Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Bison Leather Football

A regulation-sized football in genuine bison leather from the plains of the American West. Great for home or his car, because you never know when or where a pickup game will begin. Traditional leather football in dark brown. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Review 1 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soars like a rocket!,
February 10, 2015
By: Kaonashi
from DFW Texas
"Unlike many of the other reviews, I bought this ball to spiral through the sky like a rocket and soar it does! I wanted a traditional football and most of the traditional footballs out there today have Roger Goodells John Hancock on it ---- no thanks! I ran across this as an alternative and I am most pleased. After I beat this thing to pieces, I will likely buy another."
Review 2 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
football,
February 9, 2015
By: ajosu
"the material and color were good. I returned it though as construction was odd; seemed too wide around and wouldn't spiral as add shaped. if it was a piece to leave on a shelf would be ok."
Review 3 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Football Ever,
February 8, 2015
By: LITEFLYER
from Colorado
"Purchased this football as a gift. Great item for anyone who has time to throw around the Bison (pig) Skin.
Well made and made in AMERICA!
"
Review 4 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 22, 2015
By: westernny
"Provides lots of fun and talking point with Buffalo logo"
Review 5 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Gift,
December 31, 2014
By: Milliebean
from long island, ny
"great quality leather football. not something my father would ever purchase for himself. he really loved it!"
Review 6 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply perfect,
December 25, 2014
By: Amazonian
from Ohio
"This ball is amazing. I love bison, bison leather and the spirit of Everything it stands for. I especially love the branded logo. But all of that would mean nothing if it wasn't a high quality, game ready ball. There's a great grip, nice size. I've gotten many complements on this ball in backyard pickup games and tailgates. I haven't owned it long, but I expect it to last. I've been looking at leatherhead's footballs for a couple years now. I can't say if this made by the same people or not, but it's certainly in that vein. Get it, you'll love it."
Review 7 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 24, 2014
By: CadillacJack
from Barrington, RI
"Beautifully made leather football. Expected to become family heirloom."
Review 8 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Game On,
December 22, 2014
By: townandcountry
from Madisonville,LA
"Best decision I made was to order this for my son. We look forward to many years of playing "go deep".
A product that will stand the test of time I'm sure. Thank you Orivs - ahead of time of course.
"
Review 9 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful!,
December 20, 2014
By: mdenver
from Denver, CO
"I bought this as a gift for my son for Christmas, as he is a huge Colorado University football fan (the buffalo is the mascot). He hasn't seen it yet, but my husband & I think it is beautifully made, and he will love it. We are very pleased with it's quality and can't wait to give it to him."
Review 10 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I needed,
December 19, 2014
By: Olives
from Minnesota
"I used it for a display for our football star in the family."
Review 11 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite football,
June 4, 2014
By: ChrisJr
from CT
"I love 1) footballs 2) Orvis and 3) bison so this was an easy purchase. The craftsmanship is superb. The leather is strong and feels great when you throw and catch. This will easily become your favorite football. I would confidently recommend it to anyone."
Review 12 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
March 12, 2014
By: BGChiIL
from Chicago
"This ball makes me wonder why anyone uses pigskin when we could have something as uniquely American as bison. I'm not a football expert, but this is beautiful. The bison mark is artistically pleasing and the smell is incredible.
It's exceptionally well made. I measured the leather at 5mm thick at the lace holes to reach the inner inflatable, which looks like some kind of natural fiber kevlar-eske basket-weave material. If you're wondering, the other side reads "Authentic American Bison" branded in black around the air hole. Looks like this may have been made by Leatherhead sports special / exclusively for Orvis, along with the bison lemon ball. Kudos to Orvis for going with bison.
I can't imagine a finer, more impressive, football."
Review 13 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great memories,
January 28, 2014
By: kessman
"When you hold this football it brings you back to yesteryear and realize why they did pass much in those days.That is why I purchased for the memories of years past and how the game has changed since then."
Review 14 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very very cool,
January 7, 2014
By: Panthers
from Charlotte NC
"This is a very good way to spend $98. I'd be willing to bet $98 that you won't be disappointed. I got this as a xmas gift in 2013 from my father-in-law. I opened the gift and proceeded to keep it next to me, holding it, smelling it, gripping it, rubbing it and ultimatley sleeping with it. I know .. strange ... but it's actually that cool of a ball... very unique. I know it's going to be hard for me to play with it with my son but I think it will make it even more unique with some good old scuffs on it. Great Gift Idea!"
Review 15 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One tough Ball,
December 21, 2013
By: Wedge725
from Cordova TN
"I've wanted this football for two years. I stands up to two sons-in -law and one son and myself. It is one tough ball for the play yard. Thanks for offering something you can't get at the big box sports merchants!"
Review 16 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family-room Fun,
December 10, 2013
By: Yswimmer
from Orcutt, Ca.
"Bought the Bison Ball three years ago. And, it's proven to be an amazing object lesson for our six grandsons , (I.e.) History of the American West ... What's a ball bladder ... How to throw a spirolll ... Etc. All of which was conduced by passing a carefully deflated Bison Ball from one grand-son to another while in our Family-room ~~~"
Review 17 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 28, 2013
By: AshH
from England
"Bought this as an anniversary gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it!"
Review 18 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Football,
December 29, 2012
By: Mavrik
from Texas, Gulf Coast
"Football in catalog had lighter colored laces, lighter laces sort of punctuate football's character...just sayin..."
Review 19 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 28, 2012
By: LylyRose
"This football is beautiful. The craftsmanship is outstanding. It is too nice to actually use so it will become a focal point on a shelf."
Review 20 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Idea,
December 27, 2012
By: PRS1
from Gray, TN
"Bought this great looking football for a family friend. He loves it. Looks great and outstanding quality you expect from Orvis."