Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest

Wear our soft yet rugged Australian moleskin vest all on its own or under your favorite jacket. Superwashed for a broken-in look, our Rancher's Vest will serve you well for many seasons to come. Four exterior pockets. In brown. Cotton/polyester/polyurethane. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40); about 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
2
83 of 93(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Review 1 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing may run small,
March 20, 2014
By: Closeout762
from Houston, TX
"I'm 5'5" and 140 lb, and I wear this unbottoned for a casual look. I would probably need to lose about 20 lbs to be able to button it.
I think a medium would have been too long."
Review 2 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
February 3, 2014
By: lakesidesouth
"I have been looking for just the right vest for use as an additional layer without a collar. This vest meets my requirements 100 percent, is very comfortable and has received many compliments."
Review 3 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
odd product,
January 27, 2014
By: JSER
from Saint Paul, MN
"A strange item. Color & style far different than on the computer, which other reviewers have mentioned. Onscreen, this looks like a darker tan vest with subtle Western styling. The actual item is green and the cording along the edging plus the cut of the pockets make it look more Old World European than Western. Might have dealt with all of that, but for another problem other reviewers have mentioned. The checked lining in the pockets runs too high and shows if the pockets gap in the least bit. Given the price, it's a surprisingly bad design. A final note: it also runs large--I usually wear a large, but would've had to order a medium if I wanted to keep this."
Review 4 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest,
January 9, 2014
By: Budly
"I own Orvis' tan moleskin vest and wanted a darker colored vest too.
While the color was great, the fabric does not have the same rich "feel" / quality as my tan vest. Also because the fabric was thinner, the pockets did not sit tightly to the body of the vest. Finally, the contrasting color "piping" along the edges of the arms and pockets does not show in the catalog and (in my opinion) doesn't give the vest a "polished" look.
Disappointing. I expected better from Orvis and was hoping for a dark vest of the same quality as the light vest I love."
Review 5 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 8, 2014
By: Chisum
"Wonderful look, wonderful fit! Would highly recommend this Orvis Rancher Vest."
Review 6 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love vests,
December 26, 2013
By: Grandpa2
"i love to wear vests during the winter as i am prone to being cold. they are better than sweaters as keep my core warm but i do not overheat.
this is a great looking item.
"
Review 7 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent light vest,
December 25, 2013
By: Sopwith2f1
from Dallas TX
"This is a very comfortable light weight vest. I carry a lot of stuff and the deep pockets are great.
Highly recommend."
Review 8 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!!!,
December 23, 2013
By: Stormpatti
from Kansa city, MO
"This is a very high quality moleskin vest. It looks fantastic. I highly recommend it."
Review 9 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
December 19, 2013
By: mbapoi
from NJ
"It's true to size and looks good. Received positive feedback on it from others."
Review 10 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soooo Comfy!,
December 11, 2013
By: Gloucester
from Edmond, Oklahoma
"Nothing beats moleskin for comfort and utility. I feel I've been wearing this vest for years and that the pockets are exactly where I want them to be. It's warm and wears well at work or out on the town. Stylish and solid. What more could you ask for in a vest?"
Review 11 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough & Comfortable,
December 3, 2013
By: MusicCityLeather
from Nashville, TN
"I bought this vest to use in my shop. Being a custom bootmaker, I need freedom of movement & durability. It is comfortable, tough, & fits well. It also looks nice enough to wear during client fittings."
Review 12 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vest,
October 14, 2013
By: jayowl
from jayowl
"I love this vest,it's not too heavy and you can wear it with anything..It really looks sharp with any shirt and a pair of jeans.."
Review 13 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great investment,
September 3, 2013
By: Rais
from WARMINSTER, PA. 18974
"This vest is my third from Orvis. It's a handsome addition to my wardrobe. Thanks for providing great products and wonderful customer service."
Review 14 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Inaccurate photo,
August 12, 2013
By: FVPelican
from Atlantic Highlands, NJ
"I purchased this vest some time ago. I really like it. But the actual product has a look that's very different than what's on line or in the August 2013 catalog. This vest has a worn leather look. Great for casual wear. But inappropriate for business casual.
When I received the August catalog, I almost ordered another one because the catalog photo looked so different and I've been looking for a more formal non-leather vest.
"
Review 15 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DISAPPOINTING COLOR,
July 17, 2013
By: BODER
from ST LOUIS, MO
"I LIKE THE WORN LOOK. BUT WHAT I SAW WAS TAN. WHAT I GOT WAS DARK GREEN. PICTURE A GREEN BARBOUR JACKET WITH SIGNS OF WEAR. IT FITS ME WELL, SO I GUESS ITS A KEEPER. BUT I GET SO TIRED OF ORDERING ONE THING AND GETTING ANOTHER. AND ITS NOT JUST ORVIS."
Review 16 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not worth the price,
May 1, 2013
By: chiponline
from Monrovia, CA
"By all appearances online the vest seems to be a fairly rugged piece of work. See Wikipedia's entry on the subject "Clothing made from moleskin is noted for its softness and durability."
This vest is pre-distressed, and looks like a worn-in oil-skin garment. Unfortunately the material is thin and brittle, and I doubt it will last long."
Review 17 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sorry, too Formal,
March 20, 2013
By: Dutchboy
from Las Vegas, NV
"Although I really liked the looks of this vest on-line it was a bit too formal for my style so I returned it. I think the points on the bottom is what did that. Going straight across the bottom is more casual and to my liking -- sorry!"
Review 18 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy,
February 25, 2013
By: jackshir
"I am very pleased with this vest. It is a good fit, and looks attractive. I like the material and style. For me this was a good buy."
Review 19 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What's in a Name?,
January 31, 2013
By: Daglish
from London
"What's in a name?
(A comparative study of Orvis "Waistcoats".)
I have recently received one Original Moleskin Waistcoat and one Broken-in Moleskin Waistcoat. I decided to try them following my disappointment with having to return a Snake River Leather Waistcoat.
The reason for returning it was that at XXL 50-52 it should have been a snug fit on me. However in was like donning a marquee; it was huge. Obviously intended to be worn over several thick layers of clothing. Even then it would be big. I had hoped to exchange it for an XL 46-48 but was told that there are no more of these items , of any size, in stock, and they would not be available again: Hence my disappointment. Well you can imagine, after deciding that yes I would spend £259 and then actually handling the beautifully made garment, only to have to send it back.
So back to my current two purchases.. I bought them with a view to see which one I liked best, then return the other. Such a trap! Of course I fell in love with both of them, so here they will stay. They are both very well made and each has it's own distinctive feel.
The Broken-in version is much darker than the display photograph gives one to expect, but I actually like it this way. The three panel back is a nice feature and is preferable to the single panel back of the Original Moleskin.
A small gripe with the Broken-in item, is that the button holes are very tight over the buttons. I guess they will ease up in time but they could easily be right from the get-go.
I stand at six foot two and the length of both products is perfect, just to my trouser waistband. However other dimensions are not what I was expecting.
XXL 50-52 chest size, should have been snug on me; and indeed the Original Moleskin is just that, around the chest that is; the Broken-in version was more generously cut and would undoubtedly accommodate a 54 gentleman. However I can live with the relaxed fit, which gives me the option to wear it over really thick winter shirts. The unexpected dimension in both cases is the waist. The Broken-in version has no tapering to the cut and the other just a bare minimum. The result is with the adjustable belt fully relaxed a gentleman with a 54 chest and 54 waist could wear the Broken-in version, and a gentleman with a 52 chest and 50 waist could wear the Original Moleskin. I can only assume that Orvis's designers think that large chest sizes only exist on portly gentlemen. My problem is I measure up at 52 chest and 40 waist, so I have to really pull-in on the adjustable back-straps. As you can imagine, this leaves a deal of material gathered round the back, so some judicious ironing of a pleats is required to keep it in check. Perhaps the nice people at Orvis can in future include some mention of fit in all such garments? And please, please consider than some of us taper down from our chest size.
I have just ordered a washed Tweed Dress Waistcoat and will be interested to see if the word "Dress" means it will have some taper to it?
I also have my mind set on purchasing a Lambskin Munitions Waistcoat, next time my funds and impulses are in agreement. I just hope that by then they have not disappeared like the Snakes River garment. At this point I really need to say something to Mr. Orvis about the names and descriptions of this area of clothing.
A waistcoat hangs down to the waist, plus or minus a bit. And traditionally it is a garment for wearing under a jacket, so one expects it to be cut for that purpose. It is also traditional for a waistcoat to have an adjustable back belt.
Now the Lambskin Munitions Waistcoat hangs much lower than this, indeed it hangs at coat length. It has no adjustable rear belt and it is designed to be an outer garment, traditionally worn over a woollen pullover/sweater. The English have been wearing version of these for centuries, and they are not called waistcoats; they are Jerkins.
This brings me back to my disappointment of the Snake River Waistcoat, could it be that this fine but capacious garment, lacking an adjustable back-strap, was designed to be worn over heavy warm clothing, as an outer garment, as a Jerkin?
Perhaps Mr. Orvis can embrace the usage of the word Jerkin, then we will know if the item is cut to be worn as a outer garment or as an under coat garment. Thus avoiding terrible disappointments.
While I am on the subject of a correct and helpful description, I note the garment called an Estate Sweater Waistcoat. Now this has no front opening and is clearly not a coat, and does, I am sure, hang lower than the waist. Please Mr. Orvis this is not a waistcoat, this is simply a Sleeveless Pullover/Sweater.
Despite my pedantry, and a belief that an inaccurate name/description is no description of worth, I am none the less a real fan of Orvis products, or I would not keep buying them."
Review 20 for Broken-In Moleskin Rancher's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivers unusual quality on all levels,
January 31, 2013
By: shop42
from Georgetown, Kentucky
"I purchased this vest for my husband's birthday. It was true to size, an elegant bronzish color, with a soft hand and a casual, lived-in look. My husband put it on from the box and refuses to let it go! It goes from casual to casual/ dress easily and puts together the outfit of a country gentleman or a city gadabout. Stylish and classic, this vest will always be a part of his wardrobe! Extraordinary!"