Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School

As you stand in the 10,000 acre Dogwood Canyon Nature Park with the Ozarks rising against the background and The Little Indian and Dogwood Creeks flowing through the foreground, it becomes immediately clear that you are in an ideal location to learn the art of fly fishing. Our Missouri fly fishing school's professional instructors cover everything from setting up your fly rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I'd done it years ago...,
June 18, 2014
By: DavidOkie
from Lampe, MO
"I've been a fisherman all my life, but never tried fly fishing until I took this class. It exceeded every expectation I had! Neal is a fantastic instructor and the content of the class was extremely informative and just what I needed to know. Was able to catch three nice fish on the 2nd afternoon! I recommend without reservation!"
Review 2 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbeatable fly fishing experience,
June 14, 2014
By: neurodoc
from Lampe MO
"Neal is an excellent instructor who is knowledgeable & patient beyond belief who has the ultimate natural setting to teach the novice the art & science of fly fishing. I can not say enough about the Dogwood Park. I have already returned one time after my class to have Neal critique & improve my technique. I plan on having periodic sessions with Neal to continue to improve skills. I recommend Neal without reservationl for young & older who desire a fabulous introduction to fly fishing without reservation."
Review 3 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fishing,
April 15, 2014
By: ARFlyGirl
from Arkansas
"What a great adventure! I had some experience fishing with family and friends but have always wanted to try fly fishing. I found the Orvis school at Dogwood Canyon online. Neal Splitter was a terrific instructor, very patient. He even made sure that I learned how to handle my first ever fly-caught rainbow trout. He made it easy to understand and very enjoyable...felt like spending time with my favorite uncle. Beautiful surroundings, lovely cabin for a training room, and fishing right out the front door. I'll be back this summer for more fly fishing!"
Review 4 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
April 4, 2014
By: JimAR
from Fort Smith, AR
"I attended the Orvis Fly Fishing School under a fabulous and extremely knowledgeable instructor, Mr. Neal Splitter in 2013. I was able to have Neal give me a half day guided trout fishing experience I shall not soon forget. Such a gentleman and a very patient professional.........we landed probably 20 to 25 Trout that afternoon! Great Day Fishing........"
Review 5 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best way to learn.,
July 13, 2013
By: Fizzix
from Lampe, Mo
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had tried to teach myself how to fly fish and in the process had learned all the bad habits that I could learn. By placing myself in the capable hands of Neil, he in just two days corrected many of the bad habits I had taught myself. I am looking forward to many happy days on trout streams and rivers anywhere you can get a fly in the water. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 6 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Needed!,
September 26, 2012
By: wornica
from Lampe, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just finished the two day school with Orvis instructor Neal Spittler and can´t say enough about his professionalism and patience. He fine tuned my casting and gave me the basic introduction to trout fishing that I was looking for. Even let me try out several Orvis rods and reels until I found the one that was exactly what I was looking for. I promptly bought it and used it the next day at Lake Taneycomo.
Also can´t even begin to describe the beauty of Dogwood Canyon Nature Park and the joy of catching some nice rainbows on dry flies and streamers. VERY HAPPY!!!"
Review 7 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can now cast!,
November 14, 2011
By: FishEvadenator
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
""I thought I knew how to fly fish until I spent a little time with Keith Oxby, an Orvis instructor at Dogwood Canyon. He showed me how to properly cast, how my gear should work, the reasons behind matching line sizes, the differences in gear, how to tie essential knots, how to present a fly, and in reality, how to fly fish. A few hours with a good casting instructor can change something that is just "OK" into something that can become a passion. After only a couple of hours, I realized he is a great teacher who loves to teach fly-fishing, and especially proper casting. I was counting on golf to carry me into old age, but now I can add fly fishing.""
Review 8 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent,
September 8, 2011
By: Okieboy
from Coweta, Oklahoma
"From someone who had never ventured into Fly Fishing this was a maximized chance to learn first hand from an excellent instructor.
The Dogwood Canyon nature park was more than I had expected for placement of a school. Perfect environ!!!
A well organized and timed presentation of the learning material giving me the feeling I can walk to a stream and enjoy a day Fly Fishing. Something I thought too complicated was now within my grasp!!!
"
Review 9 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience for novice fisherman,
June 17, 2011
By: Morrie
from Southwest Indiana
"My wife, daughter and I attended the Orvis 2 day fly fishing school June 3 &4 in Dogwood Canyon Mo. The overall experience, instructors and facilities were fantastic. Keith Oxby was wonderful as our primary instructor. I highly recommend Keith, this school and in particular this location to anyone wanting to learn to fly fish in great surroundings with great teachers. They folks certainly went out of their way to make our experience enjoyable and worthwhile. Glad we did it. Wish there was a 2nd level class for those of us wanting more training after we've had time to practice what we learned. I use the casting tips (tick - tock) every evening now to practice at least 50 casts into a lake behind my home. Well done everyone."
Review 10 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Learning Experience,
June 2, 2011
By: gzenitsky
from Lee's Summit, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The 2 days we spent with Keith Oxby in the Dogwood Canyon Nature Park was by far the best learning experience I have been privileged to. Keith has outstanding command of fly fishing knowledge and is engaging, personable, and patient with his students. You can bring your own gear but we ended up using the rods & reels supplied by Orvis which were much better than our own.
The class and stream side lectures on etymology were fascinating and very instructive. The class was topped off with actual fly fishing for beautiful Rainbows in the stream running through beautiful Dogwood Canyon. All instruction should be so engaging! You won't regret your decision to take this class!"
Video Review:
Stream-side instruction!
Review 11 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dogwood Fly Fishing Great Time,
November 14, 2010
By: Jim23
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Dogwood Canyon School lived up to everything I had hoped for as a beginner. Keith Oxby made it a great experience. His passion for Fly Fishing, his patience with beginners and his desire to share his knowledge made for a thoughly wonderful two day experience. I would highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to Fly Fish and to have a great learning experience with Keith who loves his sport and to teach."
Review 12 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUCKET LIST EXPERIENCE,
October 13, 2010
By: ROOTSACK
from LOUISIANA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE. LOCATED ON A BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF PROPERTY WITH A FANTASTIC CABIN FOR A FISHING SCHOOL. OUR INSTRUCTOR,KEITH OXBY,WAS AS GOOD AS YOU COULD GET. HIS KNOWLEDGE,WHICH HE ENTHUSIASTICALLY SHARES WITH YOU,ABOUT ALL ASPECTS OF FLY FISHING IS AMAZING. HE CAN TELL YOU THINGS YOU WOULD NOT EVEN THINK NECESSARY,UNTIL YOU HEAR THEM. IT ALL FALLS INTO PLACE. HIS LOVE AND ENTHUSIASM FOR FLY FISHING IS CONTAGIOUS. THANK GOODNESS,HE HAS GREAT PATIENCE. HE'S A RIGHT GOOD BLOKE.
IF YOU ARE NEW TO FLY FISHING,JUST GET YOURSELF THERE. NO EQUIPMENT NECESSARY. RECOMMEND YOU DON'T BUY EQUIPMENT UNTIL AFTER THE SCHOOL. YOU WILL ALSO LOVE THE COOKIE YOU GET FOR LUNCH. THANKS KEITH AND ORVIS"
Review 13 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best two days of fishing instruction,
April 6, 2010
By: Candidate
from Missouri
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hands down, the best two days of fishing instruction I've received. Keith takes a very hands on approach, going through the entire process--understanding equipment, casting, flies, entomology, and most importantly how to fish. 16 hours of 1 on 2 instruction meant that my casting and overall understanding/appreciation of fly fishing improved dramatically. I'll save loads of money on getting into the right gear, save days of time being less frustrated now that I know how to spot and identify the right fly, and catch loads of more fish. A stunning setting both for instruction, casting practice and actual fishing, book your trip now. The perfect introduction for a family member/friend who wants an easy yet thorough introduction to fishing or who wants to simply take great strides to a further mastery of the course. Thanks Keith--the fish I catch in the future will all be in some part due to you."
Review 14 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding learning experience.,
September 30, 2009
By: KSGUY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had the good fortune to take this class Monday and Tuesday the 28th & 29th of September. Spectacular fall weather in the Ozarks in a beautiful setting.
Keith Oxby was our instructor and a more patient, informative person you could not ask for. His passion for fly fishing and his knowledge of all aspects of fly fishing and ability to impart that knowledge to us was truly appreciated. Just the segment about choosing fly patterns based upon the insects and their life cycles and how to examine the water to see what insects were around was worth the course.
All necessary equipment was furnished and was first class Orvis, no junk here. If you have no equipment, wait until you take this class and learn more about your personal attributes and what to look for.
I recently purchased some fly fishing equiipment, should have waited, with the intention of going but once I found out about this class I decided that I had better take it before I went too far down the fly fishing path developing too many bad habits. What a fortuitous decision. I would have been floundering around without the basic background to move forward. Now with his background I can build upon his training and move forward.
Thanks Keith for all your help."
Review 15 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience!,
June 7, 2008
By: Otter
"I have dabbled with fly fishing for years and always wanted to learn how to do things right. Keith was just marvelous. Patient with the unlearning of bad habits and the asking of novice questions, he gave us attendees his dedication, competence and joyful enthusiasm. The two days gave me more than any book ever could, and I now feel comfortable enough to go fishing without feeling the complete fool. A long ways yet to go, but thanks to Keith and his expertise, I'm merrily on my way to enjoying the wonderful sport of fly fishing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Instruction, Good Fun,
May 28, 2008
By: Sawmillwill
from Kansas City, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Keith Oxby was just a pleasure to be with during the two day course. Keith didn't grow up fly-fishing, so he brings both a 'convert's zeal' to the subject, as well as an intuitive understanding of the student who didn't grow up with a fly rod in their hand. In two days I went from near-novice level to a level where I feel confident fishing on my own and with guides. There's still a lot to learn, but at least now I feel like I know the lay of the land (or should i say 'water') enough to continue learning."
Review 17 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must to anyone considering fly fishing.,
April 15, 2008
By: DonL
"I have fished for many years, but I have only fly fished for a year. This is an absolute must do course if you really want to fly fish. Like may novices, I bought and studied numerous videos. But until I took the Orvis course from Keith Oxby and Dick Hoyet (Dogwood Canyon course), I was ill prepared and uninformed. Now I can fly fish with confidence. There really is no way to put a price tag on the education they provided. Thanks again guys! Tight lines!"
Review 18 for Lampe, Missouri 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super experience,
November 19, 2007
By: IndyFlyFisherman
from Indianapolis
"The 2-day Orvis Fly Fishing School at Dogwood Canyon was among the most fulfilling short courses I've had on any subject matter. Keith crammed an entire spectrum of fishing knowledge into 2 short days. Clearly, the staff knows of which they speak and live to fly fish. Inherent knowledge aside, the manner of instruction was outstanding and met the individual needs of a very diverse group. I would recommend this school to anyone wishing to jump-start their skills in fly flshing. My only regret was that it was only 2 days. I would recommend to Orvis that it be expanded to 3 or even 4 days with a full day of fishing/hands-on coaching to wrap up. Great job. I'll be back..."