Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Genuine Leather Journal

For someone who enjoys recording his thoughts there is no gift more appreciated than a fine journal. This refined, vintage-style travel version is bound in soft, supple American leather and secures with a leather strap that can be embossed with initials. 130-page recycled paper insert laces in with leather strings. The insert can be removed, filed away, and replaced with a new one. Comes complete with a classic No. 2 lead pencil. Refillable leather travel journal in brown. 9"H x 7"W. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Review 1 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra Posh,
May 31, 2014
By: Celeb
"The gift for the man who travels and has everything and goes everywhere! A personalized, high end journal to document his journeys! Very Hemingway!"
Review 2 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully bound leather journal,
October 22, 2013
By: Schloopey
"I couldn't believe how quickly the product arrived after I purchased it. I was delighted when I opened it and saw how beautiful and high quality it looked. I would definitely recommend this again and other products of this nature."
Review 3 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply beautiful,
October 15, 2013
By: dugon
from UK
"I know it's not perfect, like you can only write on one side, that it's a bit hard to write near the bottom edge of the paper, that the pencil supplied with it seems to not match the journal, and that it seems a bit expensive. However it is so beautiful that I just can't stop looking at it, handling it and using it. It's simply one of best things I have ever bought."
Review 4 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Journal,
September 10, 2013
By: JCF1966
from Wilpshire UK
"Let be honest here this thing is expensive, but i can say it is worth every penny though it does have some problems.
the Cons
1, You can only right on one side, there are no ruled lines on the left sheet and because of how the Journal opens it would be hard to right on that side any way,
2, It really will not use paper bought from the UK. The journal is set up in a 2-2-2 holes for the paper but the UK has 3-3. now because the ties on you can make it fit but why would you, spending this much on a journal and then cutting the corner on paper, really.
3. The only other problem, and to be fair this is not just this journal is the paper pad is quite thick so when you are getting to the bottom of the page you hand need to be held away from the page
4, This is not a problem but more of a note, on the first page were you can put your name etc the is a quote, it is a nice quote but to be honest i wish it just had a few lines there so i could add something, may be not a quote but a list of what is in the journal etc.
The Pros
1, This thing is stunning, it looks and feels like you have a very special peace of kit in your hands, and this for me, as some one who suffers from dyslexia is a great reason to pick it up and right in it.
2, Personalisation is nice but a little faint.
3, The paper is nice and thick and very nice to right in, the ink just flows onto the sheets.
4, Delivery, I think it said it was going to take about 8 weeks but it took 2. This was a nice surprise.
5, With the pad being quite thick i just bought another pad and use that to keep my hand level
6, This thing is stunning, now i know that is the same as number one but it is so important it is worth mentioning twice.
Can I recommend this, very much so, i will be using this for many years to come."
Review 5 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overcoming the conflict,
March 31, 2013
By: Sgt548
from Lord knows where in the Pacific
"My oldest son is in the Navy. Currently he's shipboard in the Pacific. He's all that a Dad could want a son to grow into and getting better all the time, that is excepting communication. He's the quiet type. From his sparse emails and infrequent calls to his mother only under the strictest orders I can muster from several thousands of miles away does he share his experiences. This will someday be a loss to his own children and family for all the interesting things he's doing. All man, he's not prone to "writing" per-se but he does appreciate the legitimacy of fine things. This journal fits the bill and has overcome the conflict between a pursuit questionable to a young man (journaling) and what I'm sure will be a strong interest in these years of his life from family further on. Fine quality and convieniently refillable. Monogram in a nice spot too."
Review 6 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Beautiful,
January 5, 2013
By: Gatsby81
from Long Island, NY
"I can not adequately express how thrilled I am with this journal. It's so spectacularly crafted. If there is anyone in your life that you want to give something really special to, this is it. It's packaged beautifully, made so well, and has the touch of a hand signed little card of the "craftsman" who made it for you. One of the best gifts I've ever gotten! I'm trying to think who in my life is deserving of one now so I can give this amazing gift!"
Review 7 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amaing quality!,
October 23, 2012
By: Hippo33
from London
"I first discovered the Col. Littleton brand in America last year and bought their ipad case. I was then delighted to find that Orvis stocked a small selection of Col. Littleton in the UK and they had the journal too! The leather is beautiful and the size is perfect for carrying in my handbag. The notepad inside is a bery good size and will last quite a while I think! Ideal for men and women, I would highly recommend this to everyone! Just wish Orvis would increase their Col. littleton range."
Review 8 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab,
June 2, 2012
By: Martide
from New York NY
"Gave this to my son last week for graduation from college. It was great gift! The initials gave it a great touch and the leather was of quality and wonderful craftsmanship. Worth the $$$$$ thanks Orvis"
Review 9 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent in all ways,
March 21, 2012
By: G8RHEEL
from Chapel Hill, NC
"I lille journals, love some. This one is exceptional. Leather is exquisite quality, filler is rustic in appearance, but fits the journal's style very well (and writes well). I really like this journal. My search has ended, especially with the refillable nature. Just what I was looking for."
Review 10 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Near-Perfect Writing Companion,
February 27, 2012
By: RSmith
from Washington, DC
"Late in 2010, I began writing a journal every day, having abandoned the practice several years ago. As my friends know, I like, use and admire high quality products, preferring a nice fountain pen to a Bic any day. So I looked around for a nice journal, and found an outstanding one in the Col. Littleton No. 9 Journal.
Col. Littleton, a purveyor of fine leather and other goods out of Tennessee, sells its wares directly and via a few distributors. I found the journal through Orvis. I ordered the journal with ruled paper (paper comes in unruled, fly fishing and golf versions as well), and monogrammed with my initials.
Upon receiving the journal, I first noted the excellent quality of the leather. While soft, the leather feels sturdy in your hands, which adds a sense of permanency in journal writing. I like that feel a great deal. The feel also puts me in a contemplative mood whenever I write in it, even for quick-hit notes. If possible, I believe the high-quality and even beauty of the journal contributes to better thinking. Winston Churchill observed that, “We make our buildings and then our buildings make us.” That insight seems true of this journal as well.
The second aspect of the journal I noted — its heft. It measures 9″ x 7″ x 1.5″ and it weighs more than most journals of that size. The leather and the high-quality, thick paper both contribute to the weight. Normally, I consider the weight as contributing to the sturdy feel of the journal. On travel around town, and out of town, it can make the journal a lot to carry. I’ve begun traveling with smaller, lighter, journals (including the Col. Littleton No. 23 Pocket Journal, and Field Notes memo and steno books) to meetings around town to jot down notes. When on overnight travel, by car, train or plane, I’ll usually take the Col. Littleton journal with me, although sometimes opt for lighter notebooks.
The journal comes with a pencil, but I’ve replaced it with a very nice, and thin, Kaweco fountain pen.
The pen makes a light and excellent writing companion for the journal. As noted above, the journal paper has some thickness in it and the fountain pen ink looks great on it.
The leather serves as a journal cover, and paper insert holder. Col. Littleton sells refills, which you must tie into the leather cover.
The first time I replaced the insert, I worried about tying it in improperly, needlessly as it turned out. The system adds a level of elegance and almost rustic beauty to the journal.
I use this journal almost every day. In it, I record my daily thoughts, reflections, hopes and concerns. It also contains the record of my daily walking, in miles and steps taken. I treasure it as I do few of my possessions.
All of those positive qualities noted, I would change a few things about the journal. First, the insert system generally prevents the paper from lying flat. As a result, writing on the left-hand side of the page (for a right-handed writer) proves challenging. In fact, with this insert, I’ve taken to only writing journal entries on the right-hand side. I use the left-hand side to write in landscape (often sketches of charts), and preserving articles or other items of interest.
That system has worked out fine, but I’d prefer to write on both side of the page. (Lines on the left-hand side of the paper would help, too.)
Second, the journal closes via a small brass knob on the front. That closure sticks out slightly from the rest of the journal, and therefore makes stacking other items against the journal (for example, books) awkward. As a workaround, I’ve taken to placing the journal as the item closest to the outside of the briefcase or bag I’m carrying it in. That works fine, but I’d prefer a different closure, which allows the journal to take a completely rectangular shape, or no closure at all.
Finally, the cover page of each insert contains a quote from Col. Garry A. Littleton. It’s a decent, although unspectacular quote, in terms of conveying wisdom. It clearly belongs in the company’s marketing materials for the journal. But I’d prefer to use that space as I see fit; the company should remove it from the insert covers.
However, those requested improvements should not detract from an outstanding and cherished journal. Now on my second insert, I’ve used the journal for over a year. Because of the Colonel’s focus on singular quality, I’ll use it as my main journal for years to come."
Review 11 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
January 2, 2012
By: Burfam
from Lafayette, LA
"Our son is starting a new adventure in his life. this easily carried journal is a terrific way for him to keep track of this exciting time."
Review 12 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Tradition,
December 30, 2011
By: tomboymom
from Fort Worth, TX
"Our family is filled with great adventurers - this gift was perfect to pass down to our new college graduate this Christmas! He has been on many interesting trips/adventures with his grandads and his mom and dad throughout his life. He is embarking in the next few weeks to climb Mount Kilimanjaro so thus starts the first entry. Now he can record his own life adventure!!! Love it AND more importantly HE loved it! Excellent product for teaching our youth (in this high-tech environment) how to be introspective and write.
Thank you!
"
Review 13 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest I have ever seen!,
December 30, 2011
By: wkaren
from North Carolina
"This journal is profound quality and beautiful in every sense of the word.
Makes a stunning gift, anyone would love to own!
"
Review 14 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A gift that keeps on giving....,
December 29, 2011
By: Duke38
from Sahuarita, AZ
"The packaging of the Col. Littleton No. 9 Personalized Leather Journal is tops, making it a gift that only needs a ribbon across the box. The reason that this is a gift that keeps on giving is that I gave it to a friend and his family from Germany who begin a 4 year journey to live and experience life in America. My words on the card were to use this Journal to record your experiences as you move through those years so that when your young children are older, they will have a record of their life in the States. They were thrilled with the quality and the idea of the Journal. They loved the feel of the leather and the quality the Journal exudes.
A great gift for those who love capturing life's experiences in a Journal.
"
Review 15 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: Stacjenk
from Michigan
"This is a beautiful journal. It is one of the few I found with refillable pages."
Review 16 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 22, 2011
By: moore
"It was amazing. I ordered it for a christmas gift and know he will love it"
Review 17 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another top quality Orvis product.,
December 8, 2011
By: yamm
from Northern Virginia
"One change would make this product even more useful. Add a pocket on the inside of either the front or back cover to store pieces of paper."
Review 18 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heirloom journal,
September 19, 2011
By: BlackberryKing
"Very classy journal that smells and looks great! Very stately and gives the user a sense of high importance and stature. Makes me feel like I'm capable of the same caliber of writing as Thomas Jefferson or Ben Franklin! The lined pages are a plus which makes it very easy to write your thoughts down in a neat and organized manner. Can't image a better personal journal."
Review 19 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
September 7, 2011
By: AlisonM
"I bought this as a gift for my husband. It came in the mail very quickly, and was packaged in a really nice box. It is beautiful. The engraved initials help to make it special. It's amazing quality, and I hope he will be able to enjoy it for years to come."
Review 20 for Personalized Genuine Leather Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something my great grandkids will be passing down,
June 30, 2011
By: Anonymous
"Another exceptional product from Orvis. The leather is thick, soft and tough as nails. Even the paper feels like something that is acquired, not purchased. The nostalgia of a fine leather journal with a pencil loop and clasping closure is very well put together in this item, high recommendations."