. Then put my name on list to contact for repurchase. My three year old boots need replacing."
Review 3 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Width leaves a lot to be desired...,
January 4, 2014
By: Jp14
from Indianapolis, IN
"I agree w/other opinions regarding width, I'm going to return & try a 1/2 size bigger...I like the look of the shoe though..."
Review 4 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing is awful,
December 27, 2013
By: esad1
from ohio
"Love the style - worst fit of any shoe extremely narrow - had to return"
Review 5 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot,
December 18, 2013
By: CastnBlast
from Atlanta, GA
"This boot is very comfortable as well as being durable. The color and style look good with jeans and khakis. I especially like the insole because of the arch support and cushioned feel."
Review 6 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Shoe - Weird Fit,
December 8, 2013
By: Privateer60
from Aptos, CA
"I ordered this shoe on the web in my usual shoe size. I pleased when I opened the box because it was even nicer looking that the pictures.
The problem is that due to the high and narrow ankle and stiff sole I can't get my foot into it. I am in a quandry because if I ordered it in a size big enough to get my foot into I think it would be uncomfortable to wear.
Its a great shoe but best to buy it at a store where you can try it on first. I would give it 5 stars if I could figure out how to wear it."
Review 7 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Leather chuka,
December 5, 2013
By: 1Johnjohn
"Way out of size maybe by two sizes. Ordered 10.5 W. didn't come close. Better luck with other vendors. I did like the design and tread pattern"
Review 8 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Boot,
November 28, 2013
By: Nikon15
from Madison, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I having been wearing these Chukkas for about 15 years. I wear these boots ~3 times/week. Typically, the sole will last 2 years then I resole and wear for another 2 years.
I wear these boots to my professional job, hunting, fishing, to the Mall or out to dinner. Since the leather is somewhat suede-like, I will polish with wax before wearing to waterproof. See attached photo of a pair on their 2nd sole.
Note that these boots do run narrow. I have a narrow foot (C) so they fit fine. Just note that if you have a wide foot, these boots may be snug. Still, in my opinion, the best boots I have ever worn."
Review 9 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
To narrow,
October 26, 2013
By: Dcal
from Idyllwild, CA
"I bought these shoes years ago they were the most comfortable shoe I have ever owned. I was looking forward to owning a new pair but too my dismay they were so narrow I could not even get them on. So I sent them back and ordered a pair a half size larger than my shoe size and I still could not put them on way to narrow."
Review 10 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd Pair of these,
September 30, 2013
By: Tigers68
from MI
"This is the 2nd pair of these shoes for me. The workmanship is outstanding. The 1st pair the leather was not as swede as the 2nd pair.
I still liked both. The only problem I have with these is the width. Very narrow, so it takes a few uncomforatable days before they stretch enough to ware all day
"
Review 11 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good boots, bad fit,
September 24, 2013
By: Macwet
from Elmhurst, IL
"Usually, I wear a size 10D shoe but, as I've aged, my feet seem to be expanding. I ordered these chukkas by telephone in sizes 10 and 10.5 hoping that one or the other pair would fit me. Neither did - they were too narrow and I couldn't get them on my foot and so I'm returning them. Otherwise, they appear to be well made with good arch support, leather lining, Vibram gumlite soles and well finished oiled exterior leather."
Review 12 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10 years later,
May 9, 2013
By: jollyred
from Golden, Colorado
"Great shoes. I bought a pair about ten years ago, and have worn them for work and play. I was so happy to see them still for sale here. My girlfriend bought me another pair for my birthday, and I'm looking forward to another ten years. Thanks Orvis."
Review 13 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart but casual,
January 9, 2013
By: Gower
from Bath, UK
"These boots are top quality at an affordable price. Smart enough for a business meeting, whilst they can also be paired with jeans or casual slacks. I love them."
Review 14 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
way to narrow,
November 21, 2012
By: pistachiofarmer
from fresno, california
"so, I am 57 y/o and have bought a lot of shoes in my life. These shoes look good but are way too narrow...they just dont match up to a typical size 8 shoe. So, i had to send back."
Review 15 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ok shoe - doesn't look as good as thepicture,
October 19, 2012
By: cycle
from SLO, Ca.
"I ordered an 11 size and could barely fit my foot in the shoe.
I've ordered a bunch of shoes from Orvis and you have to be really careful about the sizes.
They are all over the place.
This shoe looks kind of cheap when you get it. Picture looked great.
"
Review 16 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
extremely elegant appearance,
April 30, 2012
By: tigerfox
from london
"my husband loved these, they are perfect for his narrow feet, need size 11 if you are english, look and feel fantastic"
Review 17 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad stitching,
December 23, 2011
By: Anesthesia4u
from Roanoke Va.
"Love theses shoes. But after wearing them for just a few days the stitching going up the back of them came loose. I contacted customer support and requested a return label 2 times and never received it, which is unusual with Orvis. I live in Roanoke Va. where the returns are processed and just never got it. I took the shoes to the cobbler and he fixed it at a price. Love Orvis but dissatisfied with this transaction...Will I continue to shop Orvis? Yes...Great store."
Review 18 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking boot,
October 25, 2011
By: Dave47
from Indiana
"High quality boot but I had to send back the first pair. Usually wear a 9 but the 10 fit well. A bit pricey but hopefully worth the $. very comfortable once I could get them on."
Review 19 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OK but....,
September 29, 2011
By: SamtheWise
"The boots were D but still not wide enough for me. More disappointing was the fact that the color was not dark tan but was a sand. Otherwise a quality product."
Review 20 for Oiled Nubuck Leather Chukka
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice boots,
September 2, 2011
By: caddis52
"absolutely no complaints on the boots. fit great look great and are well built. Only problem is the color description, boots are more of a sueded desert sand than an oiled finish. Still love them!"