Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

County Donegal Tweed Pants

Get the distinctive salt-and-pepper look and warmth of robust, 12.5-oz. pure wool Donegal tweed in these plain front pants. Our master tailors incorporate all the details you require, including full lining for a comfortable fit, along with faux-leather trim on the side-seam pockets and button-through back pockets. Plain front pants in pure wool tweed. Belt not included. Polyester/cotton lining. Dry clean. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
2
118 of 130(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Review 1 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality product.,
January 22, 2014
By: CadillacJack
from Barrington, RI
"These pants are very well made, fit perfectly and are warm. The detail makes them very rich in appearance."
Review 2 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I hoped it would be,
January 16, 2014
By: TillyRusty
from Hoylake, Wirral, England
"I am always reticent about ordering clothes on the internet. Orvis have surpassed all my best hopes. Delighted to find the trousers fitted perfectly, and are lovely and warm, smart, and very comfortable. just the job to keep me warm for the winter."
Review 3 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet salt and peppers,
January 15, 2014
By: losricos
from SC
"beautiful and hard to find salt and pepper tweed. a little heavy for me (i live in the south) , so these will be winter time only for me. well made and well worth the price. I usually get comments when I wear them."
Review 4 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
County Donegal Tweed Pants,
January 15, 2014
By: mgan
from Park Ridge, IL
"Our Irish relatives are from Donegal-so this was especially nice gift. It goes excellently with the Black Sheep Fisherman Sweater."
Review 5 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and warm,
January 15, 2014
By: Granmutti
from Amarillo , Texas
"Really quite pleased with the trousers. Arrived just ahead of the "polar vortex" and was just right. Also comfortable for sitting for long periods."
Review 6 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort and warmth,
January 15, 2014
By: billsquash
from Lake Forest. Illinois
"Casual or dress, comfortable pants and great fitting. Warm on a cold day but not too warm for wearing inside"
Review 7 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pair of Pants,
January 13, 2014
By: Zarathustra
from Galleria Shops, Pittsburgh PA
"These Orvis Donegal Tweed Pants are wonderful. They are durable and yet look great. The sales staff at Orvis was very helpful and knowledgeable as well."
Review 8 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not thrilled,
January 4, 2014
By: Thudone
from Richmond, Va.
"These trousers are impressive from a looks standpoint. The first problem is the lining which does not cover the interior seams and becomes readily apparent after wearing them 15 minutes when the itching starts. The tailoring and fit are atrocious. The rise is much too short for a traditional middle age fit and was especially noted in the rear where it was 2 inches too short and would form an air scoop when stooping or bending over. This is the third pair of your trousers that I have purchased and the problem has obtained in all of them and they have all been returned. Without mentioning the name of a competitor I would just mention that their "natural fit" is always a perfect fit which says my shape is not that much off the wall. I do hate to send you a negative like this. I have enjoyed over the years many of your very fine products."
Review 9 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Happy Man!,
January 2, 2014
By: OregonFlower
from Oregon
"Bought these pants as a Christmas gift to my husband. They are now his "favorite" and is making noises about me finding new goodies for him from Orvis.
I have to admit he did look handsome as he modeled them for me on Christmas morning!
"
Review 10 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Never Disappointed,
December 26, 2013
By: RLRLR
"I have purchased from Orvis for over 35 years, so I bought the County Donegal Tweed pants. As expected, they were first class in terms of quality, fit and value. They are perfect for casual dress, or just working around the yard. I know I will enjoy them for years to come..."
Review 11 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not best purchase,
December 26, 2013
By: Gracenfavour
from Channel islands
"These trousers were nowhere as well tailored as I expected, given the price. The fly had to be pressed on arrival as it stood out in an unacceptable way. I have seen better tailoring on much cheaper clothing; however, husband found them very comfortable and warm so has kept them. Had they been for me to wear, i would have returned them."
Review 12 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful slacks,
December 25, 2013
By: Momocita
from State college, PA
"Very classy looking tweeds with real leather trim....nicely lined. My husband loves them!"
Review 13 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants EVER,
December 25, 2013
By: NUMEROUNO
"The pants are comfortable, rich in appearance and warm. They arrived fitting me perfectly according to the measurements I submitted. Everyone I'm around complements their appearance!"
Review 14 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
December 20, 2013
By: Lavelanet
"I looked at tweed pants from a number of sources and these are just the best. Fully lined very warm in cold weather yet breathable. Just outstanding."
Review 15 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Potential buyer feedback,
December 19, 2013
By: Carlos100
"Orvis, it's very hard to find tweed dress pants in the US. Unfortunately, you're not helping make it much easier. Your charcoal tweed pants would probably go better with black shoes/boots and the brown pants with brown shoes. However, you have brown leather borders on the pockets of the charcoal pants. Therefore, wearing a black belt and black shoes/boots with those pants will look wrong because the colors won't match. You need to have black leather borders on the charcoal pants. Just a tip."
Review 16 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful pants!!!,
December 15, 2013
By: Blakemorton14
from Whitesboro NY
"I love these pants not only do they look like bucks, they fit great, and they are so warm for New York winters!!!!!!!!!"
Review 17 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tweed pants,
December 14, 2013
By: Lola0104
from Northern Virginia
"Excellent quality and looks classic. Can wear either brown or black. My husband is so happy with the fit and warmth of the wool"
Review 18 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coolest pants ever!!,
December 10, 2013
By: jponikvar
from Craig, Colorado
"These exceed my expectations! Great colors and construction, fit was perfect in my size.
I receive complements every time I wear these. Quickly becoming my favorite pants.
"
Review 19 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slimming,
December 7, 2013
By: 1Kalulu
"I like the look of these trousers. Some cords make you look lumpy not these! Nice detail trim too."
Review 20 for County Donegal Tweed Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the office or the woods.,
November 28, 2013
By: Juxie
from NYC and Dutchess County
"These pants are thick, heavy wool, nicely tailored, fully lined. They look conservative enough for office wear but also stand up to weekend hiking.
My boyfriend has large (handsome) thighs and needs pants with a generous cut or he'll wear through them fast. I bought these as a gift to replace the exact pair that he's finally worn out, after five years, two or three wearings a week, Fall, Winter and early Spring. Rugged, excellent value.
"