Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Clearwater Bobbin

Our value-priced Clearwater model has brass feet for smooth spool rotation. Adjustable for all spool sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
3 of 10(30%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Bobbin
Review 1 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Bobbin,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I purchased this as a backup bobbin to throw in travel bag. Unfortunately I've experienced the same as many others. Every time I have used this bobbin, it has cut my thread. You might get away with using this on heavier thread, but don't expect to tie any size 20 nymphs with this. Most disappointing purchase I've made in a while."
Review 2 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this!,
July 11, 2014
By: YukonKid
from Fairbanks, Alaska
"I wish that I had read the other reviews before I purchased this bobbin. I have the exact problem. It cuts the thread every time, even with mono . I had wanted another bobbin that wasn't flared like my old one I have used for over 40 years(the un-flared ones are hard to find). This certainly wasn't what I had in mind."
Review 3 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor bobbin,
May 11, 2014
By: KKfly
from Spring City, PA
"Purchased this item last week and the thread breaks every time, I thought it was my new fly tying skills but after several attempts I was thankful it wasn't me, spend the money on another bobbin."
Review 4 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A OK,
January 17, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"Simply a good bobbin for the price. I've had no problems with these as I've purchased them in the past."
Review 5 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What a bummer,
April 3, 2013
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I guess I should have expected what I got for the money. I forgot my bobbins when I was out of town over Easter and wanted to kill some time prepping for shad season. I stopped by the Orvis in my folks' town and picked the cheapest one they had because I didnt need another bobbin, I just needed something to use that day.
While I haven't had any of the previously mentioned issues of slicing through thread, there are definite tiny burrs on the inside edge. The thread coming out is very noticably roughed up and abraded.
Thankfully I only tied shad flies with it, and I'll have lost them all by the time summer hits. It got the job done, but I wouldn't want to tie anything difficult or that I plan not to lose on the bottom with this bobbin - the risk of failure is just too high."
Review 6 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Performance,
January 3, 2012
By: nidd
from Harrogate, UK
"I recieved this bobbin holder as part a of a gift of fly tying equipment this Christmas. Unfortunately, it is useless, as it cuts the thread after several turns, even with the lightest of pressure. I cannot understand why Orvis would wnat to market this product, it's quality is at odds with the generally high standard of equpiment they sell. Even if it costs less than £4.00, it has no use, and is not fit for purpose."
Review 7 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't Waste Your Money,
December 29, 2010
By: newflytieguy
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I got this bobbin in an Orvis fly tying kit. I have always wanted to learn to tie my own flies, so receiving this kit as a gift was great. However, the bobbin cut every thread I put through it. My brother had the same kit and same results. Not only could we not enjoy tying flies with our new kit but had to go out and purchase additional tools before we could start tying. Don't waste your money on this one, save up and buy a ceramic bobbin."
Review 8 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average Bobbin,
April 19, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wanted an extra bobbin to let my friends use when I was showing them how to tie flies. I also wanted to try out this product myself. After tying many flies, I can say that I'm overall fairly happy with its performance. It's not an elite bobbin by any standards, but it isn't meant to be one. For the price, you can't beat this as a something to give to a beginner. It also teaches you to keep good thread control, because as mentioned in a previous review, the non-flared tip lends itself to more easily broken thread. In my opinion though, this helps the fly tier learn to be more careful with thread and focus on the ever important thread control that separates beginning and advanced fly tiers. Not a bad value for the price. It's overall appearance is also very pleasing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
We always appreciate feedback, whether good or bad. We are pleased to hear that this customer is happy with his bobbin. We strive to make all of our products absolutely right, and will gladly exchange or refund any purchase that does not meet our customers' expectations.
Review 9 for Clearwater Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worthless.,
February 11, 2008
By: VaFlyFisher
"I picked up 2 of these the other day. Because the tube is not flared at the top, this bobbin will cut your thread within 5 of 6 turns. This happened on both of the bobbins I bought. The only good thing I can say is at least they were only $4. Save yourself the frustration on this one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 15, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the bobbin was cutting thread. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback and passed the feedback along to the product developer to review the tip of the tube. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater Bobbin
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1