Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Bison Leather Football

A regulation-sized football in genuine bison leather from the plains of the American West. Great for home or his car, because you never know when or where a pickup game will begin. Traditional leather football in dark brown. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Review 1 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I needed,
December 19, 2014
By: Olives
from Minnesota
"I used it for a display for our football star in the family."
Review 2 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite football,
June 4, 2014
By: ChrisJr
from CT
"I love 1) footballs 2) Orvis and 3) bison so this was an easy purchase. The craftsmanship is superb. The leather is strong and feels great when you throw and catch. This will easily become your favorite football. I would confidently recommend it to anyone."
Review 3 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
March 12, 2014
By: BGChiIL
from Chicago
"This ball makes me wonder why anyone uses pigskin when we could have something as uniquely American as bison. I'm not a football expert, but this is beautiful. The bison mark is artistically pleasing and the smell is incredible.
It's exceptionally well made. I measured the leather at 5mm thick at the lace holes to reach the inner inflatable, which looks like some kind of natural fiber kevlar-eske basket-weave material. If you're wondering, the other side reads "Authentic American Bison" branded in black around the air hole. Looks like this may have been made by Leatherhead sports special / exclusively for Orvis, along with the bison lemon ball. Kudos to Orvis for going with bison.
I can't imagine a finer, more impressive, football."
Review 4 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great memories,
January 28, 2014
By: kessman
"When you hold this football it brings you back to yesteryear and realize why they did pass much in those days.That is why I purchased for the memories of years past and how the game has changed since then."
Review 5 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very very cool,
January 7, 2014
By: Panthers
from Charlotte NC
"This is a very good way to spend $98. I'd be willing to bet $98 that you won't be disappointed. I got this as a xmas gift in 2013 from my father-in-law. I opened the gift and proceeded to keep it next to me, holding it, smelling it, gripping it, rubbing it and ultimatley sleeping with it. I know .. strange ... but it's actually that cool of a ball... very unique. I know it's going to be hard for me to play with it with my son but I think it will make it even more unique with some good old scuffs on it. Great Gift Idea!"
Review 6 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One tough Ball,
December 21, 2013
By: Wedge725
from Cordova TN
"I've wanted this football for two years. I stands up to two sons-in -law and one son and myself. It is one tough ball for the play yard. Thanks for offering something you can't get at the big box sports merchants!"
Review 7 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family-room Fun,
December 10, 2013
By: Yswimmer
from Orcutt, Ca.
"Bought the Bison Ball three years ago. And, it's proven to be an amazing object lesson for our six grandsons , (I.e.) History of the American West ... What's a ball bladder ... How to throw a spirolll ... Etc. All of which was conduced by passing a carefully deflated Bison Ball from one grand-son to another while in our Family-room ~~~"
Review 8 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 28, 2013
By: AshH
from England
"Bought this as an anniversary gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it!"
Review 9 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Football,
December 29, 2012
By: Mavrik
from Texas, Gulf Coast
"Football in catalog had lighter colored laces, lighter laces sort of punctuate football's character...just sayin..."
Review 10 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 28, 2012
By: LylyRose
"This football is beautiful. The craftsmanship is outstanding. It is too nice to actually use so it will become a focal point on a shelf."
Review 11 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Idea,
December 27, 2012
By: PRS1
from Gray, TN
"Bought this great looking football for a family friend. He loves it. Looks great and outstanding quality you expect from Orvis."
Review 12 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
December 24, 2012
By: Mrph
from Hinsdale, IL
"Ordered the Bison hide football. It's got a classic, all-american look and it's tough as nails. It'll get plenty of use at my house, that's for sure."
Review 13 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Football,
October 1, 2012
By: flyfish7
from Hudson, OH
"Hands down the best football on the market. I own several higher end footballs (if there is such a thing) and this one is the best. Great old-school look and feel."
Review 14 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gift card,
July 2, 2012
By: rolle
from roanoke va
"just wanted a all leather orvis foot ball was a little disapoited that it didnt have the orvis brand name on it but i like it"
Review 15 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Football,
June 18, 2012
By: SteelCurtain
"Ive been wanting a football to play with my son for a while. I went to local sporting good stores but was not impressed with the selection. The price is less than at most stores for an official NFL ball. It is easy to grip the ball with the genuine leather and it looks very masculine. Highly recommended."
Review 16 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Ball for the serious fan,
December 5, 2011
By: VmanSeattle
from Seattle, WA
"This ball rocks!!! There is a certain nostalgia you feel when holding the ball that gives you this feeling that you’ve been part of football history for the last 100 years. Anyone who has ever followed the sport should have one to hold when sitting down to watch a game – any day of the week."
Review 17 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save a cow, buy a "Bison Ball",
June 30, 2011
By: Anonymous
"It looks like it was pulled form a 1930's HBO special and placed on the mantle in my living room, once I opened it I decided it was not to be used for play but for viewing pleasure, and some light tossing across the couch on weekends. It's not perfect, but that's what makes it perfect, the grains in the bison leather and the shape are all hand sewn so the purity soaks right in. I'm ording another for my Dad and Brother, maybe some extras for the game room and office as well."
Review 18 for Orvis Bison Leather Football
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome football,
January 1, 2011
By: Oskiwowow
from Modesto, ca
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great football. Rich leather, solid construction, beautiful rich brown chocolately color and texture. This is a great item to throw around or throw on your favorite leathe chair A's an accent piece."