Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foothills Cargo Pants

Conquer the hills in your backyard or afar. Our 6.2-oz. pure cotton pants are equal to your every adventure. Pure cotton has advantages over other fabrics: It breathes well, is durable, and becomes even more comfortable year after year. Two secure cargo pockets on the left side offer plenty of storage; a zip-secured flat pocket keeps cash safe. Double front pockets, with secure zip on each side. Two rear zip-closed pockets. Mock-leather reinforcement on pocket edges. Pleated front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
1
104 of 118(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foothills Cargo Pants
Review 1 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could Be Great,
December 14, 2014
By: VXero
"I really like the weight and softness of the cotton material. The mock leather reinforcements are a nice touch. I'm not that fond of pleated pants; I wish Orvis would offer a flat front version. But having the cargo pockets on only one side looks and feels weird. With my pocket knife, flashlight, pen, and wallet all in the cargo pockets, I feel lopsided. Why aren't there cargo pockets on the right side?"
Review 2 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, not great,
December 7, 2014
By: Tourist1
"Bought one of each color for upcoming trip to India. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable fit. The number of pockets is great, but as one reviewer noted, the back and cargo pockets are a bit shallow. Also, the cargo pocket does weigh heavy even when empty. I would have preferred fabric zips especially for the back pockets as the metal ones are a bit "scratchy" on the hands. Love the khaki pair, but the "olive" is closer to "dark brown". Overall fairly happy with the pants, albeit rather pricey."
Review 3 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Travel,
December 3, 2014
By: Entroute72
from Ulaanbaatar Mongoloia
"These pants are a blessing on long flights where you need to protect your documents and have comfortable wear for sleep"
Review 4 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
22,000 feet down or up,
November 14, 2014
By: Miquel
from UK
"My role requires me to visit gold mining sites. Whether 14,000 feet underground in South Africa or 8,000 feet up in Colorado, these "Foothills" cargo pants always go with me. Rugged, practical and comfortable always."
Review 5 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to buy another pair!,
November 3, 2014
By: JohnR1217
from Chicago
"I bought a pair of these pants earlier this year in anticipation of a trip to Italy. I got so many nice comments about them on the trip, I just had to get another pair. They are great for traveling due to the secure pockets. They are a little more dressy than traditional cargo pants and have a great fit as well."
Review 6 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOUGH CARGOS YET....,
October 17, 2014
By: Lakerdog
from Petoskey, Mi
"VERY GOOD LOOKING AND GREAT DETAILS; ACTUALLY EXCELLENT FOR THE PROFESSIONAL"
Review 7 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
October 14, 2014
By: Bluedevil1975
from Houston, Texas
"Nice quality. Pretty much what U see on the picture is what U get."
Review 8 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotton pants for the outdoors,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I was skeptical about these at first as I've now been using walking pants made with man-made fibers for years now. However, my wife saw these in the catalog and said I should try them out. I'm glad that I did as they are great. They're very comfortable (I use that word a lot in my Orvis reviews and it's a characteristic of almost all their clothes) and the faux leather styling makes them look sharper compared to my normal outdoor pants. I'm glad I tried them as I really like them."
Review 9 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foothills cargo pants,
September 8, 2014
By: dlk1956
"Same nice fit and finish as a pair of pants I owned in the past that I really liked. The only difference is that the material is not quite as beefy and durable feeling as those. I would buy another pair of these though."
Review 10 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel pants,
September 1, 2014
By: Mike15
from Ann Arbor, MI
"These pants are stylish but practical. Pockets provide pick pocket proof storage. There are lots of pockets for all the stuff you carry when traveling."
Review 11 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfy pants,
July 23, 2014
By: Tarre
from Boston Ma
"My husband was looking for a comfortable stylish pair of pants - and these foothill cargo pants totally filled his needs. Thank you Orvis for using such wonderful materials which are so well made !"
Review 12 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three Day Delivery in One Day,
July 14, 2014
By: SteelheadDiver
from Orvis, Pidgeon Forge, Tennessee
"These pants are reinforced and double stitched in every spot my previous fishing pants had worn. Their comfort did not disappoint. I wanted these pants for a big fishing trip in two days but they were not in stock and we agreed on next day delivery. The sales rep called in the order but found out the pants were uncut and it would take at least three days. Orvis said they would try to accommodate me. This was on a Tuesday afternoon. That night I got word the pants shipped. I got the perfectly cut pants on Wednesday."
Review 13 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pair of cargo pants that my hubby ever put on,
July 10, 2014
By: DiMara
from Grenada,Ms
"The most well fitted mens cargo pants EVER, they as so true to sz also, people everywhere are asking my hubby we're did he ever find those awesome pants?"
Review 14 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lots of secured zipper pockets and a look,
June 10, 2014
By: Mohsin
from Calgary, Canada
"Like the secured zipper pockets and lightness of the pant. For the quality I will update it once used and washed.
Thanks"
Review 15 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
June 6, 2014
By: Anup
from Chicago,IL
"Good material, proper cut not baggy, soft feel - bought these for my African Safari. First got the khaki and just ordered the olive."
Review 16 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo Pants,
May 28, 2014
By: Asher67
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Very practical pants with many zippered pockets. Material is very light, ideal for hot humid weather."
Review 17 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 13, 2014
By: JMPD
"Extreme quality and fit at a good price. Everything that you come to expect from Orvis."
Review 18 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cargoes for travel,
May 7, 2014
By: jesatty
from bossier city, la
"Ideal for travel
loved the first pair ordered
so ordered 3 more pair
look good with knit shirt\
and dressy enough for evening wear with sports coat
"
Review 19 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 7, 2014
By: MWB4
"Perfect pants for traveling that offers security from sealed pockets while offering comfort."
Review 20 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tailored style,
April 30, 2014
By: JDale
from Austin Texas
"These cargo pants are not your baggie wrinkled camping pants. They are trim cut and fit like dress slacks. They press beautifully and perfect for city casual wear. Great for airline travel."