Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Conehead Rubber Bugger

The Conehead Crystal Bugger is a popular variation of the classic Wooly Bugger fly. The added flash and weight of this Wooly Bugger version make it a great fly when rivers run stained and a more visible fly becomes necessary making this old-stand-by even better.In sizes: 4, 6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Review 1 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Bass Fly,
December 31, 2013
By: TK121
from South Central Texas
"Gotta say these conehead rubber buggers are in my top choices. I prefer the size 4 and have caught some really solid Bass...with a few over 5lbs. Also have caught some chunky sunfish way bigger than my hand. I prefer the olive over other colors, but have all of the Orvis colors and caught fish on all of them. It is a great fly for suspending Bass. I am using an 8wt rod with a Bass taper floating line and these fly's cast smooth."
Review 2 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the rubber turns to a sticky paste,
December 1, 2013
By: bigsam
"if you don't use them and lose them immediately, the rubber starts to get soft and turns into a sticky mess. go for the tunghead buggers - these are straight garbage."
Review 3 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ink bleeds a ton,
September 3, 2013
By: Thewada
from Virginia
"Orvis is a great company with quality products, usually.I have to be honest. I have had luck with this style of fly..the rubber legs move well and has been a good representation of a a leech or hellgrammite. However, the ink appears to not be set correctly and once wet stains your hands black (for the black flies)... I had two orders of these be the same way and bled horribly once wet. Not only is this a pain but pollutes the watershed. The ink needs to be set correctly. Now I tie my own."
Review 4 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cone Head Rubber Bugger = Big Bass,
March 24, 2013
By: TK121
from South Central Texas
"Never tried the rubber bugger, but when I saw it on the Orvis web site it made good sense that Largemouth Bass would tear this up. I tried one out recently and it worked like a champ. I used size #4....big enough to attrack the bass, but still a fly so different and does not look like what a typical conventional bass fisherman would toss in the water. I will be buying more of these!!!"
Review 5 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent fly,
February 2, 2013
By: ActionontheJackson
from Southwest Virginia
"Great fly. I have found it to be a little clunky for trout, but have caught a few dead drifting or on the swing. I use this most often for carp. Let it sink and wait to see a tailer. Give a short strip to make a puff of dust in the water and then wait."
Review 6 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will attract big fish,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Have caught many fish on this fly, from big browns to large mouth bass, this fly is a must for the box."
Review 7 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
May 12, 2011
By: FishboneBurr
"I was fishing on the Teton River in Idaho the water was a little murky but not too bad.I was using nymphs for a while then switched to a little black bugger and got one hit after about 60 casts. It didn't seem like it would end up being good so I looked in my fly box for patterns I hadn't used before. I chose the ConeHead Bugger,I threw it out and let it drift under a willow then I stripped it in quickly first cast I caught a nice Cutthroat trout and almost every cast after that I caught a good fish."
Review 8 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bugger,
December 30, 2009
By: nino
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great bugger, was a little scared thinking it was too orange but it worked like a charm. actually my brother bought it and I said let me have it, tried it maybe 10 times and caught 18 inch brown on it, december 2009"
Review 9 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rubber Bugger,
January 8, 2009
By: Brookieaddict
from Lancaster County Pa. U.S.A.
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these for a hard fished stream thinking its something new and they would like it. They did and now im on my last one ! Buy a dozen and catch more fish than you will on any other bugger."
Review 10 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Rounded Fly,
June 19, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"I originally purchased this fly for trout fishing, but found it to work especially well in murky lake water or on overcast days right after the rain. Who'd of know i've taken everything from castfish to smallies and largemouth bass on trout fly"
Review 11 for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My "GoTo",
June 19, 2008
By: Philbert
from Charleston, WV
"I frequently try new patterns but it seems I always come back to this gem. I have used this pattern effectively in all four seasons here in WV. It works equally well for trout or smallmouth. Buy some!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Conehead Rubber Bugger
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1