Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan

Take the edge off cool evenings with the warmth and softness of our pure wool sweater made of exclusive lovat-colored yarns. The shawl collar offers a distinctive look; action rib-knit construction provides long wear. Genuine leather buttons. Two set-in pockets. In lovat. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
5
162 of 176(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Review 1 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised,
January 30, 2015
By: Maxfishes
from Portland, OR
"The sweater is exactly what I wanted. Size was perfect, although I wear L shirts, use XL sweaters. Color, buttons and style are great."
Review 2 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovat Shawl,
January 28, 2015
By: Willrod
from St. louis, mo
"I received my sweater promptly in the mail, I love the sweater and fits great. I did have one quality problem a button was loose, I didn't want to send back so I got it fixed. Expensive sweater for that to happen but really like it."
Review 3 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly right,
January 22, 2015
By: preacst
from Tennessee, United States
"I was looking for a shawl collar sweater. The lovat color caught my eye. Feels wonderful; the sleeves are long enough; excellent weight and warmth. And of course the Orvis quality."
Review 4 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Sweater,
January 18, 2015
By: ErikDe
from Indiana
"After just over one year of use, going into the second season, this sweater has maintained its shape, kept its buttons and still look nice. It started to develop pills after only two wears, which I've not seen from any of my other sweaters. This is the reason for the 4 stars and not five. The size is true. This is unfortunate for me as I'm now two sizes smaller and I now want to replace it with another."
Review 5 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE MAKE THIS IN OLIVE!,
January 9, 2015
By: Mike5510
"I have this sweater in navy and love the style and fit. I have tried to learn to like it in lovat but can't seem to get there. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE make it in a true olive and black...I believe they would be much more versatile colors for both casual and comfortable dress wear. Thanks for an otherwise great product!"
Review 6 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Year of the Cardigan,
January 9, 2015
By: KristinT
from St. Louis, MO
"Got this cardigan for my boyfriend. I doubted if everyone could pull them off (and he is a large man, 6'5'', so we went with the XL). It looks great. He loved it."
Review 7 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy sweater!,
January 7, 2015
By: Debbiesue2
from Texas
"My husband loves his new cardigan, and it is a beautiful, soft, cozy sweater both to wear and to see on. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars is that it is a week old, and there are already "pills" on the sweater from general rubbing. This is pretty odd in such an expensive sweater--we'll have to see if we keep it!"
Review 8 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Comfortable,
January 5, 2015
By: ColoradoAngler
from Denver, CO
"I received two shawl collar sweaters for Christmas, one by Pendleton and the Lovat Shawl. While I like them both very much, the Lovat is my favorite. It is much lighter in weight and made of finer wool than the Pendleton, so it's suitable for wearing with dressy clothes. The lighter weight also means that I'll wear it more often. I'm very satisfied with this sweater!"
Review 9 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylin,
January 3, 2015
By: Sceutch
from Cape Cod
"Well made, looks great, not too heavy - - What more do you want?"
Review 10 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I've been looking for.,
January 3, 2015
By: Esplanade
from Staten Island ,NY
"Since I found this sweater I no longer have to be in a room where the thermostat is turned up so high you can cook an egg. My husband is very comfy and warm with this sweater. And I breath with the temperature lowered. For that I thank you."
Review 11 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised--even better!,
January 2, 2015
By: rustysmom2015
"The sweater was a Christmas present for my somewhat picky husband. He absloutely loves it and has scarcely taken it off since Christmas. The fabric is soft and cozy--and the size runs true."
Review 12 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
January 2, 2015
By: NYRandy
from internet
"Bought for my son for Christmas gift. He loved it! Fit and quality are very good. A little expensive but worth it."
Review 13 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
twas the perfect gift,
January 2, 2015
By: dobbie9
from Merrimack, NH
"This sweater looks great on my husband. He loves it because it not only looks good but it keeps him very warm. This sweater has substituted for a sports coat with a nice shirt and neck tie. Looks great with a casual shirt and jeans as well."
Review 14 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A true classic,
January 2, 2015
By: vassrow
from Long Island, NY
"I loved the look of this sweater the moment I saw it. A Christmas gift for myself......The "large" fits perfectly.......high quality "make" and details...nice leather buttons. Color more of a "loden" green.....just right. Length is nice....extends several inches below the belt-line. Perfect for around the house in the colder north rooms! This will be a favorite for years to come! Wife loved it when she saw it.....my older daughters loved it too."
Review 15 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it Loved it!,
December 31, 2014
By: RosyRose
from Los Angeles, CA
"I had been looking for a well-fitting cardigan sweater for my husband for a very long time. I saw this beautiful sweater in the Orvis catalog, and I knew he would love it, and he did. Now he feels like he can relax, feel comfortable and warm in his new wool cardigan. Great quality and a beautiful color."
Review 16 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!,
December 31, 2014
By: CCCR
from Midwest
"Bought this for my husband. Perfect fit, not too tight around the middle, but nice length on the sleeve. He's worn it several times since Christmas and gets compliments from the grown kids. And rightly so, he looks marvelous!"
Review 17 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Xmas gift purchase,
December 31, 2014
By: ginny114
from Boston MA
"My SO chose this sweater from the catalog for his Xmas gift. Arrived in short order. Sweater is soft, color is true, fit is excellent, warmth is great. Nice for a slightly more formal wear, as well as for casual use. Enjoy!"
Review 18 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves this!,
December 30, 2014
By: WendyR
"My husband often complains of his "core" being cold, but he doesn't like bulky clothes. This sweater is wonderful because it is warm without being too bulky. The shawl collar keeps his neck warm. The color is lovely, and true to the way it looks in the catalog and online."
Review 19 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Granddad sweater EVER!,
December 30, 2014
By: jamba
from Merced, CA
"Great color, great style, great wool!
what's not to love :-)
"
Review 20 for Lovat Shawl–Collar Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable with a Great Fit,
December 30, 2014
By: JimMorris
from Louisville, Ky
"I've been looking at this sweater for a while before purchasing it. I read the reviews and they helped me make my decision to buy it. The color was just what I thought it was and the fit was perfect. It is very comfortable and warm. I wear it every where.
Another great Orvis product.
"