Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders

Get excellent siped-sole grip—even in the wettest conditions—in handsome, handsewn, genuine leather Sperry Gold Cup Top-Siders. A supple deerskin lining and EVA-cushioned midsole, along with triple-density footbed and memory foam, provide all-day comfort. Nonmarking outsole. 18K-gold-plated eyelets resist corrosion in salty conditions at sea. Shipped to USA only. Imported.Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
0
19 of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Review 1 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of both Worlds,
July 15, 2014
By: StevieC
from Miami, Fl
"On a deck or on the shore, the Sperry Gold Cup Top Siders are unequaled. Pateneted sole is best non skid on the market. Most comfort, best looking, long lasting and multiple color options. All parts used to complete the shoe are of the highest quality.
My recent purchase is my forth pair in a row. Have worn deck shoes for 50 years, this shoe is best way to treat your feet from ship to shore.
"
Review 2 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST,
June 19, 2014
By: BuyerS
"My husband loves these shoes, they are the most comfortable shoes he has ever had. The fit is perfect and without socks he can walk for miles without discomfort. Very smooth on the inside."
Review 3 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the 3rd pair I've had,
June 9, 2014
By: Bwanamakuba
from Manchester UK
"These are real quality shoes. They last forever and are as comfortable as slippers. This is the 3rd pair I have bought over the years. Enough said."
Review 4 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gold Cup,
May 25, 2014
By: BillyCh1
"Very comfortable shoe however the soles on both shoes are detaching from the leather after less than two years. This did not happen with past Top Siders that I have owned. Lost me as a customer."
Review 5 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line.,
May 19, 2014
By: Doby
from Iowa
"These are top quality!! These fit better than any other boat shoes I've owned in the past. Looking forward to wearing them."
Review 6 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Shoe,
May 15, 2014
By: gw78
from NJ
"Dressy yet casual shoe. Great with chinos or dress slacks. A litttle stiff at first but breaking in nicely. Comfortable fit. Took a couple extra days to arrive since coming from Sperry."
Review 7 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gold Cup,
March 17, 2014
By: Drjimmy
"ExcelIent! I spoke with wonderful people and bought a pair of great shoes."
Review 8 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very comfortable shoe,
July 9, 2013
By: dcrossley
"this shoe out of the box is a very comfortable shoe. I recieved the shoes the day before my trip. this was the only pair of shoes I took on a four day trip with no regrets. Fantastic shoes. you can not go wrong with shoe"
Review 9 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boat shoes,
May 1, 2013
By: HaloPlusOne
from Florida
"I have own dozens of boat shoes of all brands over the years but as of yet none have met the standard of quality of these shoes. From the moment you first put them on they are extremely comfortable. Their design is performance driven and aesthetically worthy of Country club wear. Well worth the high end price."
Review 10 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gold Cups rock!,
June 11, 2012
By: Lasiter
from Sacramento, CA
"Sperry Gold Cups, at least the three eyelet and two eyelet boat shoes like these, are near perfect. While they are more expensive than lesser boat shoes, they are worth every penny.
Gold Cups are lined and cushioned to make them much more comforable than lesser boat shoes -- suitable for walking on hard pavement all day. This is my third pair of Gold Cups, and the others are nowhere near wearing out. My aging feet love them.
"
Review 11 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most confortable shoe.,
June 4, 2012
By: DHSWISH
from Texas
"Truly like this shoe. very confrtable, fit well and worth the $."
Review 12 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Topsiders - every home should have a pair,
June 3, 2012
By: MWShropshireLad
from England
"Excellent colour and classic boat-shoe design. The deerskin lining and with all the cushioning, make these shoes the most comfortable I have had.
I hope this shoe is on re-order with ORVIS UK?
Please note: shoe width is medium 'M' as this is not stated in the details."
Review 13 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
April 30, 2012
By: TerenceP
from Chicago
"As has become the expected this purchase exceeded my expectations.
Stylish, high quality, and unbelievable comfort right out of the box."
Review 14 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the same as they once were,
April 19, 2012
By: whoells
from Madison, WI
"I purchased the Gold Cup Top-Siders a few years back and fell in love with them. Both comfortable and stylish. Given that I wear them all the time and they are starting to show their age.
Because of that I can't wear everywhere I once did and ordered a new pair. Right when I opened them I could tell they had taken cost out of them to save money. The new Sperry sole does not match up to the old Vibram sole. They also changed the stitching to a darker color… again I preferred the past stitching. The overall color of the leather was also darker. I understand that there will always be a degree of variability to leather but this was much darker and not what I was expecting.
I ended up returning the shoes, so I can’t speak beyond my comparisons. If I didn’t have the older pair I probably would have found the shoes acceptable and enjoyed them.
"
Review 15 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Soles Detached,
April 18, 2012
By: Miffed
from Atlanta, GA
"I had these shoes (in chocolate) for less than two years before the soles detached from the leather uppers. I only wore them seasonally and have no explanation for the detached soles other than a workmanship defect. Prior to that I loved them, but they cost far too much to last less than two years. Sperry's customer service did nothing other than direct me to a website that wanted $50+ to resole them."
Review 16 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sperry Gold Cup Top-Siders,
March 28, 2012
By: barn24
from Apollo, Pa
"From the moment I opened the beautiful blue box (which I saved), I knew these shoes were a winner. These are one of the most comfortable pair of shoes that I now own. They did not need to be broken in, I wore them immediately to a function. Great job Orvis"
Review 17 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sperrys,
July 3, 2011
By: Englishboy
"Excellent shoes. I wore them straight out of the box for a weekend city break abroad. Even wearing them solidly for 2 days walking around all the sights didn't give me any blisters or other breaking in issues. Very soft and supportive. The only negative is that they look quite formal with the grained type leather and stitching rather than more casual smooth look of most deck shoes."
Review 18 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 19, 2009
By: dcvespa
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Shoe,
Have woren sperrys,s since1962. This is the best for an old man.
"
Review 19 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Shoe of Comfort,
April 25, 2008
By: Esteban
"Bought these shoes for a recent trip. I despise going through security and fumbling with my shoes taking them off, putting them back on. These were great! Slipped off and slipped back without having to untie. All my shoes are lace up's never really embraced the slip on's. I'd been looking for boat shoes and hadn't found any that I liked until these. In addition to the comfort you can tell they are very well made from the stitching to the grommets. Thanks Orvis!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sperry® Gold Cup Top-Siders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it,
November 13, 2007
By: MarkD
"I have had these for around 3 months and have to say that they are probably some of the best made most comfortable shoes I have worn. I take them all over the world with me traveling and they wear as well with shorts as this slacks"