Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foothills Cargo Pants

Conquer the hills in your backyard or afar. Our 6.2-oz. pure cotton pants are equal to your every adventure. Pure cotton has advantages over other fabrics: It breathes well, is durable, and becomes even more comfortable year after year. Two secure cargo pockets on the left side offer plenty of storage; a zip-secured flat pocket keeps cash safe. Double front pockets, with secure zip on each side. Two rear zip-closed pockets. Mock-leather reinforcement on pocket edges. Pleated front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
1
76 of 90(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foothills Cargo Pants
Review 1 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants!!,
April 16, 2014
By: YogiJIm
from Chicago, IL
"These pants fit me perfectly and were very comfortable to drive long distances in. They need little or no ironing after being washed and become softer with each washing."
Review 2 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great travel pants,
April 4, 2014
By: jpearre
from Sun Valley, Idaho
"These pants are perfect for short or long trips. The zippered pockets are generous in size and protect money, documents, passport, airline tickets, etc. The design is casual yet stylish, and they are easily laundered."
Review 3 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
not just a pair of cargo pants,
April 1, 2014
By: bangso1
from fort washington, md
"the pants you wear to go to places of respect and admiration"
Review 4 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
pants,
March 17, 2014
By: jackmm
"fair quality though thin fabric so won't hold up to outdoor wear. security features a plus but tacky zipper tabs make an unattractive appearance, I'll use them for the security feature when traveling but won't wear them socially."
Review 5 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encore purchase,
March 11, 2014
By: Treeza
from NJ
"My husband loves these pants!
It's vacation season again and we are back for more. They are rugged and handsome yet polished enough to get out to dinner after a day of touring, biking, hiking.
Would love if they were made in odd as well as even waist sizes for those guys between sizes.
"
Review 6 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for travel,
March 7, 2014
By: brandsxb
from Washington DC
"These pants are my go to pants for travel. They have four zipper pockets for security besides other open pockets. They are light weight cotton, roomy and comfortable. The only issue is there is so much pocket space that you tend to store too many items in them, this presents a problem when going through airport security.
I know people have commented that the cargo pockets are only on one leg, I thing the pants look better this way and how much pocket space do you really need?"
Review 7 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st orvis purchase,
March 4, 2014
By: gp62
"I am a touch feel try on shopper so this is the 1st time I have bought clothes on line. Fit is perfect, very comfortable and enough pockets to pack for the weekend. Very satisfied."
Review 8 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissapointment,
March 1, 2014
By: Fico
from Florida
"These are the second pair of the cargo pants order. As the first pair the size was wrong and not consistent with what I wear. Quality was acceptable , but the most important of all was not consistent" the sizing very irregular."
Review 9 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissapointed,
March 1, 2014
By: Fico
from Florida
"Order this item to take with me on my vacation. It looked nice on the website but, when I got the item the sizing was wrong, quality was good.
The length of the pants were too long , in fact one inch too long after ordering them with a cuff. The waist size was also not consistent with what I order. Had to sen them back for credit.
Surprised there was not consistency on what the customer service told me after calling twice.
"
Review 10 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable and Convenient,
February 28, 2014
By: Jumpshot
from Franklin, TN
"These slacks are comfortable because they are roomy. Additionally, I like the extra pockets and the security features."
Review 11 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for Travel,
February 25, 2014
By: John676
from Southeast Texas
"This is an excellent product. It has an abundabce of pockets, some secured by zippers, which makes it excellent for travel. There is ample room for plane tickets, passport, billfold, and whatever else one might need for a trip. I recommend the cargo pants without reservation."
Review 12 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Over priced,
February 20, 2014
By: PermianFlyFisher
"I was tempted to return these pants. Too expensive for what you get. Both zippered back pockets, and the side zippered cargo pocket are way undersized. Cargo pocket only on left side. Needs a cargo pocket on the right side. Waist runs about 1" small. The only reason I kept them is the front regular and front zippered pockets are nice and deep."
Review 13 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great in every respect,
February 18, 2014
By: JSS1
from Willamette Valley, Oregon
"First, know that these pants are fairly lightweight. They are nothing like the famous "ultimate khakis".
With that understood, these pants fit right, look great and are functional.
Like nearly everything else from Orvis, they get thumbs up from me."
Review 14 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cargo Pants for Toothpick Legs,
February 14, 2014
By: FayS
from Wash. DC
"Pant waist size and requested length were correct. The pockets are great including the zippers. These will be great for travelers as it makes pickpockets job very difficult. The cotton is woven tight and feels great. The major issue with these pants starts at the middle of your thighs and goes down below your calves. They taper to quickly so they are too tight around your thighs and calves and get tighter when you sit down. If you wear over the calf socks the fabric gets caught on your socks and the pant legs ride up your leg. So each time you stand back up, you will need to pull your pant legs back down. I would have liked an identical thigh pocket on the right side as well. These pants would be great if there was an option to have a zipper above the knees so they could be converted into shorts. Keep it 100% cotton without any of the other fancy fabrics."
Review 15 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo Pants,
February 12, 2014
By: DallasBob
from Dallas, TX
"I have worn the pants a few times & am very pleased with sizing & the sturdy fabric. The extra side pockets are especially good as the extra set allows me to put the cell phones in without scrapping against keys or change - a huge benefit to me. The zippers that are on the pockets are better than I expected.
I will be ordering another pair soon."
Review 16 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool pants are hard to find!,
February 10, 2014
By: coolaid
from Kalamazoo MI
"My husband loves the english looking safari pants. They are very very hard to find! So these are a treasure... he loves them. He is also large and tall, and Orvis met both needs.... thank you!"
Review 17 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel PNts,
January 28, 2014
By: 4dogs2
"Have not worn these yet, but these look ideal for traveling. Lots of zip pockets to keep things secure. Nice fabric. Nice looking."
Review 18 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fisherman's dream pants,
January 21, 2014
By: Allenjr
from N. Virginia
"These are very comfortable pants but alos practical, look to be quite durable too. nice package!"
Review 19 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 17, 2014
By: norskiephil
from Nevada
"I have not worn the cargo pants yet, but they seem to be good. My only problem with it is this: they are way overpriced. That goes for most of your clothing items. If your prices were more reasonable, I would most likely purchase more.
Thank you!
"
Review 20 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love style,
January 16, 2014
By: Duce
from Illinois
"One big problem! Sizing runs small; I normally wear 34" waist off any rack but this product is so tight I haven't used it yet. It's hanging in closet gathering dust! also, to a lesser degree with another pair of pants purchased recently from Orvis. Should have returned for size 36" waist."