Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan

Take the edge off cool evenings with the warmth and softness of our pure wool sweater made of exclusive lovat-colored yarns. The shawl collar offers a distinctive look; action rib-knit construction provides long wear. Genuine leather buttons. Two set-in pockets. In lovat. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
142
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
5
171 of 185(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Review 1 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful sweater!,
March 4, 2015
By: ChrisP1
from Chicago
"It's a wonderful, warm and cozy sweater. Some pilling, but nothing extreme"
Review 2 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Heritage clothing",
February 27, 2015
By: Medmkt
from NW Virginia
"My Brothers 61st birthday arrived and I knew he had been interested in finding a warm cardigan sweater. I ordered one for him on-line and when it arrived we found it to be too small despite being labeled as his sise. We were disappointed and returned it. Determined, I decided to order from Orvis! Despite spending 3x as much I knew it would fit him right and last a life time. My Brother felt guilty about my spending money on him until I reminded him that he will probably enjoy this fine Orvis sweater for the rest of his life! Thanks Orvis for a memorable birthday present."
Review 3 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
February 18, 2015
By: NATO17
from Minneapolis, MN
"This sweater is just what I've been looking for. It fits well, keeps me warm through MN winters, and looks first class. I love the genuine leather buttons and the flecks of color in the green yarn. The shawl collar is soft not scratchy against my neck. If you want a cozy cardigan for those dark winter evenings, this is it."
Review 4 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
February 17, 2015
By: Shannin
from Texas
"I love this sweater. Bought it for my boyfriend and I am very happy with the quality and the appearance."
Review 5 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it!,
February 16, 2015
By: MaryQ53
from Simpsonville, SC
"I purchased this sweater as a gift for my husband because it reminded me on one I bought one exactly like it for him 38 years ago. Although he outgrew the one purchased in 1977, he has kept it in his closet as a reminder of our first Christmas. Mi hope this one lasts as long!"
Review 6 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual, comfortable and stylish,
February 12, 2015
By: LSUrules
from Gainesville. GA.
"This sweater looks terrific layered over a collared shirt for a dressy look or tee for more casual. It hangs at a perfect length and has enough give to fit nicely without looking restrictive. The buttons add flair and uniqueness."
Review 7 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile Sweater,
February 6, 2015
By: Recruiterguy52
from Houston, TX
"This sweater is good with a t-shirt to turtleneck around the house or coking in the kitchen, It is also perfect with a white button down shirt and tie for a business meeting"
Review 8 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & well made,
February 4, 2015
By: Twinnie
from Richmond, VA
"This is a great sweater that my husband really likes. Warm and good looking. It does run rather small, so I needed to return the original medium for a large."
Review 9 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised,
January 30, 2015
By: Maxfishes
from Portland, OR
"The sweater is exactly what I wanted. Size was perfect, although I wear L shirts, use XL sweaters. Color, buttons and style are great."
Review 10 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovat Shawl,
January 28, 2015
By: Willrod
from St. louis, mo
"I received my sweater promptly in the mail, I love the sweater and fits great. I did have one quality problem a button was loose, I didn't want to send back so I got it fixed. Expensive sweater for that to happen but really like it."
Review 11 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly right,
January 22, 2015
By: preacst
from Tennessee, United States
"I was looking for a shawl collar sweater. The lovat color caught my eye. Feels wonderful; the sleeves are long enough; excellent weight and warmth. And of course the Orvis quality."
Review 12 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Sweater,
January 18, 2015
By: ErikDe
from Indiana
"After just over one year of use, going into the second season, this sweater has maintained its shape, kept its buttons and still look nice. It started to develop pills after only two wears, which I've not seen from any of my other sweaters. This is the reason for the 4 stars and not five. The size is true. This is unfortunate for me as I'm now two sizes smaller and I now want to replace it with another."
Review 13 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE MAKE THIS IN OLIVE!,
January 9, 2015
By: Mike5510
"I have this sweater in navy and love the style and fit. I have tried to learn to like it in lovat but can't seem to get there. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE make it in a true olive and black...I believe they would be much more versatile colors for both casual and comfortable dress wear. Thanks for an otherwise great product!"
Review 14 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Year of the Cardigan,
January 9, 2015
By: KristinT
from St. Louis, MO
"Got this cardigan for my boyfriend. I doubted if everyone could pull them off (and he is a large man, 6'5'', so we went with the XL). It looks great. He loved it."
Review 15 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy sweater!,
January 7, 2015
By: Debbiesue2
from Texas
"My husband loves his new cardigan, and it is a beautiful, soft, cozy sweater both to wear and to see on. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars is that it is a week old, and there are already "pills" on the sweater from general rubbing. This is pretty odd in such an expensive sweater--we'll have to see if we keep it!"
Review 16 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Comfortable,
January 5, 2015
By: ColoradoAngler
from Denver, CO
"I received two shawl collar sweaters for Christmas, one by Pendleton and the Lovat Shawl. While I like them both very much, the Lovat is my favorite. It is much lighter in weight and made of finer wool than the Pendleton, so it's suitable for wearing with dressy clothes. The lighter weight also means that I'll wear it more often. I'm very satisfied with this sweater!"
Review 17 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylin,
January 3, 2015
By: Sceutch
from Cape Cod
"Well made, looks great, not too heavy - - What more do you want?"
Review 18 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I've been looking for.,
January 3, 2015
By: Esplanade
from Staten Island ,NY
"Since I found this sweater I no longer have to be in a room where the thermostat is turned up so high you can cook an egg. My husband is very comfy and warm with this sweater. And I breath with the temperature lowered. For that I thank you."
Review 19 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised--even better!,
January 2, 2015
By: rustysmom2015
"The sweater was a Christmas present for my somewhat picky husband. He absloutely loves it and has scarcely taken it off since Christmas. The fabric is soft and cozy--and the size runs true."
Review 20 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
January 2, 2015
By: NYRandy
from internet
"Bought for my son for Christmas gift. He loved it! Fit and quality are very good. A little expensive but worth it."