Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Leather Shotshell Belt

Take the weight off your shoulders. Your vest is heavy enough when it's full of birds. Put those shells around your waist in one of the most beautiful shell belts you'll ever see. Magnificent leather belt holds thirty 12- or 20-gauge shells. In brown. Made in USA.Sizes: M(36-40), L(38-42), XL(40-44).
Average Customer Rating:
2.867 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
6 of 15(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather Shotshell Belt
Review 1 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap Quality,
November 13, 2014
By: Dodger69
from Swindon UK
"Very poor quality, not what I expect from Orvis.
It may be OK for 20 bore cartridges, but far too tight for 12 bore.
If I saw it in a shop at this price I would walk away
"
Review 2 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BOSS Leather Shotshell Belt,
March 3, 2014
By: CeejC
from Dallas, Texas
"Probably the coolest thing I've ever purchased. I own a few Orvis products and this bad belt is on the top of the list. If you want to feel like a boss at the range or hunkered down in a sunflower field, the Shotshell Belt is for you; Functionality meets fashion for this Rambo-esque product. I'd wear it to work if I could."
Review 3 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disapointed,
December 26, 2013
By: deliman
"There is no way anybody could charge £129.00 (although bought as sale item) for this item. It is cheap thin leather, the Orvis logo is upside down and more importantly the shell holders are sewn to tight. Will keep though as the return postage makes even more expensive. Soaking in leather dressing will make it more usable."
Review 4 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
November 11, 2013
By: sschoales
from London
"Very nicely made, very good quality leather and buckle, I'will have this for a long time."
Review 5 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Purchase from Orvis,
September 24, 2013
By: Yeorower
from Exeter, Devon
"Notwithstanding the fact that this was a "Sale Item", the belt was of very poor quality. It was advertised as taking 30 x 12 gauge cartridges but would only take 19. The other 11 slots would only take 20 gauge cartridges I returned it to Orvis with photographs showing the cartridges in situ but received no acknowledgement other than a refund of the cost price. The postage costs which I understand are recoverable as the goods were not of merchantable quality, were not refunded and despite two online "Chats" to Olive and Mary Anne promising a refund, this hasn't happened.
All I wanted was a suitable replacement but Orvis appears to have let this one slip out of their quality control."
Review 6 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good, but wrong way round!,
August 5, 2013
By: Salmonflyfisher
from St Albans. UK
"A good quality and robust leather cartridge belt, but unfortunately threads from the left to the buckle on the right rather than conventionally the other way around"
Review 7 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor,
May 2, 2013
By: Bili
from Cardiff
"This is a cheap cartridge belt,I don't mind paying for a product that is well made,and would have defiantly returned it if I would have paid the original price."
Review 8 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shotshell belt,
February 12, 2013
By: SidewaysXR
"The quality of the leather on this is very disappointing. It appears to be a cheap bonded leather. Definitely not what you expect from Orvis. Even with the sale price it was more than twice as much as the belt at our local outfitter.
A similar style belt at our local outfitter was a much nicer leather."
Review 9 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the quality I expected from Orvis,
October 22, 2012
By: rob70ros
from Miami, FL
"The belt is made of very thin leather. The Orvis logo is even stamped upside down. Where is the quality control? Truly not the quality that I expected."
Review 10 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unimpressed,
September 17, 2012
By: Arete
from Pocono, PA
"I purchased the 12-gauge version of the Shotshell Belt expecting it to be substantial in build and appearance.- as I find most Orvis products. However, I was quite disappointed when I received this belt. The leather was thin, the stitching appeared inadequate and the over-all feel/appearance of the belt seemed less-than durable."
Review 11 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
September 9, 2011
By: casco04015
"I received my new 20 gauge belt in the mail today and I have to say I am disappointed... I bought the 12 gauge version last year while I was in the NYC store... and I have loved using it... it is the quality you expect in an Orvis product... which I don't mind paying for... my disappointment is that the 12 gauge belt is made of thick leather, and the 20 gauge version I received today (same price) is a much thinner, less quality leather... it is very frustrating to see Orvis go with an inferior leather I guess at the expense of producing it cheaper... I didn't mind paying such a high price to get quality... I do not feel this belt is nearly the quality as my 12 gauge belt... I am keeping it as I hate returning things... and I am an Orvis fan... when I need hunting stuff, I always check Orvis first... and most of my hunting gear does come from Orvis... and I am happy with most of it... but, this time I am disappointed."
Review 12 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product - Hard to Find,
January 1, 2011
By: SDBirdHunter
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bird hunters generally carry ammo in their vest pocket. Aggravatingly, activity during a drive or a search for a down bird can lead to the spillage of shells from a vest pocket.
Orvis's ammo belt largely prevents such a loss, but a reload directly from the belt can be slow.
I withdraw one reload quantity at a time from the belt and transfer those shells to my vest pocket. This way a reload can still be performed promptly when needed with only a minimal risk of losing shells while walking.
I like the belt.
"
Review 13 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent features,
January 5, 2010
By: Maher
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A top quality shot shell belt,well made, and great to find a belt with more than thirty loops for shells."
Review 14 for Leather Shotshell Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for warm weather bird shooting,
October 17, 2007
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"For years I had a leather shell belt by another manufacturer, but lost it on an African hunting trip. I replaced it with this one. I like this one better, because it is made of thicker leather and is generally of higher quality. This is a great belt for warm weather bird hunting especially where much walking is involved. The shell loops on the belt are tight and require a little breaking in—by leaving shells in them for a while to stretch them out. However, the tightness is a good feature as it keeps the shells from falling out accidentally."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Leather Shotshell Belt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1