Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Brodin Guide Net

A new, stronger guide's net with a lighter-weight rubber net bag holds up to more hard use and is easier to carry all day long. The bow and handle are made of two strong and sturdy Costa Rican woods?Largatillo (little alligator) and Gavlian (hawk). Industrial-grade polyurethane finish keeps the wood protected. A reinforced yoke adds to the net's strength. The rubber netting itself protects fish better than any other net for safer release. Personalize with laser engraving, up to 3 letters. Allow two extra days for delivery. Imported.49" long. Bow is 12¾" x 18"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Review 1 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Net with Great Reach.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I love the look of this net. A must have for netting fish from a boat or off the bank. Long handle helps you with the long reaches. I found it works well with fish up to 25 inches."
Review 2 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great catch!,
July 9, 2012
By: heavyduck
from Nashville TN
"This net excels for fishing out of a boat! I fish out of a skiff with casting plat forms front and rear and I had no issues at all reaching to the fish. I highly recommend this net!"
Review 3 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snag Free,
March 23, 2012
By: TheDudeMan
from Asheville, NC
"I use this net guiding in western North Carolina and frequently using dropper rigs I needed a net that was easy on the fish as well as snag proof. Not only functional, I also receive lots of comments on the beauty of the net itself. Love the extra reach at times as well."
Review 4 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Steelhead Net,
November 21, 2011
By: DNewpher
from North Western Pennsylvania
"When guiding on the lake Erie Tributaries I like to use a high quality net to assist in landing our steelhead that range from 4-15lbs. It's easier on the fish and my clients can easily tail the fish out of it's bag for photo ops. I have yet to find this net too small or too large to carry all day. Just tuck the handle through your wader belt and it's back out of the way and easily accessable for the next fish. Great net and worth every dime. Excellent for trout out of drift boats too!"
Review 5 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent net, but smaller than expected,
July 24, 2011
By: AKwill
from AK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great net for landing trout up to about 20 inches from a drift boat, but gets outgunned with larger fish and is not suitable for trout in the 24 inch range. I have since bought a different, larger net."
Review 6 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 4, 2010
By: Beckner
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great net, light easy to hsndle also works well in a drift boat or pontoon. Comfortable to carry when guiding."
Review 7 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
big improvement,
October 17, 2009
By: perk
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"these long nets can be really heavy especially when all the rubber mesh is being dragged by fast current. This lighter and thinner silicone mesh has much less drag in the water and is very fish friendly. This is the best of these big boat nets I have seen. I would not recommend it for salmon or steelhead but for fish up to 6 pounds, it is excellent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
June 16, 2009
By: maineflyguide
from maine guide
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Mesh on the net is too large. Fish as large as 20 inches head go through and get cought in the gillplate."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the netting was not as expected. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our products. Orvis forwarded these comments to the product developer for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 9 for Premium Brodin Guide Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No fish out of reach,
November 10, 2008
By: RiverOtter
from Blue Ridge Mountains
"Never again will your dreams be haunted by the fish that got away. With the extra reach on this net, the fish won't know you're there by the time you get the net on it. It has a beautiful wood grain finish and is made to last."