Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Bright Light and Magnifier

Best lighting and magnification system made. Travels easily. Attaches directly to vise. Fits all 3/8" vise shafts, pedestal and C-clamp. Hooded lamp projects consistent cone of light. 2.5X magnification when you need it. 16" adjustable gooseneck on both light and magnifier. 6' cord and AC adapter. 5,000-hour replacement bulb also available. In silver, black (not shown). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bright Light and Magnifier
Review 1 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart buy,
December 28, 2013
By: SaltwaterSam
from Seattle, WA
"Easily attached to my Regal vice, this light is bright and the maginfier is perfect.
This does not get in the way and is fully adjustable, do not know what I would do without it
"
Review 2 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good piece of equipment,
February 27, 2013
By: DickC
"The light and magnifier is helpful when you are tying. It takes some adjusting to get it in the position that works best for you. It helps you focus on what you are doing with a clear picture of the developing fly.."
Review 3 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't tie without it,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Unfortunately, my eyesight is not what is once was. The focused light from this lamp is very helpful. The magnifier is not as strong as I would like, but it does the job. I love the compact design that attaces to my vise. My wife loves the design too, I initially purchased a much larger lamp with a huge magnifier. My wife hated seeing the huge lamp on the kitchen table."
Review 4 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
only act in town,
March 24, 2012
By: doctorbob
from Anchorage, Alaska
"A nice light. There should be more similar to this. I attaches to a 3/8 inch vise support to save room. I find the magnifier unecessary and cumbersom. A model should be offered without it."
Review 5 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Magnifier,
March 2, 2012
By: Moboerl
from Salisbury Mills, NY
"I shopped very carefully a few years ago and splurged for this at Orvis. It's high quality and durable along with flexible which is a good thing. Why the manufacturer had the need to make a tiny little magnifyer rectangle with 1.75X I'll never understand. Magnifying glasses are cheap; it's ashame how a good piece of equipment goes to waste. Not nearly enough room on glass to focus comfortably plus the Magnifying power stinks."
Review 6 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small changes, but cannot tie without it.,
February 21, 2012
By: Cardo
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I shopped around, researched light/magnifiers and decided on this combo. The build and material are top notch. The machining on the base is clean. And, while the stems of each light and magnifier are a little noisy when adjusting, the magnifier and light stay exactly where you put them. The output is very bright and focused so you may need another light to illuminate your entire work area. I would integrate an on/off toggle in the cord. The current design (pictured) requires you to unplug the power cord, unplug it from a wall or plug it into your own power strip/on/off toggle. I do the latter. Overall, I'm happy with it and could not tie without it. It's made tying a real joy."
Review 7 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fly tying light and magnifier,
January 31, 2012
By: JrWader
from Tulsa, OK
"I received this as a gift for Christmas 2011 and have used it for a month now, about 15 different times. I have a poorly lit work area and tie small flies 16-22, and thought this would help tremendously.
Pros: Bright light, very flexible to adjust, magnifiers are easy to use, easy to assemble to vise.
Cons: Light is focused on a small area, no on/off switch on the light.
Overall pleased with what I received.
"
Review 8 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great light - poor bulb,
October 17, 2011
By: FirstLight
from Washington DC
"This is a nice package. The geometry of the light and magnifier works well with a standard vice, well, it worked for the first two flies. Then the lamp burned out. The lamp was loose in the box and probably had a few extra bumps on the way. I'm not fast, but I think a bulb should last for more than two flies."
Review 9 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb,
October 17, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"What a great device. I love it, works great light is powerful thumbs up!!"
Review 10 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pinpoint lighting,
July 13, 2011
By: JerseyJimmy
from Fantasy Land
"I bought this light. I then returned it.
Let me say first that this is a quality product. Its built well and looks like it will stand the test of time.
I just didn't like it for two reasons.
One, it does fit on the neck of most vises, but with two snake heads attached, it felt cluttered and got in the way of my other accessories, such as the bobbin rest and trash bag, that were more important to me. I didn't realize it would bother me until I had it and attached it.
Second, the lighting provided, while bright, is very pinpointed. It really only lights up the vise clamp and that's it. I found myself fumbling around my Oasis bench to find bobbins, lead wire etc.
All in all, well made, but just wrong for my situation.
To Orvis' credit, they took it back, no questions asked.
I was pleased with the transaction overall, even if not with the light itself.
"
Review 11 for Bright Light and Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Save the box,
March 6, 2010
By: Boinky
from Tidewater, Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First of all, this light combo is available many places besides Orvis. I only know this because that's how I discovered it. I read all the various features & reviews and decided this is the one for me. The light costs exactly the same price anywhere you find it; so forget comparison shopping. I dinged expectations rating because the light doesn't come with any operating or maintenance instructions. Printed on the box itself are two items: replacement bulb specs and the light shield screws apart to replace bulb. Good luck getting the bulb inside the hood without knowing that! The lamp shield is so well machined, you'll never notice it screws apart. I dinged features because I cannot turn the light on & off at the vise. I have to reach under my fly desk & unplug it. I suppose I could unplug the wire's jack at the vise, but two concerns arise: 1) I don't relish the idea of having a live electric wire floating about my bench; thought it is only 12V at the business end. 2) Just how many times can I plug this jack in & out until the friction fades and the jack no longer remains solidly in the lamp. Honestly, for the price it costs you'd think you would get a set of instructions/spec sheet & an on/off switch."