Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather

Comfortable. Waterproof. Rugged. Beautiful 9-oz. oil-tanned bullhide leather teamed with a fully waterproof, breathable Gore-Tex™ lining and comfortable, moisture-wicking Cambrelle™ fabric. Aggressive Vibram® sole pattern holds firmly on rough terrain. Brass eyelets. Easy-lace hooks. In brown. Made in USA.Men's whole and half sizes: 7-12, 13, 14. Custom order not available.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
25 of 31(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Review 1 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Boots,
April 9, 2014
By: IrishSetter
from Warwick, NY
"I have not hunted in these boots yet, but I have been wearing them around the house to break them in. Super comfortable. I have wanted these boots for quite awhile. Finally when I saw them on sale I could not resist any longer. I think I will be very happy. They seem of real high quality."
Review 2 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice boot!,
March 19, 2014
By: TKYCALR
from Northern WI
"Very well made boot! Comfortable and runs true to size. Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wetlander Boots,
March 3, 2014
By: NYCDM
from New York
"Well constructed, but the tongue is difficult to tuck in and therefore is bulky when the boot is laced. Very narrow, to the point of approaching discomfort even with light weight socks. I hope they stretch to the point of being very supportive. We'll see the first weekend lugging 100 lbs of camera gear."
Review 4 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great upland boot,
February 25, 2014
By: FJett
from Lexington,SC
"I orderd the Gokey wetlander boat for hunting in the low country in South Carolina. I tryed them out last weekend great boot for quail hunting very comfortable and super traction in muddy fields."
Review 5 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough boots aggressive soles,
February 18, 2014
By: Brule
from Northern wisconsin
"Bought these boots on sale and after reading several reviews bought them one half size smaller than usual. However they ran pretty much true to size and now I only wear them with light wool socks.They are a little heavy for long upland hunts but are very well made and offer great support… just a fine quality boot."
Review 6 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These are $350 boots???,
February 15, 2014
By: 4x4ever
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I had never owned a pair of Gokey boots before and thought I would try them out, especially on sale for $220.
When I received them in the mail I was disappointed. The leather was not uniformly colored and had black spots. The leather also seemed very dry - it did not appear to be waterproofed (even though there is a Gore-Tex liner). Also, the welt was made from plastic and not leather - not something you would see on a high quality boot. I do not think these are truly a moc-toe construction, either.
The fit was true to size for me (13D) and I believe the sole would give good traction. Still, these boots struck me as more a $200 retail price, not at $350 quality level at all.
Just a suggestion - the top fastener of a boot with speed hooks should be an eyelet to prevent the laces from falling off the hooks over a day of use."
Review 7 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size is an issue,
February 11, 2014
By: Mthunter
from Lolo, Montana
"These boots are comfortable and seem well constructed. Size is a big issue though. The boots are narrow in the toe box. I do not think someone with wide feet would find these comfortable."
Review 8 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality boot,
February 8, 2014
By: Ohioriverman
from Centerville OH
"Highly recommend, particularly with the extra 20% off. Quality construction that will last a lifetime. I wear a size 10 and ordered a size 9 based upon comments in the reviews. The boot does run true to size. Returned the boots and reordered the size 10 which fits perfectly. Impressive stitching and detail, all brass grommets and superior wicking inside material. Orvis has the best return policy and the boots are a delight."
Review 9 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not a bad boot!,
February 3, 2014
By: CTHunter
from Greenwich, CT
"Wore these for the first time in the field last week. I was very impressed! There were comfortable, warm (without being too hot) and gripped the ground nicely. When bird hunting I want to concentrate on what the dog is telling me and not be distracted by cold, wet feet. I would definitely recommend these to a friend!"
Review 10 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome boots,
January 13, 2014
By: JTGPitt
from Pittsburgh, PA
"A little snug when I first pulled them on but after a few hours of wear they felt great. Waterproof, tough and comfortable - these boots are a great purchase."
Review 11 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Questionable quality,
December 21, 2013
By: Snowplow21
from Vidette, GA
"Initially the boots were nice and comfortable. After one week of intermittent use, the sole started separating from the bottom of the boot. Fit was fine. A little heavy. I think the use of the Gokey name in the description is a little deceptive. Expensive for what you get. Customer service was great when dealing with the return."
Review 12 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Also consider the Kangaroo Uplander,
July 15, 2013
By: WhitetailHunter
from South Carolina
"A world-class boot with no competition for the price. Unfortunately, the Wetlanders run /12 to 1 full size large and had to return them because they were too large and size 9 was not available until 3 months later. As an alternative, ordered the Orvis Kangaroo Uplander boot and it is equal to or better than the Wetlander. The Kangaroo is extremely lightweight (much lighter than the (Wetlander) and identical to Wetlander except for sole pattern. I understand Gokey makes the Orvis line, which explains the world-class quality of the Kangaroo Upland boot. The Wetlander, is a terrific boot, extremely comfortable, just heavier and has a more aggressive tread."
Review 13 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Boots but Heavy,
January 5, 2013
By: CentralILHunter
"Looking for upland boots that have good traction, were lightweight, but well made, supportive and comfortable. Bought these. As other reviewers noted, they run large. I typically wear a size 10 or 10 1/2, but ordered these in 9 1/2, and they fit well. I was very impressed with the build quality, comfort, and support. And with the outsole, they were sure to provide much better traction than the typical Vibram gumlite soles put on so many lightweight upland boots. But, my pair weighed 4 1/2 pounds, and that was not acceptable for a half or an all day upland bird hunt. So,unfortunately had to I return them. I wish Orvis would make these in Kangaroo leather to take the weight down to 3 - 3 1/2 lbs."
Review 14 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Runs Large,
October 23, 2012
By: Drahthaar
"The Wetlanders are clearly a quality product. Judging from a wet 1st day of pheasant season they are also quite waterproof. They do run huge so you must order down one size"
Review 15 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wetlander boots,
October 7, 2012
By: 1chrisG
from Southern california
"Great boots, beautiful leather and fine craftsmanship. they do run large. I wear an 11 in every other boot I own and I needed a 10 in these to get the fit right."
Review 16 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Boots,
September 21, 2012
By: MichiganUplander
from Michigan
"Just as other reviews have stated, the boots run almost a full size big. The quality seems to be great and im sure they will hold up for years to come. I was going to use them for grouse hunting in michigan but they seem to be a bit heavy for all the walking that needs to be done but im still happy to have purchased them. Having a quality pair of waterproof leather boots here in michigan is wonderful. I got them on clearance which made them a great value. The only reason for the four stars is because of the weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tops for Looks and Comfort,
August 16, 2012
By: DJB67
"Bought them for a float fishing trip in Alaska as camp boots in wet weather. Didn't get to test them much for water proofness but comfort is outstanding. They seemed a bit tight when I first put them on but the leather relaxed very quickly and they soon felt like wearing a moccasin. Guys on the trip who spend more time in the backcountry than I do all thought I find them really useful because cleaned up they will look at home with jeans walking around town in addition to being a rugged outdoor boot."
Review 18 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Designed Gortex Boot,
February 20, 2012
By: brooker1966
from Jacksonville, FL
"Fits well, comfortable, warm and waterproof. The leather
is very nice and will last a long time if cleaned and conditioned as needed.
"
Review 19 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Heck Of A Buy!,
February 11, 2012
By: crossbowme
from South China, Maine
"I won't say I'm an expert on boots as a whole. However, I served in the Army for 27 years and I am an avid hunter and fly fisherman. Most of my life I have been required to wear boots every workday. During that time I migrated away from issue boots to Danners. These provided the support I needed plus lasted a long time and had good quality.
A couple of weeks ago I noticed a sale on these Gokey boots and decided to try them since they look dressy and appeared to offer good boot support. When they arrived I immediate wore them to work. They felt so good I wore them again the next day. Now I wear them every day. In fact, they're so soft, supple and supportive that I bought another set while they were on sale.
I don't know how they'll wear in the long run but my bet is they'll be good. If you're looking for a buy these are the ones!"
Review 20 for Wetlander Boots Featuring Gokey® Bullhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great so far!,
December 1, 2011
By: JChannell
from Augusta, GA
"I recently purchased a pair of these boots and have worn them on a few occaisions, really only to get them broken in. I can say that they are extremely comfortable right out of the box and after a handful of wearings are already feeling pretty nicely broken in. I have admired these boots in the catalog for a number of years, but never bought a pair because of the price. I finally decided that I would take the plunge and buy the boots and, so far, I am very pleased with my decision.
The bullhide leather is incredible and the craftsmanship is second to none. The footbed is incredibly stable and the uppers give extraordinary ankle support. I really like the 10" height, these boots are tall enough to give great support and protection, but not so tall as to be uncomfortable to wear under pants legs.
The sizing of the boots is very generous, apparently to accomodate thick socks. I wear a size 11 in every shoe that I own. I ordered an 11 in these boots and if I do not wear thick socks, these boots border on being too large. If you like to wear thin socks, I would suggest ordering a half size smaller than usual.
Again, I have been extremely pleased with these boots. If they continue to perform as well as they have initially, they will be my favoite boots of all time."