Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wine Barrel Stave Table

A handsome table crafted of the recycled solid-oak staves from retired wine barrels—a barrel is discarded from vineyard use once it has exhausted its oaky wood flavor. However, the strength and usefulness of the wood will last another century or more. Each tabletop retains the distinctive vintner's marking and original cooperage imprints, so each piece of wine barrel furniture is unique. The wood is treated with a hand-rubbed penetrating stain and a sealer-sanded lacquer topcoat. The shelf of the larger table is made of reclaimed antique hardwood. The smaller size doesn't have a shelf. The Celts are credited with creating wooden barrels for transporting goods during the Iron Age; the French made them famous for aging wine. Today, they are used to make beautiful handcrafted, specialty furniture. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Review 1 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Adequate for small space,
January 23, 2014
By: Spugh
from Wildwood, MO
"Not Orvis quality. Poorly constructed, though durable, average appearance and looks the part. Disappointed at best, but not enough to return.
It's...Okay.
"
Review 2 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
December 28, 2012
By: silverspoon1
from Chicago, Illinois
"The table is very sturdy and nice looking. The color is attractive, and goes well with my hardwood floor. The size of the smaller table works very well in the small room I used it in. The wine barrel top makes it an interesting piece."
Review 3 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Table,
December 31, 2011
By: Padraig62
from Linneus, Maine
"Unique, well built piece of furniture that adds semi-rustic charm to the house."
Review 4 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DIFFERENT CAN BE GOOD!,
May 25, 2011
By: Rassie
"I had ordered one of these a couple of years ago for a side table; everyone loved it. Since then, I needed taller bedside tables and this table popped into my mind. Ordered it and love it!!!!! They are so sturdy and different; perfect for beside the bed."
Review 5 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great conversation piece,
November 27, 2010
By: Leaw
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I purchased two of these tables at a furniture store in Glenwood Springs, CO and brought them home to Texas.We love them. They are the perfect size for a side table. We have had so many compliments on them."
Review 6 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
January 3, 2010
By: Jacques
from Connecticut
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the small table for our bar room. It has a deep brownish red finish. The natural grains of the wood are beautiful. This is the second piece of furniture that I have purchased from Orvis and have been extremely pleased. The quality is superb The character of the furniture is so unique. I love it!"
Review 7 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great craftsmanship,
June 9, 2009
By: TShark
from Dallas, Texas
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a unique and beautiful table. Nice size (choice of two) and great finish (color & quality). No one else in the neighborhood will have one of these!"
Review 8 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well crafted,
November 12, 2007
By: MissTee
from Roanoke, VA
"This wine barrel table and stool are perfect for a den or basement. The wood is a beautiful mahogany color. I would suggest if you purchase this make sure you have someone to help you take it out of the box because this is real wood and it is a little heavy. It is definelty worth the money."
Review 9 for Wine Barrel Stave Table
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great piece!,
September 27, 2007
By: Elizabeth
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We searched everywhere for an end table that would give us a distinctive, original look for our family room, which is furnished with brown leather and features both hardwood and brick flooring. We found the perfect piece in Orvis' wine barrel stave table. It definitely has character, and has become quite the conversation piece. The table looks great next to our leather chair, and has just the right blend of ruggedness and sophistication."