Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Windproof Fleece Jacket

Our three-layer men's fleece jacket stops the wind cold and resists water to keep you warm, dry, and fishing longer. The jacket is made of soft fleece that insulates without bulk and wears comfortably on your shoulders. Fleece jacket features tricot-lined chest hand-warmer pockets and a vertical pocket, easily accessed even when you're wearing waders and outer garments. Hand-warmer pockets for around town, and a neoprene trim at collar, waist, and cuffs. Fleece jacket has a drawcord waist that seals out wind. Special raglan sleeves, articulated underarm venting system with 4-way stretch give room for casting, plus breathability. Fleece jacket available in black, red. 100% polyester fleece. Washable. Men's fleece jacket sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Review 1 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smallish cut,
August 31, 2011
By: RC1000
"It came smaller than the indicated size, so it was sent back. I wish I could have kept it. I even tried to pass it on to my wife."
Review 2 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fleece - couple of suggestions,
April 2, 2011
By: George57
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First, this is a great fleece. Just bought it on sale at the SF Orvis store. It is incredibly warm - great for winter but probably too warm for spring/autumn use.
My suggestions:
1) Put pit zippers in it - would make it easier to use/wear in slightly warmer weather and also exhaust heat/dampness when exerting oneself
2) Sleeves could have a velcro cuff.
Except for that, great. Material is light, warm and windproof."
Review 3 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
October 16, 2010
By: BillR
from Bloomfield HIlls, MI
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After considering many different fleece jackets I purchased the Orvis Windproof for its quality and comfort. Unfortunately, i quickly discovered that the toggles do not hold to cinch the bottom of the jacket which is very important to making this a warm jacket in windy cold weather. I went back to the store in Royal Oak Michigan to replace it only to find all of the jackets on this jacket model have the same very cheap toggles that don't hold. I have several other Orvis jackets that have great toggles. Why they are using such cheap toggles on a $169 heavy fleece makes no sense."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 9, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Windproof Fleece Jacket toggles did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 4 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ONE JACKET OPTION,
April 3, 2010
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"With one light shirt under this jacket, that is all you need. Went for a walk with this jacket when it came at 23 degrees (and snowing) and it was almost too hot! This is the only jack you will need for hiking on cold or windy mornings."
Review 5 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More use occasions than expected!,
April 1, 2010
By: Loubeer
from Newport Beach, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Visited Montana in the early spring and purchased this garment as part of my layering options. Fortunately no rain or snow and this fleece was pretty much all I needed over my waders.
Also, I wore it as a jacket during non-fishing hours and it was the perfect weight for the cool mornings/evenings. I'll be wearing this fleece for a lot more than just fishing."
Review 6 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fleece I've Owned,
February 9, 2010
By: Bubs
from Arlington, VA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great product. I own a lot of Orvis fishing gear and clothing, and as far as the clothes go, this is the best product I've ever purchased from Orvis. The fleece is very warm, and the pockets are very handy. I've worn this jacket on three continents in all manners of weather, and it has performed well, whether steelhead fishing in WI, trout fishing in England, or just running around in Central Asia. The construction and material is excellent! I even bought one for each of my brothers in the military, and they both loved them. A great product!"
Review 7 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks Good; Works Like It Should,
October 28, 2009
By: aok2me
from California
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've had it for several months now and it seems to work like it should - for a light jacket.
I do have a several complaints; (1) you have to pull the zippers up to close which is not functional in ordinary daily use, (2) the interior is left exposed to unattractive cuts and stitching and (3) it is expensive.
I don't agree that it will keep you warm in -50 degree weather as previously stated. However, I'm not a big person, so I do get cold easily. I use it as a second liner under another semi-light jacket.
As for the positives such as appearance, I won't comment on it much since it's subjective to my opinion, but I like it."
Review 8 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NICE JACKET, BUT!!!!,
October 10, 2009
By: PILOT
from PEEKSKILL, NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Great jacket, fitting well and looking great and I might add very functional. However, after only one week the draw strings around the bottom of the jacket came undone and were left hanging. Unfortunatlly as I write this I am getting ready to return this jacket to Orvis. POOR WORKMANSHIP!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareOctober 19, 2009
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear that the jacket didn't perform as expected. We offered to exchange or refund the item. We appreciate all feedback from our customers. Customer Service also passed these comments on to our product developer for possible future improvements to this item.
Review 9 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right stuff,
August 9, 2009
By: LandRover
from Toronto
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Exceptional jacket (and matching vest -- I own both). I can not fault either the quality or the performance. Moss is the best color for outdoor wear. The only criticism I could make is that the lower section of the raglan sleeves on the jacket are a snug fit for shorter, stocky wearers. I solved that by shortening the sleeves. Great pockets in either jacket or vest. A number of non-anglers etc have asked me where I got them.
LandRover, Toronto
"
Review 10 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ready to use,
June 4, 2009
By: SFOOrvisShopper
from San Francisco, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just received it today. The features seem to be just about there. Pockets seem good and the adjustable tension waist drawcord strings seem good. At 5-11, the length might just be a tad short in the sense that is just right. Perhaps an inch or two longer.
Ready to get out into the cold and put it to use."
Review 11 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fleece,
January 10, 2009
By: Anonymous
from Middle/West, TN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket is great for everyday wear especially if everyday wear means everyday fishing. Acts as a great shell to keep the wind out and keep you warm all day. Perfect amount of room to layer up underneath for colder days without feeling baggy or bulky when wearing only a t shirt underneath. Very comfortable for all day casting as well. Totally Satisfied, kept me warm in the middle of a lake in a canoe with winter winds whipping all day. I recommend the moss color, makes a great camo when I'm sneaking around crystal clear smallmouth creeks (and yes camo can make a significant difference in that setting)."
Review 12 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Windproof Fleece,
January 9, 2009
By: Riptidecharters
from Cape Cod, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I looked everywhere for a windproof fleece that was not a form fitting Underarmor style. I just wanted a roomy windproof fleece for cold days on the boat and I did't want to have to wear a shell over a regular fleece. This jacket turned out to be all I wanted and more. Its great for all around wear, it keeps spray from soaking in, the wind is no longer a factor even running @ speed on cold mornings. The handwarmer pockets are in a perfect spot when wearing this fleece with Grundens or other bibs or waders. Well worth the money!"
Review 13 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas,
January 2, 2009
By: Mac1081
from Fairbanks, AK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In the week leading up to Christmas, the local temperatures had plummeted. Day-time highs have been around -45 (ambient) lately, and no matter how you look at it, that is unpleasant. So when I opened this fleece tha my wife had gotten for me I quickly threw it on and stepped outside to see how it performed. Now, my other jackets have vacated my coat rack because I only need one. The quality is great, it looks great, feels great. It can't be beat. Keeps me warm at -40 to -50 so what more can you ask?"
Review 14 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite jacket!,
December 4, 2008
By: NHBrookTroutGuy
from Hanover, NH
"I am really pleased with this jacket, as it does everything that I need a lightweight jacket to do and it does it better than any other jacket that I own. It is warm, wind-proof, lightweight, and not bulky. I wore it for several days while hunting high in the Rocky Mountains, near Durango CO, and never got cold, despite frequent single digit windchills. The other 4 hunters in camp had a variety of outer gear, both wool and synthetic, but none combined the warmth and lack of bulk that this jacket offers. All 4 guys told me that they were going to order 1 of these jackets as soon as they got warm, clean, and access to the internet.
The only 2 changes that I would like to see are:
1. For Orvis to offer this jacket in smaller sizes, so I could buy them for my kids!
2. For Orvis to offer this jacket in a blaze-orange camo pattern, so that I could wear it without a vest over it while deer hunting.
"
Review 15 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not your typical fleece-,
September 16, 2008
By: Crockett
from Knoxville, Tennessee
"I use fleece for layering often, and have shopped for a quality piece for sometime which would stand up to outdoor activity. This is the one.
The weight is more substantial as is the performance, but it is not bulky and has the added benefit of wind and water resistance. Layered under a wading jacket, it is good to go in all but the harshest weather conditions.
This piece of fleece is great for fly fishing with waders, but certainly is not lmited to that purpose in my wardrobe as it finds use from walking the dog to a run to the store as well as more rugged cool weather use on the mountain trails."
Review 16 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Jacket,
May 25, 2008
By: HDYEAGS
from PA
"Bought this jacket for cold/cool fly fishing and it's great. Keeps me warm and the underarm venting provides plenty of room for movement. Fit is exceptional!"
Review 17 for Windproof Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hot hot hot!,
February 2, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Got this fleece in the dead of winter and it has kept me warm on evry trip, very comfortable and i love the fact that it has the high chest hand warmer pockets!"