Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt

One of our most popular elasticated waist skirts, a gored sweep of soft cotton denim that's surprisingly slenderizing. Pull-on style with easy-fit elasticated waistband, belt loops, and on-seam pockets. Pure cotton. Washable.Regular sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 34½" long. Petite sizes: XS, S, M, L, XL); about 32½" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
15
112 of 144(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good basic wardrobe essentialh,
November 5, 2013
By: Breffny
from Kent
"Every woman should have a denim
skirt, and this one is the best by far.
It is comfortable and flattering! Wear it in Summer, and also in Winter with boots and thicker tights.
"
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
September 16, 2013
By: AmericanBrit
from UK
"I am a huge Orvis fan. However, this skirt was not at all what I expected. Be warned, this skirt is a straight cut with no room for forgiveness if you are a pear-shaped person (me). The waist was huge on me, and yet the skirt was tight across the thighs. I thought I was ordering a skirt with a flared panel and it was not at all that. These are going back unfortunately. I wish there had been something in the description indicating that this was a straight cut skirt with little flare. The picture is a bit deceiving."
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nearly Best Purchase Ever so Far,
September 15, 2013
By: Proudie
from Stroud. UK
"Excellent fabric, style, cut etc. but above all, it's comfortable, wearable and goes with all my other clothes! Accurate sizing. A classic everyday skirt a cut above everyday thinking."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic, Pure Fiber Cotton Skirt,
September 9, 2013
By: Palettina
from Manteo NC
"Timeless good taste and excellent quality. Modest, yet not too long in length."
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love it but . . .,
August 28, 2013
By: older
from Texas
"I have one of these in every color. Love the skirts, the fits, the colors. One problem. The previous black one I bought, I got something sticky on it and spot cleaned it. Do NOT spot clean this skirt. It left a grayish spot in the skirt that NOTHING could get out. I tried washing it over and over as a whole and it always had the grayer spot on it. I finally gave it to Salvation Army, hoping someone would enjoy it, even with the spot."
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
August 28, 2013
By: Jane57
from Arab, AL
"I love the denim skirt. It is a perfect fit and great addition as a casual dress for a quick outing."
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bluebonnetgirl,
August 27, 2013
By: underthebridge
from austin, tx
"This is a tried and true skirt. I will
wear it often and feel comfortable in it. Just wish you had had it in my size in blue denim. Also, wish that
the pockets were a big larger.
"
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
suggestion,
August 26, 2013
By: clawoferin
from CT
"Good denim, rather soft. But 'petite' it is not. I ordered petite, but had to take the skirt up 5 1/2 inches. Orvis needs to check with their vendors as to the requirements or standards for a 'petite' label."
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful skirt,
August 5, 2013
By: Heidibead
"I was looking for a knee length denim skirt and my mom got me this instead and I am so THRILLED. It fits perfectly. Great buy."
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Skirt!,
June 20, 2013
By: Kate3700
from Westerville, OH
"I first ordered this skirt about five years ago, and have worn it that long. My five year old skirt is looking slightly faded (but still wearable), so I ordered a new one on sale. I love this skirt. It is well-made, versatile,and yes, the lines are slimming! I hope to wear my new one at least five years, and I will still continue to wear the older one too!"
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curling Hems on Denim Skirts,
June 18, 2013
By: Elisheva
from Kingston, ON Canada
"Even after ironing wet, ironing damp, steaming, pulling, pounding AND trying a rolling pin (!!!), all my denim skirt hems still curled. Some of the fabric thinned from my attempts to get the hem to lie flat.
My brilliant husband solved the problem - well, almost. He hung the skirt wet and used clothes pins and pinned the front of the skirt together with the back of the skirt. ALMOST! Just hang your skirt right out of the washer on a skirt hanger and add clothes pins all around the hem. I use wooden clothes pins and the weight is perfect. Works much better than an iron and is lots easier on the fabric.
No more curl ! Isn't he great?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great skirt!,
June 11, 2013
By: CeeJ
from Birmingham, AL
"I have been looking for a nice a-line or gored denim skirt--without a button front--for several years now. Never thought to try Orvis or I would have purchased this skirt long ago. It's exactly what I've been looking for.
As for it fitting large: I didn't really believe it since I'm currently about a size 16, so I ordered the large--but it was way too big. I had to order a medium, which came today, and it fits perfectly. Perhaps a tiny bit snug in the waist but not uncomfortably, and since I'm working on losing weight, I know it will be fine for the future.
The best part was that I was then able to get the dark indigo which wasn't available in large at the time I ordered. Chambray is okay for summer, but I think it's a bit old ladyish. The darker color will look good all year 'round."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I hoped for!,
June 4, 2013
By: FrancesMary
from England
"Well made ( the seams are double sewn, so no chafing or fraying; neatly finished throughout).
Modest, graceful and comfortable.
It would have 5 stars if it didn't seat - but that's always to be expected with denim I guess.
"
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The go-to skirt,
May 13, 2013
By: oldtimeshopper
from missouri
"THE skirt for all occasions! Comfortable and good looking. I have it in two colors. Love it for work."
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Skirt folds up at hem,
April 16, 2013
By: susanka44
"I have ordered probably five of these skirts over many years. I've always enjoyed them, except the hem has always turned up the first time it's washed and ever after unless I iron the skirt. I don't want to do that, and previously I thought this was just a characteristic of denim. I recently ordered this skirt again, hoping maybe the problem had been fixed, after a friend told me a well constructed skirt would not turn up at the hem seam.. The new skirt still turns up. Now it really bothers me, since my friend clued me in. Orvis, why does this skirt behave this way? I'm so disappointed. I can't recommend it because now I know it shouldn't do that. I am not going to start ironing a denim skirt. Too bad; it's a great skirt otherwise."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Denim Skirt,
April 15, 2013
By: AuntDawn
from Atlanta, GA
"I had this skirt for years; it finally faded/wore to the point I needed a new one. Same quality/value. Wearable in 3 seasons."
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No What Expected,
March 4, 2013
By: Wintersong
"This skirt does not "flow: like it shows on the picture. It does not have a good shape nor does it hang well."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not my fit,
February 21, 2013
By: Particular64
from SoCal
"I liked the rich color of this skirt, and the pockets, but not the bunchy waist. I want fitted w/bit of elastic."
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Problem Odor with Black Denim,
February 12, 2013
By: ChicagoGal
from Chicago
"This black skirt is just fine in all aspects except one. The black denim has a strange odor that remains even after repeated washings and also spraying with fabric freshener. In the past I bought a different style of an Orvis black denim skirt, and it had the same odor problem. Over time I've bought many Orvis skirts and have been very satisfied, but this black denim is one I can not recommend."
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Pull-On Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denim Skirt,
January 25, 2013
By: Eanor
from droughty, hot Indiana
"This petite 12 reviewer, age 55, thinks the length is just right. It does not bunch up so much as to add inches to the waist. Drapes and flows well. Good for all but the coldest days."